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GENERAL INFORMATION

1. Who should use this e Allinsured health plan subscribers should use this
booklet? booklet throughout the year as a reference. Also, the
Uniform Benefits in Section (D) is the benefits certificate
for those enrolled in alternate health plans and SMP (but
not the Standard plan or Medicare Plus $1,000,000).

e Currently, insured retirees who, during the October Dual-
Choice Enrollment period, are changing to a different
plan for the following calendar year.

e Currently insured retirees who wish to change from
single to family coverage without incurring waiting
periods or exclusions for pre-existing conditions. This is
generally possible only during the Dual-Choice
Enroliment period.

e Former employees and/or dependents who are insured
under the health insurance continuation option.

e COBRA continuants. Those individuals who are covered
for a maximum of 36 months following a qualifying event
as defined in the Consolidated Omnibus Reconciliation
Act of 1986 (COBRA).

2. Which annuitants are The State of Wisconsin Group Health Insurance program will

eligible for State of cover state retirees who are enrolled at the time of
Wisconsin group retirement and whose retirement annuity from the Wisconsin
health insurance? Retirement System (WRS) begins within 30 days after

employment ends. Insured employees who terminate
employment and have 20 years of WRS creditable service
are eligible to continue the State Group Health Insurance
program even if the annuity is deferred if a timely application
is submitted. State employees receiving a WRS disability
benefit are also eligible.

The following former state employees whose coverage has
been cancelled or has elapsed may apply for coverage
under the State Group Health Insurance program:

1. Retired state employees receiving a WRS retirement
annuity or a lump sum benefit under Wis. Stat.
§ 40.25(1); or

2. Terminated state employees with 20 years of WRS
creditable service who remain as inactive WRS
participants and are not eligible for an immediate annuity.

The health insurance coverage will be effective the first of
the seventh month following the application receive date (or
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the 1st of the 7th month after receiving your 1st annuity
payment or lump sum payment, whichever is later) with no
restrictions. You will be responsible for the full amount of the
premiums. Contact Employee Trust Funds for additional
information.

Health Plans and Pharmacy Benefit Manager (PBM)
The best source of information regarding benefits and
services is from the plans themselves. You should ask
that they provide written clarification on specific benefit
questions. See the inside back cover of this booklet
for the addresses and telephone numbers of
available plans.

The Uniform benefits, found in Section D, is the benefits
certificate for those enrolled in alternate health plans and
SMP (but not the Standard Plan or Medicare Plus
$1,000,000).

All participating plans have descriptive brochures. These
brochures are available by contacting the plans directly.
Prior to Dual-Choice each year, many plans will mail new
brochures directly to your home.

Dual-Choice Health Fairs
Each year during Dual-Choice, health fairs are scheduled
throughout the state. Representatives from the area plans
are available to provide you with information about their
plans. See the health fair schedule in Section F of this
booklet.

If you prefer that your ID number be different from your
Social Security number, you may request that your plan
assign a different number to you. This call should be done
prior to the first of the year when new cards are issued.
Some plans may require you to submit your request in
writing. Please note that your Pharmacy Benefit Manager
(PBM) ID number will not be your Social Security number.

Another method to follow, if you have your Social Security
number memorized, is to black it out on your ID card and
verbally inform your provider of it upon request.

HEALTH INSURANCE COMPLAINT PROCESS

Each of the plans participating in the State of Wisconsin

health insurance program is required to have a complaint

and grievance resolution procedure in place to help resolve

participants’ problems. Your plan has information on how to

initiate this process. You must exhaust all of your appeal
c-7
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6. How can the
Department of
Employee Trust Funds
help me if | disagree
with my health plan’s
grievance decision?

rights through the plan. If the plan upholds its denial, it will
state in its final decision letter your options if you wish to
proceed further.

Depending on the nature of your complaint, you may be
given rights to request an independent review through an
outside organization approved by the Office of the
Commissioner of Insurance. This option becomes available
when a plan has denied services as either not medically
necessary or experimental. It is important to note that if
you choose to have an independent review organization
(IRO) review the plan’s decision, that decision is binding
on both you and your plan and you have no further
rights to a review through the Department of Employee
Trust Funds.

As a member of the State of Wisconsin group health
insurance program, you have the right to request an
administrative review through ETF if an IRO has not
rendered a decision on your grievance. To initiate an ETF
review, you may call or send a letter to ETF and request an
insurance complaint form (ET-2405). Complete the ETF
complaint form and attach all pertinent documentation,
including the plan’s response to your grievance.

Please note that the ETF review will not be initiated until you
have completed the grievance process available to you
through the plan. After your complaint is received, your
complaint is acknowledged and information is obtained from
the health plan. An ombudsperson in the Quality Assurance
Services Bureau will review and investigate your complaint
and attempt to resolve your dispute with your plan. If the
ombudsperson is unable to resolve your complaint in your
favor, you will be notified of additional administrative review
rights available through the Department.

If you have a dispute with your plan, and have questions
concerning the review options available to you, feel free
to contact ETF and request to speak with an
ombudsperson.

ENROLLING FOR COVERAGE

7. When can | enroll in
health insurance as an
annuitant?

ANNUITANT ENROLLMENT

When you retire, your health insurance plan will
automatically continue if your retirement annuity from the
Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS) begins within 30 days
after your employment termination date. If you terminate
employment after 20 years of creditable service but are not
eligible for an immediate annuity, your completed application
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must be received by Employee Trust Funds within 90 days
of your termination of employment to continue coverage.
You may switch coverage to any other available plan during
the Dual-Choice Enrollment period.

If you are a former state employee receiving a retirement
annuity (or have received a lump sum retirement benefit),
you may enroll or re-enroll in the state health insurance
program by submitting a health insurance application. This
option is not available to survivors or dependents. In most
cases there is a six-month waiting period before your
coverage becomes effective (that is, the first day of the
seventh month after the health insurance application is
received by Employee Trust Funds (ETF). You would not be
eligible to use any sick leave credits to pay premiums if you
enroll under this provision.

Separate enrollment opportunities to re-enroll for
coverage apply to those who have escrowed their sick
leave. Contact ETF for details on this process. See
guestions 10 and 11.

Enroliment in Medicare Part A is automatic when you turn
age 65. The requirement to enroll for Medicare coverage
Part B is deferred for active employees and their
dependents until the subscriber’s termination of the WRS-
covered employment through which active employee health
insurance coverage is provided. Enrollment in Part D is
voluntary when you are eligible for Medicare Part A or B.
(See Question 70: How does Medicare Part D Affect My
Prescription Drug Coverage? Should | enroll?).
Coverage as offered by any of the state plans is the same
for everyone regardless of age or Medicare eligibility.

If you are retired or are a surviving spouse or dependent
and are eligible for coverage under the federal Medicare
program, you must immediately enroll in both Part A and
Part B of Medicare unless you are otherwise employed and
have health insurance coverage through that employment.
IF YOU DO NOT ENROLL FOR ALL AVAILABLE
PORTIONS OF MEDICARE UPON RETIREMENT, YOU
MAY BE LIABLE FOR 80% OF YOUR CLAIMS ON THE
DATE MEDICARE COVERAGE WOULD HAVE BECOME
EFFECTIVE. However, if you or your insured spouse is also
insured as an active employee under a non-state group
plan, enrollment in Medicare may be deferred until
retirement from that job.

C-9



2007 Annuitant / Continuant

10.What if | lose other
coverage?

Once you receive your Medicare card, please send a
photocopy to the ETF.

Because all plans have coverage options that are
coordinated with Medicare, you will remain covered by the
plan you selected after you are enrolled in Medicare. HMO
coverage does not change. The plan will simply not
duplicate benefits paid by Medicare. Prescription drugs will
continue to be covered.

If you are enrolled in the Standard Plan, or SMP Plan, your
coverage will be changed to the Medicare Plus $1,000,000
plan when you enroll in Medicare Parts A and B.

OTHER ENROLLMENT INFORMATION

You can take advantage of a special 30-day enrollment
period to become insured under the state health insurance
program without waiting periods or exclusions for pre-
existing conditions if all of the following apply:

1. Your annuity began (or you received a lump sum
retirement benefit) within 30 days after your employment
termination date; AND,

2. You have escrowed your sick leave account; AND,

3. You and/or your dependents are not insured under the
state health program because of being insured under a
comparable group health insurance plan elsewhere; AND
either,

4. a. Your eligibility for that other coverage is lost; OR

b. The employer’s premium contribution for the other
coverage ceases.

To enroll, submit a health insurance application form and
other information documenting the loss of coverage or loss
of the employer’s premium contribution within 60 days of the
date the other coverage ended. The coverage will be
effective on the date the other coverage or the employer’'s
premium contribution ends. If you are currently enrolled and
need to change from single to family coverage, at least one
family member must have lost the other coverage in order to
qualify.

