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GENERAL INFORMATION

1. Who should use this
booklet?

2. Who is eligible for State
of Wisconsin group
health insurance?

3. Where can | get more
information?

All insured health plan subscribers should use this booklet
throughout the year as a reference. The Uniform Benefits Section
(D) is the benefits certificate for those enrolled in alternate health
plans and SMP (but not the Standard Plan or Medicare Plus
$1,000,000).

New employees who are selecting a health insurance plan for the
first time.

Currently-insured employees who, during the October Dual-Choice
Enroliment period, are changing to a different plan for the following
calendar year.

Currently-insured employees who wish to change from single to
family coverage without incurring waiting periods or exclusions for
pre-existing conditions. This is generally possible only during the
Dual-Choice Enrollment period.

Information about the State of Wisconsin Group Health Insurance
program in this booklet applies to the following individuals:

Active state and university employees participating in the Wisconsin
Retirement System (WRS).

Elected state officials.
Members or employees of the legislature.

Certain visiting faculty members in the University of Wisconsin
System.

Blind employees of the Workshop for the Blind (Wiscraft) with at
least 1,000 hours of services.

Separate booklets have been prepared for two other categories of
eligible individuals:

Graduate assistants, employees-in-training (includes scholars,
fellows, trainees, etc.), and short-term academic staff (not covered
under the WRS) employed at least one-third full-time by the
University of Wisconsin System should refer to booklet ET-2127.

Retired state and university employees, those receiving a duty
disability benefit, and those on health continuation (including
surviving spouses and dependents) should refer to booklet
ET-2108.

Health Plans and Pharmacy Benefit Manager (PBM)

The best source of information regarding benefits and services is
from the plans themselves. You should ask that they provide written
clarification on specific benefit questions. See the inside back
cover of this booklet for the addresses and telephone numbers
of available plans.

The Uniform Benefits, found in Section D, is the benefits certificate
for those enrolled in alternate health plans and SMP (but not the
Standard Plan).

All participating plans have descriptive brochures. These brochures
are available by contacting the plans directly. Prior to Dual-Choice
each year, many plans will mail new brochures directly to your
home.
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4. Privacy of Social
Security numbers?

5. What if I have a
complaint about my
health plan or Pharmacy
Benefit Manager?

6. How can the Department
of Employee Trust Funds
help me if | disagree with
my health plan’s
grievance decision?

Benefits/Payroll/Personnel Offices
Questions regarding eligibility and enrollment, including requests for
applications, should be directed to your benefits/payroll/personnel
office. They can answer general questions about the health
insurance program or can tell you the time and place of any
benefits sessions or orientations. In addition, contact that office
to report changes in your subscriber information, family status
or primary provider.

Dual-Choice Health Fairs
Each year during Dual-Choice, health fairs are scheduled
throughout the state. Representatives from the area plans are
available to provide you with information about their plans. See the
health fair schedule in Booklet (Section F).

Social Security numbers are a common form of member/patient
identification. If you prefer that your ID number be different from your
Social Security number, you may request that your plan assign a
different number to you. This call should be done prior to the first of the
year when new cards are issued. Some plans may require you to
submit your request in writing. Please note that your Pharmacy Benefit
Manager (PBM) ID number will not be your Social Security number.

Another method to follow, if you have your Social Security number
memorized, is to black it out on your ID card and verbally inform your
provider of it upon request.

INSURANCE COMPLAINT PROCESS

Each of the plans participating in the State of Wisconsin health
insurance program is required to have a complaint and grievance
resolution procedure in place to help resolve participants’ problems.
Your plan has information on how to initiate this process. You must
exhaust all of your appeal rights through the plan. If the plan upholds its
denial, it will state in its final decision letter your options if you wish to
proceed further.

Depending on the nature of your complaint, you may be given rights to
request an independent review through an outside organization
approved by the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance. This option
becomes available when a plan has denied services as either not
medically necessary or experimental. It is important to note that if
you choose to have an independent review organization (IRO)
review the plan’s decision, that decision is binding on both you
and your plan and you have no further rights to a review through
the Department of Employee Trust Funds.

As a member of the State of Wisconsin group health insurance
program, you have the right to request an administrative review through
ETF if an IRO has not rendered a decision on your grievance. To
initiate an ETF review, you may call or send a letter to ETF and request
an insurance complaint form (ET-2405). Complete the ETF complaint
form and attach all pertinent documentation, including the plan’s
response to your grievance.

Please note that the ETF’s review will not be initiated until you have
completed the grievance process available to you through the plan.
After your complaint is received, your complaint is acknowledged and
information is obtained from the plan. An ombudsperson in the Quality
Assurance Services Bureau will review and investigate your complaint
and attempt to resolve your dispute with your plan. If the ombudsperson
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is unable to resolve your complaint in your favor, you will be notified of
additional administrative review rights available through the
Department.

ENROLLING FOR COVERAGE

7. What steps do | follow
to enroll as a new
employee?

8. What if | miss my
enroliment opportunity?

INITIAL ENROLLMENT

e Carefully read the information in this booklet.
e Determine which plans have providers in your area.

e Compare plans that interest you. Review and compare the Health
Plan Report Card Information in booklet Section E, and Plan
Descriptions in Section G.

e Compare premiums for the plans which interest you.

e Contact plans directly for information regarding available
physicians, medical facilities and services.

¢ File a health application with your benefits/payroll/personnel office
within the required enrollment period.

When you begin employment with the state or university, immediately
contact your benefits/payroll/personnel office for health enrollment
information and an application. If eligible, you may enroll for single or
family coverage in any of the available health plans without restriction
or waiting periods for pre-existing medical conditions, provided you
enroll within your initial enrollment period as follows:

¢ Within 30 days of your date of hire (to be effective on the first day of
the month on or following receipt of the application by your
employer). For most employees, premiums will be paid entirely by
you for the first six months (check with your payroll person to see
your employer contribution begins );

OR

e Prior to becoming eligible for employer contributions toward
premium as defined in Wis. Stat. § 40.05 (4) (a) (2), with coverage
to be effective when you become eligible for employer contribution.
For most state and university employees, this means prior to the
beginning of the seventh month after hire. However, if you were
previously covered under the Wisconsin Retirement System for at
least 6 months as a state or university employee and have not
since taken a WRS benefit (local government service does not
apply), you must apply for health coverage within 30 calendar days
of your first day of employment. Coverage will be effective on the
first day of the month on or following receipt of the application by
your employer.

If you do not enroll during a designated enroliment period, you may
still get health insurance coverage if you are otherwise eligible.
However, you (and your insured spouse and/or dependents if you elect
family coverage) will be limited to the Standard Plan and will have a
180-day waiting period for all pre-existing medical conditions except
pregnancy. The waiting period applies to all conditions which existed
prior to the effective date of coverage under the Standard Plan,
including all hospital confinements or inpatient charges related to pre-
existing conditions for which confinement begins within the 180-day
waiting period. For example, if a hospital confinement for a pre-existing
heart condition begins on the 170th day of the waiting period and ends
on the 200th day, none of the costs associated with the confinement
would be covered. The waiting period does not apply to pregnancy
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9. Important note for limited
term employees (LTE)
and other employees
eligible for less than full-
time contribution

10. What if | lose other
coverage?

terminated without childbirth. (See Question 10: What if | lose other
coverage? for exceptions).

THERE ARE NO INTERIM EFFECTIVE DATES except as required
by law. If you do not submit a completed application within 30 days of
your date of hire, your coverage cannot be effective before the month
you become eligible for the employer contribution toward health
insurance premiums. However, you may enroll for single coverage
within 30 days of your date of hire and change to family coverage if
your application is received prior to the date the employer contributions
begin.

If you cancel your policy prior to the date that the state contribution
starts, you may re-enroll in health insurance with the new coverage
becoming effective on the first day of the month state contribution
begins.

You cannot assume that the month when your first payroll deduction
occurs is the month when your coverage begins. Health premiums are
deducted two months in advance of coverage. For further information
on deductions and coverage effective dates contact your
benefits/payroll/personnel office.

The initial enroliment opportunity for most employees begins with their
participation under the Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS). However,
if you are in a WRS-covered LTE position or are an employee who is
eligible for less than full-time contribution, you have another enroliment
period if:

e There has been a 30-day termination of employment break; or

e Your hours of employment increase and you qualify for a higher
share of employer contribution toward health insurance premiums;
or

e You are appointed to a permanent position and you now qualify for
the full share of employer contributions.

If you apply for coverage within 30 days after one of these events,
coverage will be effective on the first of the month following the
employer’s receipt of the application. Retroactive effective dates are not
allowed. This does not provide an opportunity to change from single to
family coverage.

You may enroll at any other time, but will be restricted to the Standard
Plan with a 180-day waiting period for pre-existing conditions.

OTHER ENROLLMENT INFORMATION

If you and/or your dependent(s) are not insured under the State Group
Health Insurance program because of being insured under a group
health insurance plan elsewhere, and eligibility for that coverage is lost
or the employer’s premium contribution for the other plan ends, you
may take advantage of a special 30-day enrollment period to become
insured in the State Group Health Insurance program without waiting
periods for pre-existing conditions, if otherwise eligible.

This enroliment opportunity is also available to employees and/or
dependents who lose medical coverage:

e Under medical assistance (Medicaid); or

e Upon return from active military service with the armed forces.
Employees must return to employment within 180 days of release
from active duty. You are entitled to enroll regardless of the
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11. When and how must |
notify my health plan of
various changes?

