(ERA)

» Allows you to set aside pre-tax
money for eligible medical or
dependent care expenses

* The result? You save on taxes
on expenses you already have




 Employees of State
Agencies, Legislature,
UW Hospital and Clinics,
and University of
Wisconsin campuses

* Full-time or part-time

» Classified and
unclassified employees

Limited term employees
(LTEs) and employees
classified as fellows,
scholars, and research
assistants in the
university system,
student hourlies, per
diems, and other
temporary employees
may not participate




You may enroll
in two different
accounts:

 Medical Expense
Reimbursement Account

* Dependent Care
Reimbursement Account

« Estimate your expenses

e Annual election is deducted
pre-tax in equal amounts from
each paycheck

* Incur eligible expenses, submit
for reimbursement

* Receive reimbursement




Here’s how the ERA program could
work to increase tax savings:

ERA Savings Example*

With ERA Without ERA
$39,000.00 Annual Gross Income $39,000.00
-5,000.00 ERA Deposit for Recurring Expenses -0
$34,000.00 Taxable Gross Income $39,000.00
-8,986.00 Federal, State, Social Security Taxes -10,418.50
$25,014.00 Annual Net Income $28,581.50
-0 Cost of Recurring Expenses -5,000.00
$25,014.00 Spendable Income $23,581.50

By using an ERA to pay for anticipated recurring expenses, you convert
the money you save in taxes to additional spendable income. That's a
potential annual savings of: $1,432.50!

*Figures assume a 12 month plan year, federal withholding (10% on first $15,100, 15% on remaining balance) 6.00%
Wisconsin State Tax, and 7.65% Social Security taxes. Individual tax rates may vary.

* Tax-free money set aside for eligible
expenses

* For you, your spouse, your
qualifying child(ren) and
your qualifying relatives’
eligible expenses

$100 minimum annual contribution
$7,500 maximum annual contribution




Medical Reimbursement Account

» Yourself

e Your Spouse

e Your qualifying child

e Your qualifying relative

QU

Medical Reimbursement Account

Is a U.S. citizen, national or a resident of the U.S.,
Mexico or Canada

v' Has a specified family-type relationship to you

v’ Lives in your household for more than half of the
taxable year

v' Are 18 years old or younger (23 years, if a full-time
student) at the end of the taxable year

v' Has not provided more than half of their own
support during the taxable year (and receive more
than one-half of their support during the taxable
year if a full-time student, age 19 through 23, at
the end of the taxable year)




Medical Reimbursement Account

Is a U.S. citizen, national or a resident of the U.S.,
Mexico or Canada and
v' Has a specified family-type relationship to you
v' Is not someone else’s qualifying child

v" Receives more than one-half of their support
from you during the taxable year

OR
v If no specified family-type relationship to you exists
v Is a member of and lives in your household for
the entire taxable year
v/ Receives more than one-half of their support
from you during taxable year

Medical Reimbursement Account

Prescription drugs
Certain over-the-counter drugs and supplies

Doctor and chiropractor fees,
co-pays and deductibles

Dental expenses, including
orthodontia

Vision expenses, including
exams, prescription glasses,
contact lenses and lens
solutions and cleaners,
laser eye surgery




Medical Reimbursement Account

Insurance premiums

Health or fitness club
membership fees

Cosmetic surgery or
expenses primarily
for cosmetic purposes
Vitamins if taken
simply for general
health

Tax-free dollars set aside to
cover day care expenses for
eligible dependent children
or adults

The day care expenses must
be incurred to enable you
and your spouse to: work,
actively look for work, or
attend school full-time

Care may be inside or
outside your home




*What are the contribution
limits? Per the IRS:

« $5,000 if you file your income
taxes as “head of household” or
“married filing jointly”

¢ $2,500 if married filing
separately

« $3,000 for one dependent,
$5,000 for two or more if your
spouse is a full-time student or
incapable of self-care

e The minimum annual
contribution is $100

Who is a Dependent?