This enrollment opportunity is also available to employees
and/or dependents who lose medical coverage under
medical assistance (Medicaid), as a dependent of a member
of the U.S. Armed Forces, or as a citizen of a country with
national health care coverage comparable to the Standard
Plan.
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The enrollment period begins on the date the other group
health insurance coverage terminates because of loss of
eligibility or the employer’s premium contribution toward the
other coverage ceases (for example, termination of
employment, divorce, etc., but not voluntary cancellation of
coverage).

NOTE: If other coverage ends due to voluntary cancellation,
you may be eligible for State health coverage with a waiting
period before coverage becomes effective. (See Question
8: What if | didn’t have coverage at retirement or if
coverage later lapsed? for further information.)

If you are currently enrolled in the State Group Health
Insurance program, but with single coverage because of
your spouse being insured under a group health insurance
plan elsewhere, and she/he loses eligibility or the employer
contribution for that coverage ends, this special enrollment
opportunity would also allow you to change from single to
family coverage to insure her/him.

Yes. Under a new law provision, retirees receiving a WRS
annuity or surviving insured dependents may elect to delay
use (escrow) or initiate use (unescrow) of sick leave credits
annually. In order to escrow, you must certify that you have
health coverage comparable to the State of Wisconsin’s
Standard Plan. You may escrow only once during a calendar
year. You may unescrow during Dual-Choice for coverage
effective January 1 of the following year or the first of the
month in the following year that you select. If you lose your
comparable coverage, or the contribution for it (if it is an
employer sponsored plan) you may unescrow (re-enroll) by
filing an application within 30 days of the loss.

Always file the approved forms through Employee Trust
Funds to notify your plan of changes. Request applications
from Employee Trust Funds. Failure to report changes on
time may result in loss of benefits or delay payment of
claims.

There are two types of changes, which require a health
insurance application.

1. Change in plan (for example, from HMO to Standard
Plan)

2. Change in plan coverage (for example, from Single to
Family)
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13.How are my health

14.

benefits affected by my
return to work (for an
employer not under the
WRS)?

How are my health
benefits and premiums
affected by my return
to work (for an
employer who is under
the WRS)?

All changes in coverage are accomplished by completing an
approved application within 30 days after the change
occurs.

Other changes should be accomplished by submitting a
Health Insurance Information Change form (ET-2329).
These other changes would include:

¢ Name change

Change of address

Addition/deletion of a dependent to an existing family plan
Changing primary physicians within an HMO network

See also Question 20: What family changes need to be
reported?

RE-EMPLOYED ANNUITANTS

If you return to work for a non-WRS patrticipating employer
after retirement, your WRS annuity and health benefits will
not be affected.

If you return to work for a WRS participating employer, you
may be eligible to once again become an active WRS
employee. If you make this election and become an active
WRS employee, your annuity will be cancelled and you will
no longer be eligible for health insurance as a
retiree/annuitant. You will be eligible for health insurance as
an active WRS employee through your WRS participating
employer if the employer is participating in an ETF health
plan. Check with your employer to make sure you have
other health insurance coverage available before you elect
WRS patrticipation.

As a state annuitant, if you were paying for your health
insurance from your converted sick leave credit account,
your account will be inactivated if you return to work for a
state government employer. Your sick leave credit account
will be activated again when you re-retire. Any sick leave
credit you accumulate during re-employment with a state
government employer will be added to the balance in your
account when you re-retire. If your re-employment is with a
local government employer, and you have comparable
health insurance coverage, you may escrow your sick leave
account balance. Contact ETF for an escrow form. Your sick
leave credit account balance will be available to you when
you re-retire.
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You may also waive or terminate enrollment under Medicare
until the first Medicare enrollment period after active WRS
employment ceases. Your premium rates while covered
through active employment will be the active employee rates
shown on page A-4, not the Medicare rates.

When you subsequently terminate employment, eligibility for
State group health coverage is once again dependent on
your meeting the requirements for newly retired employees
(that is, you must be insured and you must apply for an
immediate annuity from the WRS).

If you are a disability annuitant under § 40.63(1) who is
under normal retirement age and return to any employment,
you are subject to a flat rate earnings limit. If you exceed
your earnings limit, your disability annuity is suspended, but
you will remain eligible for health insurance as an annuitant.

If you are receiving a disability annuity, you may not actively
participate in the WRS until it is determined that you are no
longer eligible for a disability annuity because of medical
certification. If your disability annuity is terminated, and you
are employed by a WRS participating employer, you will
become eligible for the health insurance offered by your
employer.

e If you return to state employment, you must file a new
health application within 30 days after the date you
resume active status under WRS.

e If you return to local public employment, you lose
eligibility to remain in the state group health program.
You may enroll in your public employer’s health
program (if one is offered), or you may elect
continuation coverage of the state health insurance for
up to 36 months by applying within 60 days of being
notified by Employee Trust Funds of your right to
continue.

IMPORTANT CAUTION: Continuation coverage will end
after 36 months. It does NOT make you eligible to re-enroll
in the state plan when you terminate. You will only be
eligible for the health insurance your employer offers its
retirees, subject to its rules and requirements.

SINGLE/FAMILY ELIGIBILITY

SINGLE VS FAMILY COVERAGE

Single coverage covers you only. Family coverage covers
you, your spouse, and your unmarried dependent children,
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16. When can | change
from single to family
coverage without
restrictions?

stepchildren, and legal wards. All eligible dependents are
covered without exception under a family contract. A
subscriber may not choose to exclude an eligible dependent
from coverage. Your grandchildren may be covered if the
parent is your unmarried dependent and is under age 18.
Upon request, you must provide official documentation of
dependent eligibility. No other relatives (for example,
parents, grandparents, etc.) or domestic partners may be
covered under a family contract.

You may change from single to family coverage during the
Dual-Choice Enroliment period with family coverage
becoming effective on the following January 1. In addition,
coverage may be changed from single to family coverage
without restrictions if an application is received by Employee
Trust Funds within 30 days of the following events:

e Marriage

e Birth or adoption of a child (application must be
submitted within 60 days of the event - pre-existing
limitations do not apply for such dependents when added
in a timely manner)

e A single father declaring paternity. Children born outside
of marriage become DEPENDENTS of the father on the
date of the court order declaring paternity or on the date
the acknowledgement of paternity is filed with the
Department of Health and Family Services or equivalent
if the birth was outside the state of Wisconsin. The
EFFECTIVE DATE of coverage will be the date of birth if
a statement of paternity is filed within 60 days of the
birth.

e Anunmarried parent whose only eligible child resumes
full-time student status or becomes disabled (as defined
in Uniform Benefits) and thus is again an eligible
dependent

e Any eligible dependents lose eligibility for other medical
coverage. (See Question 10: What if | lose other
coverage?)

e Upon order of a Federal Court under a National Medical
Support Notice. This can occur when a parent has been
ordered to insure his/her eligible child(ren) who are not
currently covered.

Coverage becomes effective on the date of the event (for
example, date of birth, marriage, etc.). All eligible
dependents will then be covered.

If the application is not received during Dual-Choice or within
30 days of the above events (60 days for birth or adoption),
or if you wish to change from single to family coverage for
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any other reason (for example, custody of children is
transferred after a divorce), you may still change from single
to family coverage. However, you are limited to coverage
under the Standard Plan until you are able to select a
different plan during a subsequent Dual-Choice Enrollment
period. A 180-day waiting period for coverage of pre-existing
medical conditions (except pregnancy) will apply to a newly
added spouse and dependents. The waiting period for pre-
existing conditions will also apply to you (the subscriber)
unless you are enrolled in the Standard Plan at the time of
the change to family coverage. The waiting period does not
apply to children born or adopted after the effective date of
the coverage change.

You may change from family to single coverage at any time
by submitting an application to Employee Trust Funds. The
change will be effective on the first day of the month
following receipt of your application.

Switching from family to single coverage is deemed to be a
voluntary cancellation of coverage for all covered
dependents. Voluntary cancellation is not considered a
“qualifying event” for continuation coverage.

An insured single parent may cover his or her dependent
child effective with the child’s birth or adoption by submitting
a timely application changing from single to family coverage.

Children born outside of marriage become dependents of
the father on the date of the court order declaring paternity
or on the date the “Voluntary Paternity Acknowledgment”
(form HCF 5024) is filed with the Department of Health and
Family Services or equivalent if the birth was outside the
state of Wisconsin. The effective date of coverage will be the
date of birth if a statement of paternity is filed within 60 days
of the birth.

A single mother may cover the child under her health plan
effective with the birth by submitting an application changing
from single to family coverage.

If your spouse is also an eligible state or university
employee or annuitant:

e you may each retain or select single coverage;
OR

e one of you may retain or select family coverage, which
will cover your spouse and any eligible dependents.

If the husband and wife are each enrolled for single
coverage, one of the single contracts may be changed to a

family plan at any time without restriction and the other
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20.What family changes
need to be reported?

single contract will be cancelled. Family coverage will be
effective on the beginning of the month following receipt of a
Health Insurance Application.