12. How are my health
benefits affected by
changes in employment
status?
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coverage in effect. Coverage is effective on the date of your re-
employment, or

e As a citizen of a country with national health care coverage
comparable to the Standard Plan.

The enrollment period begins on the date the other group health
insurance coverage terminates because of loss of eligibility (for
example, termination of employment, divorce, etc., but not voluntary
cancellation of coverage) or the employer’s premium contribution ends.
If you are currently enrolled and need to change from single to family
coverage, at least one eligible family member must have lost the other
coverage in order to qualify.

To enroll, submit a health insurance application form and other
information documenting your loss of coverage or employer’s premium
contribution to your benefits/payroll/personnel office within 60 days of
the date the other coverage or the employer’s premium contribution
ended. Coverage will be effective on the date the other coverage or the
employer’s premium contribution ends.

HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act) allows a
special enrollment when an employee or dependent is eligible but not
enrolled and there is a marriage or a birth, adoption or placement for
adoption. By contract, if coverage is elected within 30 days of marriage
or 60 days of the other event, coverage is effective on the date of birth,
adoption, placement for adoption, or marriage.

If you do not enroll during these special enrollment opportunities, your
coverage will be limited to the Standard Plan with a 180-day waiting
period for pre-existing conditions.

Always file the approved forms through your benefits/payroll/personnel
office to notify your plan of changes. Failure to report changes on time
may result in loss of benefits or delay payment of claims.

There are two types of changes, which require a Health Insurance
Application.

1. Change in plan (for example, from HMO to Standard Plan)

2. Change in plan coverage (for example, from Single to Family)

All changes in coverage are accomplished by completing an approved
application within 30 days after the change occurs.

Other changes can be accomplished by submitting a Health Insurance
Information Change form (ET-2329). These other changes would
include:

e Name change

e Change of address or telephone number

¢ Addition/deletion of a dependent to an existing family plan
e Changing primary physicians within an HMO network

(See also Question 17. What family changes need to be
reported?)

Permanent Layoff
State contributions toward premium will be up to 5 months. This
includes three months of state contribution in addition to any
premium prepaid prior to the time of layoff. Arrangements for
employee share of premium payment must be made with your
benefits/payroll/personnel office prior to the date of layoff.
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Accumulated sick leave credits may be used to pay premium for up
to 5 years. A written request to use sick leave credit must be
submitted to your benefits/ payroll/personnel office before the date
of layoff.

After sick leave credits are exhausted, or if you have no sick leave

credits and State share of premium is no longer available, COBRA

continuation will be offered which will allow you to purchase at your
own expense an additional 36 months of coverage.

If you have 20 years of WRS service at the time of the layoff, but
were not eligible for an immediate annuity at the time of layoff, any
sick leave remaining after paying premium during layoff is available
upon retirement. You can not use your sick leave after 5 years from
the layoff date until you retire. If you had 20 years of WRS service
and were eligible for an immediate annuity at the time of layoff you
may continue to use it after 5 years or begin using the sick leave at
anytime.

Unpaid Leave of Absence
State share towards premium will be up to five months, including
three months of state contribution and any premium prepaid at the
time your leave of absence begins. You can elect coverage for 36
months (or beyond 36 months if the leave is military or union
service). Arrangements for all premium payment must be made with
your benefits/payroll/personnel office prior to the time your leave of
absence begins. If coverage is not continued during leave of
absence there are no continuation rights if employment terminates.

If your health coverage lapses in whole or only for your dependents
during your leave due to non-payment of premiums, you must
submit a new application within 30 days of returning to work to
reinstate prospectively the coverage that lapsed. Coverage will be
effective the first of the month after the application is received by
your payroll office. If a Dual-Choice Enrollment period has occurred
while you were on leave, you will be offered a Dual-Choice
opportunity upon your return. (See also Question: 8 What if | miss
my enrollment opportunity?)

Lapsed coverage can also be reinstated for an employee who has
been on a leave of absence and who is entitled to, and applies for,
an immediate annuity. Coverage shall be effective the first day of
the calendar month which occurs on or after the date the annuity
application is approved by Employee Trust Funds, provided an
application for health insurance has been received by that date. A
leave of absence is not considered ended until you have terminated
employment or have resumed employment for at least 50% of what
is considered your normal work time for that employer for 30
consecutive calendar days.

Military Leave of Absence
Under Wisconsin state law § 45.50 Wis. Stat., health insurance
coverage may be continued under our program with employer
contribution as long as you are on active duty, your employee
premium contribution continues to be paid, and you elect coverage
within 60 days of military activation. For more information on this
option and the steps you need to take, contact your
benefits/payroll/personnel office.

Temporary Layoff
State share towards premium will continue for the first three months
C-10
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after your leave begins. You can elect coverage for 36 months (or
beyond 36 months if you are using sick leave to pay premium).
Arrangements for all premium payment must be made with your
benefits/payroll/personnel office prior to the time your leave of
absence begins.

Accumulated sick leave credits may be used to pay premium for up
to 5 years. A written request to use sick leave credit must be
submitted to your benefits/ payroll/ personnel office before the date
of layoff. Other provisions regarding reinstatement of lapsed
coverage are the same as those for under permanent layoff.

Seasonal or Teaching Positions. If you occupy a seasonal or
teaching position and do not receive pay between the end of one
term of service and the beginning of another, your coverage may
continue if you authorize a payroll deduction before your earnings
are interrupted or make other provisions to pay premiums in
advance.

Transfer
If you transfer from one employing state department to another, you
are required to file a new enroliment application within 30 days of
the date you transfer to maintain continuous coverage. If an
application is not filed within 30 days, coverage may be reinstated
retroactively by submitting an application and paying back
premiums. However, an employee in active pay status whose
employee portion of premiums has not been deducted from salary
by the employer for a period of 12 months, shall be deemed to have
waived coverage. Waived coverage cannot be reinstated
retroactively. (See Question 8: What if | miss my enroliment
opportunity?)

You may not select a new plan when you submit your new
insurance application. The only time to change plans is during a
Dual-Choice Enroliment period or when moving out of a service
area (e.g., county).

Termination of Employment
Coverage will end on the last day for which premiums are paid. (See
CONTINUATION OF HEALTH COVERAGE.)

Appealing a Discharge
Coverage may be continued if you have terminated from
employment and are appealing discharge. The first premium
payment and the appeal must both be filed within 30 days of
discharge. Premium payments must be made through your
employing agency and be received at least 30 days prior to the end
of the period for which premiums were previously paid. You must
pay the gross amount of premium due until the appeal is resolved. If
the appeal is resolved in your favor, the amount normally
considered state contribution will be refunded to you.

Retirement

If you are covered under our health insurance when you retire, the
health benefit plan will automatically continue if your retirement
annuity from the WRS begins within 30 days after employment
ends. If you are eligible for Medicare parts A & B, effective dates
must be provided before coverage begins. If you do not want your
plan to continue because you are covered under a comparable non-
state plan at the time of retirement, you may escrow your sick leave
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credits to pay health premiums indefinitely. Contact Employee Trust
Funds for further information.

Keep in mind you are already paying for and receiving
comprehensive prescription drug coverage through the state’s
group health insurance program. You current drug coverage,
administered through Navitus Health Solutions, is considered
creditable coverage in comparison to the Medicare Part D
prescription drug benefit. This will allow you to defer enroliment in
Part D without penalty. Nevertheless, you should carefully consider
all options before making any kind of enroliment decision.
Participation in Medicare Part D is voluntary and in 2007 you will
pay a monthly premium of approximately $38 on average. If you
would like to maintain your current level of prescription drug
benefits under our program, it is not necessary to enroll in Medicare
Part D at this time.

You may be eligible for supplemental sick leave credits if you have
at least 15 full years of adjusted continuous service with the State
of Wisconsin at the time of retirement. (Continuous service means
the number of full years the employee has worked for the state
without a break in service.) Your employer will determine whether
you are eligible for supplemental sick leave credits and submit the
certification to Employee Trust Funds. If you have questions
regarding your eligibility for supplemental sick leave credits, contact
your payroll office.

SINGLE/FAMILY ELIGIBILITY

13. When can | change from
single to family coverage
without restrictions?

SINGLE VS. FAMILY COVERAGE

Single coverage covers you only. Family coverage covers you, your
spouse, and your unmarried dependent children, stepchildren, and
legal wards. All eligible dependents are covered without exception
under a family contract. A subscriber cannot choose to exclude an
eligible dependent from coverage. Your grandchildren may be covered
if the parent is your unmarried dependent and is under age 18. Upon
request, you must provide official documentation of dependent
eligibility. No other relatives (for example, parents, grandparents, etc.)
or domestic partners may be covered under a family contract.

You may change from single to family coverage during the Dual-Choice
Enroliment period with family coverage becoming effective on the
following January 1. In addition, coverage may be changed from single
to family coverage without restrictions if an application is received by
your benefits/payroll/personnel office within 30 days of the following
events:

e Marriage

e Birth or adoption of a child (application must be submitted with 60
days of the event, pre-existing condition limitations do not apply for
such dependents when added in a timely manner).

e A single father declaring paternity. Children born outside of
marriage become DEPENDENTS of the father on the date of the
court order declaring paternity or on the date the acknowledgement
of paternity is filed with the Department of Health and Family
Services or equivalent if the birth was outside of the state of
Wisconsin. The EFFECTIVE DATE of coverage will be the date of
birth if a statement of paternity is filed within 60 days of the birth.

