Member Education
forms and publications
about etf
frequently asked questions
contact etf
site map
related links
top of page
members retirees employers governing boards careers at etf

Press Release

For Immediate Release
March 24, 2003

Contact: Pam Henning, (608) 267-2929

Educational Support Personnel Elect Kathleen Kreul to Employee Trust Funds Board

MADISON -- Department of Employee Trust Funds Secretary Eric Stanchfield announced that educational support personnel in public school districts and technical college districts have elected Kathleen Kreul to serve as their representative on the Employee Trust Funds (ETF) Board. Kreul, of Highland, has worked at Southwest Wisconsin Technical College for the past 26 years and is a 15-year officer of the union representing educational support personnel. Her four-year term on the ETF Board will begin May 1.

The Department distributed approximately 41,000 ballots to educational support personnel in school districts and technical college districts last January, and voting was completed a month later. Voters cast 7,135 ballots representing 17.48% of the total. Kreul received 51.53% of the votes. She defeated the incumbent, Sherry Brown, an employee of the Hartland/Lakeside School District.

About the ETF Board

The 13-member ETF Board has legal and fiduciary responsibilities relating to the administration of the Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS). Wisconsin law dictates ETF Board responsibilities, including:

  • Ensuring the WRS complies with federal regulations as a tax qualified retirement plan and guaranteeing that each benefit plan is administered according to these rules;
  • Appointing the ETF Secretary; and
  • Retaining the medical, legal, and actuarial assistance necessary to run the system.


supporting excellence in Wisconsin public service