One family policy can be split into two single plans with the
same carrier effective on the beginning of the month
following receipt of a Health Insurance Application from both
husband and wife. However, if you and your spouse each
have single coverage, no dependents are covered and if
one of you should die, that individual’s sick leave credits will
not be available for use by the surviving spouse. Under a
family plan, sick leave credits are preserved for the surviving
spouse regardless of which should die first.

The named subscriber for the family coverage can be
changed to the other spouse at any time. Coverage can be
effective on the beginning of the month following receipt of a
Health Insurance Application (ET-2301).

If, at the time of marriage, the employees and/or annuitants
each have family coverage or one has family coverage and
the other has single coverage, coverage must be changed
to one of the options listed above within 30 days of the
marriage. Failure to comply with this requirement may result
in denial of claims for eligible dependents.

Note: Change from single to family coverage due to
marriage is effective the date of marriage if the Health
Insurance Application is postmarked within 30 days of the
marriage.

You need to report the following changes to ETF within 30
days of the change. Failure to report changes on time may
result in loss of benefits or delay payment of claims.

¢ Change of name, address, telephone number, and
Social Security number, etc.

e Obtaining or losing other health insurance coverage

e Addition of a dependent

e Loss of a dependent’s eligibility for coverage

e Marriage
e Divorce
e Death

e Eligibility for Medicare
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Marriage

You can change from single to family coverage to include
your spouse (and stepchildren if applicable) without
restriction provided your application is received within 30
days after your marriage, with family coverage being
effective on the date of your marriage. (See also
Question 16: When can | change from single to family
coverage without restrictions?)

If you were enrolled in family coverage before your
marriage, you need to complete a Health Insurance
Information Change form (ET-2329) as soon as possible
and within 30 days to report your change in marital
status, add your new spouse (and stepchildren) to the
coverage, and if applicable, change your name. In most
cases, coverage for the newly added dependent(s) will be
effective as of the date of the marriage. (See also
Question 19: What if my spouse is also a state or
university employee or annuitant? for any exceptions.)

Birth/Adoption/Dependent Becoming Eligible

If you already have family coverage, you need to submit a
Health Insurance Information Change form (ET-2329) to
add the new dependent. Coverage is effective from the
date of birth, adoption, or legal guardianship or when a
dependent age 25 or younger becomes a full-time
student if otherwise satisfies the dependency
requirements. Be prepared to submit documentation of
guardianship, paternity, or other information as required
by ETF.

If you have single coverage, you can change to family
coverage by submitting an application within 30 days of
the date a dependent becomes eligible or within 60 days
of birth or adoption. (See Question 16: When can |
change from single to family coverage without
restrictions?)

Divorce

Your ex-spouse (and stepchildren) can remain covered
under your family plan only until the end of the month in
which divorce is entered or the end of the month in which
the continuation notice (ET-2311) is provided to the
divorced spouse, whichever is later. (In Wisconsin a legal
separation is unlike divorce in that it does not affect
coverage under the State group health insurance
program.) The divorce is usually entered on the hearing
date regardless of when the judge files papers or papers
are signed by the parties. You should notify Employee
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Trust Funds prior to the divorce hearing date. If you fail
to provide notice of divorce timely, you may be
responsible for premiums paid in error which
covered your ineligible ex-spouse and stepchildren.
Your ex-spouse and stepchildren are then eligible to
continue coverage under a separate contract with the
group plan for 36 additional months. Conversion
coverage would then be available. (See also
CONTINUATION OF HEALTH COVERAGE.) You can
keep your dependent children and adopted stepchildren
on your family plan for as long as they are eligible (age,
student status, etc.).

You must file a Health Insurance Application with
Employee Trust Funds to change from family to single
coverage. File a Health Insurance Information Change
form with Employee Trust Funds to remove ineligible
dependents from a family contract.

When both parties in the divorce are state or university
employees or annuitants and each party is eligible for
state health insurance in his or her own right, and is
insured under the state plan at the time of the divorce,
each retains the right to continue state health insurance
coverage regardless of the divorce.

The participant who is the subscriber of the insurance
coverage at the time of the divorce must submit a health
application to remove the ex-spouse from his or her
coverage and may also elect to change to single
coverage.

The participant insured as a dependent under his or her
ex-spouse’s insurance must submit a health application
to establish coverage in his or her own name. The ex-
spouse must continue coverage with the same plan
unless he or she moves out of the service area (e.qg.
county). The application must be received by Employee
Trust Funds within 30 days of the date of the divorce.
Failure to apply timely will delay the effective date of
coverage.

Each participant may cover any eligible dependent
children (not former stepchildren) under a family contract.
Coverage of the same dependents by both parents would
be subject to Coordination of Benefits provisions. Refer to
the UNIFORM BENEFITS in Section D (your plan benefit
certificate) or contact your health plan directly for
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information on Coordination of Benefits policies and
procedures.

Death

Surviving Spouse/Dependents

If an active or retired employee with family coverage dies,
the surviving insured spouse and insured dependent(s)
who are enrolled at the time of the death may continue
coverage for life under the state program at group rates
but without state contribution toward the premium. If the
surviving spouse is eligible for coverage under the federal
Medicare program, he or she must enroll in Medicare Part
A & B. The dependents may continue coverage until
eligibility ceases. A health insurance application for
continuation of single or family coverage must be filed
with Employee Trust Funds within 90 days after the death
occurs. The new contract is effective the first of the month
following the date of death. The survivors may not add
persons to the policy who were not insured at the time of
the death unless the survivor was also a state employee
and eligible for the insurance in his or her own right.

If family coverage was in force at the time of death, any
unused sick leave credits in the deceased employee’s
account are available to the surviving spouse/dependents
for premium payments. If the surviving dependents
terminate coverage for any reason they may not re-enroll
later. If sick leave credits are escrowed, the surviving
dependents may continue to escrow the credits or may
apply to convert the credits to pay health insurance
premiums.

If single coverage was in force at the time of death, the
full monthly premiums collected for coverage months
following the date of death will be refunded. No partial
month’s premium is refunded for the month of coverage
in which the death occurred. Remaining sick leave credits
are not refundable. In this case, surviving dependents are
not eligible for coverage.

Medicare Eligibility

If you and/or your insured dependents are eligible for
coverage under the federal Medicare program and you
are retired, you must immediately enroll in both Part A
and Part B of Medicare. ETF does not collect your
Medicare Part A, B, or D premium, this is handled by
Social Security. This drug coverage is considered
creditable coverage in comparison to the Medicare Part
D benefit. This allows you to defer enrollment in Part D
without penalty. To maintain your current level of
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22.Who is eligible as a
dependent?

23.What if | don’t have
custody of my
children?

prescription drug benefits under our program, it is not
necessary to enroll in Part D at this time. If you do, this
drug coverage will pay secondary to Part D. (See
Question 9: When must | apply for Medicare? and
Question 70: How does Medicare Part D affect my
prescription drug coverage? Should | enroll?)

DEPENDENT CHILDREN

If you select family coverage, your eligible dependents are
your spouse and unmarried children. Unmarried children are
eligible for coverage to the end of the year in which they turn
age 19 or age 25 if they are full-time students and are
dependent upon you and/or the other parent for at least 50%
of their support, meet the support tests as a dependent for
federal income tax purposes (whether or not the dependent
is claimed) and are: (See Question 28: When does health
coverage terminate for dependents?)

e Your natural children

e Adopted children and pre-adoption placements.
Coverage will be effective on the date that a court makes
a final order granting adoption by the subscriber or on
the date the child is placed for adoption with the
subscriber, which ever occurs first. These dates are
defined by § 632.896, Wis. Stat. If adoption is not
finalized, the insurer may terminate the child’s coverage
when the adoptive placement ends.

e Legal wards who became permanent wards of the
subscriber before age 19. Coverage will be effective on
the date that a court order awards permanent
guardianship to the subscriber.

e Stepchildren

e Grandchildren born to insured dependent children may
be covered until the end of the month in which your
insured dependent (your grandchild’s parent) turns age
18. Your child’s eligibility as a dependent is unaffected by
the birth of the grandchild. The grandchild may be
eligible for coverage as a continuant. (See
CONTINUATION OF HEALTH COVERAGE.)

Even though custody of your child may have been
transferred to the other parent, you may still insure the child
if the other dependency requirements are met. (See
Question 18: What if | am a single mother or a father
establishing paternity?)
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If your unmarried child has a physical or mental disability
that is:

e Expected to be of long-continued or indefinite duration,
and

e isincapable of self-support,

The age limits and student status requirements do not apply
and he or she may be eligible to be covered under your
health insurance through our program.

You must work with your health plan to determine if your
child meets the eligibility criteria. If disabled dependent
status is approved by the plan, you will be contacted
annually to verify the dependent’s continued eligibility. For
adult children who become disabled, they must have been
previously covered under the State of Wisconsin Group
Insurance Program to be considered for disabled dependent
status.