C-12




14. When can | change from
family to single
coverage?

15. What if | am a single
mother or a father
establishing paternity?

16. What if my spouse is
also a state or university
employee or annuitant?

State of Wisconsin Employees 2007

e Anunmarried parent whose only eligible child resumes full-time
student status or becomes disabled (as defined in Uniform
Benefits) and thus is again an eligible dependent.

¢ Any eligible dependents lose eligibility for other medical coverage.
(See Question 10: What if | lose other coverage?)

o Upon order of a Federal Court under a National Medical Support

Notice. This can occur when a parent has been ordered to insure
his/her eligible child(ren) who are not currently covered.

Coverage becomes effective on the date of the event (for example,
date of birth, marriage, etc.). All eligible dependents will then be
covered.

If the application is not received during Dual-Choice or within 30 days of
the above events (60 days for birth or adoption), or if you wish to
change from single to family coverage for any other reason (for
example, custody of children is transferred after a divorce), you may
still change from single to family coverage. However, you are limited to
coverage under the Standard Plan until you are able to select a
different plan during a subsequent Dual-Choice Enrollment period. A
180-day waiting period for coverage of pre-existing medical conditions
(except pregnancy) will apply to a newly added spouse and
dependents. The waiting period for pre-existing conditions will also
apply to you (the subscriber) unless you are enrolled in the Standard
Plan at the time of the change to family coverage. The waiting period
does not apply to children born or adopted after the effective date of
coverage change.

You may change from family to single coverage at any time with the
change being effective on the first day of the month on or following
receipt of your application by your benefits/payroll/personnel office.

Switching from family to single coverage is deemed to be a voluntary
cancellation of coverage for all covered dependents. Voluntary
cancellation is not considered a “qualifying event” for continuation
coverage.

Note that if you have single coverage and you should die, your sick
leave credits will not be available for use by your surviving dependents.

An insured single parent may cover his or her dependent child, effective
with the child’s birth or adoption, by submitting a timely application
changing from single to family coverage.

Children born outside of marriage become dependents of the father on
the date of the court order declaring paternity or on the date the
“Voluntary Paternity Acknowledgment” (form HCF 5024) is filed with the
Department of Health and Family Services or equivalent if the birth was
outside the state of Wisconsin. The effective date of coverage will be
the date of birth if a statement of paternity is filed within 60 days of the
birth.

A single mother may cover the child under her health plan effective with
the birth by submitting an application changing from single to family
coverage.

If your spouse is also an eligible state or university employee or
annuitant:

e You may each retain or select single coverage with your current
plan(s);
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17. What family changes
need to be reported?

18. What action do | need to
take for the following
personal events
(marriage, birth, etc.)?

OR

e One of you may retain or select family coverage under one of your
current plans, which will cover your spouse and any eligible
dependents.

If the husband and wife are each enrolled for single coverage, one of
the single contracts may be changed to a family plan at any time
without restriction and the other single contract will be cancelled. Family
coverage will be effective on the beginning of the month following
receipt of a Health Insurance Application (ET-2301).

One family policy can be split into two single plans with the same
carrier effective on the beginning of the month following receipt of a
Health Insurance Application from both husband and wife. However, if
you and your spouse each have single coverage, no dependents are
covered and if one of you should die, that individual’s sick leave credits
will not be available for use by the surviving spouse. Under a family
plan, sick leave credits are preserved for the surviving spouse
regardless of which should die first.

The named subscriber for the family coverage can be changed to the
other spouse at any time. Coverage will be effective on the beginning of
the month following receipt of a Health Insurance Application.

If at the time of marriage, the employees and/or annuitants each have
family coverage or one has family coverage and the other has single
coverage, coverage must be changed to one of the options listed
above within 30 days of marriage to be effective as of the date of
marriage. Failure to comply with this requirement may result in denial
of claims for eligible dependents. Note: Change from single to family
coverage due to marriage is effective the date of marriage if the Health
Insurance Application is received by your employer (or postmarked if
required that the form be mailed) within 30 days of the marriage.

You need to report the following changes to your benefits/payroll/
personnel office within 30 days of the change. Failure to report changes
on time may result in loss of benefits or delay payment of claims.

e Change of name, address, telephone number, and Social
Security number, etc.

e Obtaining or losing other health insurance coverage
e Addition of a dependent (within 60 days of birth or adoption)
e Loss of dependent’s eligibility

e Marriage
e Divorce
e Death

o Eligibility for Medicare

Marriage
You can change from single to family coverage to include your
spouse (and stepchildren if applicable) without restriction provided
your application is received within 30 days after your marriage, with
family coverage being effective on the date of your marriage.

If you were enrolled in family coverage before your marriage, you
need to complete a Health Insurance Information Change form as
soon as possible to report your change in marital status, add your
new spouse (and stepchildren) to the coverage, and if applicable,

C-14



State of Wisconsin Employees 2007

change your name. In most cases, coverage for the newly added
dependent(s) will be effective as of the date of marriage.

Birth/Adoption/Dependent Becoming Eligible
If you already have family coverage, you need to submit a Health
Insurance Information Change form to add the new dependent.
Coverage is effective from the date of birth, adoption, or legal
guardianship, or when a dependent age 25 or younger becomes a
full-time student and otherwise satisfies the dependency
requirements. Be prepared to submit documentation of
guardianship, paternity, or other information as requested by your
employer.

If you have single coverage, you can change to family coverage by
submitting an application within 30 days of the date a dependent
becomes eligible or within 60 days of birth or adoption.

If you are a father first declaring paternity, there may be a different
effective date. (See Question 15: What if | am a single mother or
a father establishing paternity?)

Divorce
Your ex-spouse (and stepchildren) can remain covered under your
family plan only until the end of the month in which divorce is
entered or the end of the month in which the continuation notice
(ET-2311) is provided to the divorced spouse, whichever is later. (In
Wisconsin, a legal separation is unlike divorce in that it does not
affect coverage under the State group health insurance program.)
The divorce is usually entered on the hearing date regardless of
when the judge files papers or papers are signed by the parties. You
should notify your payroll office prior to the divorce hearing date. If
you fail to provide notice of divorce timely, you may be responsible
for premiums paid in error which covered your ineligible ex-spouse
and stepchildren. Your ex-spouse and stepchildren are then eligible
to continue coverage under a separate contract with the group plan
for 36 additional months. Conversion coverage would then be
available. You can keep your dependent children and adopted
stepchildren on your family plan for as long as they are eligible (age,
student status, etc.). (See also CONTINUATION OF HEALTH
COVERAGE.)

You must file a health application with your employer to change
from family to single coverage. File a Health Insurance Information
Change form with your employer to remove ineligible dependents
from a family contract.

When both parties in the divorce are state or university employees
or annuitants, and each party is eligible for state health insurance in
his or her own right, and is insured under the state plan at the time
of the divorce, each retains the right to continue state health
insurance coverage regardless of the divorce.

The participant who is the subscriber of the insurance coverage at
the time of the divorce must submit a health application to remove
the ex-spouse from his or her coverage and may also elect to
change to single coverage.

The participant insured as a dependent under his or her ex-spouse’s
insurance must submit a health application to establish coverage in
his or her own name. The ex-spouse must continue coverage with
the same plan unless he or she moves out of the service area (e.g.,
county). The application must be received by his or her
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benefits/payroll/personnel office within 30 days of the date of the
divorce. Failure to apply timely will limit available coverage to the
Standard Plan with a 180-day waiting day period for pre-existing
medical conditions (except pregnancy). (See Question 8: What if |
miss my enroliment opportunity?)

Each participant may cover any eligible dependent children (not
former stepchildren) under a family contract. Coverage of the same
dependents by both parents would be subject to Coordination of
Benefits provisions. Refer to the UNIFORM BENEFITS in Section D
(your plan benefit certificate) or contact your health plan directly for
information on Coordination of Benefits policies and procedures.

Medicare Eligibility

Active Employees. The requirement to enroll for Medicare Part B
coverage is deferred for active employees and their dependents
until the subscriber’s termination of the WRS-covered employment
through which active employee coverage is being provided.
Coverage as offered by any of the state plans is the same for
everyone regardless of age or Medicare eligibility.

Employees who are eligible for Medicare by reason of age or
disability who would rather have Medicare as primary coverage may
do so by simply discontinuing group coverage. The federal
government requires us to inform you that you may drop your group
coverage in order to obtain Medicare as primary coverage; however,
that action is probably not in your best interest.

Retired Employees. If you and/or your insured dependents are
eligible for coverage under the federal Medicare program and you
are retired, you must immediately enroll in both Part A and Part B of
Medicare. IF YOU DO NOT ENROLL FOR ALL AVAILABLE
PORTIONS OF MEDICARE UPON RETIREMENT, YOU MAY BE
LIABLE FOR 80% OF YOUR CLAIMS ON THE DATE MEDICARE
COVERAGE WOULD HAVE BECOME EFFECTIVE. However, if
you or your insured spouse is an active employee under a non-state
group plan, enroliment in Medicare may be deferred until retirement
from that job. The reduced Medicare rates will not apply unless
coverage as an active employee ceases.

