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Section A 
 
I. Introduction 
 
Optional Employee-Pay-All Insurance Plans (Optional Plans) are types of insurance  
that are:  

• Generally supplementary to group health insurance, providing coverage for dental, 
vision, hospital, or surgical procedures, accidental injury, or accidental death. 

• Voluntary for eligible Employees and for Annuitants as determined by Group Insurance 
Board (Board) contract. 

• Paid for by Employees via payroll deduction—subscribers are responsible for the entire 
cost of premiums 

• Paid for by Annuitants using a direct pay method arranged with the vendor—sick leave 
conversion does not apply 

• Approved and offered by a contract with the Board under provisions of  
Wis. Stat. § 40.03(6) and § 20.921(1)(a). 

• See etf.wi.gov for links to certificates outlining insurance plans currently available to 
eligible State of Wisconsin (State) Subscribers. 

State Group Health Insurance (SGH) is referenced occasionally in this manual, for reference or 
contrast. ETF has made efforts to align administrative policy and procedure for Optional Plans 
with those for SGH, where practical and where contracts and business reasons allow.  

Note that the University of Wisconsin System (UWS) and the University of Wisconsin Hospitals 
and Clinics (UWHC) have been authorized by the Board to offer plans that were approved prior 
to 2016, and to not offer new plans that may be approved by the Board. See Appendix 1 for 
table of which plans are available through each payroll center. 

  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/20/X/921/1/a/4
http://www.etf.wi.gov/
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II. Definitions  
 
Annuitant: A WRS Member who has retired and is eligible for group health insurance plans under 
the WRS, or is the surviving Spouse/Domestic Partner of an Annuitant. Eligible Annuitants include 
those who meet at least one of the following criterion:  

• receive a disability annuity under Wis. Stat. §40.63,  
• receive a disability benefit under Long Term Disability Insurance (LTDI) under Subch. III 

of Wis. Admin. Code Ch. 50,  
• receive duty disability benefits under Wis. Stat. § 40.65,  
• left State service with at least 20 years of creditable service under the WRS, regardless 

of age, or 
• have received a retirement lump sum payment.  
• It does NOT include beneficiaries who were not the Spouse/Domestic Partner of the 

Subscriber, nor those who have received a lump sum after separation (vs. retirement.)   
 
Board: Group Insurance Board (Board) that oversees benefits provided under Wisconsin 
Statutes, Chapter 40. Some sources or members may call the Board the “G.I.B.” 
 
Complaint: Any expression of dissatisfaction expressed to the Insurer by the insured or an 
insured's authorized representative, about an Insurer or its providers with whom the Insurer has 
a direct or indirect contract. 
 
Courts: The payroll system for employees of the Circuit Courts, Court of Appeals, and Supreme 
Court.  
 
Domestic Partner: An individual who certifies in an affidavit along with his or her partner that 
they are in a Domestic Partnership as provided under Wis. Stat. §40.02 (21d), which is a 
relationship between two individuals that meets all of the following conditions: 

• Each individual is at least 18 years old and otherwise competent to enter into a contract. 
• Neither individual is married to, or in a Domestic Partnership with another individual. 
• The two individuals are not related by blood in any way that would prohibit marriage 

under Wisconsin law. 
• The two individuals consider themselves to be members of each other’s immediate 

family. 
• The two individuals agree to be responsible for each other’s basic living expenses. 
• The two individuals share a common residence. Two individuals may share a common 

residence even if any of the following applies: 
o Only one of the individuals has legal ownership of the residence. 
o One or both of the individuals have one or more additional residences not shared 

with the other individual. 
o One of the individuals leaves the common residence with the intent to return. 

  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
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Employee: Has the meaning of Eligible Employee, as defined in Wis. Stat. §40.02(25) (b). It 
includes state employees eligible for the Wisconsin retirement system, elected state officials, 
and graduate and teaching assistants employed at least 1/3 time and expected to be employed 
for at least six months.  

Employer: The Employer’s office of Human Resources, Payroll and/or Benefits, and the Payroll 
Center that serves that WRS participating State Agency. 

ETF: Department of Employee Trust Funds. 

HIPAA: Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, a United States federal law that 
includes privacy standards to protect personal health information. 

Hire Date: For purposes of insurance effective date, the first day of active benefits-eligible 
employment upon hire, also called eligibility date. 

Insurer: Company providing an Insurance plan approved by the Board as an optional, 
Employee-pay-all benefit. 

It’s Your Choice: It’s Your Choice (IYC), is a designated open enrollment period that is offered 
to Employees, Annuitants, surviving spouses and dependents who are eligible under the State 
of Wisconsin Group Health Insurance Program. It is an opportunity to enroll, change plans, 
change coverage level, or cancel coverage. Changes made become effective January first of 
the following year. See also Open Enrollment. 

Leave of Absence: any period in which an Employee is not working for, or receiving earnings 
from, the Employer and has not terminated the Employer-Employee relationship as defined in 
Wis. Stat. § 40.02 (40). For the purpose of Optional Insurance, a Leave of Absence ends when 
the Employee has returned to active work.  

Member: Means a member of a household enrolled in an insurance plan, or eligible for COBRA, 
or depending on context in this document may mean Member of the Wisconsin Retirement 
System. 

Plan: Insurance plan approved by the Board as an optional, Employee-pay-all benefit, and/or 
benefit available to Annuitants. 

Optional Insurance Plan: Has the same meaning as Plan. 

Open Enrollment: A defined period during which eligible Employees and/or annuitants may 
enroll, change, or cancel participation in any specific insurance plan. The time frame is 
established by the Board, usually for 4 weeks beginning in early to mid-October. For optional 
insurance, the opportunity to enroll may be further designated by the Insurer, only in agreement 
with the Board, to limit the employment status or other characteristics that offer eligibility to enroll. 

  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
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Qualifying Event:  Life event that provides an opportunity for a Subscriber to add, cancel, or 
change coverage. Events can include: marriage, entering/terminating a domestic partnership, 
birth or adoption, legal placement of a ward, a dependent child turning age 26, divorce or 
annulment, leave of absence, death, and loss of comparable coverage.  However, not every 
event listed here allows each type of change. See specific sections for enrollment, change, and 
cancellation. Source: HIPAA and Internal Revenue Code. 

Records: Electronic data or paper files with Subscriber-related information, maintained by the 
Employer, payroll center, or Insurer. 

Spouse: person in a marriage recognized in the state of Wisconsin. 

STAR: “State Transforming Agency Resources.”  The automated payroll and benefits system 
for State agencies used by central payroll (most administrative agencies) and the legislature.  

State Group Health. or SGH: Group health care benefits for Employees, Annuitants, and their 
Dependents eligible for coverage offered by the Group Insurance Board as  required by Wis. 
Stat. § 40.51 and 40.52. 

Subscriber: An active Employee or Annuitant who has enrolled in an Optional Insurance plan, 
who is not enrolled as the Dependent of another Subscriber. 

UWHC: University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics, an Employer with its own payroll system. 
Has its own optional dental insurance, and a separate AD&D contract. 

UWS: University of Wisconsin Systems, an Employer with its own payroll system. Does not offer 
the exact array of Plans as the balance of state agencies. 

Ward: An individual for whom a legal guardian has been appointed, under Chapter 54.10 Wis. 
Stats. Also “legal ward.” 

WEDC: Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation, an Employer with its own payroll 
system 

WHEDA: Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority, an Employer with its own 
payroll system 

WRS: Wisconsin Retirement System.  
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III. Eligibility  
 
1. Who is an eligible Employee? 

An active Employee who is eligible for the State-sponsored health insurance plan, with or 
without Employer contribution.  

2. When is an Employee eligible to enroll? 
Eligible Employees may enroll within the first 30 days of their Hire Date. In addition, 
Employees have the following enrollment opportunities:  

• If previously eligible under WRS, an Employee may enroll if he or she has had more 
than a 30-day break in employment.  

• If an Employee previously eligible under WRS has less than a 30-day break between 
state employers 

o Treat the Subscriber records as if transferred, if employed by a new state 
agency 

o Treat the Subscriber records as a reinstatement, as if there was no break, if 
returns to the same agency within 30 days.  

• University of Wisconsin System (UWS) Graduate assistant Employees may enroll 
within 30 days of beginning their first WRS participating appointment. 

• A WRS-covered Limited Term Employee (LTE) or an Employee who is eligible for 
State group health insurance but appointed to work less than half time as defined by 
Wis. Stat. §40.05 (4) (ag)  has another 30-day enrollment opportunity under the 
following conditions: (these do not apply to UWHC) 

o The hours of employment increase due to a change in the position 
appointment and the Employee now qualifies for full share of Employer 
contribution towards State group health insurance; or 

o The Employee is appointed to a permanent position and qualifies for the full 
share of the Employer contribution towards State group health insurance. 

If an eligible Employee applies more than 30 days following an eligibility event date, the 
application will be rejected by the automated system or by the Insurer, and the Employee’s 
coverage will not become effective under the policy. The Employee will be considered a late 
enrollee; he or she will be eligible to apply for coverage only when an enrollment opportunity 
for that purpose is offered, or the Employee has a qualifying event. (See also Employer 
Error, and Late Open Enrollment, Sections A.V and A.XVI.) 

3. Transfer between State Employers 
Does an Employee moving between State WRS Employers have an opportunity to enroll in 
an Optional Insurance plan if they had not enrolled in the plan with the prior agency? 

The Employee is eligible to enroll only if the specific insurance plan was not offered at the 
prior agency. The Employee is not eligible to enroll if the Plan was available at the agency of 
previous employment but he/she waived that coverage. See Appendix 1. 

Exception: The Hartford Accidental Death and Dismemberment plan allows enrollment for 
eligible Employees at any time of year, without a qualifying event.  

  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
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4. Who is an eligible Annuitant? 
For purposes of Optional Insurance, unless specified in the insurance certificate, an 
Annuitant is a WRS Member who has retired and is eligible for group health insurance plans 
under the WRS, or is the surviving Spouse/Domestic Partner of an Annuitant. Eligible 
Members include those who:  

• receive a disability annuity under Wis. Stat. §40.63,  
• receive a disability benefit under Long Term Disability Insurance (LTDI) under 

Subch. III of Wis. Admin. Code Ch. 50,  
• receive duty disability benefits under Wis. Stat. § 40.65,  
• have at least 20 years of creditable service under the WRS, (regardless of  minimum 

retirement age); or 
• have received a retirement lump sum payment.  

This list does not include beneficiaries who were not the Spouse/Domestic Partner of the 
Subscriber, nor those who have received a lump sum after separation (vs. retirement).  

Exception: VSP includes Annuitants who are receiving an annuity as a named survivor who 
are not a Spouse or Domestic Partner.  

Employees who subscribe to an Optional Insurance plan while active may continue that 
insurance on a direct-pay basis following retirement. 

• For AD&D insurance, the subscriber may convert their insurance plan to an 
individual plan. 