If your child loses eligibility for coverage due to age or
loss of student status, but you are now indicating that the
child meets the disabled dependent definition, eligibility as a
disabled dependent must be established before coverage
can be continued. If you are providing at least 50% support
you must file a Health Information Change from (ET-2329)
with your employer to initiate the disability review process by
the health plan. Your dependent will be offered COBRA
continuation*.

If your disabled dependent child, who has been covered
due to disability, is determined by the health plan to no
longer meet their disability criteria, the plan will notify you
in writing of their decision. They will inform you of the
effective date of cancellation, usually the first of the month
following notification and your dependent will be offered
COBRA continuation*. If you would like to appeal the plan’s
decision, you must first complete the plan’s grievance
procedure. If the plan continues to deny disabled
dependent status for your child, you may appeal the plan’s
grievance decision to ETF by filing an Insurance Complaint
form (ET-2405).

*Electing COBRA continuation coverage should be considered
while his or her eligibility is being verified. If it is determined that
the individual is not eligible as a disabled dependent, there will not
be another opportunity to elect COBRA. If it is later determined
that the child was eligible for coverage as a disabled dependent,
coverage will be retroactive to the date they were last covered,
and premiums paid for COBRA continuation coverage will be
refunded.
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25.What does full-time
student mean?

26.How is student status
monitored for covered
dependents?

27.Will an HMO cover
dependent children
who are living away
from home?

28.When does health
coverage terminate for
dependents?

Student means a person who is enrolled in and attending an
accredited institution that provides a schedule of courses or
classes and whose principal activity is the procurement of an
education. Full-time status is defined by the institution in
which the student is enrolled. A student is considered to be
enrolled on the date that person is recognized as a full-time
student by the institution (for example, the first day of class).
The determination of the date should be discussed with the
institution. Student status includes any intervening vacation
period if the child continues to be a full-time student. It does
not include on-the-job training courses, correspondence
schools, intersession courses (for example courses during
winter break), night schools, and student commitments after
the semester ends, such as student teaching. You will be
required to verify your dependent’s eligibility annually.

If there are full-time students over age 19 covered under a
family plan, the plan will annually send a questionnaire to
the insured, which asks where the students are attending
school and the anticipated date of graduation. If the
guestionnaire is not completed and returned, the plan
may delete the student(s) from the contract as of
December 31°'. Medical and prescription drug claims
will reject after the termination date. If terminated in error,
students can be reinstated with documentation of student
status, including a Health Insurance Information Change
form (ET-2329). Charges for services rendered during the
period of termination would then be covered. However, it is
required that you to notify Employee Trust Funds if student
status terminates. Failure to do so may result in the loss of
continuation rights.

Only if the HMO offers services in the community in which
the child resides. Emergency or urgent care services are
covered wherever they occur. However, non-emergency
treatment must be received at a facility approved by the
HMO. Outpatient mental health services and treatment of
alcohol or drug abuse may be covered. Refer to the
UNIFORM BENEFITS Section D. Contact your HMO for
more information.

Coverage for dependent children who are not physically or
mentally disabled terminates on the earliest of the following
dates:

e The end of the month in which the child marries.

e The end of the calendar year in which the child:

1. Turns 19 while not a full-time student.
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2. Ceases to be a full-time student and is age 19 or
older.
3. Turns 25 while still a full-time student.

4. Ceases to be dependent on either parent or guardian
for support and maintenance.

e The date eligibility for coverage ends either for the
dependent or the subscriber.

Coverage for dependent children under 25 who drop out of
school during the second semester (January-May) and who
have all or most of their tuition refunded, are not eligible for
coverage for that year until they are enrolled and attending

school again.

Coverage for the grandchild ends at the end of the month in
which your child (parent of grandchild) ceases to be an
eligible dependent, or becomes age 18, whichever occurs
first. The grandchild is then eligible for continuation
coverage.

Coverage for a spouse and stepchildren under your plan
terminates at the end of the month in which the divorce was
granted. See section CONTINUATION OF HEALTH
COVERAGE for additional information.

REPORTING PERSONAL CHANGES

You need to report the following changes to Employee Trust
Funds within 30 days of the change. Failure to report
changes on time may result in loss of benefits or delay
payment of claims. To report the following changes, contact
Employee Trust Funds Self-Service Line at 1-877-383-1888
to obtain the notification form listed below. If the change
affects your level of coverage (single to family or family to
single), you must complete a Health Insurance Application,
form number ET-2301.

e Change of name, address, or telephone number
ET-2329, Health Insurance Information Change form

e Change of physician ET-2329

e Addition of dependent (report within 60 days)
ET-2329 if presently under family coverage;
ET-2301 if changing to family coverage

e Loss of a dependent’s eligibility for coverage
ET-2329 if continuing on family coverage;
ET-2301 if changing to single coverage

e Marriage
ET-2329 if continuing on family coverage,;
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ET-2329 if continuing on single coverage and
changing your name

e Divorce
ET-2329 if continuing on family coverage;
ET-2301 if changing to single coverage

e Death of dependent
ET-2329 if continuing on family coverage;
ET-2301 if changing to single coverage
Contact Employee Trust Funds if dependent is your
named survivor

e Death of subscriber
Contact Employee Trust Funds to report the death

e Eligibility for Medicare
Contact Employee Trust Funds for the appropriate
Medicare package

e Obtaining or losing other health insurance coverage
Contact Employee Trust Funds regarding the form
required

SELECTING A HEALTH PLAN

29.How do | select a See chart on Page iii.
health plan?

30.What types of health The State Group Health Insurance program consists of
plans are available? plans that fall into the following broad categories:

Self-insured plans
Medicare Plus $1,000,000 (administered by WPS Health
Insurance (WPS) is a fee-for-service indemnity plan
available to those eligible for and enrolled in Medicare
Parts A & B. Medicare Plus $1,000,000 permits you and
your eligible dependents to receive care from any
qualified health care provider anywhere in the world for
treatment covered by the plan. You may be responsible
for filing claims and for finding the providers who can best
meet your needs.

The Standard Plan (administered by WPS) was
redesigned in 2004 to contain in-network and out-of-
network services. This type of arrangement is often called
a Preferred Provider Plan (PPP). This allows you to see
any provider of your choice, but there are differences in
reimbursements depending on whether you go to an in-
network or an out-of-network provider. If you receive
services from an in-network provider you will have lower
out-of-pocket costs. If you choose an out-of-network
provider, you contribute more toward your health care
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costs by incurring additional deductible costs, and
coinsurance.

State Maintenance Plan (SMP)
This is another self-insured plan that is available in those
counties that lack a qualified Health Maintenance
Organization (HMO). Effective January 1, 2005 the plan
design was altered to match Uniform Benefits, as offered
by the HMOs. See Section D of this booklet for benefit
information. Please note that SMP has physician, hospital
and specialty care networks and referral and prior
authorization processes.

The Standard Plan and SMP contain Care Management
and Pre-admission Certification provisions. Managed
care utilizes various programs to evaluate each patient’s
medical needs and identify the appropriate treatments.
Pre-admission Certification requires members to notify
WPS Health Insurance prior to admission to a hospital for
non-emergency care. Admission will be authorized after
the plan has had an opportunity to explore treatment
alternatives with the admitting physician. The primary
goal with both of these features is to provide cost-
effective health care without sacrificing quality of care or
access. Managed Care and Pre-admission Certification
are not features of Medicare Plus $1,000,000.

Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs)
An HMO is an association of hospitals, physicians, and
other health professionals who contract or collectively
agree to provide all medically necessary covered services
to the HMO participants in return for a prepaid fee. Each
HMO offers service only in specific areas of the state.

The HMO concept is not new. The State of Wisconsin
has been offering HMOs for more than 15 years with
almost 90% of current state employees electing coverage
under an HMO plan. For many people, HMOs provide
high quality care at a lower cost than the fee-for-service
plans. However, HMOs are not for everyone.

All insured members of an HMO are expected to receive
their health care only through physicians, health
professionals, and hospitals affiliated with that HMO.
Don’t expect to join an HMO and get a referral to a
non-HMO physician.

HMOs generally refer outside their networks only if they
are unable to provide needed care within the HMO. If you
go to a non-HMO provider for non-emergency care
without an approved referral, you will not be
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reimbursed by the HMO. If you have questions
regarding the availability of physicians, hospitals, or other
medical professionals, you should contact the HMO
directly.

Often HMOs will contract with several Independent
Physician Associations (IPAs) for medical services.
Generally, referrals between IPAs are restricted.
Consequently, even though a physician may be listed as
an HMO affiliate, that physician may not be readily
available to you unless you have selected him/her as
your primary care physician.

Medicare Coordinated Plans

Since all state health plans have coverage options which
are coordinated with Medicare, you will remain covered
by the plan you selected after you are enrolled in
Medicare Parts A and B. Coverage for participants
enrolled in the Standard Plan, or the SMP Plan, will be
changed to the Medicare Plus $1,000,000 plan on the
participant’s Medicare effective date. Your health
coverage will remain substantially the same as before
Medicare coverage became effective, but the state health
plans are designed to supplement, not duplicate the
benefits you receive under Medicare. Prescription drugs
will continue to be covered. Because of this coordination
with Medicare, your monthly premiums for state health
insurance may be less.