Because all plans have coverage options, which are coordinated
with Medicare, you will remain covered by the plan you selected
after you are enrolled in Medicare. Your health benefits will not
change; the plan will simply not duplicate benefits paid by Medicare.

Your drug coverage is considered creditable coverage in
comparison to the Medicare Part D benefit. This allows you to defer
enroliment in Part D without penalty. To maintain your current level
of prescription drug benefits under our program, it is not necessary
to enroll in Part D at this time. If you do, this plan will pay secondary.

If you are enrolled in the Standard Plan or SMP Plan, your coverage
will be changed to the Medicare Plus $1,000,000 plan when you
enroll in Medicare Parts A and B.

Death

Surviving Spouse/Dependents

If an active or retired employee with family coverage dies, the
surviving insured spouse and insured dependent(s) who are
enrolled at the time of the death may continue coverage for life
under the state program at group rates but without state contribution
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toward premium. The dependents may continue coverage until
eligibility ceases. An enrollment application for continuation of single
or family coverage must be filed with Employee Trust Funds within
90 days after the death occurs. The new contract is effective the first
of the month following the date of death. The survivors may not add
persons to the policy who were not insured at the time of death
unless the survivor is also a state employee and eligible for the
insurance in his or her own right.

If family coverage was in force at the time of death, any unused sick
leave credits in the deceased employee’s account are available to
the surviving spouse/ dependents for premium payments. If sick
leave credits are escrowed, the surviving dependents may continue
to escrow the credits or may apply to convert the credits to pay
health insurance premiums.

If the surviving dependents terminate coverage for any reason they
may not re-enroll later.

If single coverage was in force at the time of death, the full monthly
premiums collected for coverage months following the date of death
will be refunded. No partial month’s premium is refunded for the
month of coverage in which the death occurred. Surviving
dependents are not eligible for coverage.

DEPENDENT CHILDREN

If you select family coverage, your eligible dependents are your spouse
and unmarried children. Unmarried children are eligible for coverage to
the end of the year in which they turn age 19 or age 25 if they are full-
time students and are dependent upon you and/or the other parent for
at least 50% of their support, meet the support tests as a dependent for
federal income tax purposes (whether or not the dependent is claimed)
and are (see Question 25: When does health coverage terminate
for dependents?):

e Your natural children

e Adopted children and pre-adoption placements. Coverage will be
effective on the date that a court makes a final order granting
adoption by the subscriber or on the date the child is placed for
adoption with the subscriber, whichever occurs first. These dates
are defined by Wis. Stat. § 632.896. If the adoption of a child is not
finalized, the insurer may terminate coverage of the child when the
adoptive placement ends.

e Legal wards that became permanent wards of the subscriber before
age 19. Coverage will be effective on the date that a court awards
permanent guardianship to the subscriber.

e Stepchildren

Grandchildren born to insured dependent children may be covered
until the end of the month in which your insured dependent (your
grandchild’s parent) turns age 18. Your child’s eligibility as a
dependent is unaffected by the birth of the grandchild. The
grandchild may be eligible for coverage as a continuant. (See
CONTINUATION OF HEALTH COVERAGE.)

Even though custody of your children may have been transferred to the
other parent, you may still insure the children if the other dependency
requirements are met. (See Question 15: What if | am a single
mother or a father establishing paternity?)
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21. What if | have a child who
is, or who becomes
physically or mentally
disabled?

22. What does full-time
student mean?

If your unmarried child has a physical or mental disability that is:
o Expected to be of long-continued or indefinite duration, and
e isincapable of self-support,

The age limits and student status requirements do not apply and he or
she may be eligible to be covered under your health insurance through
our program.

You must work with your health plan to determine if your child meets
the eligibility criteria. If disabled dependent status is approved by the
plan, you will be contacted annually to verify the dependent’s continued
eligibility. For adult children who become disabled, they must have
been previously covered under the State of Wisconsin Group Insurance
Program to be considered for disabled dependent status.

If your child loses eligibility for coverage due to age or loss of
student status, but you are now indicating that the child meets the
disabled dependent definition, eligibility as a disabled dependent must
be established before coverage can be continued. If you are providing
at least 50% support you must file a Health Information Change from
(ET-2329) with your employer to initiate the disability review process by
the health plan. Your dependent will be offered COBRA continuation™.

If your disabled dependent child, who has been covered due to
disability, is determined by the health plan to no longer meet their
disability criteria, the plan will notify you in writing of their decision.
They will inform you of the effective date of cancellation, usually the first
of the month following notification and your dependent will be offered
COBRA continuation*. If you would like to appeal the plan’s decision,
you must first complete the plan’s grievance procedure. If the plan
continues to deny disabled dependent status for your child, you may
appeal the plan’s grievance decision to ETF by filing an Insurance
Complaint form (ET-2405).

*Electing COBRA continuation coverage should be considered while his or
her eligibility is being verified. If it is determined that the individual is not eligible
as a disabled dependent, there will not be another opportunity to elect COBRA.
If it is later determined that the child was eligible for coverage as a disabled
dependent, coverage will be retroactive to the date they were last covered, and
premiums paid for COBRA continuation coverage will be refunded.

Student means a person who is enrolled in and attending an accredited
institution that provides a schedule of courses or classes and whose
principal activity is the procurement of an education. Full-time status is
defined by the institution in which the student is enrolled. A student is
considered to be enrolled on the date that person is recognized as a
full-time student by the institution (for example, the first day of classes).
The determination of the date should be discussed with the institution.
Student status includes any intervening vacation period if the child
continues to be a full-time student. It does not include on-the-job
training courses, correspondence schools, intersession courses (for
example, courses during winter breaks), night school, and student
commitments after the semester ends, such as student teaching. You
will be required to verify your dependent’s eligibility annually.
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If there are full-time students over age 19 covered under a family plan,
the plan will annually send a questionnaire to the insured, which asks
where the students are attending school and the anticipated date of
graduation. If the questionnaire is not completed and returned, the
plan may terminate the student(s) from the contract as of
December 31st. Medical and prescription drug claims will reject
after the termination date. If terminated in error, students can be
reinstated with documentation of student status including a Health
Insurance Information Change form (ET-2329). Charges for services
rendered during the period of termination would then be covered.
However, it is required that you notify your benefits/payroll/personnel
office if student status terminates. Failure to do so may result in the loss
of continuation rights.

Only if the HMO offers service in the community in which the child
resides. Emergency or urgent care services are covered wherever they
occur. However, non-emergency treatment must be received at a
facility approved by the HMO. Outpatient mental health services and
treatment of alcohol or drug abuse may be covered. Refer to the
UNIFORM BENEFITS section D. Contact your HMO for more
information.

Coverage for dependent children who are not physically or mentally
disabled terminates on the earliest of the following dates:

e The end of the month in which the child marries.
e The end of the calendar year in which the child:

1. Turns 19 while not a full-time student.

Ceases to be a full-time student and is age 19 or older.
Turns 25 while still a full-time student.

Ceases to be dependent on either parent or guardian for
support and maintenance.

e The date eligibility for coverage ends either for the dependent or the
subscriber.

Pobd

Coverage for dependent children under 25 who drop out of school
during the second semester (January-May) and who have all or most of
their tuition refunded, are not eligible for coverage for that year until
they are enrolled and attending school again.

Coverage for the grandchild ends at the end of the month in which your
child (parent of grandchild) ceases to be an eligible dependent or
becomes age 18, whichever occurs first. The grandchild is then eligible
for continuation coverage.

Coverage for a spouse and stepchildren under your plan terminates at
the end of the month in which the divorce was entered.

See CONTINUATION OF HEALTH COVERAGE for information on
continuing coverage after eligibility terminates.

SELECTING A HEALTH PLAN

26. How do | select a health
plan?

27. What types of health
plans are available?

See chart on booklet page iii

The State Group Health Insurance program consists of plans that fall
into the following broad categories:

C-19




2007 State of Wisconsin Employees

Self-Insured Plans
The Standard Plan (administered by WPS Health Insurance
(WPS)) was redesigned in 2004 to contain in-network and out-of-
network services. This type of arrangement is called a Preferred
Provider Plan (PPP). This allows you to see any provider of your
choice, but there are differences in reimbursements depending on
whether you go to an in-network or an out-of-network provider. If
you receive services from an in-network provider you will have
lower out-of-pocket costs. If you choose an out-of-network provider,
you contribute more toward your health care costs by incurring
additional deductible costs, and coinsurance.

State Maintenance Plan (SMP):
This is another self-insured plan that is available in those counties
that lack a qualified Health Maintenance Organization (HMO).
Effective January 1, 2005 the plan design was altered to match
Uniform Benefits, as offered by the HMOs. See Section D of this
booklet for the certificate of coverage. Please note that SMP has
physician, hospital and specialty care networks and referral and
prior authorization processes.

The Standard Plan, and SMP plans contain Managed Care and
Pre-admission Certification provisions. Managed care utilizes
various programs to evaluate each patient’s medical needs and
identify the appropriate treatments. Pre-admission Certification
requires members to notify WPS Health Insurance prior to
admission to a hospital for non-emergency care. Admission will be
authorized after the plan has had an opportunity to explore
treatment alternatives with the admitting physician. The primary goal
with both of these features is to provide cost-effective health care
without sacrificing quality of care or access. Managed Care and Pre-
admission Certification are not features of Medicare Plus
$1,000,000.

Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOS)
An HMO is an association of hospitals, physicians and other health
professionals who contract or collectively agree to provide all
medically necessary covered services to the HMO participants in
return for a pre-paid fee. Each HMO offers service only in specific
areas of the state.

The HMO concept is not new. The State of Wisconsin has been
offering HMOs for more than 15 years with almost 90% of current
state employees electing coverage under an HMO plan. For many
people, HMOs provide high quality care at a lower cost than the fee-
for-service plans. However, HMOs are not for everyone.

All insured members of an HMO are expected to receive their health
care only through physicians, health professionals, and hospitals
affiliated with that HMO. Don’t expect to join an HMO and get a
referral to a non-HMO physician.

HMOs generally refer outside their networks only if they are unable
to provide needed care within the HMO. If you go to a non-HMO
provider for non-emergency care without an approved referral,
you will not be reimbursed by the HMO. If you have questions
regarding the availability of physicians, hospitals, or other medical
professionals, you should contact the HMO directly.

Often HMOs will contract with several Independent Physician
Associations (IPAs) for medical services. Generally, referrals
between IPAs are restricted. Consequently, even though a
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physician may be listed as an HMO affiliate, that physician may not
be readily available to you unless you have selected him or her as
your primary care physician.

Preferred Provider Plan (PPP)
These are organizations which pay a specific level of benefits if
certain providers are utilized, and a lesser amount for other
providers. This arrangement can be attractive to persons who for
the most part are comfortable with the plan’s providers, but
occasionally feel the need to utilize a particular specialist or need
additional protection while traveling. Currently, Uniform Benefit
PPPs are only available through Patient Choice.

NOTE: ALL HMOS AND PATIENT CHOICE OFFER UNIFORM
BENEFITS WHEN SERVICES ARE PROVIDED IN-NETWORKEVEN
IF NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE. . SEE SECTION D ON UNIFORM
BENEFITS IN THIS BOOKLET.

All health plans listed in this booklet, (except SMP that is only available
if you live in an SMP county as illustrated on the map on page A-5), are
available to you. Of course some are more suitable because of the
location of their providers. Since HMOs require you to seek non-
emergency medical care from physicians, clinics, and hospitals
associated with that HMO, you should consider the distance you will
have to travel to receive care when making your selection. See the list
of locations and the map in Section A and the Plan Description
Section G of this booklet to see which plans serve your area.
Coverage under the Standard Plan, and the Medicare Plus $1,000,000
(if retired) are available worldwide.

Alternate health plans (HMOs and Patient Choice's PPPs) are offered
to help hold down health care costs and to give individuals some
latitude in selecting their health care benefits. There is standardization
in benefit levels and some areas such as the definition of eligible
dependents and the determination of when coverage is effective. There
are also distinct differences.

Uniform Benefits are intended to simplify the plan selection process for
participants. However, in choosing an alternate plan, you should
consider the following:

¢ Monthly premium amount and the employee’s share of premiums, if
any

o Quantity, quality and availability of participating health care
providers

e Location and convenience of affiliated clinics, hospitals,
emergency/urgent care centers and other medical facilities

e Dental coverage (if offered), including the location and availability of
dental providers

e Requirements/restrictions on receiving a referral to another provider
within or outside of the plan’s provider network

e Other plan rules/restrictions/limitations covering such issues as:
- changing primary care physicians
- allowing covered family members to have primary care
physicians from different clinics
- receiving emergency/urgent care outside of the plan’s service
area

In addition, remember that Uniform Benefits does not mean that all
plans will treat all ilinesses or injuries in an identical manner. Treatment
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30. Can family members
have different health
plans from the
subscriber?

31. What if | have covered
dependent children who
live elsewhere or if |
travel frequently?

32. Will an HMO cover non-
emergency care from
physicians who are not
affiliated with the plan?

33. Why is ETF including
information about
Leapfrog, CheckPoint
and the Wisconsin
Collaborative for
Healthcare Quality in the
It's Your Choice book?

34. What is Leapfrog?

will vary depending on the needs of the patient, the methodologies
employed by the physicians involved, and the managed care policies
and procedures of the plan.

When considering an alternate health plan, do not hesitate to ask
questions, especially if you have unique requirements or know you will
be requiring medical care in the near future.

No, family members are limited to the plan selected by the subscriber.

While HMOs provide reimbursement for emergency care outside of
their service areas, routine care must be received from the HMO’s own
physicians. Some HMOs also require that follow-up care after an
emergency be received from a plan provider. A Preferred Provider Plan
such a Patient Choice or the Standard Plan allows you the flexibility to
seek care outside a particular service area. Note that out of network or
care system care is subject to higher deductible and coinsurance
amounts. (See “Proof of Claim” in Uniform Benefits, Booklet
Section D. VI, item | for information on submitting claims for non-plan
providers.) (See also Question 24: Will an HMO cover dependent
children who are living away from home?)

Most HMO plans will pay nothing when non-emergency treatment is
provided by physicians outside of the plan unless there is an authorized
referral. Contact the plans directly regarding their policies on referrals.

PROVIDER QUALITY INFORMATION

Wisconsin healthcare providers are demonstrating their willingness to
share information with the public about the steps they are taking to
improve the quality and safety of care for their patients. Medical errors
result in over 98,000 preventable deaths each year, yet there is little
information with which to compare and choose health care providers
based on safety and quality. This information is a starting point to help
us begin to assess healthcare options and to ask more informed
questions about what doctors and hospitals are doing to reduce
medical errors and improve quality.

The ETF has endorsed a nationwide effort taking aim at improving the
quality and safety of hospital care. The “Leapfrog” effort raises
consumer awareness of four hospital safety practices or standards
proven to reduce medical errors and save lives. At the same time,
insurance program administrators (like the ETF) are publicly
recognizing and rewarding their hospitals for voluntarily reporting their
progress in fully adopting the standards. The three key standards urban
hospitals have been asked to adopt are: Computerized Prescription
Order Entry (CPOE); Intensive Care Unit Physician Staffing; and
Evidence-Based Hospital Referral. Urban and rural hospitals have also
been asked to complete a survey based on their efforts in adopting the
27 National Quality Forum safety practices called the Leapfrog quality
index. These practices, if used universally in applicable clinical settings,
would reduce risk of harm to patients. Provider progress on these
measures is updated monthly with information available at
http://www.leapfroggroup.org/consumer _intro.htm.
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36. Why are some hospitals
noted with check marks,
and some hospitals and
plans noted with frog
symbols on the Plan
Description pages?

37. Are there other resources
available to consumers
for information on
provider safety and
quality?

38. How can | get a listing
of the physicians
participating in each
plan?
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CheckPoint is a statewide program sponsored by the Wisconsin
Hospital Association that reports results from Wisconsin hospitals who
have agreed to share information about the quality and safety of health
care services delivered to patients in their communities.

CheckPoint provides data on five error prevention measures and ten
clinical interventions that medical experts agree should be taken to
treat; conditions such as heart attacks, heart failure, pneumonia; three
of the most common causes of hospitalization.

Additional quality measures, as well as consumer-focused educational
information, will be added to the CheckPoint program over time. Visit
their web site for the most up-to-date information at
www.wicheckpoint.org.

Hospitals who have completed the Leapfrog and/or CheckPoint survey
are noted with a frog and/or a check mark, to recognize them for
reporting on their attainment, or work toward improvements in patient
safety and quality.

ETF is also noting those plans who have written to their plan hospitals
to educate them about Leapfrog, to request them to participate in these
safety and quality initiatives.

WCHQ

Wisconsin Collaborative

Jor Healthcare Quality

The Wisconsin Collaborative for Healthcare Quality website links
consumers to an extensive public report comparing the performance of
Wisconsin providers on health care quality, safety and service
performance and over 22 clinical interventions that medical experts
agree should be taken to better treat heart attacks, heart failure,
pneumonia and surgical infections

By clicking on www.wchgq.org, consumers will find information on such

things as:

e Appointment wait times in clinics

¢ Clinical measures on how well patients with diabetic are managed

e Physician group results on how well they screen patients for
colorectal, cervical, and breast cancers.

MedlinePlus contains health information from the world's largest
medical library, the National Library of Medicine. Health professionals
and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is
authoritative and up to date. MedlinePlus has extensive information on
over 700 diseases and conditions, a medical encyclopedia and a
medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, information on
prescription and nonprescription drugs, and links to thousands of
clinical trials. MedlinePlus is updated daily and can be bookmarked at:
www.medlineplus.gov.

PROVIDER INFORMATION

Contact the plan directly. Neither ETF nor your
benefits/payroll/personnel office maintains a current list of this
information.
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39. What is a primary

40.

41.

42.

43.

provider?

How do | choose a
primary physician or
pharmacy wha's right for
me?

Can | change primary
physicians within my
alternate health plan?

If my physician or other
health care professionals
are listed with an
alternate health plan, can
| continue seeing him or
her if | enroll in that
alternate health plan?

What happens if my
provider leaves the plan
mid-year?

When you select a health plan, each covered family member typically
selects a primary provider who provides entry into the plan’s health
care system and evaluates your total health needs. Depending upon
the requirements of your plan, the primary provider exercises a greater
or lesser degree of control to your access of other providers. He/she
responds to your health questions and concerns, recommends and
coordinates treatment and initiates referrals to specialists, when
necessary. It is important to establish a relationship with your primary
provider, through annual physical exams for example, to ensure that if
there is a serious health problem you will be comfortable seeking care
from a physician who knows you and your health history.