• All other types require a continuation form to be completed and filed with the Insurer 
upon retirement (See Continuation, section XIII) 
Insurers may offer an enrollment opportunity for Annuitants during the It’s Your 
Choice period. ETF’s website, etf.wi.gov will include a table listing Annuitant 
enrollment opportunities each year. 

• Upon request ETF will supply a list file of eligible annuitants annually to optional 
insurance vendors, prior to the designated IYC period. Vendors must contact the 
ETF optional plans manager to make this request between May 1 and August 1 each 
year. All lists will be delivered through a secure file site. 

Annuitants who return to work in a WRS position may enroll in Optional Insurance if they 
have suspended their annuity and become eligible to enroll in WRS insurance as an active 
Employee.  

• The Employer is responsible to offer enrollment to an eligible rehired retiree who is 
enrolled in the Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS). 

• If receiving an annuity while employed, a member remains in Annuitant status and 
does not have a qualifying event based on return to work. The annuitant does not 
use payroll deduction, but continues to pay the Insurer directly. 

  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
http://etf.wi.gov/
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5. Who are eligible Dependents? 
 Dependent, for Optional Insurance, means the Subscriber’s:  

• Spouse 
• Domestic Partner (see definitions)  
• Child 
• Legal Ward who becomes a legal ward of the Subscriber, Subscriber’s Spouse or 

Insured Domestic Partner prior to age 19,  
• Adopted child when placed in the custody of the parent as provided by Wis. Stat. § 

632.896   
• Stepchild 
• Child of the Domestic Partner insured on the policy 
• Grandchild if the parent is a Dependent child.  

A grandchild ceases to be a Dependent at the end of the month in which the Dependent child 
(parent) turns age 18.  

A Spouse and Step-child(ren) cease to be Dependents at the end of the month in which a 
marriage is terminated by divorce or annulment. A Domestic Partner and his or her children 
cease to be Dependents at the end of the month in which the domestic partnership is no longer 
in effect.  

All other children cease to be Dependents at the end of the month in which they turn 26 years of 
age, except that:  

• An unmarried Dependent child who is incapable of self-support because of a 
physical or mental disability that began prior to age 26 and can be expected to be of 
long-continued or indefinite duration of at least one year is an eligible Dependent, 
regardless of age, as long as the child remains disabled and he or she is Dependent 
on the Subscriber (or the other parent) for at least 50% of the child’s support and 
maintenance as demonstrated by the support test for federal income tax purposes, 
whether or not the child is claimed on tax filing. 

o The State Group Health Plan will monitor eligibility annually, notifying the 
Employer and ETF when terminating coverage prospectively upon 
determining the Dependent is no longer disabled and/or no longer meets the 
support requirement. The Employer will notify the Optional Insurance of any 
support requirement changes.  

o STAR has a field to record disability status, with an as-of date. Other payroll 
systems must note in their records the disability status of adult child 
dependents. Employers are not required to transmit disability status of 
dependents with enrollment records but are responsible to provide the 
designation to the insurer on request.  

  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632.pdf
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632.pdf
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o For adult children of Annuitants, or Subscribers whose primary health 
insurance is something other than SGH, the Subscriber is responsible to 
provide verification of disability to the Insurer.  

• For Anthem: If the physician does not say the disability is permanent, 
the Insurer will request a new verification annually from the 
Subscriber. Anthem will provide a form to be completed by the family 
and physician.  

• EPIC: Does not have a specific form, but may ask the Subscriber to 
obtain verification and submit directly to EPIC. 

• VSP: Records disability status of Dependent, self-reported by 
Subscriber upon enrollment. No regular verification required. 

• Hartford AD&D requires verification of disability, to continue a 
Dependent’s enrollment past age 26. 

o After attaining age 26, as required by Wis. Stat.§ 632.885(2)(b), a Dependent 
includes a child who is a full-time student, regardless of age, who was called 
to federal active duty when the child was under the age of 27 years and while 
the child was attending, on a full-time basis, an institution of higher education. 
Note: the adult child must apply to an institution of higher education within 12 
months after completing his/her active duty obligation. 

• The Employer will verify this status in order to enroll the dependent. 
Insurers will enroll based on the Employer’s approval. 

• For an Annuitant Subscriber whose adult child fits this situation, the 
Insurer may require that the Subscriber submit verification. 

• If an adult child becomes insured as a WRS-eligible Employee, the Insurer will 
notify the Employers and/or Subscribers if that Plan does not permit an individual 
to be covered both as a Dependent and as a Subscriber, or as a Dependent 
under two plans (i.e. adult child and Spouse). Only VSP allows dual coverage.  

A child born outside of marriage becomes a Dependent of the father on the date of 
the court order declaring paternity or on the date the Acknowledgement of paternity is 
filed with the Department of Health Services (or equivalent if the birth was outside of 
Wisconsin) or the date of birth with a birth certificate listing the father’s name.  

• The effective date of coverage will be the date of birth if the statement or court 
order of paternity is filed within 60 days of the birth, and the parent completes the 
enrollment change request within 60 days of filing that paternity order. 

• If the Subscriber submits the eligibility change request more than 60 days after 
the paternity filing, the coverage effective date must be set to the first of the 
month following receipt of application. 

Eligible Dependents of foreign nationals who arrive in the United States after the 
Employee’s initial enrollment period will be allowed to enroll in Optional Insurance if the 
Employee is already enrolled and the Dependents are eligible to enroll in the plan due to 
loss of other coverage.  This enrollment period will coincide with their enrollment 
opportunity for State Group Health insurance. 

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632.pdf
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6. Are “non-tax” Dependents eligible for coverage? 
Yes. A Domestic Partner and his/her children do not need to be dependent upon the 
Employee for care or support to be eligible as Dependents. However, if the  Domestic 
Partner or his/her children do not qualify as a tax Dependent or qualifying relative under 
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) § 152, the Employee must so indicate on the application or 
advise the Employer of their tax status prior to the start of a new calendar year. If 
coverage is elected for any “non-tax” Dependents, the entire premium is taken on a post-
tax basis. If the “non-tax” Dependent loses coverage during the year, premium 
deductions may then be taken on a pre-tax basis, at the discretion of the Employer. 

7. Are Dependent students on medical leave eligible for coverage?  
The information below applies only to Dependent students who were called to active 
duty in the National Guard or Reserve component of the United States Armed Forces 
prior to age 27 and have now returned to school on a full-time basis.  
If, while covered under Optional Insurance, a Dependent student needs to reduce 
his/her course load or leave school due to a medically necessary leave of absence, the 
Dependent student may be eligible to continue coverage.  
The Insurer may require documentation of the medical necessity of the academic leave 
of absence from the Dependent’s attending Physician. Continuation coverage begins 
the date on which the Dependent ceases to be a full-time student due to the medically 
necessary academic leave of absence.  
Coverage during academic leave will continue until any of the following occurs:  

• The Dependent advises the Insurer that he/she does not intend to return to 
school full-time. 

• The Dependent becomes employed full-time.  
• The Dependent obtains other comparable insurance coverage. 
• The Dependent marries and is eligible for coverage under his or her Spouse’s 

coverage.  
• Coverage of the student’s subscriber parent is discontinued or not renewed.  
• One year has elapsed since the Dependent’s continuation coverage began and 

the Dependent has not returned to school full-time.  
 
  

http://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=(title:26%20section:152%20edition:prelim)%20OR%20(granuleid:USC-prelim-title26-section152)&f=treesort&edition=prelim&num=0&jumpTo=true
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IV. Enrollment  
 

Application & effective dates: This chart is an overview of enrollment opportunities for active 
Employees. Annuitants who are already enrolled may add Dependents in the event of marriage, 
domestic partnership, birth, adoption or placement of a legal ward; those are not enrollment 
opportunities for an Annuitant who is not a Subscriber at the time of the event. Further detail is 
outlined in the text that follows. 

Event Enrollment Period Effective Date of 
Coverage 

Effective Date for Purpose of 
Premiums Owed 

New Hire – first day 
if WRS eligible, or 
first day after attains 
WRS eligibility 

Within 30 calendar 
days of first day of 
active work 

First day of the month that 
first occurs during the 30-
day enrollment period 

Same date as coverage effective 
date 

Increase in FTE 
/position hours that 
creates WRS 
eligibility. 

Within 30 calendar 
days of event 

First day of the month that 
first occurs within 30  days 
following the position 
change event, if worker 
files application during the 
30-day enrollment period 

Same date as coverage effective 
date 

It’s Your Choice 
Open Enrollment 
period 

Established by 
Board, a 4-week 
period, usually 
begins early to mid-
October 

January 1 of year 
following “It’s Your 
Choice” 

Same date as coverage effective 
date 

Loss of comparable 
coverage 

Within 30 calendar 
days of event 

On the event date, 
coverage can begin  
mid-month 
 

First of the following month if 
coverage begins on or after the 
16th of a month. First of the event 
month if coverage begins prior 

Reinstate lapsed 
coverage upon 
return from unpaid 
LOA 

Within 30 calendar 
days of return from 
LOA 

First of the month 
following first day of return 
to work. 

Same date as active coverage 
effective date 

Marriage/ Domestic 
Partnership 

Within 30 calendar 
days of event 

On the event date  Courts, STAR, UWS, UWHC: If 
event is on or before the 15th of the 
month, premiums are due for the 
full month. If event is the 16th or 
after, premiums begin the first of 
the month following the event. 

WHEDA, WEDC: Premiums begin 
the first of the month following the 
event, unless there is a claim in 
that first partial month. If so, the 
Insurer calculates the proration 
and notifies the Employer. 

Birth, Adoption (For 
a child born outside 
of marriage, see 
Eligibility for timing 
of coverage) 

Within 60 calendar 
days of event 

On the event date.  

 

Legal Ward Within 60 calendar 
days of event 

On the event date.  
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Any Dependent eligible for benefits who is not listed on an application for coverage will be 
provided benefits based on the date of notification with coverage effective the first of the month 
following receipt of the subsequent application by the Employer, except as required under Wis. 
Stat §632.895(5) and 632.896 (Newborns and adopted children) and as specified in the State 
Group Health Insurance contract.  