* Qualifying Individuals
— Child
— Spouse
— Relative




v'Is a U.S. citizen, national or a resident of the
U.S., Mexico or Canada

v'Has a specified family-type relationship to you

v'Lives in your household for more than half of
the taxable year

v’ Is 12 years old or younger

v'Has not provided more than half of their
own support during the taxable year

Q_

v'Is physically and/or mentally
incapable of self care

v'Lives in your household for more than
half of the taxable year

v'Spends at least eight hours per day in
your home

Q_




v Is a U.S. citizen, national or a resident of the
U.S., Mexico or Canada and

v Is not someone else’s qualifying child

v’ Lives in your household for more than half of
the taxable year

v/ Receives more than half of their support
from you during the taxable year

v Is physically and/or mentally incapable
of self care

v/ Spends at least eight hours per day in

your home

 Day and dependent
care facility fees

 Before and after school
care

* Local day camp fees
 Fees for at-home care

* Pre-school and nursery
school
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e Educational expense for kindergarten
or above

e Child support payments

e Care for any period of time that your
dependent is not living with you

e Overnight care (unless allows you and
your spouse to work during that time)

¢ Nursing home fees

e Books, supplies, or activity fees
* Deposits

¢ Meal and transportation costs, if

separate from your dependent care
expenses, unless included as part of

tuition

Dependent Care Reimbursement
Account vs. Child Care Tax Credit

A Dependent Care Reimbursement Account may save
you more in taxes than the Child Care Tax Credit

— You can use the Dependent Care Reimbursement Accounts
and file for a tax credit as long as the total for both does not
exceed the tax credits:

» $3,000 for one dependent
» $6,000 for two or more dependents
— You cannot:
(1) use the tax credit if you are married and filing separately

(2) use the same expenses for both the tax credit and your
Dependent Care Reimbursement Account

Follow IRS reporting requirements for Dependent Care Accounts
IRS Form 2441 (1040) and scheduled 2 (1040A)
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Dependent Care Reimbursement Account
vs. Child Care Tax Credit Example

PERSONAL INFORMATION

— Mike and Kathy Mallory - Employment: Both state employees for eight years
— Ages: Mike, 32; Kathy, 31 Income: Mike $33,000, Kathy $35,000

— Family Status: Married, two children

— Health: Excellent

— Other information: The Mallorys paid a large amount in taxes last year

— Anxious to reduce their taxes and start renovations to their home

WITH TAX WITH ERA DEDUCTION
1. Taxable Income Before Reimbursement** $45,200.00 $45,200.00
2. Less: Dependent Care Paid Before Tax 0.00 —5,000.00
3. Taxable Income After Reimbursement $45,200.00 $40,200.00
4. Less: Federal taxest (applied to line 3) -6,025.00 —5,275.00
5. Less: State Income Taxes*** -2,679.70 —2,354.70
6. Less FICA Taxes (7.65% of line 3) -3,457.80 —-3,075.30
7. Less: Dependent Care Paid After Taxes -6,000.00 —1,000.00*
8. Plus: Dependent Care Income Tax Credit +1200.00 +200.00
9. Income After Dependent Care Expenses $28,237.50 $28,695.00
10. Additional Taxes Saved With Account $457.50
(Individual tax rates may vary)
QUALITY
it

* Premiums are deducted from your
paycheck on a pre-tax basis:

— State Group Life, State Group Health, EPIC
Dental and Excess Medical Insurance,
Spectera Vision Plan, DentalBlue Dental Plan

* No need to enroll; pre-tax deductions
are automatic

 What if I don’t want my premiums
taken on a pre-tax basis?

- File an Automatic Premium Conversion
Waiver Form (ET-2340) with your
payroll/benefits office

QU

12



* Will not reduce wages used to
calculate Wisconsin Retirement
System and other state benefits

 Will not affect tax-sheltered
annuity or deferred compensation
accounts

* Will reduce salary used to calculate
Social Security benefit

* You must enroll before the plan
year begins

» Contributions cannot be changed or
stopped during the plan year unless
you experience a qualifying change
in status event

* All expenses must be incurred
during your period of coverage

13



Use it or Lose it

Any funds remaining in your
account at the end of the
plan year will be forfeited

14



24 /7 Account Access

*Employee Trust Funds Web site
http://etf.wi.gov

*FBMC Web site
www.myfbmc.com

eCustomer Service: 1-800-342-8017
Hours: M-F 6 a.m. - 9 p.m. (CT)

* Open enrollment each fall

* Within 30 days following
your hire date

* Within 30 days of
becoming eligible because
of a change in status
event
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