Generally, primary providers are family practice, general practice or
internal medicine physicians. Some plans also permit participants to
select an OB/GYN or pediatrician as the primary provider.

If you're not sure a provider holds the same beliefs as you do, call the
clinic or pharmacy and ask about your concerns. For example, you may
want to ask about the provider’s opinion about dispensing a prescription
for oral contraceptives.

Alternate plans (HMO's and Patient Choice's PPPs) differ in their
policies. First contact your health plan to find out when your change will
become effective. Then file a Health Insurance Information Change
form available from your benefits/payroll/personnel office indicating the
effective date of your change as specified by the plan.

If you want to continue seeing a particular physician (or psychologist,
dentist, optometrist, etc.), contact that physician to see which HMO, if
any, he or she is affiliated with and if he or she will be available to you
under that HMO. Confirm this with the HMO. Even though your current
physician may join an HMO, he or she may not be available as your
primary physician just because you join that HMO.

Health care providers appearing in any published health plan provider
listing or directory remain available for the entire calendar year except
in cases of normal attrition (that is, death, retirement or relocation) or
termination due to formal disciplinary action. A participant who is in her
second or third trimester of pregnancy may continue to have access to
her provider until the completion of post-partum care for herself and the
infant.

If a provider contract terminates during the year (excluding normal
attrition or formal disciplinary action), the plan is required to pay
charges for covered services from these providers on a fee-for-service
basis. Fee-for-service means the usual and customary charges the plan
is able to negotiate with the provider while the member is held
harmless. Health plans will individually notify members of terminating
providers (prior to the Dual-Choice period) and will allow them an
opportunity to select another provider within the plan’s network.

Your provider leaving the plan does not give you an opportunity to
change plans mid-year.
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Plan”?
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As an HMO or SMP participant, you may need to designate a primary
physician or clinic. Your primary physician is responsible for managing
your health care. Under most circumstances, he or she may refer you
to other medical specialists within the HMO’s or SMP’s provider
network as he or she feels is appropriate. However, referrals outside of
the network are strictly regulated. Check with your plan for their referral
requirements and procedures.

In case of an injury that may fall under workers compensation, you
should utilize only providers in your health plan, in case Workers
Compensation denies your claim.

PREMIUM CONTRIBUTION TIERING

For eligible employees listed in question 2, the employer contribution is
determined either through collective bargaining or through the
applicable compensation plan. For additional info see Page A-2 or
contact your payroll representative.

The 3-tier health insurance program was implemented because:

o the cost of State employee health insurance is rising by over 10%
every year and

e in the past there was a wide and sometimes inequitable variation in
what employees paid,

e in addition to a lack of incentives for health plans to control costs.

The 3-tier health insurance program is an innovative approach that
holds costs down as it creates incentives for health plans to reduce
their costs to the State, and encourages State employees to choose the
plans that are most efficient in providing quality health care.

It also significantly reduces the employee contribution for certain plans,
such as the Standard Plan, by capping the monthly premium
contributions. Each plan is rated and placed in a tier based on
efficiency. Plans in the same tier have been determined to be within
certain thresholds in their level of efficiency.

For additional information see page A-2 or contact your payroll
representative.

“Qualified” simply means that the Board has determined that a plan
meets its requirements for providers in the service area in question.
This distinction is used by the Board to ensure that each county has at
least one tier-one health plan option in each county that has adequate
providers available in the service area.

To be qualified in a county, a plan must meet minimum provider
availability requirements, consisting of a minimum of five primary care
providers, a hospital (if one exists in the county), a chiropractor, and a
dentist if dental is offered in the county.

Note that the Group Insurance Board allows health plans to qualify in
counties where there are no hospitals, provided the plans have met all
other minimum provider availability requirements, and hospitals are
available in surrounding counties.

The distinction between qualified and non-qualified plans should
only be used as a guide and members should refer to plan
provider directories before making a plan selection. The most
appropriate plan for a member may be a non-qualified plan.
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47.Does a health plan with a
higher premium or a
higher tier offer more
benefits?

48. How often will premium
rates change?

49. How do | pay my portion
of the premium?

50. If a plan is not in the Tier
1, does that mean it
provides lower quality
health care?

Plans cannot be qualified in the first year they participate in this
program.

No, all alternate plans (HMOs and Patient Choice's PPPs) are required
to offer the Uniform Benefits. Premium rates and tier placement may
vary because of many factors: how efficiently the plan is able to provide
services and process benefit payments; the fees charged in the area in
which service is being rendered; the manner in which the health care
providers deliver care and are compensated within the service area;
and how frequently individuals covered by the plan use the health plan.
Also, plans offering optional dental coverage may have slightly higher
premiums. The Standard Plan will continue to offer benefits that differ
from Uniform Benefits.

All group premium rates change at the same time — January 1 of each
year. The monthly cost of all plans will be announced during the Dual-
Choice Enrollment period.

Active Employees. Premiums are paid two months in advance.
Therefore, initial deductions from your salary probably will occur about
two months before coverage begins. If the initial deduction cannot
occur that far in advance, double or triple deductions may be required
initially to make premium payments current. NOTE: If eligible, your
premiums will automatically be deducted from your payroll check on a
pre-tax basis. (See also Question 73 & 74: regarding the Employee
Reimbursement Account (ERA) Program.)

Retired Employees. Premium rates for retired employees are the
same as for active employees (except that your premium will decrease
when you or a dependent becomes covered by Medicare). However,
the state does not pay any portion.

If you were insured in the State plan when you retired, you may be able
to pay your health insurance premium from your accumulated sick
leave credits until those credits are exhausted. If no sick leave credits
are available, or when the credits are exhausted, the premium will be
deducted from your monthly annuity check. If there is no annuity or the
annuity is not sufficient to allow a premium deduction, you will be billed
directly on a quarterly basis. (See also Question 12: How are my
health benefits affected by changes in employment status?)
WARNING: Your coverage will be cancelled if you fail to pay your
premium in a timely manner.

If you choose to escrow your sick leave, this must be done at the time
of retirement. Annually thereafter you must certify that you have
comparable coverage.

No. The Group Insurance Board will not allow such a plan into the
program. This is verified by our collection of data from the Consumer
Assessment of Health Plans (CAHPS) survey, the Health Plan
Employer Data and Information Set (HEDIS), and other quality
measures. Plans that do not make Tier 1 placement are those that are
less cost effective in managing care, costs, and quality.

CHANGING HEALTH PLANS

DUAL-CHOICE ENROLLMENT

During the Dual-Choice Enroliment period all subscribers currently
insured by the State Group Health Insurance program are allowed to
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What does Dual-Choice
mean?

52.When is a coverage

53.

54.

55.

56.

57.

change made during
Dual-Choice effective?

Is the Dual-Choice
enrollment available to
everyone?

May | change from single
to family coverage during
Dual-Choice?

How do | change plans
during Dual-Choice?

What if | change my mind
about the plan | selected
during Dual-Choice?

Can I change from one
plan to another during
the year?
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change from one plan to another, or from single to family coverage for
the following calendar year without a waiting period or exclusions for
pre-existing medical conditions. You will receive a new It's Your Choice
booklet prior to the enroliment period. You do not need to submit a
completed application to continue coverage in your current plan for the
next year provided the plan is still offered.

Dual-Choice refers to the annual opportunity insured subscribers have
to select one of the many health care plans offered. The name
originated many years ago when the choice of health care plans was
very limited. Today, eligible subscribers have over 15 different health
plans from which to choose.

Dual-Choice coverage changes are effective January 1 of the following
year.

No, the Dual-Choice Enrollment period is offered only to subscribers
presently insured under the State Group Health Insurance program.
This includes employees who enroll in the Standard Plan with 180-day
waiting period for pre-existing conditions if their coverage is effective on
or before October 1.

Yes, if you change from single to family coverage during Dual-Choice,
coverage will include all eligible dependents effective January 1 of the
following year. (See also Question 13: When can | change from
single to family coverage without restrictions?)

If you decide to change to a different plan, complete a health
application and submit it to your benefits/payroll/personnel office by the
last day of the Dual-Choice Enroliment period. Applications postmarked
after the deadline will not be accepted. Health applications are available
from your benefits/payroll/personnel office.

You may submit or change an application at any time during the Dual-
Choice period. After that time, you may withdraw your application (and
keep your current coverage) by notifying your benefits/payroll/personnel
office in writing before December 31.

CHANGING HEALTH PLANS

Yes, but only if you, the subscriber:

¢ Move from your plan’s service area (for example, out of the county)
for a period of at least 3 months. An application must be received
by your benefits/payroll/personnel office within 30 days of your
move. Your new coverage will be effective the first of the month on
or following the receipt of your application. You may again change
plans when you return to the service area for three months by
submitting another application within 30 days after your return. (See
also Questions 60: What if | have a temporary or permanent
move from the service area?)

OR

e Are actively employed and voluntarily cancel your existing coverage
and enroll in the Standard Plan with a 180-day waiting period for
any pre-existing condition.

You may change to the Standard Plan at any time by canceling your
existing coverage and submitting an application for the Standard Plan.
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58.

59.

60.

If I change plans, what
happens to any benefit
maximums that may
apply to services I've
received?

If I leave a plan and later
re-enroll in that plan,
does my lifetime benefit
maximum start over?

What if | have a
temporary or permanent
move from the service
area?