Employees:  
The eligible Employee must be actively at work or on an approved Leave of Absence and not 
totally disabled on his or her effective date of coverage under the policy or coverage will be 
delayed. However, if the Employee is not actively at work, but is considered an active Employee 
with the Employer, the plan will consider the Subscriber to be an eligible Employee and 
coverage will become effective.  
For non-STAR payroll centers: To eliminate prorated premium following qualifying events in the 
above chart, some payroll centers set the effective date as the first of the month after the 
eligibility date provided the completed application has been submitted to the Employer. 
However, if claims are incurred during the partial month of coverage before the effective date, 
the Insurer will process the claims and the Subscriber will be responsible for any prorated 
premium the Insurer charged for the partial first month. 
Infant Dependents: 
Following the birth of a Dependent, coverage for a Dependent for whom the Subscriber applies 
within 60 days of the birth of a Dependent is effective on the date of birth.  
For newborns, if family coverage is already in force, coverage for a newborn Dependent is 
effective on the date of birth. If additional premium is required for the newborn Dependent, 
coverage begins on the date of birth, if the Subscriber notifies the Insurer of the birth and pays 
the additional premium within one year of the birth. Retroactive premiums do not include interest 
in this case. 
Adoption:  
Following adoption or placement for adoption of a Dependent, if the Subscriber applies within 60 
days of an adoption or placement for adoption, coverage of a Dependent is effective on the date 
of the adoption or placement for adoption.  
Loss of comparable coverage:  
If an Employee is seeking an enrollment opportunity based on loss of comparable coverage, the 
Employer has the responsibility to request a copy of the ID card or other identifying information 
for the plan that has been terminated (from a previous employer or spouse) from the Employee. 
If coverage was from a former spouse, the employer may need to contact that Insurer for 
documents. The Employer must submit documentation to the Insurer. If the Insurer needs 
further information, they will seek it directly from the applicant. 
Note: This provision rarely enables enrollment in EPIC Benefits+ which is a unique plan, 
covering multiple claim types; therefore it is rare for another plan such as simple dental 
insurance to be considered “comparable.” 
  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632.pdf
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632.pdf
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V. Late “It’s Your Choice" Applications (see also Employer Error) 

1. If an Employee or Subscriber failed the opportunity to enroll or make a change during IYC, 
he or she may request a review from the employer, and then by ETF. The review does not 
guarantee approval. The request and review follows these steps for active employees: 

• Employee submits application after the end of the IYC period. 
• Employer may consider special circumstances and forward the application to the 

Insurer after discussion with Insurer’s enrollment specialist or with email outlining 
reason for exception processing. 

• If the Employer or automated payroll system rejects late application: Employer 
provides member with notice of late application and instruction for requesting a 
review.  

• Employee submits written request, via letter or email, to their Employer no later than 
February 10. The request must outline the reason and/or circumstances for the late 
application, and the remedy being sought. Appeals will not be considered if the 
individual simply failed to take action in a timely manner. 

• The Employer will forward the request for review to ETF’s Employer Services 
Section, along with a cover memo outlining their IYC procedure and any 
circumstances they are aware of to support or refute the Employee’s request.  

• The Employer’s email must be sent encrypted. The subject line of the email should 
be “Late It’s Your Choice, Employer record.”   

• ETF’s Employer Services Section (ESS) will review the request. If the circumstances 
fall outside the criterion outlined in ETF policy, ESS will forward the request to the 
Office of Strategic Health Policy (OSHP). 

• ETF will advise the Employee and Employer of a decision within 60 days. If a late 
enrollment or change is allowed premiums will be adjusted back to January 1 or the 
missed effective date.  

• Exception: AD&D insurance allows year-round enrollment. Therefore, any 
subscriber who misses an annual enrollment or qualifying event deadline will be 
allowed to enroll with a prospective effective date. 

• Note: An Employee or Annuitant may cancel their enrollment in any insurance up 
until December 31 for the subsequent year. 

2. Annuitants who miss the IYC time limit for enrollment or change must submit their 
request for review directly to the Insurer. The Insurer has the final decision, based on 
standards agreed on with ETF. The Insurer may consult ETF if the request has unique 
circumstances 

VI. Declining Coverage 

What if an Employee wants to waive coverage?  
For each type of Optional Insurance plan, if an eligible Employee declines the Insurance 
coverage(s), the Employer must retain a record of the Employee’s choices to waive, 
showing that the insurance was offered in a clear and timely way, but declined. 
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VII. Pre-tax or Post-tax Deduction of Premiums 
 

What are the benefits of choosing pre-tax payroll deductions and what must a Subscriber 
do to choose? 
The following Optional Insurance plans are eligible for inclusion in the automatic premium 
conversion component of the State of Wisconsin Employee Reimbursement Account (ERA) 
program: 

• Anthem DentalBlue 
• EPIC Benefits+  
• EPIC Dental Wisconsin 
• VSP 

Under the ERA premium conversion component, eligible Subscribers (LTEs are not eligible) 
may have insurance premiums deducted from their salary before Federal, State and Social 
Security taxes are calculated. When premiums are deducted on a pre-tax basis: 

• Changes to coverage may be made only at the beginning of a new plan year (January 1) 
unless the change is due to a valid qualifying event as per IRS Publication 501.  

• Income records used for determining any other benefits that are based on salary, such 
as WRS retirement benefits, disability benefits and life insurance coverage, will not 
reflect a decrease. 

Premiums for Optional Insurance are  automatically deducted on a pre-tax basis unless the 
covered Subscriber files a waiver or one or more enrolled Dependents are not eligible tax-
Dependents or qualifying relatives under the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) §125 as indicated on 
the initial or subsequent applications.  
If a Subscriber does not wish to have the Insurance premiums taken on a pre-tax basis, they 
must complete an ERA Automatic Premium Conversion Waiver. However:  

• If the application reflects enrollment of at least one dependent whose coverage is not tax 
deductible under IRA Publication 501, the full premium must be deducted post-tax even 
if the Subscriber does not complete an ERA Automatic Premium Conversion Waiver.  

• Premiums for LTEs must always be deducted post-tax.  
• If an employee changes deductions for State Group Health insurance, the employer may 

change optional plan deductions at the same time. 

Exception: AD&D claims payments are taxable as income if the premiums were paid with pre-
tax income. Therefore it may be advantageous for Subscribers to have AD&D premiums 
deducted post-tax. STAR automatically uses post-tax deductions for AD&D premiums; other 
payroll systems recommend post-tax deduction to enrollees. 
Note: All Annuitant premiums are paid ‘post tax’ or paid directly from Subscriber to vendor. 
Therefore, policies and procedures related to pre- and post-tax do not affect Annuitants. 
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VIII.  Naming a Beneficiary 
 
Beneficiary records: 

• Some optional insurance plans have a death benefit. For these, the Subscriber must be 
offered the beneficiary form specific to that plan. 

o As of 2016, these plans include EPIC Benefits+ and The Hartford AD&D 
o Procedures for maintaining beneficiary forms differ with each AD&D Insurer.  

• Beneficiary designation for AD&D does not use either the ET-2203 or ET-2304 
Beneficiary forms. 

• For The Hartford, Beneficiary forms are to be kept on file by the Employer, and 
transferred in the Employee records if he/she moves to a new state agency. 

o If a claim is filed for death benefits for an active Subscriber, The Hartford will 
obtain a copy of the beneficiary designation from the Employer 

o Hartford will collect a new beneficiary form if a retiring member chooses to 
convert their policy. 

• For EPIC Benefits+, the Subscriber or Employer must send a copy of the signed, dated 
designation form to EPIC. 

• If the Subscriber dies without a named beneficiary, the ‘standard sequence’ applies as 
outlined in Wis. Stat. § 40.02(8)(a)2. 

Benefits payable after death of the subscriber: 
For any optional insurance under contract with ETF, if a subscriber dies before receiving a 
benefit owed by the Insurer, ETF may release the contact information for the Chapter 40 
beneficiary to the Insurer, upon request of the Insurer, per Ch. 40.07(1m).  
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IX. Changing Coverage 
 

Specific qualifying events trigger opportunities for a Subscriber to change coverage.  
They include:  

• marriage,  
• entering a domestic partnership,  
• birth or adoption,  
• legal placement of a ward,  
• a Dependent child turning age 26,  
• divorce or annulment,  
• Leave of Absence, and  
• loss of comparable coverage.  

 
The Subscriber must notify the Employer and complete the forms or online enrollment tasks 
necessary within the specified time limits, and provide the required documentation as outlined 
below. The Employer is responsible for timely submission to the Insurer, and for making 
necessary changes to payroll deductions. 

Annuitants: The Insurer and the Annuitant communicate directly regarding changes in coverage. 
Annuitants must use online portals, or call the Insurer’s service center for forms, and submit 
change requests or notifications directly to the Insurer. The timelines below apply to Annuitants 
as well as to active Employees. 

1. Adding Dependents to Existing Coverage: 
Absent a Qualifying Event a Dependent can be added only during an enrollment period 
designated for such action. The newly added Dependent will be subject to waiting periods 
applied to new enrollees if a Plan includes waiting periods or coverage limits.  
Unlike state group health insurance, a Subscriber may elect which eligible Dependents to 
cover under optional insurance. 

2. Changing coverage upon marriage: 
A covered Employee must complete and sign an Enrollment Application within 30 days of 
the date of marriage if the Employee wishes to insure the Spouse and any eligible 
Dependents of the Employee or Spouse. 

3. Enrolling a domestic partner: 
 If the Employee is enrolling the Domestic Partner for “Chapter 40” benefits, he or she must 

submit the completed ETF Affidavit of Domestic Partnership, form ET-2371, to ETF. ETF will 
respond to the Employee with an Acknowledgement Letter, which indicates an effective date 
of the partnership for benefit purposes. The Employee must provide the Employer with the 
Acknowledgment Letter, and must submit the application for insurance within 30 days of the 
date of the Acknowledgment Letter.  

 The partnership is established for benefit purposes on the date ETF issues the Domestic 
Partner Acknowledgement Letter.  

   The Domestic Partner’s Dependents are eligible and may enroll with the Domestic Partner.  

http://etf.wi.gov/publications/et2371.pdf
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An Annuitant may add a Domestic Partner and the Domestic Partner’s Dependents after 
the Subscriber/Annuitant submits the ETF Affidavit of Domestic Partnership (ET-2371) to 
ETF and receives an Acknowledgment Letter. Upon receipt of the Acknowledgement Letter, 
the Annuitant must submit a copy of the letter and a completed application directly to the 
Insurer within 30 days of the partnership effective date on the ETF Acknowledgment Letter. 

4. If the covered Employee and his/her covered Domestic Partner get married, must the 
Subscriber submit an application? 
Yes, an Employee must submit an application to the Employer that reflects the change in 
status from Domestic Partner to Spouse. A Termination of Domestic Partnership Affidavit 
may be submitted to ETF as well, but is not required. On the Insurance application, this must 
be designated as a “Change” with the date of marriage indicated. 

 Tax implications: 
UWHC reviews the tax status and changes it to pre-tax, unless the Employee waives 
pre-tax deduction. 
UWS considers a request to change tax status for SGH to apply to all insurance 
types. 

Note: If the covered Employee previously executed an Affidavit of Domestic Partnership, but 
did not enroll the Domestic Partner at that time, the marriage does create a new enrollment 
opportunity for the Spouse and Dependents.  

5. If a covered Annuitant and his/her covered Domestic Partner get married, must the 
Subscriber submit an application? 
Yes, the Subscriber must submit an application to the Insurer within 30 days of the 
marriage, to change the status from Domestic Partner to married. Insurers do not require the 
Acknowledgment form except: 

• For Anthem verification is only required if there is a name change 
• For VSP or EPIIC, verification is not routinely required, though the Insurer may 

request verification on a single case. 