Preferred Provider Plan (PPP)

These are organizations which pay a specific level of
benefits if certain providers are utilized, and a lesser
amount for other providers. This arrangement can be
attractive to persons who for the most part are
comfortable with the plan’s providers, but occasionally
feel the need to utilize a particular specialist or need
additional protection while traveling. Uniform Benefit
PPPs are only available through Patient Choice.

NOTE: ALL HMOs AND PATIENT CHOICE OFFER

UNIFORM BENEFITS WHEN SERVICES ARE
PROVIDED IN-NETWORK EVEN IF NOT
COVERED BY MEDICARE. SEE SECTION D ON
UNIFORM BENEFITS IN THIS BOOKLET.

31.Which plans are All health plans listed in this booklet are available to you, but
actually available to of course some are more suitable because of the location of
me? their providers. Since HMOs require you to seek non-

emergency medical care from physicians, clinics, and
hospitals associated with that HMO, you should consider the
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distance you will have to travel to receive care when making
your selection. See the list of locations and the map in
Section A and the Plan Description Section G of this
booklet to see which plans serve your area. Coverage
under the Standard Plan, and Medicare Plus $1,000,000 is
available worldwide.

Alternate health plans (HMOs and Patient Choice’s PPPs)
are offered to help hold down health care costs and to give
individuals some latitude in selecting their health care
benefits. There is standardization in benefit levels and some
areas such as the definition of eligible dependents and the
determination of when coverage is effective. There are also
distinct differences.

Uniform Benefits are intended to simplify the plan selection
process for participants. However, in choosing an alternate
plan, you should consider the following:

e Monthly premium amount

¢ Quantity, quality and availability of participating health
care providers

¢ Location and convenience of affiliated clinics, hospitals,
emergency/urgent care centers and other medical
facilities

e Dental coverage (if offered), including the location and
availability of dental providers

¢ Requirements/restrictions on receiving a referral to
another provider within or outside of the plan’s provider
network

e Other plan rules/restrictions/limitations covering such
issues as:
- changing primary care physicians
- allowing covered family members to have primary
care
- physicians from different clinics
- receiving emergency/urgent care outside of the
plan’s service area

In addition, remember that Uniform Benefits does not mean
that all plans will treat all illnesses or injuries in an identical
manner. Treatment will vary depending on the needs of the
patient, the methodologies employed by the physicians
involved, and the managed care policies and procedures of
the plan.

When considering an alternate health benefit plan, do not
hesitate to ask questions about the program, especially if
you have unique requirements or know you will be requiring
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33. Can family members
have different health
plans from the
subscriber?

34.What if | have covered
dependent children
who live elsewhere or
if I travel frequently?

35. Will an HMO cover
non-emergency care
from physicians who
are not affiliated with
the plan?

36. Why is ETF including
information about
Leapfrog, CheckPoint,
and the Collaborative
in the It’s Your Choice
book?

37. What is Leapfrog?

medical care in the near future. Contact the health plan
directly.

No, family members are limited to the plan selected by the
subscriber.

While HMOs provide reimbursement for emergency care
outside of their service areas, routine care must be received
from the HMO'’s own physicians. Some HMOs also require
that follow-up care after an emergency be received from a
plan provider. A preferred provider plan such as Patient
Choice or the Standard Plan, and Medicare Plus $1,000,000
allow you the flexibility to seek routine care outside a
particular service area. Note that out of network or care
system care is subject to higher deductible and coinsurance
amounts. (See “Proof of Claim” in Uniform Benefits,
Section D., VI, item | for information on submitting claims
for non-plan providers. See also Question 27: Will an HMO
cover dependent children who are living away from
home?)

Most HMO plans will pay nothing when non-emergency
treatment is provided by physicians outside of the plan
unless there is an authorized referral. Contact the plans
directly regarding their policies on referrals.

PROVIDER QUALITY INFORMATION

Wisconsin healthcare providers are demonstrating their
willingness to share information with the public about the
steps they are taking to improve the quality and safety of
care for their patients. Medical errors result in over 98,000
preventable deaths each year, yet there is little information
with which to compare and choose health care providers
based on safety and quality. This information is a starting
point to help us begin to assess healthcare options and to
ask more informed questions about what doctors and
hospitals are doing to reduce medical errors and improve
quality.

The ETF has endorsed a nationwide effort taking aim at
improving the quality and safety of hospital care. The
“Leapfrog” effort raises consumer awareness of four hospital
safety practices or standards proven to reduce medical
errors and save lives. At the same time, insurance program
administrators (like the ETF) are publicly recognizing and
rewarding their urban hospitals for voluntarily reporting their
C-28
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39.Why are some
hospitals noted with
check marks, and
some hospitals and
plans noted with frog
symbols on the Plan
Description pages?

40. Are there other
resources available to
consumers for
information on
provider safety and
guality?
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progress in fully adopting the standards. The three key
standards the State has asked urban hospitals to adopt are:
Computerized Prescription Order Entry (CPOE); Intensive
Care Unit Physician Staffing; and Evidence-Based Hospital
Referral. Urban and rural hospitals have also been asked to
complete a survey based on their efforts in adopting the 27
National Quality Forum safety practices called the Leapfrog
Quality Index. These practices, if used universally in
applicable clinical settings, would reduce risk of harm to
patients. Provider progress on these measures is updated
monthly with information available at
http://www.leapfroggroup.org/consumer_intro.htm.

CheckPoint is a statewide program sponsored by the
Wisconsin Hospital Association that reports results from
Wisconsin hospitals who have agreed to share information
about the quality and safety of health care services delivered
to patients in their communities.

CheckPoint provides data on five error prevention measures
and ten clinical interventions that medical experts agree
should be taken to treat conditions such as heart attacks,
heart failure and pneumonia; three of the most common
causes of hospitalization.

Additional quality measures, as well as consumer-focused
educational information, will be added to the CheckPoint
program over time. Visit their web site for the most up-to-
date information at www.wicheckpoint.org.

Hospitals who have completed the Leapfrog and/or
CheckPoint survey are noted with a frog and/or a check
mark, to recognize them for reporting on their attainment, or
work toward improvements in patient safety and quality.

ETF is also noting those plans who have written to their plan
hospitals to educate them about Leapfrog, to request them
to participate in these safety and quality initiatives.

WCHQ

Wisconsin Collaborative

Jor Healthcare Quality

The Wisconsin Collaborative for Healthcare Quality web site
links consumers to an extensive public report comparing the
performance of Wisconsin providers on health care quality,
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41.How can | get a listing
of the physicians
participating in each
plan?

42.What is a primary
provider?

safety and service performance and over 22 clinical
interventions that medical experts agree should be taken to
better treat heart attacks, heart failure, pneumonia and
surgical infections.

By clicking on www.wchg.org, consumers will find
information on such things as:

e Appointment wait times in clinics

¢ Clinical measures on how well patients with diabetic are
managed

e Physician group results on how well they screen patients
for colorectal, cervical, and breast cancers.

MedlinePlus contains health information from the
world's largest medical library, the National Library of
Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can
depend on it for information that is authoritative and up
to date. MedlinePlus has extensive information on over
700 diseases and conditions, a medical encyclopedia
and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish,
information on prescription and nonprescription drugs,
and links to thousands of clinical trials. MedlinePlus is
updated daily and can be bookmarked at:
www.medlineplus.gov.

PROVIDER INFORMATION

Contact the plan directly. Employee Trust Funds does not
maintain a current list of this information.

When you select a health plan, each covered family member
typically selects a primary provider who provides entry into
the plan’s health care system and evaluates your total health
needs. Depending upon the requirements of your plan, the
primary provider exercises a greater or lesser degree of
control to your access of other providers. He/she responds
to your health questions and concerns, recommends and
coordinates treatment and initiates referrals to specialists,
when necessary. It is important to establish a relationship
with your primary provider, through annual physical exams
for example, to ensure that if there is a serious health
problem you will be comfortable seeking care from a
physician who knows you and your health history.

Generally, primary providers are family practice, general
practice or internal medicine physicians. Some plans also
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43.How do | choose a
primary physician or
pharmacy who’s right
for me?

44.Can | change primary
physicians within my
alternate health plan?

45.1f my physician or
other health care
professionals are listed
with an alternate health
plan, can | continue
seeing him or her if |
enroll in that alternate
health plan?

46.What happens if my
provider leaves the
plan midyear?
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permit participants to select an OB/GYN or pediatrician as
the primary provider.

If you're not sure a provider holds the same beliefs as you
do, call the clinic or pharmacy and ask about your concerns.
For example, you may want to ask the provider's opinion
about dispensing a prescription for oral contraceptives.