Coverage will be effective the first of the month on or following the
receipt of the application by your employer. However, there will be a
180-day waiting period for any pre-existing conditions (except
pregnancy) for all participants. There is no waiting period for any
children born after the effective date of the Standard Plan coverage.
Pre-existing condition means a condition for which medical advice,
diagnosis, care or treatment was recommended or received within the
six-month period ending on the enroliment date.

Otherwise, you can only change health plans without restriction during
each Dual-Choice Enrollment period.

When you change plans for any reason (for example, Dual-Choice or a
move from a plan’s service area), any annual health insurance benefit
maximums under Uniform Benefits will start over at $0 with your new
plan, even if you change plans mid-year. Examples are the durable
medical equipment and the mental health/alcohol/drug abuse benefit.
However, orthodontia benefit maximums typically carry over from one
plan to the next. They are optional and not part of the Uniform Benefits
medical plan.

The lifetime benefit maximum is per participant per plan. When you
change from one health plan to another, your lifetime maximum with the
new plan will start over at $0. If you later return to a plan under which
you were previously covered, the plan may count any benefits paid
during all periods of coverage toward the lifetime benefit maximum for
that plan. The only exception is if you are covered by a plan under the
State program and then under the Wisconsin Public Employers’ Group
Health Insurance program, or vice versa. In that situation, the lifetime
benefit maximums accumulate separately, as these are separate
insurance programs.

A subscriber who moves out of a service area, (for example, out of the
county) either permanently, or temporarily for 3 months or more will be
permitted to enroll in the Standard Plan, or an available alternate plan,
provided an application for such plan is submitted within 30 days after
relocation. You will be required to document the fact that your
application is being submitted due to a change of residence out of a
service area.

It is important that your application to change coverage be submitted as
soon as possible and no later than 30 days after the change of
residence to maintain coverage for non-emergency services. The
change in plans will be effective on the first day of the month on or after
your application is received by your employer but not prior to the date of
your move. If your application is received after the 30-day deadline, you
are only eligible for the Standard Plan with a 180-day waiting period for
pre-existing conditions (except pregnancy). Your contribution rate may
change because the state’s contribution toward the premium varies by
tier. (See Question 45: How are health premium contributions
determined?)

If your relocation is temporary, you may again change plans by
submitting an application within 30 days after your return. The change
will be effective on the first of the month on or after your application is
received by your employer or by the Department if you have terminated
employment.
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If you are confined as an inpatient (in a hospital, an Alcohol and Other
Drug Abuse (AODA) residential center, a skilled nursing facility) or
require 24 hours home care on the effective date of coverage with the
new plan, you will begin to receive benefits from your new plan unless
the facility you are confined in is not in your new plan’s network. If you
are confined in such a facility, your claims will continue to be processed
by your prior plan as provided by contract until that confinement ends
and you are discharged from the non-network hospital or other facility,
12 months have passed, or the contract maximum is reached. If you
are transferred or discharged to another facility for continued treatment
of the same or related condition, it is considered one confinement.

In all other instances, the new plan assumes liability immediately on the
effective date of your coverage, such as January 1.

BENEFITS AND SERVICES

62.

63.

64.

65.

How do | receive health
care benefits and
services?

How do | file claims?

How are my benefits
coordinated with other
health insurance
coverage?

What is the Standard
Plan with the Preferred
Provider Network?

You will receive identification cards from the plan you select. If you lose
these cards or need additional cards for other family members, you
may request them directly from the plan. Alternate Plans are not
required to provide you with a certificate describing your benefits. The
Uniform Benefits section of this booklet provides this information and
will serve as your certificate.

Present your identification card to the hospital or physician who is
providing the service. ldentification numbers are necessary for any
claim to be processed or service provided.

Under the Standard Plan and SMP, you or your physician must contact
the Administrative Services Only (ASO) contract Administrator (WPS
Health Insurance) before you are admitted to a hospital or you will be
subject to a penalty. In addition, any ongoing confinement will be
monitored by the Administrator. The Administrator’s role is to ensure
that only care which is appropriate for your medical condition is
provided.

Most of the alternate plans also require that non-emergency
hospitalizations be prior authorized.

Most of the services provided by an HMO do not require filing of claim
forms. However, you may be required to file claims for some items or
services. The Standard Plan requires claims incurred in any calendar
year to be received by the Administrator no later than the end of the
next calendar year. Alternate plans (HMQO’s) require claims be filed
within 12 months of the date of service, or if later, as soon as
reasonably possible.

When you are covered under two or more group health insurance
policies at the same time, and both contain coordination of benefit
provisions, insurance regulations require the primary carrier be
determined by an established sequence. This means that the primary
carrier will pay its full benefits first; then the secondary carrier would
consider the remaining expenses. See the Coordination of Benefits
Provision found in the UNIFORM BENEFITS in Booklet Section D.

STANDARD PLAN

This plan, often called a Preferred Provider Plan (PPP), offers you the
choice to see any provider, but there are differences in reimbursements
depending on whether you go to an in-network or an out-of-network
provider. If you receive services from an in-network provider you will
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66.

67.

68.

69.

How do | know which
providers are in-network
providers?

What is a Pharmacy
Benefit Manager (PBM)?

What is a drug formulary,
how is it developed, and
how will I know if my

prescription drug is on
it?

How does a three-level
drug co-payment system
work?

have lower out-of-pocket costs. The in-network deductible will be $100
single/$200 family. After the deductible, the plan pays 100% of in-
network, covered services.

If you choose an out-of-network provider, you contribute more toward
your health care costs by incurring additional deductible costs, and
coinsurance. You will have a $500 single/$1,000 family deductible and
co-insurance costs. (See section G, the Standard Plan description page
for more information.)

Please keep in mind that these deductibles accumulate separately, so
the in-network deductible does not apply to the out-of-network
deductible, and vice versa.

Note that prescription drug coverage is administered by the PBM so the
drug co-payments align with those of Uniform benefits, except the
annual prescription out-of-pocket maximum for drug co-payments is
$1,000 single/$2,000 family.

A PPP can be attractive to persons who for the most part are
comfortable with the plan’s providers, but occasionally feel the need to
utilize a particular specialist or desire coverage for routine care while
traveling. All eligible State employees have the option to enroll in this
plan.

See the plan description page in Section G for more information on how
to access or receive a provider directory. You may also contact the
health plan administrator to receive a printed copy.

PHARMACY BENEFIT MANAGER

A PBM is a third party administrator of a prescription drug program that
is primarily responsible for processing and paying prescription drug
claims. In addition, they typically negotiate discounts and rebates with
drug manufacturers, contract with pharmacies, and develop and
maintain the drug formulary. The State’s PBM will negotiate rebates
and discounts on behalf of the State and pass the savings back. Many
health plans currently provide their drug benefit through a PBM.

A formulary is a list of prescription drugs established by a committee of
physicians and pharmacists that are determined to be medically-
effective and cost-effective. The formulary is developed by a Pharmacy
and Therapeutics Committee, which includes a statewide group of
physicians and pharmacists. Drugs are evaluated on the basis of
effectiveness, side-effects, drug interactions, and then cost. On a
continuous basis new drugs are reviewed to make sure the formulary is
kept up-to-date and that patient needs are being met.

The complete formulary is listed on Navitus’ Web site,
www.navitus.com. You may also contact Navitus customer service toll-
free at 1-866-333-2757 with questions about the formulary.

Under a three-level prescription drug benefit, you have three different
co-payment amounts for covered prescription drugs. By having to pay a
lower co-payment for those drugs on the formulary, which are Level 1
and Level 2, you are encouraged to use formulary drugs. However, if
you prefer a drug that is not on the formulary (and for which coverage is
not excluded), you can get that drug for a higher co-payment, which is
the Level 3 co-payment. This gives you more freedom of choice with
the drugs that you use.

C-30



70.Will | have to use a
different ID card when
I go to the pharmacy?

71. How can | decrease my
taxes by using the ERA
program?

State of Wisconsin Employees 2007

Under the three-level prescription drug benefit, it will still be necessary
to get a prior authorization before some formulary and non-formulary
drugs will be covered.

Yes, you will have two identification cards, one from your health
plan and one from Navitus. Your member identification number will
be different on each card, so it is important that you show the
correct card when getting services. When filling prescriptions, you
must present your Navitus ID card to the pharmacist.

EMPLOYEE REIMBURSEMENT ACCOUNT (ERA) PROGRAM

Most state employees have an opportunity to lower their taxes by
paying certain medical and dependent care expenses with pre-tax
dollars through the ERA program. Enrollment information is provided to
eligible employees each fall. Newly eligible employees should receive a
packet from their benefits/payroll/personnel office when they are hired.

The ERA program has two parts.

1. Automatic Premium Conversion. Group health insurance
premiums are taken from your pre-tax salary automatically. This
reduces your taxable gross pay which in turn will reduce your
income tax withholding and Social Security deductions. Group life
insurance, EPIC dental and excess medical insurance and
Spectera Vision Care premiums are also taken from pre-tax salary.
If you do not want your insurance premiums deducted on a pre-tax
basis you must file a waiver. You need to file a waiver only once. It
will remain in effect until you revoke it. To file a waiver, or revoke a
previously filed waiver, complete an Automatic Premium
Conversion Waiver/Revocation of Waiver form (ET-2340) and
return it to your benefits/payroll/personnel office during the
enrollment period, to be effective at the beginning of the next plan
year.