6. Adding a newly eligible Dependent child when single or limited family coverage is  
in force: 
The Subscriber must complete, sign and submit an Enrollment Application to the Employer 
within 60 days of the date of birth, adoption, or legal guardianship or within 30 days of the 
qualifying event that makes the Dependent eligible (e.g., Subscriber marries a person with 
eligible children, eligible adult child loses comparable coverage or becomes disabled and 
dependent before age 26). See also Section IV- infant dependents. 
Note: Unlike the State Group Health Insurance policy, a Subscriber is not required to add 
all dependent children when one or some are added. This allows blended families to avoid 
coordination of benefits issues. 

  

http://www.etf.wi.gov/publications/et2371.pdf
http://www.etf.wi.gov/publications/et2372.pdf
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7. Process when a covered Employee gets a divorce, annulment or terminates a 
Domestic Partnership:  
Refer to the COBRA section to determine if or how continuation must be offered to the 
former Spouse/Domestic Partner and his or her Dependents. If the covered Employee is 
removing dependents from coverage, the Employee must submit an Enrollment 
Application(s) to the Employer. 
Dependents of a divorced covered Employee remain eligible for coverage under that 
Employee’s family coverage even if they do not reside with the covered Employee.  
Coverage ends at the end of the month in which the divorce was final or the Domestic 
Partnership terminated, except that under State law, the ex-Spouse remains covered until 
the end of month in which he/she is notified of continuation rights. (Wis. Stat. § 632.897) 
In the case of fraud or misrepresentation, there may be no adjustment, or an Employee may 
have to repay benefits.  

Note: Wisconsin statutes requiring continuation do not apply to Domestic Partners or their 
Dependents who are losing eligibility for coverage. However, by contract, Insurers offer the 
same continuation rights to a Domestic Partner and their child(ren) as are offered to 
Spouses and natural children—insurance ends at the end of the month of the termination 
date on the Acknowledgment letter. However, if a Subscriber fails to provide timely 
notification of termination of the domestic partnership, the new ex-partner is responsible for 
premiums following the month of termination, even if the Subscriber did not notify the Insurer 
until several months after the termination event. 

Exception: The Hartford’s AD&D insurance ends for the non-Subscriber divorced Spouse 
as of the date of the divorce, regardless of when the Insurer or Employer was notified, 
because payments for AD&D claims would be made to the Subscriber. The Hartford will 
allow a premium refund within the full amount of the coverage year for the difference 
between single and Dependent coverage. 

8. Dual coverage for a child whose parents are not married to each other:  
For EPIC Benefits+ and Dental Wisconsin, Anthem DentalBlue, and Hartford: An 
individual may only be covered once under a given Plan policy. If both parents are eligible 
Employees for the same Plan, only one parent may cover the child(ren). Since Employers 
may be unaware of dual coverage, it is the Insurer’s responsibility to monitor and report dual 
coverage issues. 
VSP allows dual coverage for a child, but will not pay more than 100% of the covered 
amount for a service or item. 
 

 
  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632.pdf
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X. Both Parents or Spouses Employed by a State Employer 
 

1. May two covered Subscribers, (Employees and/or Annuitants) who are married or 
in a Domestic Partnership, each subscribe to family coverage for the same 
insurance plan type?  
No. Spouses or Domestic Partners who are both employed by the State may not cover 
each other or Dependents under dual family or 1+1 contracts. One Subscriber may elect 
to cover the Spouse or Domestic Partner and any eligible Dependent children or they 
may maintain two single plans if there are no Dependent children covered.  
Payroll Centers are responsible to identify dual family plans within their Agencies. The 
Insurer is responsible to identify dual family plans if the Subscribers are Employees of 
different payroll centers or if one is an Annuitant and one is Active. 
If an Insurer notes that both Spouses or both Domestic Partners are enrolled with 
overlapping coverage, the Insurer will notify the Subscribers, who will have 60 days to 
decide how to change coverage. The Insurer will refund up to 90 days of premium. 
Exception: VSP would allow a person to be a Subscriber on one plan and a dependent 
on another. 
If a member is covered by more than one Vision Plan, (whether it be another carrier or 
another VSP plan), and has duplicate coverage, VSP will allow coverage for: 

• two separate sets of service or 
• “stacking:” both plans paying for one set of services.  

 
Determine Primary and Secondary Plan for VSP 
When a Member has duplicate coverage and wants to coordinate benefits, VSP 
must determine the order of assignment.  

• The plan that covers the Member as an Employee is “primary” 
• The plan that covers the Member as a Dependent is “secondary” 

If the Member is a Dependent child and is covered under both parents’ plans, the 
parent whose birth date falls first in the calendar year has the primary plan. If the 
parents are separated or divorced, the parent with custody is primary, or the 
parent decreed by the court to be responsible is primary. 

Primary Plan: The primary plan must pay or provide its benefits as if the 
secondary plan or plans do not exist. 

Secondary Plan: If a VSP plan is the secondary plan, the Member will receive 
allowances (exam, lenses, and frame) that will be used to pay up to, but not more 
than the billed amount.  
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2. If two eligible Employees are married or in a Domestic Partnership, is there an 
advantage to electing two separate policies (single for each versus limited-family 
or family coverage)?   

• Coverage would be equal for adults in the dental, hospital/surgical, or vision 
plans, as each Member has the exact same level of benefits.  

• For the Accidental Death and Dismemberment (AD&D) Plans, the Subscriber is 
covered at a higher level than the Employee who is designated as a Dependent 
(Spouse or Domestic Partner).  

• An Employee can only be covered once under any Plan (the Employee cannot 
be covered as Subscriber and also as a Dependent, except under VSP).  
 

3. Can two covered Employees change from two single plans to family or limited 
family coverage?  

• If Spouses or Domestic Partners are both Subscribers and work for the same or 
different Employer Agencies, and each carries single coverage, one can change 
to family coverage within 60 days of the qualifying event if there is a new 
Dependent child (e.g., birth or adoption). This new family coverage could include 
both spouses if one of the adults drops their individual or limited family plan. 

• If two people who are each subscribers in a type of EPIC Dental Wisconsin plan 
become married or domestic partners, that is a qualifying event, providing an 
opportunity to choose which type of coverage they want to keep. They MUST 
cancel one of the plans, as a person cannot be a subscriber on one version of 
Dental Wisconsin and a dependent on another. 

• If two people who were each subscribers in a type of Anthem DentalBlue plan 
become married or domestic partners, that is a qualifying event providing an 
opportunity to choose which type of coverage they want to keep. They MUST 
cancel one of the Anthem Dental plans within 60 days of the event, as a person 
cannot be a subscriber on one version of an Anthem DentalBlue and a 
dependent on another. 

• If there is no qualifying event, these changes can only be made during an 
enrollment period designated for this purpose and will be effective on the 
following January 1.  
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4. Can two Subscribers who are married or in a Domestic Partnership do a Spouse-
to-Spouse transfer of coverage? 
Spouses or Domestic Partners who are both employed by the State and have limited 
family, or family, coverage may change the Subscriber under the plan from one Spouse 
or Domestic Partner to the other within 30 days of the following events: 

• The Employee designated as the Subscriber terminates. The change will be 
effective on the first day of the month following the date of termination or 
retirement of the Subscriber. 

• The Employee designated as the Subscriber goes on an unpaid or military Leave 
of Absence. The change will be effective on the first day of the calendar month 
following the first date of the Subscriber’s unpaid or military Leave of Absence. 

• During the annual “It’s Your Choice” enrollment period for State of Wisconsin 
group health insurance. The change will be effective on the following January 1. 

Annuitants may apply for a spouse to spouse transfer any time during the year, because 
their premiums are direct and not via pre-tax payroll deduction. 
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XI. Leave of Absence 
 

1. Procedures when Subscriber on approved Leave of Absence (LOA)  
A Leave of Absence is any period in which an Employee is not working for, or receiving 
earnings from, the Employer and has not terminated the Employer-Employee 
relationship as defined in Wis. Stat. § 40.02 (40). For the purpose of Optional Insurance, 
a Leave of Absence ends when the Employee has returned to active work.  
To continue benefits for up to 36 months during LOA, the Subscriber must pay the 
monthly premium to the Employer or payroll center, which will submit payment to the 
Insurer.  

• The STAR payroll system will bill the Subscriber on LOA with an invoice sent 
monthly.  

• For other payroll systems, the Subscriber must pay the Employer, on terms 
determined by the Employer. The Employer must make timely payments to the 
Insurer to maintain coverage.  

o Employers may arrange to collect payments in advance for up to three 
months of premiums, using payroll deduction (to preserve the pre-tax 
opportunity),  
 If an employer sends a lump sum payment to the Insurer in 

advance of premium due dates, the employer must clearly identify 
the months of coverage the lump sum represents.  

 If the payroll center’s payment system allows, the Employer holds 
the personal checks and applies them to the remittance to the 
Insurer in the month due.  

o If the Subscriber’s payments to the Employer lapse, the Employer will 
notify the Insurer to lapse coverage. Insurers should only lapse coverage 
if instructed by the Employer and/or noted in enrollment/change files 
from a payroll center, and not on the basis of non-payment on remittance 
reports. 

If the Subscriber intends to let coverage lapse, the Employer must notify the Insurer that 
the Subscriber is on an approved LOA. Best practice note: Employers should advise 
employees not to cancel coverage during LOA, but instead choose to have it lapse. 
For optional insurance, a Subscriber may not reduce level of coverage while on LOA. 
If the Subscriber lets coverage lapse while on LOA, within 30 days of his or her return to 
work, he or she may re-enroll in the same level of coverage that was in force prior to the 
lapse of coverage. (This timing is different than reinstatement of State group health 
insurance, per contract.) Coverage will be effective the first of the month following 
receipt of the application from the Subscriber, and return to work.  
If an “It’s Your Choice” enrollment period occurred while the Subscriber was on Leave of 
Absence, he or she may make any changes that were allowed during the enrollment period.  

  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
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2. Procedure when Subscriber has a military leave for a duration of more than 30 
calendar days: 
A Subscriber and his/her covered Dependents may maintain their coverage(s) while the 
Subscriber is on active military duty with the requirements set forth below:  

• Premium for plan coverage(s) must be paid through the Employer. The Insurer 
will not bill the Subscriber directly (see non-military LOA). 

• For Employers that collect premiums in advance, the Employer may collect up to 
one year of premium prior to deployment.  

• The Employer will contact the Subscriber at least one month before prepaid 
coverage will lapse, to request notification from the Subscriber to extend or let 
the coverage lapse. 

• The Subscriber provides documentation of military leave to the Employer for 
other HR purposes, but it is not necessary to send documentation of the military 
leave to the Insurer. 

The Insurer does not terminate the coverage of a Subscriber and Dependents upon 
notification of active military status. Enrollment will remain active until the Subscriber or 
Employer notifies the Insurer to terminate coverage, using electronic enrollment file or 
paper enrollment/change form.  
Benefits are not payable for an AD&D claim if the loss or death is due to an act of war. 