Alternate plans (HMOs and Patient Choice’s PPPs) differ in
their policies. First contact your health plan to find out when
your change will become effective. Then file a Health
Insurance Information Change form available from
Employee Trust Funds indicating the effective date of your
change as specified by the plan.

If you want to continue seeing a particular physician (or
psychologist, dentist, optometrist, etc.), contact that
physician to see which HMO, if any, he or she is affiliated
with and if he or she will be available to you under that
HMO. Confirm this with the HMO. Even though your current
physician may join an HMO, he or she may not be available
as your primary physician just because you join that HMO.

Health care providers appearing in any published health
plan provider listing or directory remain available for the
entire calendar year except in cases of normal attrition (that
is, death, retirement or relocation) or termination due to
formal disciplinary action. A participant who is in her second
or third trimester of pregnancy may continue to have access
to her provider until the completion of post-partum care for
herself and the infant.

If a provider contract terminates during the year (excluding
normal attrition or formal disciplinary action), the plan is
required to pay charges for covered services from these
providers on a fee-for-service basis. Fee-for-service means
the usual and customary charges the plan is able to
negotiate with the provider while the member is held
harmless. Health plans will individually notify members of
terminating providers (prior to the Dual-Choice period) and
will allow them an opportunity to select another provider
within the plan’s network.

Your provider leaving the plan does not give you an
opportunity to change plans mid-year.
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47.What if | need medical
care that my primary
physician cannot
provide?

48.How will my health
premiums be paid?

As an HMO or SMP participant, you may need to designate
a primary physician or clinic. Your primary physician is
responsible for managing your health care. Under most
circumstances, he or she may refer you to other medical
specialists within the HMO’s or SMP’s provider network as
he or she feels is appropriate. However, referrals outside of
the network are strictly regulated. Check with your plan for
their referral requirements and procedures.

PREMIUM CONTRIBUTION

Premium rates for retired employees are the same as for
active employees (except that your premium will decrease
when you or a dependent becomes covered by Medicare).
However, the state does not pay any portion. Your monthly
premiums will be paid in one of the following ways:

e From your Accumulated Sick Leave Conversion
Credits until those credits are exhausted. If you have
accumulated sick leave at the time of your retirement or
death (and your applicable compensation plan or
collective bargaining agreement provides for sick leave
conversion), the credits can be converted to a dollar
amount to pay your health premiums for the State Group
Health Insurance Program. (Sick leave credits can only
be converted for payment of State Group Health
Insurance program premiums; they cannot be used for
other insurances; they have no cash value and accrue no
interest.) If you choose to escrow your sick leave, this
can be done at the time of retirement or a later date.
Contact ETF for the escrow form.

NOTE: If you qualify for a Wisconsin Retirement System
disability benefit, you have the option of being paid your
sick leave hours or having them converted to pay your
health premiums while you are receiving your disability
annuity.

If you have no sick leave credits available, or your credits
are exhausted, then monthly premiums will be paid:

e From deductions from your monthly retirement,
disability, or beneficiary annuity payment. Premiums
will be automatically deducted a month in advance of
coverage. If there is no annuity or your annuity is not
large enough to take premiums, then they will be paid:

e From direct billings to you. Your health plan will bill
you directly for premiums.

WARNING: Your coverage will be cancelled if you fail
to pay your premium in a timely manner. If you re-
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enroll, coverage will be effective the first of the
seventh month following the application receive
date. If you are a surviving spouse or dependent, you
are not eligible for re-enrollment.

From your converted life insurance. If you are retired
and have life insurance coverage through the State of
Wisconsin, are at least 66, and have used up all your
sick leave credits, you may elect to convert your life
insurance to pay health insurance premiums. If you make
this election, your life insurance coverage will cease and
you will receive credits in a conversion account equal to
the present value of your life insurance. The present
value ranges from about 44% to 80% of the face amount,
depending on your age. The life insurance company,
Minnesota Life, will pay health insurance premiums on
your behalf from your conversion account until the
account is exhausted. You will NOT receive any direct
cash payment. You may file the election at any time, and
it will be effective at the beginning of the third full month
after ETF receives it. For more information, contact ETF.

49.Does a health plan with No, all alternate plans (HMOs and Patient Choice’s PPPSs)

a higher premium offer
more benefits?

50.How often will
premium rates
change?

51.Do | have to use my
sick leave credits to
pay my health
premiums?

are required to offer Uniform Benefits. Premium rates may

vary because of many factors: how efficiently the plan is
able to provide services and process benefit payments; the
fees charged in the area in which service is being rendered;
the manner in which the health care providers deliver care
and are compensated within the service area; and how
frequently individuals covered by the plan use the health

plan. Also, plans offering optional dental coverage may have

slightly higher premiums.

The Standard Plan and Medicare Plus $1,000,000 will
continue to offer benefits that differ from Uniform Benefits.

All group premium rates change at the same time —
January 1 of each year. The monthly cost of all plans will be
announced during the Dual-Choice Enroliment period.

You do not have to use your sick leave credits to pay your
health premiums if:

e You escrow your sick leave. If you are covered under
comparable health coverage when you retire, you may
escrow your sick leave credits indefinitely after your
retirement date if you are currently insured in the state

program. Annually, you may also elect to escrow if you
later become covered by a comparable health coverage.

C-33



2007 Annuitant / Continuant

You may elect coverage under any plan in the state
program without waiting periods or exclusions for pre-
existing conditions when timely re-enrolled.

OR

e You are covered under your spouse’s State Group
Health Insurance Program plan. If you retire and are
also a dependent on your spouse’s state group health
insurance plan, you will have your sick leave credits
inactivated until your spouse retires and depletes his or
her own sick leave credits.

NOTE: You can unescrow your sick leave once a year
at Dual-Choice.

CHANGING HEALTH PLANS

DUAL-CHOICE ENROLLMENT

During the Dual-Choice Enroliment period all subscribers
currently continuants, and retirees insured by the State
Group Health Insurance program are allowed to change
from one plan to another, or from single to family coverage,
for the following calendar year without a waiting period or
exclusions for pre-existing medical conditions. You will
receive a new It's Your Choice booklet prior to the
enrollment period. You do not need to submit a completed
application to continue coverage in your current plan for next
year provided the plan is still offered.

52.What does Dual-Choice Dual-Choice refers to the annual opportunity insured
mean? subscribers have to select one of many health care plans
offered. The name originated many years ago when the
choice of health care plans was very limited. Today, eligible
subscribers have over 15 different health plans from which

to choose.

53.When is a coverage Dual-Choice coverage changes are effective January 1 of
change made during the following year.
Dual-Choice effective?

54.Is the Dual-Choice No, the Dual-Choice Enrollment is offered only to
Enrollment available to subscribers presently insured under the State Group Health
everyone? Insurance program.

55.May | change from Yes, if you change from single to family coverage during
single to family Dual-Choice, coverage will include all eligible dependents
coverage during Dual- effective January 1 of the following year. (See also
Choice? Question 16: When can | change from single to family

coverage without restrictions?)
C-34




56.How do I change plans
during Dual-Choice?

57.What if | change my
mind about the plan |
selected during Dual-
Choice?

58.Can | change from one
plan to another during
the year?
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If you decide to change to a different plan, complete the
enclosed health application and mail it to Employee
Trust Funds P.O. Box 7931, Madison, WI 53707-7931 by
the last day of the Dual-Choice Enrollment period.
Applications postmarked after the deadline will not be
accepted. Instructions for filling out the application are in
Section H of this booklet.

You do not need to return an application if you are not
making any changes.

You may submit or change an application at any time during
the Dual-Choice period. After that time, you may withdraw
your application (and keep your current coverage) by
notifying Employee Trust Funds in writing before
December 31.

CHANGING HEALTH PLANS

Yes, but only if you, the subscriber:

¢ move from your plan’s service area (for example, out of
the county) for a period of at least 3 months. An
application must be received by Employee Trust Funds
within 30 days after the date of your move. Your new
coverage will be effective the first of the month on or
following the receipt of your application. You may again
change plans when you return to the service area for 3
months by submitting another application within 30 days
after your return. (Also see Question 61: What if | have
a temporary or permanent move from the service
area?)

¢ You may change to the Standard Plan/Medicare Plus
$1,000,000 at any time by canceling your existing
coverage and submitting an application for the Standard
Plan/Medicare Plus $1,000,000. Coverage will be
effective the first of the month on or following the receipt
of the application by Employee Trust Funds. However,
there will be a 180-day waiting period for any pre-existing
conditions (except pregnancy) for all participants. There
is no waiting period for any children born after the
effective date of the Standard Plan coverage. Pre-
existing condition means a condition for which medical
advice, diagnosis, care or treatment was recommended
or received within the six-month period ending on the
enrollment date.

Otherwise, you can only change health plans without
restriction during the Dual-Choice Enrollment period.
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59.1f | change plans, what
happens to any benefit
maximum that may
apply to services I've
received?

60.1f | leave a plan and
later re-enroll in that
plan, does my lifetime
benefit Maximum start
over?