2. Medical Reimbursement and Dependent Care Accounts.
Employee Reimbursement Accounts (ERA) allow you to reduce
your taxable income by an agreed-upon amount each pay period
and to have these amounts set aside to pay dependent care and/or
certain medical expenses.

* A medical reimbursement account is used to pay medical
expenses for you, your spouse and dependents that are not paid
by insurance. This would include deductibles and co-insurance
amounts; drugs; dental, vision and hearing care; orthodontia;
and other uncovered medical procedures or supplies. Certain
over-the-counter drugs such as antacids, allergy, pain and cold
remedies, may also be paid through a medical expense
reimbursement account. A more complete list of eligible
expenses may be found in the ERA plan booklet.

* A dependent care reimbursement account pays for daycare
expenses for your children or other eligible dependents if such
care is necessary to enable you and your spouse to work.

Enrollment. Participation in the Employee Reimbursement Account
Program is entirely optional. It is administered by Fringe Benefits
Management Company, a public employer benefit administrator. You
are given an opportunity each fall to enroll for the following calendar
year. Newly eligible employees may enroll during the year by applying
within 30 days of their initial date of hire.
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72. How much should |

contribute to my ERA
medical expense
account?

Additional Information. If you would like more information about the
ERA program, or if you did not receive your fall enroliment materials,
contact Fringe Benefits Management Customer Service directly at 1-
800-342-8017. ERA information may also be found on the Employee
Trust Funds web site at http://etf.wi.gov.

Review the Dual-Choice book and benefit information for other dental,
vision or supplemental medical coverage that you may have to
determine the benefits, co-payments, and/or deductibles. Also review
the Navitus formulary to determine your drug co-payments. Keep in
mind the out-of-pocket maximums for drug coverage apply to only Level
1 and Level 2 drugs. Certain over-the-counter drugs are also eligible for
reimbursement through a medical expense account.

Plan carefully before you enroll in the ERA program. Your account may
not be changed or terminated during the plan year unless you
experience a qualifying “change in status.” Unused funds cannot be
refunded. Consult the ERA enrollment booklet for more information
about eligible medical expenses and qualifying change in status events.

TERMINATION/LEAVING YOUR HEALTH PLAN

73. How do | cancel

coverage?

74. When can an employee’s

75.

health insurance
coverage be terminated?

Is it possible to enroll in
this health insurance
program after | terminate
state employment?

CANCELLATION/TERMINATION OF COVERAGE

Voluntary cancellation (or switching from family to single coverage
which is deemed voluntary cancellation for all insured dependents)
requires written notification to the employer and the completion of a
Health Insurance Application denoting a cancellation of coverage. Be
aware that voluntary cancellation of coverage does not provide an
opportunity to continue coverage for previously covered dependents as
described in section CONTINUATION OF HEALTH COVERAGE.
Cancellation affects both medical and prescription drug coverage.

No REFUNDS are made for premiums paid in advance unless your
employer (or Employee Trust Funds if you are no longer a state
employee) receives your written request on or before the last day of the
month preceding the month for which you request the refund. Under no
circumstances are partial month’s premiums refunded. Once coverage
terminates, you will be responsible for any claims inadvertently paid
beyond your coverage effective dates.

Your coverage can only be terminated because:

1. Premiums are not paid.
2. Coverage is voluntarily cancelled.

3. Eligibility for coverage ceases (for example, terminate
employment).

4. Fraud is committed in obtaining benefits or inability to establish
a physician/patient relationship. Termination of coverage for this
reason requires Group Insurance Board approval.

5. Death of the subscriber.

Contact your benefits/payroll/personnel office for the date coverage will
end.

If you terminate state employment and you are not enrolled for health
insurance or subsequently terminate coverage, you may enroll for
single or family coverage if you are:
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1. Aretired employee of the state who is receiving a retirement
annuity or has received a lump sum payment under Wis. Stat. §
40.25 (1); or

2. An employee of the state who terminates creditable service after
attaining 20 years of creditable service, remains a WRS participant
and is not eligible for an immediate annuity.

You must submit an application to enroll and may select any offered
health plan. Coverage will be effective on the first day of the seventh
month following the Department’s receipt of the application. Surviving
dependents are not eligible for this enroliment.

Yes. Under certain circumstances your accumulated unused sick leave
can be converted to credits to pay for health insurance premium if you
are:

e retiring,
¢ terminating after accumulating 20 years of creditable WRS service,

® or a surviving spouse or dependent who is insured under our
program at the time of the active subscriber’s death.

The rules governing your eligibility are described in ETF publications
(ET-4112, ET-4116, & ET-2119).

CONTINUATION OF HEALTH COVERAGE

Your COBRA continuation rights are described in Section B of this
booklet. Both you and your spouse should take the time to read
that section carefully. This section provides additional information
about continuation coverage.

You do not have to provide evidence of insurability to enroll in
continuation coverage. However, coverage is limited to the plan you
had as an active employee or covered dependent. (For example, if you
change plans January 1 and your dependent loses eligibility

December 31, that dependent would be eligible for COBRA from the
plan you were enrolled in on December 31. An exception is made when
the participant resides in a county that does not include a primary
physician for the subscriber’s plan at the time continuation is elected. In
that case, the participant may elect a different plan that is offered in the
county where the participant resides.) You may select another plan
during the Dual-Choice Enroliment period or if you move from the
service area. If family coverage is not elected when continuation is first
offered, each dependent may independently elect single continuation
coverage. A family of two may select two single contracts at a lower
cost than the premium for a family contract. The plan will bill you
directly. There can be no lapse in coverage so multiple premiums may
be required.

If you terminate employment and have less than 20 years of creditable
service, you will be offered a 36-month continuation coverage period. A
second qualifying event while on continuation will not serve to
extend your period of continuation. Coverage will be limited to the
original 36 months. At the end of the continuation period you will be
allowed to enroll in an individual conversion health plan.

NOTE: Continuation coverage time limits do not apply to state and
university employees who terminate with 20 years of WRS creditable
service and remain a WRS patrticipant. They can continue the group
health insurance for life even if they don’t take an immediate annuity.
To continue, an application must be received before coverage lapses.
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77.

78.

79.

80.

81.

82.

Who is eligible for
continuation?

When do | notify my
employer if a dependent
loses eligibility for
coverage?

Does my coverage
change under
continuation?

Will my premium change
under continuation?

How do | cancel
continuation coverage?

When is conversion
coverage available?

See COBRA: Continuation of Coverage Provisions for the Group
Health Insurance Program in Section B. of this booklet.

Under Federal Law, if the employer is not notified within 60 days of the
later of (1) the event that caused the loss of coverage, or (2) the end of
the period of coverage, the right to continuation coverage is lost. You
have the responsibility to inform the employing agency of a spouse or
dependent losing eligibility for coverage under the State Group Health
Insurance program. If you have changed marital status, or you or your
spouse have changed addresses, complete a new application as
notification of this change. A voluntary change in coverage from a
family plan to a single plan does not create a continuation opportunity.

No, continuation coverage is identical to the active employee coverage.
In most cases, you are eligible to maintain continuation coverage for 36
months from the month of the qualifying event and are allowed to
change plans during the annual Dual-Choice Enrollment period or if the
subscriber moves from the service area. However, your continuation
coverage may be cut short for any of the following reasons:

1. The premium for your continuation coverage is not paid when due.

2. You or a covered family member become covered under another
group health plan that does not have a pre-existing conditions
clause which applies to you or your covered family member.

3. You were divorced from an insured employee and subsequently
remarry and are insured through your new spouse’s group health
plan.

It may change as you will pay the total premium amount which includes
both the employee and employer share. Contact your employer to
obtain the total amount.

To cancel continuation coverage, notify ETF in writing. Include your
name, Social Security number, date of birth, and address. ETF will
forward your request to the plan. Your coverage will be cancelled at the
end of the month in which ETF receives the request to cancel
coverage.

As required by law, you are eligible to apply for conversion
coverage when group continuation coverage terminates. Contact
the plan directly to make application for conversion coverage.
Conversion coverage is available without providing evidence of
insurability, and with no waiting period for pre-existing conditions,
provided state group coverage has been in effect for at least three
months prior to termination.

If the plan automatically bills you for conversion coverage that you do
not want, simply do not pay the premium for the coverage. The
coverage offered will be the conversion contract (not the state plan)
available at the time, subject to the rates and regulations then in effect.
The coverage and premium amount may vary greatly from plan to plan.

If you reside outside of the HMO service area at the time you apply for
conversion coverage, you may only be eligible for an out-of-area
conversion policy through another insurance carrier. The benefits and
rates of the out-of-area conversion plan are subject to the regulations in
effect in the state in which you reside.
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The conversion privilege is also available to dependents when they
cease to be eligible under the subscriber’s family contract. Request for
conversion must be received by the plan within 30 days after
termination of group coverage. If you have questions regarding
conversion, write or call the plan in which you are enrolled.

If you move out of the service area (either permanently, or temporarily
for 3 months or more) you are eligible to change plans. (See Question
60: What if | have a temporary or permanent move from the service
area? for additional information).

Your application to change plans must be postmarked within 30 days
after your move. Because you are on continuation coverage, call the
Employer Communication Center at (608) 264-7900 to obtain a Health
Insurance Application. Complete and submit the application to the
Department of Employee Trust Funds, P. O. Box 7931, Madison, WI
53707-7931.
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