Exception: For The Hartford: Military duty for an expected duration of 2 months or 
less is not considered active duty and does not exclude benefits. Beyond 2 months, 
coverage is terminated.  

The Employer must notify the Insurer that the Subscriber is on military leave if the 
Subscriber intends to let coverage lapse. If the Subscriber allows coverage to lapse 
while on military leave, he or she may re-enroll in the same level of coverage that was 
in force prior to the lapse of coverage, if he or she does so within 30 days of his or her 
return to work. Previously satisfied waiting periods do not need to be re-satisfied. If an 
“It’s Your Choice” enrollment period occurred while the Employee was on military 
leave, he or she may change the level of coverage or make any other changes that 
were allowed during the enrollment period. 

3. Annuitants: Leave of absence is a status that does not apply to annuitants, unless an 
Annuitant is deployed into active military service. In that situation, the Annuitant must 
contact the Insurer to arrange for payment or temporary lapse of coverage. 
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XII. Cancellation/Termination 
 
Once enrolled, Subscribers must remain in the plan for the full calendar year unless there is a 
qualifying event as described below. Cancellation of coverage may limit future re-enrollment 
opportunities in EPIC insurances for annuitants. See further detail on timing and process below 
in the following tables. 

1. When does coverage end for a Subscriber and their covered Dependents in the 
following situations? (See also COBRA section for continuation) 

 
 

Termination of 
Employment 

 
Retirement 

 
Unpaid 
LOA* 

 
Active 
Military 
Duty* 

 
Subscriber 

Death 

 
Transfer to 

another 
Agency 

Coverage ends 
at the end of 
the month in 
which the event 
occurs. 
 

Coverage 
ends at the 
end of the 
month in 
which the 
event occurs. 

Coverage 
ends the 
end of the 
month for 
which 
premiums 
have been 
paid. While 
on LOA, 
Subscriber 
may 
continue to 
remit 
premiums 
to 
Employer.  
 

Coverage 
ends the end 
of the month 
for which 
premiums 
have been 
paid. While 
on LOA, 
Subscriber 
may continue 
to remit 
premiums to 
Employer. 
 

For single or 
family plans, 
coverage 
ends at the 
end of the 
month in 
which the 
event 
occurs. **   

Coverage 
ends at the 
end of the 
month in 
which the 
transfer 
occurs, IF 
the new 
Employer 
does not 
offer the 
same 
insurance 
plan.  
 

* If coverage lapses, Employee may re-enroll within 30 days of return to work. 
** For The Hartford, coverage for Dependents ends on the date of the Subscriber’s death 

 
• Transfer from one State payroll system to another:  Coverage ends at the end of the 

month in which the transfer occurs. Premiums are paid through the first employer for that 
month, if the transfer occurs on or before the 16th. The first Employer makes the 
appropriate notations about coverage and paid-through date on the Personnel Transfer 
Record (PTR). 

o Many Employers choose to also send an email to the new Employer to reinforce 
any details related to benefits, at the time of transfer. 
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2. When does coverage end for covered Dependents in the following situations? 
(See also COBRA section for continuation) 

 
Domestic 

Partnership 
Termination* 

 
 

Divorce* 

 
Child 

Reaches 
Limiting Age 

 
Disabled 

Adult Child 

Dependent Child 
Called to Active 

Duty 
While a Full-time 

Student 
End of the 
month in 
which the 
Domestic 

Partnership is 
terminated by 
ETF accepted 
Affidavit. (ET-

2372) 
 

 

End of the 
month in 
which the 
divorce is 
final, however, 
ex-Spouse 
remains 
covered until 
end of month 
in which 
he/she is 
notified of 
continuation 
rights. 

End of the 
calendar 
month in 
which the 
Dependent 
turns 26. 

Disability must 
begin before 
age 26. 
Coverage 
ends at the 
end of month 
in which the 
child is 
determined to 
no longer be 
disabled.  

If under age 27 
and attending 
school on a full-
time basis when 
called to active 
duty returns to full-
time student 
status within 12 
months of fulfilling 
active duty. 
Coverage ends at 
the end of the 
month in which 
full-time student 
status ends. 

*Natural and adopted children can remain covered along with the Subscriber. 
Coverage for stepchildren or a Domestic Partner’s children ends on the same day as 
coverage ends for the former Spouse or Domestic Partner. 

 
3. When can the Subscriber remove Dependents from coverage? 

Absent a qualifying event (e.g., loss of eligibility, enrollment in a comparable group plan), 
the Subscriber may only elect to remove covered Dependents during the annual IYC 
enrollment period. Coverage ends on December 31.  
When the Dependent is removed, he or she may not be re-enrolled except during a 
designated enrollment period. There are no mid-year opportunities to remove a 
Dependent from coverage, except due to a qualifying event. 

4. Adult child turning age 26 
The Insurer will terminate a Dependent the end of the month in which they turn age 26. 
On a quarterly basis the Insurer reviews upcoming Dependent eligibility changes due to 
age, and provides this information to the Employer at least 2 months in advance of the 
event. The Employer may require the Subscriber to complete a new application but the 
application does not need to be provided to the Insurer. The Employer must issue a 
COBRA election form to the Dependent losing eligibility and adjust the records 
accordingly so that there is no excess premium deducted from the Subscriber’s payroll. 
(EPIC makes this adjustment for those payroll centers to which it sends a list bill.) 
Payroll centers with automated systems may identify these dependents due for 
cancellation. 

• UWS notifies its Subscribers that Dependents will be removed, and advises 
whether coverage level changes will be made automatically due to the change. 
The Employee does not need to complete an application/change request. 
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5. How does a covered Employee cancel coverage for an eligible Dependent?  
Coverage can only be canceled mid-year if a Qualifying Event makes the Dependent 
ineligible for coverage. The Subscriber may submit an application/change request to the 
Employer by December 31 to remove the Dependent for the following calendar year 
(whether or not the Insurer is offering an open enrollment). However, Subscribers 
should be strongly encouraged to submit these changes during IYC. 
To cancel a Dependent due to a Qualifying Event, the Subscriber must indicate the date 
of and reason for the loss of eligibility in the “Delete” section of the Enrollment Application.  
Even if family coverage will remain in force, an Enrollment Application must be submitted 
indicating which Dependent is being canceled, the reason for the cancellation, as well as 
the date of the cancellation.  

6. When and how can an annuitant cancel coverage for a Dependent? 
Annuitants and their Dependents are committed to be enrolled for a full year, absent a 
qualifying event. Annuitants can obtain a change form on the Insurer’s website, and 
must submit it directly to the Insurer at the address provided (not to ETF). 

7. How does a Subscriber terminate coverage for a Domestic Partner if the 
partnership ends?  
If a Domestic Partnership terminates, two forms must be submitted to the Employer:  

• The Subscriber must submit an ETF Affidavit of Termination of Domestic 
Partnership (ET-2372) form to ETF. ETF will respond to the Subscriber with an 
Acknowledgement letter. Upon receipt of Acknowledgement letter, the Subscriber 
should provide a copy of the letter to the Employer’s payroll/benefits office.  

• A new Plan application(s) is required within 30 days of the event effective date, to 
remove the Domestic Partner and his/her Dependent(s) from coverage.   

Coverage for the Domestic Partner and his/her Dependents ends on the last day of the 
month in which the Affidavit of Termination of Domestic Partnership was acknowledged 
by ETF. 
The Employer is responsible to update the Employee’s monthly premium, if needed. 
(See also COBRA/Continuation.) 

8. Cancellation during It’s Your Choice or other open enrollment 
A Subscriber who wishes to cancel coverage for the following calendar year may do so 
without a qualifying event, during IYC. However, any valid cancellation notice filed with 
the Employer or, for Annuitants received by the Insurer, by December 31 will be 
honored. If a premium has been deducted, the Employer will refund the payment on a 
subsequent payroll.  

• The Insurer must notify ETF to adjust a premium paid through annuity deduction 
on the following month’s annuity (VSP only). 

• If needed, the Insurer will make a refund to Subscribers who use direct pay. 
 

9.  What are the cancellation rights for an Annuitant?   
• All optional plans except AD&D require that once a Subscriber is enrolled for the 

calendar year, they must stay enrolled unless there is a qualifying event.  

• Any Subscriber who is an Annuitant may cancel, or move from Family or 1+1 
coverage to single coverage at IYC time, even if the plan is not offering an 
enrollment opportunity.   

http://www.etf.wi.gov/publications/et2372.pdf
http://www.etf.wi.gov/publications/et2372.pdf


 

 26 

 
XIII. COBRA and Continuation 

 
COBRA is a federal law that allows qualified beneficiaries (an Employee and his/her 
Spouse, child(ren) and stepchild(ren) to continue coverage for a period of time in the 
event of an involuntary loss of coverage. State continuation law, Wis. Stat §632.897 also 
applies. When the laws are in conflict, the law that is more beneficial to the qualified 
beneficiary must be applied.  
The Employer is responsible to notify each eligible Insured person of their continuation 
rights, for those who were covered based on active employment. A Continuation Notice 
must be issued for each plan under which the participant is enrolled at the time of 
retirement or involuntary termination regardless of whether the former Member is eligible 
to continue coverage.  
Domestic Partners and their Dependents are not considered to be qualified beneficiaries 
under Federal COBRA or State continuation. However, the right to continue coverage 
has been extended to these individuals by contract. 
Retirees are only eligible to continue coverage for 18 months under Federal COBRA and 
State continuation. However, the right to continue coverage indefinitely has been 
extended to these individuals by contract or Optional Insurance plans covering dental 
and vision services. Subscribers who are enrolled at the time of retirement have the right 
to continue coverage indefinitely, as provided in the insurance contract (see definition of 
eligible Annuitant). Retiring Subscribers must complete the Insurer’s specific 
continuation form. 

Exception:  The Hartford AD&D insurance ends at termination. No voluntary 
continuation is offered. A conversion notice for individual coverage should be issued by 
the employer. 

1. What are the COBRA Continuation Coverage Requirements? 
Dental and vision insurance plans have the same continuation privileges offered under 
the State of Wisconsin Health Insurance program.  
Federal COBRA requires Employers to provide notice of the right to continuation of 
identical coverage to persons who are qualified beneficiaries (Dependents) under the 
law. For the purpose of COBRA, all participating agencies and payroll centers are 
considered to be one Employer (including the UWS and UWHC). 
Within five (5) days of notification of a qualifying event, the Employer must provide the 
qualified beneficiary with the Insurer’s appropriate continuation form, per Wis. Stat. § 
632.897.  