61.What if | have a
temporary or
permanent move from
the service area?

When you change plans for any reason (for example, Dual-
Choice or a move from a plan’s service area), any annual
health insurance benefit maximum under Uniform Benefits
will start over at $0 with your new plan, even if you change
plans mid-year. Examples are the durable medical
equipment and the mental health/alcohol/drug abuse
benefit. However, orthodontia benefit maximums typically
carry over from one plan to the next. They are optional and
not part of the Uniform Benefits medical plan.

The lifetime benefit maximum is per participant per plan.
When you change from one health plan to another, your
lifetime maximum with the new plan will start over at $0. If
you later return to a plan under which you were previously
covered, the plan may count any benefits paid during all
periods of coverage toward the lifetime benefit maximum for
that plan. The only exception is if you are covered by a plan
under the State program and then under the Wisconsin
Public Employers’ Group Health Insurance program, or vice
versa. In that situation, the lifetime benefit maximums
accumulate separately, as these are separate insurance
programs.

A subscriber who moves out of a service area (for example,
out of the county) either permanently, or temporarily for 3
months or more will be permitted to enroll in the Standard
Plan, or an available alternate plan, provided an application
for such plan is submitted within 30 days after relocation.
You will be required to document the fact that your
application is being submitted due to a change of residence
out of a service area.

It is important that your application to change coverage be
submitted as soon as possible and no later than 30 days
after the change of residence to maintain coverage for non-
emergency services. The change in plans will be effective
on the first day of the month on or after your application is
received by Employee Trust Funds but not prior to the date
of your move. If your application is received after the 30-day
deadline, you are only eligible for the Standard Plan or
Medicare Plus $1,000,000 with a 180-day waiting period for
pre-existing conditions. If your relocation is temporary, you
may again change to another plan upon return by submitting
an application within 30 days of your return. The change will
be effective on the first day of the month on or after your
application is received by Employee Trust Funds but not
prior to your return.
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If you are confined as an inpatient (in a hospital, an Alcohol
and Other Drug Abuse (AODA) residential center or a skilled
nursing facility) or require 24 hour home care on the
effective date of the coverage with the new plan, you will
begin to receive benefits from your new plan unless the
facility you are confined in is not in your new plan’s network.
If you are confined in such a facility, your claims will
continue to be processed by your prior plan as provided by
contract until that confinement ends and you are discharged
from the non-network hospital or other facility, 12 months
have passed, or the contract maximums is reached. If you
are transferred or discharged to another facility for continued
treatment of the same or related condition, it is considered
one confinement.

In all other instances, the new plan assumes liability
immediately on the effective date of your coverage, such as
January 1.

BENEFITS AND SERVICES

63.How do | receive health
care benefits and
services?

64.How do | file claims?

You will receive identification cards from the plan you select.
If you lose these cards or need additional cards for other
family members, you may request them directly from the
plan.

Alternate plans are not required to provide you with a
certificate describing your benefits. The Uniform Benefits
section of this booklet provides this information and will
serve as your certificate.

Present your identification card to the hospital or physician
who is providing the service. Identification numbers are
necessary for any claim to be processed or service
provided.

Under the Standard Plan, and SMP, you or your physician
must contact the Administrative Services Only (ASO)
contract Administrator WPS Health Insurance before you are
admitted to a hospital or you will be subject to a penalty. In
addition, any ongoing confinement will be monitored by the
Administrator. The Administrator’s role is to ensure that only
care which is appropriate for your medical condition is
provided.

Most of the alternate plans also require that non-emergency
hospitalizations be prior authorized.

Most of the services provided by an HMO do not require

filing of claim forms. However, you may be required to file

claims for some items and services. The Standard Plan

requires claims incurred in any calendar year to be received
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65.How are my benefits
coordinated with other
health insurance
coverage?

66.How do | file medical
claims if Medicare
coverage is in effect?

67.What is the Medicare
Cross-over Option?

by the Administrator no later than the end of the next
calendar year. Alternate plans (HMOs) require claims be
filed within 12 months of the date of service, or if later, as
soon as reasonably possible.

When you are covered under two or more group health
insurance policies (other than Medicare) at the same time,
and both contain coordination of benefit provisions,
insurance regulations require the primary carrier be
determined by an established sequence. This means that
the primary carrier will pay its full benefits first; then the
secondary carrier would consider the remaining expenses.
See the Coordination of Benefits Provision found in the
UNIFORM BENEFITS in Section D.

Alternate Plans. Most alternate plans will take care of
submitting claims to Medicare on your behalf and you will
probably not notice changes in the claims handling process.
However, because each plan may handle the process
differently, you should contact your plan directly for specific
instructions.

Medicare Plus $1,000,000. Your responsibilities in the
claims process will depend on the policies and practices of
the medical facility from which you receive care. You may be
required to submit the claims to Medicare and then submit
the proper forms to WPS Health Insurance for supplemental
payments. Refer to the brochure, “Medicare Plus
$1,000,000” available from Employee Trust Funds for more
information, and contact your health care provider or facility
regarding their particular Medicare claims procedures.

A claims processing system for services received under
Medicare Parts A and B is available to you at no additional
cost. It is designed to eliminate some of the paperwork
involved in filing claims.

WPS Health Insurance (WPS) has an agreement with
Medicare to cross-over claims for any services that
Medicare processed as primary. Medicare will automatically
forward your Explanation of Medicare Benefits (EOMBO to
WPS for services you receive throughout the United States.

Claim forwarding is automatic for each person covered
under Medicare. You do not need to complete a form or
contact WPS to take advantage of cross-over.
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68.1f | have Medicare as
my primary coverage,
how are my benefits
coordinated?

69. What is Medicare
Part D?

70. How does Medicare
Part D affect my
prescription drug
coverage?

Should | enroll?
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Since all state health plans have coverage options that are
coordinated with Medicare, you will remain covered by the
plan you selected after you are enrolled in Medicare.
However, if you are enrolled in the Standard Plan or SMP,
your coverage will be changed to the Medicare Plus
$1,000,000 plan. There are some benefit differences
between these plans. Medicare Plus $1,000,000 is designed
to supplement, not duplicate, the benefits you receive under
Medicare.

If you are enrolled in an HMO, your health coverage will
remain the same as before Medicare coverage became
effective. Your HMO is also designed to supplement, not
duplicate the benefits you receive under Medicare.

In both cases, because of this coordination with Medicare,
your monthly premiums for state health insurance will be
less.

Benefits will be processed first by Medicare, then by your
plan. Note that for some benefits such as durable medical
equipment under Uniform Benefits, Medicare Part B and the
health plan both have a 20% coinsurance that you are
responsible to pay.

MEDICARE PART D INFORMATION

It is a new prescription drug benefit program administered by
the federal government. Enrollment in Medicare Part D
coverage begins November 15, 2006, for coverage effective
January 1, 2007.

Keep in mind you are already paying for and receiving
comprehensive prescription drug coverage through the
state's group health insurance program. Participation in
Medicare Part D is voluntary and in 2007 you will pay a
monthly premium of approximately $38 on average if
you enroll in a Medicare Part D prescription drug plan
(PDP). Your current drug coverage, administered through
Navitus Health Solutions, is considered creditable coverage
in comparison to the Medicare PDP prescription drug
benefit, therefore we do not recommend enrolling in a
Medicare PDP. This coverage will allow you to defer
enrollment in Part D without penalty. If you would like to
maintain your current level of prescription drug benefits
under our program, it is not necessary to enroll in a
Medicare PDP at this time. (Also see page B-10 Certificate
of Creditable Coverage).
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71. Will my health
insurance premium go
down if I enroll in a
Medicare Part D
prescription drug
plan?

72. What is the Standard
Plan with the Preferred
Provider Network?

No. Your health insurance premium includes both medical
and prescription drug coverage and is already reduced to
account for the Medicare Retiree Drug Subsidy (RDS).
Under the RDS program the Employee Trust Funds is
eligible for a reimbursement of a portion of the pharmacy
claims paid for retirees who are not enrolled in Medicare
Part D. If you enroll in a Medicare prescription drug plan,
you will continue to pay the same premium in addition to
paying the Medicare PDP premium (approximately
$38/month) to Medicare. Navitus will coordinate coverage
with Medicare and pay after Medicare processes your
prescription claims, minus the applicable copayments and
coinsurance that are your responsibility.

STANDARD PLAN

This plan, often called a Preferred Provider Plan (PPP),
offers participants under 65 the choice to see any provider,
but there are differences in reimbursements depending on
whether you go to an in-network or an out-of-network
provider. If you receive services from an in-network provider
you will have lower out-of-pocket costs. The in-network
deductible will be $100 single/$200 family. After the
deductible, the plan pays 100% of in-network, covered
services.

If you choose an out-of-network provider, you contribute
more toward your health costs by incurring additional
deductible costs, and coinsurance. You will have a $500
single/$1,000 family deductible and co-insurance costs.
(See in Section G, the Standard Plan description page for
more information.)