2. How does an Employer provide the continuation election notice to a Dependent 
who has lost eligibility? 
The Subscriber is responsible for notifying the Employer of an event that makes a 
Dependent ineligible for coverage. For example, if a Spouse, Domestic Partner or child 
loses eligibility through divorce or terminating a Domestic Partnership, the Subscriber 
must notify their Employer within 60 days of the event (such as divorce.) Failure to notify 
the Employer in that period may make the Dependent ineligible to continue coverage. 
However, a continuation election form must still be issued by the Employer.  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632/VI/897
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632/VI/897
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In the case of divorce, Wis. Statute 632.897 mandates that, provided limited-family or 
family coverage is in force, coverage remains in effect until the Ex-Spouse is notified of 
the right to continue. Once the Continuation Notice is issued, the 60-day period to accept 
continuation begins.  
In the case of termination of a Domestic Partnership, provided limited-family or family 
coverage is in force, coverage ends at the end of the month in which the Affidavit of 
Termination of Domestic Partnership is received by ETF. Once the Continuation Notice 
is issued by the employer, the 60-day period to accept continuation begins.  
In the case of a Dependent child turning age 26, the Employer is responsible to issue a 
COBRA statement, even if the Insurer has an automated process for terminating 
enrollment. 
Each covered Member has an independent right to elect to continue coverage. The 
Employer must ask the Employee for each Dependent’s current address. If a 
Dependent’s address is not available, send the notice to the last known address for the 
Dependent. If the individuals who are eligible to continue coverage live together in a 
common household, one notice to all eligible individuals is acceptable. If the last known 
address for a covered dependent is different, even for a minor, send the notice to that 
minor’s known address (for example, lives with grandparent). 
The Employer must complete all appropriate information on the bottom of the 
Continuation form, including the date the form was sent and termination date (end of 
active Employee status or end of eligibility as a Dependent.)  

3. What is the timeline for an Employee or Annuitant to complete a continuation form 
for Optional Insurance?  
An Employee or Annuitant has 60 days from the date they were notified of their 
Continuation Rights or the date that their coverage as an active Employee ends, 
whichever is later, to submit the continuation form to the Insurer.  

4. Does the Subscriber sign a separate contract to continue the Plan insurance? 
When the Subscriber completes a continuation form, it is not a contract between the 
Insurer and the Subscriber; it is only an application to continue the coverage through the 
Board’s contract with the Insurer. The Insurer does not have a contract with the 
individual Subscriber. 

5. When is payment of premium due for a continuation Subscriber?  
Once the Subscriber has submitted the continuation application, the Insurer bills the 
Subscriber directly based on his/her selection indicated on the application.  

• The Subscriber may elect to receive and pay their bill by mail. The Insurer may 
charge a small billing fee and will advise the Subscriber of payment options, 
which may include annually, semi-annually, or quarterly.  

• The Subscriber may elect to pay premiums using electronic funds transfer from a 
bank account, semi-annually, quarterly or monthly.  

• If the divorced or widowed Spouse, or other Dependent, chooses continuation 
coverage, that Subscriber must pay premiums beginning the first of the month 
following the divorce effective date, or the original Subscriber’s death. 
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6. How are continuing Annuitants/surviving Dependents/COBRA participants 
notified of changes in premium or benefits?  
If the Board approves a change to Annuitant rates, the Insurer will send a letter to 
covered Annuitants/surviving Dependents at least 60 days prior to the new premium 
effective date with the new premium amount. The letter is not a billing statement. The 
letter advises Subscribers that the increase will show as an adjustment on their first 
billing statement following the date of change.  
All changes to premiums or benefits take place at the same time for Active Employees, 
Annuitants and COBRA/Continuation Subscribers. Premium change is usually effective 
as of January 1st for all Subscribers.  

 
7. How long can Subscribers continue their Insurance coverage? 

 Pursuant to COBRA continuation: 
• An Employee who terminated employment may continue coverage for up to  

18 months. 
• A Spouse/Dependent child who lost eligibility due to Employee’s termination may 

continue coverage for up to 18 months. 
• An ex-Spouse due to divorce and his/her covered children (the Employee’s 

stepchildren) may continue coverage for up to 36 months or until the children 
otherwise lose eligibility (such as reaching the limiting age for coverage). 

• Dependents who have lost coverage due to death of the Subscriber may 
continue coverage for up to 36 months. 

• In limited situations, the length of the COBRA period is extended. If a qualified 
beneficiary is determined by the Social Security Administration (SSA) to be 
disabled before the 60th day of continuation coverage and the disability 
continues during the rest of the 18-month period of continuation coverage, 
coverage may be continued for a total of 29 months. The extension applies to 
everyone covered under that qualified beneficiary’s COBRA coverage. 

      Under contract, continuation of coverage also allows: 
• An Annuitant and his Dependent(s) may continue coverage indefinitely. 
• Surviving Spouse or Domestic Partner may continue coverage indefinitely. 
• Surviving Dependent children may continue coverage until they otherwise lose 

eligibility (such as reaching the limiting age of coverage). 

• A former Domestic Partner and his/her children may continue coverage for up to 
36 months (or until the children otherwise lose eligibility, such as reaching the 
limiting age of coverage). 
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8. Who is an eligible Annuitant for the purpose of indefinite continuation of 
coverage? 
The following individuals are eligible to continue their coverage as long as premiums are 
paid in a timely manner:   

• A Subscriber who retires, or who has 20 years of creditable service under the 
WRS regardless of age, and is eligible for the State group insurance plans issued 
pursuant to Wis. Stat. Chapter 40. 

• The surviving Spouse/Domestic Partner of an Annuitant as defined in Wis. Stat. 
Chapter 40.  

• Subscribers who are approved for disability retirement under Wis. Stat. § 40.63 
Long-Term Disability Insurance (an LTDI benefit under Wis. Admin. Code ETF § 
50.40,) or a duty disability under Wis. Stat. § 40.65, must be offered COBRA, or 
may stay continuously covered. They must be also be offered the option to 
reinstate coverage even if no coverage was in effect while no earnings were 
being received or the Employee elected to discontinue coverage. 

9. What is the process to notify dependents of Annuitants, when there is a 
continuation opportunity? 
In the case of a divorce, termination of domestic partnership, or death of a Subscriber, it 
is the role of the Insurer, by contract, to provide written notice to the Dependents who 
are eligible to continue enrollment.  

 
 

 
 
  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/etf/50.pdf
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/etf/50.pdf
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40.pdf
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XIV. Retirement, Disability, or Long Term Disability 

 

1. What if a Subscriber retires?  
A Subscriber who terminates employment and qualifies as an Annuitant may complete 
and submit to the Insurer a Continuation form within 60 days of coverage termination as 
an active Employee or the date of the COBRA notice, whichever is later.  
Most Subscribers should choose the retiree continuation opportunity, instead of COBRA. 
Otherwise, COBRA coverage will likely expire at a time other than the end of the plan 
year, and the Subscriber will have to wait for a designated enrollment opportunity to be 
eligible to re-enroll as an Annuitant. Annuitant coverage begins on the first of the month 
following the date on which employment terminates.  

2. How are Annuitants and Continuants billed for coverage? 
For VSP, most Annuitants can have their premiums paid through WRS annuity 
deduction. The exception is those who were paid a lump sum rather than a monthly 
annuity, or those whose annuity amount is insufficient to cover premium deductions. 
Duty Disability benefits cannot have premiums withheld.  
Other Insurers use an individual billing method for former Employees and Annuitants 
who choose to continue their coverage, based on the selection the Subscriber indicates 
on the application. Subscribers should be advised to pay close attention to each plan’s 
billing frequency, method, and possible fees for certain payment frequency, i.e. monthly 
rather than quarterly. 

3. Are qualifying Events recognized to allow the Annuitant or COBRA subscriber to 
make changes? 
Annuitants and COBRA subscribers have the same opportunities to make changes based 
on HIPAA qualifying events as do active Subscribers.   

4. Can rehired Annuitants enroll in optional insurance? 
An Annuitant who returns to work for a state agency but continues to collect a WRS 
annuity is not eligible to enroll in optional insurance plans at the time of hire. He or she 
can enroll as an Annuitant at the next Open enrollment period, and will pay premiums 
directly to the Insurer. Or the annuitant may continue with insurance already subscribed 
to, and continue to pay directly. Employers do not use payroll deduction for the 
premiums of WRS Annuitants. 
If the retiree suspends his/her annuity upon return to work for a state agency, he or she 
is eligible to enroll as an active Employee. 
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XV. Death of a Subscriber or Dependent 
 

1. Procedures following the death of a Subscriber or Dependent  
• The Employer must notify the Insurer of a covered Employee’s death within 30 days, 

or by the end of the month in which the death is reported to the employer, whichever 
is earlier.  

• For insurance that is paid via annuity deduction, ETF will notify the Insurer of a 
Subscriber death.  

• The Insurer must notify ETF if the Insurer is advised of the death but has not 
received this information from ETF within 30 days.  

• If a Dependent dies, follow process for Qualifying Event if appropriate to change 
coverage level.  

Coverage for the Subscriber and any Dependents will end at the end of the month in which 
the death occurred. Premiums are not refunded for partial months of coverage. Premiums 
withheld for a subsequent month will be refunded by the employer on the final paycheck. 
Covered surviving Dependents may elect COBRA continuation. See the COBRA section. 
If a covered Annuitant dies, the surviving Dependent(s) must contact the Insurer. The 
Insurer will provide the appropriate forms to apply to remain covered or cancel coverage, or 
see forms at etf.wi.gov and follow links to the plan page.  
VSP process: For Subscribers with an annuity deduction, ETF’s Retiree Health Insurance 
staff advise VSP of Annuitant deaths. ETF does not automatically re-enroll Dependents. 
VSP issues a continuation notice, and if Dependent survivor(s) qualify as an Annuitant(s), 
the premium may be set up as an annuity deduction. 
When an Employer is notified of the death of a covered Dependent, the employer should 
assist the Subscriber to complete an application/change form. If a change to level of 
coverage is appropriate, the new premium rate is effective the first of the month following 
the death of the Dependent. 
Survivors of a deceased Subscriber have 60 days after the date of the COBRA notice to 
submit a COBRA form to the Insurer to request continuation. Insurer will arrange billing or 
other premium arrangements via direct pay. Coverage will be effective with the first of the 
month following the death of the original Subscriber.  If the survivor allows coverage to 
lapse, he/she must wait to re-enroll at the next available IYC opportunity,  
Once continuation of coverage begins, new Dependents may be added if there is a 
qualifying event.  
Important: If a death of the Employee (or Annuitant) or one of the covered Dependents is 
due to an accident, the Employer or ETF may need to assist the survivor beneficiaries to 
submit a claim to the Insurer if there is AD&D benefit coverage. Claim forms are located on 
the Insurer’s website.  
See Section B for the Insurer’s website links.  

  

http://etf.wi.gov/publications.htm
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XVI. Employer Error 

1. The following situations will constitute an Employer error:  
• A monthly premium taken after a Subscriber has filed a cancellation notice with the 

benefits office:  Payroll center must refund premiums and make adjustment of up to 
60 days of premium cost in the next remittance to the vendor.  

• Enrolling an Employee who is in an ineligible position:  Employer must refund 
premiums if taken. 

• In no event will premium refunds exceeding three months of premium be 
approved by the Insurer:  Premium refund requests in excess of three months 
should be submitted to the Employer’s risk management department. 

• Failure of the Employer to advise an Employee of his/her initial program eligibility or 
eligibility as a result of a change to an eligible position. 

• An Employee submitted an application but the Employer did not deduct premiums. 
• The coverage effective date may be retroactive only in the case of Employer error. 

For billing purposes, premiums must be collected based on the effective date of 
coverage.  

2. The following situations will not constitute an Employer error: 
• Initial Enrollment:  Failure of the Employee to submit a completed application to the 

Employer within required deadlines if advised of his/her plan eligibility prior to the 
filing deadline. 

• When an application to reduce coverage is not submitted and the omission is 
reported after the fact. The Employee must bear some responsibility in this situation. 
Refunds may be made for up to three months with extenuating circumstances, such 
as the death of a family member should have led to a different premium category, or 
the Subscriber was incapacitated. 

• Open Enrollment Periods:  Failure on the Employee’s part to submit a completed 
paper or electronic application or change where notice has been given to the general 
Employee population. (Subscribers may cancel enrollment up to December 31.  

• An Employee misunderstanding of benefits. The exception to this rule is if the 
Employer misinformed an Employee as to the level of benefits available under a 
specific plan—in this instance a Subscriber may be able to cancel coverage with a 
refund of up to three months of premium.  

 
If Employer Error prevented timely enrollment, an application can be approved with the 
following procedures: 

• The employer furnishes sufficient information to the Department indicating one of the 
Employment Error criterion has been met. 

• The employee files an application provided by the Department, which must be 
received by the employer within 30 days after the employee first becomes aware of 
the error, and 

• The Department finds that the employee was denied coverage as a result of 
employer error as outlined above. 
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XVII.  Subscriber Grievance 

1. The procedure for filing a complaint or grievance with the Insurer, as well as with ETF is 
outlined in the policyholder certificate. See links for each Insurer in section B.  

2. The ETF Insurance Complaint (ET-2405) form details the process for filing with ETF. 
Reference to this process is included in the Optional Insurance Plan Insurer contract. 

In general, if a member or Subscriber receives a negative notice from an Insurer, he/she has the 
right to first question the action by contacting the Insurer. The procedure will be outlined on the 
letter or statement provided to the Subscriber by the Insurer.    

Subscribers must first use the formal complaint process outlined by the Insurer to request 
review, following the timelines prescribed. 

If the member is not satisfied with the resolution offered by the Insurer, the member may appeal 
to ETF, for either an informal review or departmental determination. Either type of request must 
be made within sixty (60) days of the written decision from the Insurer.  

• If the member requests informal review by ETF, results of that review will be provided to 
the member within sixty days of ETF’s receipt of the request for review. 

• If the member seeks a departmental determination, ETF will attempt to provide that 
determination within ninety (90) days of the request. 

A member may appeal ETF’s departmental determination to the Board. The written request for 
appeal must be received by ETF within ninety (90) days of the date of the departmental 
determination. Appeals to the Group Insurance Board are conducted in accordance with 
Wisconsin Administrative Code ETF 11, and should be sent to the Appeals Coordinator, 
Department of Employee Trust Funds, PO Box 7931, Madison, WI 53707-7931. 

 

 
 
 

  

http://etf.wi.gov/publications/et2405.pdf
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Section B 
 
I. Optional Employee Pay-All Insurance Resources: ETF Resource 

Links 

Resolving member issues:   
• State Employer with question about a policy outlined in this manual:  Contact ETF 

Employer Services Section (ESS).  
o ETFSMBEmployerInsurance@etf.wi.gov 
o Each agency is assigned to a staff person in the Employer Services Section. 

The ESS worker will research the answer, including contacting the Optional 
Plans Manager if necessary. 

• State Employer or payroll center has an issue specific to a Subscriber’s enrollment 
status, premiums owed, ID card, etc.: contact the Insurer directly using the Contact List 
linked below.  

• For Annuitants  
o For VSP, ETF functions in the role of the employer, managing annuity 

deduction and communicating with VSP to manage enrollment or premium 
changes based on qualifying events. 

o Annuitants may contact VSP directly, at the customer service number below.  
o For any optional insurance plan, ESS Retiree Insurance staff may refer 

annuitants to the designated Insurer contact for enrollment or premium 
issues. See contact information in this section. 

  

mailto:ETFSMBEmployerInsurance@etf.wi.gov
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Resource links for ETF staff assisting Employer or Member 
Subscriber- Optional Employee Pay-All Insurance Programs: 
http://etf.wi.gov/members/benefits_other_insurance.htm 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contact Persons for Optional Employee Pay-All Insurance Programs: 
http://etfonline.wi.gov/etf/internet/Employer/contacts-optional-plans.pdf 
(This summary list is for ETF staff and Employer payroll office staff only.) 

 

 

 

  

http://etf.wi.gov/members/benefits_other_insurance.htm
http://etfonline.wi.gov/etf/internet/employer/contacts-optional-plans.pdf
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II. Optional Employee Pay-All Insurance Resources: Links to 
Insurer Resources 

 
The following Insurers have contracts to provide optional insurance to state Employees 
and Annuitants in 2016: 

  

 

Anthem DentalBlue 

General inquiries:  
Call: (866) 589-0582 or email: StateofWIEmpsDnService@anthem.com 

For It’s Your Choice inquiries only: 
Call (866)-511-4476 or email: StateOfWIEmpsDnEnrollment@anthem.com 

Submit claims or correspondence to: 
DentalBlue 
P.O. Box 659444 
San Antonio, TX  78265  
 
Plan Summary, Find a Provider, Forms, or Benefit Handbook: 
https://www.anthem.com/dental-stateofwi/ 

 

 

 

 

  

mailto:StateofWIEmpsDnService@anthem.com
mailto:StateOfWIEmpsDnEnrollment@anthem.com
https://www.anthem.com/dental-stateofwi/
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Premium billing and enrollment for all EPIC plans: Benefits+ and Dental Wisconsin 
 
Address: 
EPIC Specialty Benefits 
Attention: Billing and Enrollment Department 
PO Box 8430, Madison, WI 53708-8430 
Phone:  
(800) 520-5750 Monday-Friday 7:00 am to 6:00 PM Central 
Fax:  (608) 223-2159 or toll-free fax: (800) 236-7610  

Email: wseeligibility@epiclife.com 

General information:  
http://www.epiclife.com/wi-state-employees/ 
Policy Information for Wisconsin State Employees:  
http://www.epiclife.com/policy-information-for-wi-state-employees/ 
 
 
Benefits+ hospital and surgery claims 
Address:  
EPIC Specialty Benefits 
Attention: Hospital/Surgical Claims 
PO Box 8430. Madison, WI 53708-8430 
Phone: (800) 520-5750 Monday-Friday 7:00 am to 6:00 PM Central  
Fax: (608) 223-2159 or toll-free fax: (800) 236-7610  

General information: 
http://www.epiclife.com/wi-state-employees/ 
 
Benefits+ Accidental Death and Dismemberment (AD&D) claims:  
Address: 
EPIC Specialty Benefits 
Attention: AD&D Claims 
PO Box 8430, Madison, WI 53708-8430 
  
Phone: (800) 520-5750 Monday-Friday 7:00 am to 6:00 PM Central  
Fax: (608) 223-2159 or toll-free fax: (800) 236-7610  

General information: 
http://www.epiclife.com/wi-state-employees/ 
 
 
 
 

mailto:wseeligibility@epiclife.com
http://www.epiclife.com/wi-state-employees/
http://www.epiclife.com/policy-information-for-wi-state-employees/
http://www.epiclife.com/wi-state-employees/
http://www.epiclife.com/wi-state-employees/
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Epic Specialty Benefits Section, continued 
 

  
 

  
Dental Claims and Benefits—Benefits+ and Dental Wisconsin 
 
Note: Delta Dental is the administrator for EPIC’s dental benefits as well as the Uniform Dental 
Benefit. The information below is for Employee-Pay-All Plans only. It is not for the Uniform 
Dental Benefit. 
 
Address: 
EPIC Specialty Benefits 
c/o Delta Dental of Wisconsin 
PO Box 828  
Stevens Point, WI 54481-0828 
Phone: (800) 236-3712 Monday – Friday 7:00 am to 5:00 pm Central 
Fax: (715) 343-7615 
Email: claims@deltadentalwi.com 
General information: 
www.deltadentalwi.com 
 
 

 
Vision Claims and Benefits 
Address: 
Vision Care Processing Unit 
PO Box 1525 
Latham, NY 12110 
Phone: (877) 923-2847 Monday – Friday 8:00 am to 11:00 pm Eastern 
General information: 
www.davisvision.com 
 
 
 

mailto:claims@deltadentalwi.com
http://www.deltadentalwi.com/
http://www.davisvision.com/
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Address: 
The Hartford Group Life/AD&D Claims Unit 
PO Box 14297 
Lexington, KY  40512-4297 

Phone: (888) 563-1124  

Fax: (866) 344-9747 

Brochure:  http://etf.wi.gov/publications/addbrochure.pdf 

Claim form: http://etf.wi.gov/publications/hartford-add-claim-form.pdf 

General information: 
http://www.thehartford.com/employee-group-benefits/life-accident-insurance 

 
 

 

 

 

Address: 
Vision Service Plan  
Attn: Client Administrative Services, MS 229 
PO Box 997100 
Sacramento, CA  95899-9986 

Address to mail direct pay premiums for Members on COBRA or the Annuitant plan: 
Vision Service Plan 
PO Box 740260 
Los Angeles, CA  90074-0260 

Phone (member services): (800) 877-7195 Mon-Fri: 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Pacific Time  

General information: 
www.vsp.com/go/stateofwiemployees 

Find a provider:  
https://www.vsp.com/go/voluntary-find-doctor-location.html 

  

http://etf.wi.gov/publications/addbrochure.pdf
http://etf.wi.gov/publications/hartford-add-claim-form.pdf
http://www.thehartford.com/employee-group-benefits/life-accident-insurance
http://www.vsp.com/go/stateofwiemployees
https://www.vsp.com/go/voluntary-find-doctor-location.html
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Section C: Administrative Roles and Procedures  
 

Enrollment, changes, terminations:  
• Electronic files are sent in a format agreed upon between the payroll center and  

the Insurer 
• Paper forms can be found on each Insurer’s web page (see section B). Forms are 

submitted via mail, fax, or email image. If email, communications containing any private 
Member information must be transmitted using a secure server. 

• During It’s Your Choice, paper forms may be sent via bulk mail daily or weekly. 

Subscriber Unique Identifiers: 
Insurers’ methods for assigning unique identifiers to Subscribers are outlined below. This may 
be important to know when making an inquiry about a particular Subscriber. 
 