Please keep in mind that these deductibles accumulate
separately, so the in-network deductible does not apply to
the out-of-network deductible, and vice versa.

Note that prescription drug coverage is administered by the
PBM so the drug co-payments align with those of Uniform
Benefits, except the annual prescription out-of-pocket
maximum for drug co-payments is $1,000 single/$2,000
family.

A PPP can be attractive to persons, who for the most part,
are comfortable with the plan’s providers, but occasionally
feel the need to utilize a particular specialist or desire
coverage for routine care while traveling. All eligible State
employees and annuitants or other dependent(s) under 65
have the option to enroll in this plan.
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73.How do | know which
providers are in-
network providers?

74.What is a Pharmacy
Benefit Manager
(PBM)?

75.What is a drug
formulary, how is it
developed, and how
will I know if my

prescription drug is on
it?

76.How does a three-level
drug copayment
system work?
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See the plan description page in Section G for more
information on how to access or receive a provider directory.
You may also contact the health plan administrator to
receive a printed copy.

PHARMACY BENEFIT MANAGER

A PBM is a third party administrator of a prescription drug
program that is primarily responsible for processing and
paying prescription drug claims. In addition, they typically
negotiate discounts and rebates with drug manufacturers,
contract with pharmacies, and develop and maintain the
formulary. The State’s PBM will negotiate rebates and
discounts on behalf of the State and pass the savings back.
Many health plans currently provide their drug benefit
through a PBM.

A formulary is a list of prescription drugs established by a
committee of physicians and pharmacists that are
determined to be medically-effective and cost-effective. The
formulary is developed by a Pharmacy and Therapeutics
Committee, which includes a statewide group of physicians
and pharmacists.

Drugs are evaluated on the basis of effectiveness, side
effects, drug interactions, and then cost. On a continuous
basis new drugs are reviewed to make sure the formulary is
kept up-to-date and that patient needs are being met.

The complete formulary is listed on Navitus’ Web site,
www.navitus.com. You may also contact Navitus customer
service toll free at 1-866-333-2757 with questions about the
formulary.

Under a three-level prescription drug benefit, you have three
different copayment amounts for covered prescription drugs.
By having to pay a lower copayment for those drugs on the
formulary, which are Level 1 and Level 2, you are
encouraged to use formulary drugs. However, if you prefer a
drug that is not on the formulary (and for which coverage is
not excluded), you can get that drug for a higher copayment,
which is the Level 3 copayment. This gives you more
freedom of choice with the drugs that you use.

Under the three-level prescription drug benefit, it will still be
necessary to get a prior authorization before some formulary
and non-formulary drugs will be covered.
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77.Will | have to use a
different ID card when |
go to the pharmacy?

Yes. You will have two identification cards, one from your
health plan and one from Navitus. Your member
identification number will be different on each card, so it
is important that you show the correct card when getting
services. When filling prescriptions, you must present
your Navitus ID card to the pharmacist.

TERMINATION/LEAVING YOUR HEALTH PLAN

78.How do | cancel
coverage?

79.When can an
annuitant’s health
coverage be
terminated?

CANCELLATION / TERMINATION OF COVERAGE

Voluntary cancellation (or switching from family to single
coverage which is deemed voluntary cancellation for all
insured dependents) requires written notification to
Employee Trust Funds. Be aware that voluntary cancellation
of coverage does not provide an opportunity to continue
coverage for previously covered dependents as described in
section CONTINUATION OF HEALTH COVERAGE.
Cancellation affects both medical and prescription drug
coverage.

No REFUNDS are made for premiums paid in advance
unless Employee Trust Funds receives your written
request on or before the last day of the month preceding
the month for which you request the refund. Under no
circumstances are partial month’s premiums refunded.
Once coverage terminates, you will be responsible for
any claims inadvertently paid beyond your coverage
effective dates.

Your coverage can only be terminated because:

1. Premiums are not paid.
2. Coverage is voluntarily cancelled.

3. Failure to apply for both Medicare Part A and Part B
when first eligible. The Medicare enroliment requirement
is deferred while you or your spouse are employed and
covered under a group health insurance plan from that
employment. (See also Question 9: When must | apply
for Medicare?)

4. Ineligible for coverage as an annuitant because of
becoming an active WRS employee. (See also Question
14: How are my health benefits affected by my return
to work (for an employer who is under the WRS)?)

5. Fraud is committed in obtaining benefits or inability to
establish a physician/patient relationship. Termination of
coverage for this reason requires Group Insurance Board
approval.

6. Death of subscriber.
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80.Is it possible to re-
enroll in this health
insurance program
after | terminate state
employment?

81.Who is eligible for
continuation?

82.Who do I notify when a
dependent loses
eligibility for
coverage?

83.Does my coverage
change under
continuation?
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Contact Employee Trust Funds for the date coverage will
terminate.

If you terminated state employment and you were not
enrolled for health insurance or subsequently terminated
coverage, you may enroll for single or family coverage if you
are:

1. Aretired employee of the state who is receiving a
retirement annuity or has received a lump sum
payment under Wis. Stat. § 40.25 (1);

OR

2. An employee of the state who terminates creditable
service after attaining 20 years of creditable service,
remains a WRS participant and is not eligible for an
immediate annuity.

If so, you may submit an application to enroll and may select
any offered health plan. Coverage will be effective on the
first day of the seventh month following the Department’s
receipt of the application. Surviving dependents are not
eligible to re-enroll. (See also Question 2: Which
annuitants are eligible for State of Wisconsin group
health insurance?)

CONTINUATION OF HEALTH COVERAGE

See COBRA: Continuation of Coverage Provisions for

the Group Health Insurance Program in Section B of this
booklet. Both you and your spouse should take the time to
read this section carefully.

You have the responsibility to inform Employee Trust Funds
of a spouse or dependent losing eligibility for coverage
under the State Group Health Insurance program. If you
have changed marital status, or you or your spouse have
changed addresses, complete a new application as
notification of this change. Under Federal Law, if ETF is
not notified within 60 days of the later of (1) the event
that caused the loss of coverage, or (2) the end of the
period of coverage, the right to continuation coverage is
lost. A voluntary change in coverage from a family plan to a
single plan does not create a continuation opportunity.

No, continuation coverage is identical to the active employee
coverage. In most cases, you are eligible to maintain
continuation coverage for 36 months from the month of the
qualifying event and are allowed to change plans during the
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84.Will my premium
change under
continuation?

85.How do | cancel
continuation
coverage?

86.When is conversion
coverage available?

annual Dual-Choice Enrollment period or if the subscriber
moves from the service area. However, your continuation
coverage may be cut short for any of the following reasons:

1. The premium for your continuation coverage is not
paid when due.

2. You or a covered family member become covered
under another group health plan that does not have
a pre-existing conditions clause which applies to
you or your covered family member.

3. You were divorced from an insured employee and
subsequently remarry and are insured through your
new spouse’s group health plan.

If you or your covered dependent becomes eligible for
Medicare, you may need to enroll in Medicare as soon as
you are eligible. (See Question 9: When Must | Apply for
Medicare?)

No. See page A-4, in the premium rate section of this
booklet.

To cancel continuation coverage, notify ETF in writing.
Include your name, Social Security number, date of birth and
address. ETF will forward your request to the plan. Your
coverage will be cancelled at the end of the month in which
Employee Trust Funds receives the request to cancel
coverage.

As required by law, you are eligible to apply for
conversion coverage when group continuation
coverage terminates. Contact the plan directly to make
application for conversion coverage. Conversion
coverage is available without providing evidence of
insurability, and with no waiting period for pre-existing
conditions, provided state group coverage has been in effect
for at least three months prior to termination.

If the plan automatically bills you for conversion coverage
that you do not want, simply do not pay the premium for the
coverage. The coverage offered will be the conversion
contract (not the state plan) available at the time, subject to
the rates and regulations then in effect. The coverage and
premium amount may vary greatly from plan to plan.

If you reside outside of the HMO service area at the time
you apply for conversion coverage, you may only be eligible
for an out-of-area conversion policy through another
insurance carrier. The benefits and rates of the out-of-area
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conversion plan are subject to the regulations in effect in the
state in which you reside.

The conversion privilege is also available to dependents
when they cease to be eligible under the subscriber’s family
contract. Request for conversion must be received by the
plan within 30 days after termination of group coverage. If
you have questions regarding conversion, write or call the
plan in which you are enrolled.

87.How is my If you move out of the service area (either permanently, or
continuation coverage temporarily for three months or more) you are eligible to
affected if | move from change plans. (See Question 61: What if | have a
the service area? temporary or permanent move from the service area? for
additional information.)

Your application to change plans must be postmarked within
30 days after your move. Because you are on continuation
coverage, call the ETF Employer Communication Center at
(608) 264-7900 to obtain a Health Insurance Application.
Complete and submit the application to the Department of
Employee Trust Funds, P. O. Box 7931, Madison, WI
53707-7931.
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