 Primary unique 

identifier 
Format Stores ID 

sent by 
payroll 
system  

Alternate 
look-up 
identifiers 

ID Cards- 
see 
description 
below table 

Anthem 
DentalBlue 
 

SSN and “Member 
ID,” generated by 
Anthem 

3 numeric 
digits, one 
letter, 5 
numeric digits. 
Example: 
111M22222 

No Date of birth Yes, with 
Anthem ID 

EPIC- 
Benefits+ 
 

Customer ID 
generated by EPIC  

All numeric, 
usually with 
leading zeros 

Not 
currently.  

SSN, date of 
birth 

Yes, with EPIC 
customer 
number 

EPIC 
Dental 
Wisconsin 

Customer ID 
generated by EPIC  
*Note- if enrolled in 
both EPIC products, 
subscriber will have 
two numbers, two 
cards 

All numeric, 
usually with 
leading zeros 

Not 
currently.  

SSN, date of 
birth 

Yes, with EPIC 
customer 
number 

Hartford 
 

Does not keep 
subscriber census. 
Verifies individual 
enrollment upon 
claim. 

NA No Date of birth, 
if in claim 
status. 
Employer. 

No 

VSP Uses the ID provided 
by each payroll 
center 

Varies by 
payroll center 

Yes After claim, 
date of birth, 
SSN. 

No 
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ID cards:   

• Anthem, EPIC Benefits+ and EPIC Dental WI will mail ID card(s) to each Subscriber in 
January following IYC. For newly hired Subscribers, cards will be mailed within one 
week of receipt of application by the Insurer.  

• VSP does not send ID cards, but Subscribers can print their own from VSP’s website 
after creating an online account. The card does not contain an ID number. Providers 
check eligibility at time of service, and can inquire based on name and date of birth. 

Billing: The method of billing varies by payroll center and by Insurer.  

1. List Billing: 
• For each plan, the Insurer sends a list to each payroll center monthly,  
• The list includes names of Subscribers, unique ID number, agency “location,” and 

amount owed based on the type of coverage- (single, family, etc.), with a subtotal by 
agency and total for the payroll center 

• The Employer compares the bill to its payroll records and notes corrections or 
adjustments   

2. Self-Billing: 
• Each payroll center sends the Insurer a periodic listing with additions, changes, 

and terminations identified. 
• A monthly remittance report shows amount owed to the Insurer for that month, 

after adjustments have been calculated by the Employer for over or 
underpayments from previous months. 

 Courts STAR WEDC WHEDA Wiscraft How often 
reconciled 

Anthem List-bill 
(pending) 

Self-bill List-bill List-bill Self-bill Monthly 

EPIC List-bill Self-bill List-bill List-bill na Monthly 
Hartford Self-bill Self-bill Self-bill na na Upon claim 
VSP Self-bill Self-bill Self-bill Self-bill na At IYC 

 
Remittance of Premiums: 

• Premiums are due to the Insurer by the first of the month of coverage. There is a 
45 day grace period. 

• The payroll center may mail the remittance using a paper check, or transmit 
electronically via ACH, with an agreement and file exchange coordinated 
between the Insurer and the payroll center, as approved by ETF. 

Retired Safety Officers:  
Annuitants who qualify under the retired safety officer insurance premium deduction 
program may have premiums for dental or vision insurance deducted from their annuity, 
under Wis. Stat. 40.05(4r). See http://etf.wi.gov/publications/et4330.pdf  
  

http://etf.wi.gov/publications/et4330.pdf
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Appendix 1: Plan Offerings by Payroll Center 
 
 

Table 1 

2016 State Optional Plan Offerings1  

Relevant to Sections III.3, “Transfer between Agencies” and XII, “Cancellation” 

                                                                                                                         
 Exceptions2 

Agency Anthem 
Dental 
Blue 

EPIC 
Dental 

WI 

EPIC 
Benefits 

Plus 

VSP Hartford 
AD&D 

Zurich 
AD&D3 

Delta 
Dental 

UWS  X X X  X  

UWHC   X X  X X 

STAR Agencies X X X X X   

WCS X X X X X   

WEDC X X X X X   

WHEDA X  X X    

Wiscraft/Beyond 
Vision 

X       

WHEFA        

FRNSA         

 
 

  

                                                           
1 None of the non-STAR agencies offer supplemental dental, vision or AD&D coverage outside of what is listed in the 
table. 
2 Zurich Mutual and Delta Dental are in blue to indicate that they are exclusive to UWS and UWHC; these are not 
currently available to non-STAR agencies if there was an interest by any of them to offer these.  
3 UWS/UWHC AD&D coverage began prior to 1970 under Continental Casualty; now under Zurich after various 
mergers over the years. 
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Table 2 

2017 State Optional Plan Offerings4  

All state agencies other than the UWS and UWHC must offer each Plan approved by the 
Board. In the chart below, X means offered in 2016. Y means newly offered effective 

1.1.17. 

 

Agency Anthem 
Dental 
Blue 

EPIC 
Dental 

WI 

EPIC 
Benefits 

Plus 

VSP Zurich 
North 

America 
AD&D 

Zurich 
AD&D5 

Delta 
Dental 

UWS  X X X  X  

UWHC   X X  X X 

STAR Agencies X X X X X   

WCS X X X X X   

WEDC X X X X X   

WHEDA X Y X X Y   

Wiscraft/Beyond 
Vision 

X Y Y Y Y   

WHEFA Y Y Y Y Y   

FRNSA  Y Y Y Y Y   

 

                                                           
4 None of the non-STAR agencies offer supplemental dental, vision or AD&D coverage outside of what is listed in the 
table. 
5 UWS/UWHC AD&D coverage began prior to 1970 under Continental Casualty; now under Zurich after various 
mergers over the years. 



Discrimination is Against the Law 45 C.F.R. § 92.8(b)(1) and (d)(1) 
The Department of Employee Trust Funds complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and does not discriminate on 
the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability or sex. ETF does not exclude people or treat them differently 
because of race, color, national origin, age, disability or sex. 

ETF provides free aids and services to people with disabilities to communicate effectively with us, such as qualified sign 
language interpreters and written information in other formats. ETF provides free language services to people whose 
primary language is not English, such as qualified interpreters and information written in other languages. If you need 
these services, contact ETF’s Compliance Officer, who serves as ETF’s Civil Rights Coordinator. 

If you believe that ETF has failed to provide these services or discriminated in another way on the basis of race, color, 
national origin, age, disability or sex, you can file a grievance with: Compliance Officer, Department of Employee Trust 
Funds, 801 West Badger Road, P.O. Box 7931, Madison, WI 53707-7931; 1-877-533-5020; TTY: 1-800-947-3529; Fax: 
608-267-4549; Email: ETFSMBPrivacyOfficer@etf.wi.gov. If you need help filing a grievance, ETF’s Compliance Officer is

available to help you.

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil Rights, 
electronically through the Office for Civil Rights Complaint Portal, available at https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf, 
or by mail or phone at: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 509F, 
HHH Building, Washington, D.C. 20201; 1-800-368-1019; TDD: 1-800-537-7697. Complaint forms are available at 
www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html. 

Spanish: ATENCIÓN: si habla español, tiene a su disposición servicios gratuitos de asistencia lingüística. Llame al 1-877-533-5020 

(TTY: 1-800-833-7813). 
Hmong: LUS CEEV: Yog tias koj hais lus Hmoob, cov kev pab txog lus, muaj kev pab dawb rau koj. Hu rau 1-877-533-5020 

(TTY: 1-800-947-3529). 

Chinese: 注意：如果您使用繁體中文，您可以免費獲得語言援助服務。請致電 1-877-533-5020 

（TTY：1-800-947-3529） 

German: ACHTUNG: Wenn Sie Deutsch sprechen, stehen Ihnen kostenlos sprachliche Hilfsdienstleistungen zur Verfügung. 

Rufnummer: 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 1-800-947-3529). 

قمبالر اتصل: مصاريف أي دون بلغتك متاحة مساعدة خدمة فهناك العربية، اللغة تتحدث كنت إذا: ملاحظة

(1-800-947-3529: والبكم الصم خدمة) 5020-533-877-1

Russian: ВНИМАНИЕ: Если вы говорите на русском языке, то вам доступны бесплатные услуги перевода. Звоните 1-877-

533-5020 (телетайп: 1-800-947-3529).

Korean: 주의: 한국어를 사용하시는 경우, 언어 지원 서비스를 무료로 이용하실 수 있습니다. 

1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 1-800-947-3529)번으로 전화해 주십시오.

Vietnamese: CHÚ Ý: Nếu bạn nói Tiếng Việt, có các dịch vụ hỗ trợ ngôn ngữ miễn phí dành cho bạn. Gọi số 

1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 1-800-947-3529).

Pennsylvania Dutch: Wann du [Deitsch (Pennsylvania German / Dutch)] schwetzscht, kannscht du mitaus Koschte ebber gricke, 

ass dihr helft mit die englisch Schprooch. Ruf selli Nummer uff: Call 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 1-800-947-3529). 

Laotian/Lao: ໂປດຊາບ: ຖ້າວ່າ ທ່ານເວົ້າພາສາ ລາວ, ການບໍລິການຊ່ວຍເຫຼືອດ້ານພາສາ, ໂດຍບໍ່ເສັຽ

ຄ່າ, ແມ່ນມີພ້ອມໃຫ້ທ່ານ. ໂທຣ 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 1-800-947-3529). 

French: ATTENTION : Si vous parlez français, des services d'aide linguistique vous sont proposés gratuitement. 

Appelez le 1-877-533-5020 (ATS : 1-800-947-3529). 

Polish: UWAGA: Jeżeli mówisz po polsku, możesz skorzystać z bezpłatnej pomocy językowej. Zadzwoń pod numer 1-877-533-5020 

(TTY: 1-800-947-3529). 

Hindi: ध्यान दें:  यदद आप ह िंदी बोलत ेहैं तो आपके ललए मुफ्त में भाषा सहायता सेवाएं उपलब्ध हैं। 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 1-800-

947-3529) पर कॉल करें। 

Albanian: KUJDES: Nëse flitni shqip, për ju ka në dispozicion shërbime të asistencës gjuhësore, pa pagesë. 

Telefononi në 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 1-800-947-3529). 

Tagalog: PAUNAWA: Kung nagsasalita ka ng Tagalog, maaari kang gumamit ng mga serbisyo ng tulong sa wika nang walang 

bayad. Tumawag sa 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 1-800-947-3529). 

Arabic: 


	 The Employee designated as the Subscriber terminates. The change will be effective on the first day of the month following the date of termination or retirement of the Subscriber.
	 The Employee designated as the Subscriber goes on an unpaid or military Leave of Absence. The change will be effective on the first day of the calendar month following the first date of the Subscriber’s unpaid or military Leave of Absence.
	 During the annual “It’s Your Choice” enrollment period for State of Wisconsin group health insurance. The change will be effective on the following January 1.
	1. The procedure for filing a complaint or grievance with the Insurer, as well as with ETF is outlined in the policyholder certificate. See links for each Insurer in section B.
	2. The ETF Insurance Complaint (ET-2405) form details the process for filing with ETF. Reference to this process is included in the Optional Insurance Plan Insurer contract.
	Resolving member issues:



