PART B: Information About Health Coverage Offered by Your Employer

As your employer who participates in the Wisconsin Public Employers Group Health Insurance Program, we offer a health plan to some employees and dependents.  The following definition is provided by the Department of Employee Trust Funds (ETF).  

“Eligible dependents” include:

· Spouse;

· Domestic Partner*, if elected;

· Child;

· Legal ward who becomes a legal ward of the Subscriber, Subscriber’s spouse or insured Domestic Partner prior to age 19, but not a temporary ward;

· Adopted child when placed in the custody of the parent as provided by Wis. Stat. § 632.896;

· Stepchild;

· Child of the Domestic Partner insured on the policy;

· Grandchild if the parent is a Dependent child.

1. A grandchild ceases to be a Dependent at the end of the month in which the Dependent child (parent) turns age 18.
2. A spouse and a stepchild cease to be Dependents at the end of the month in which a marriage is terminated by divorce or annulment. A Domestic Partner and his or her children cease to be Dependents at the end of the month in which the domestic partnership is no longer in effect. 
3. All other children cease to be Dependents at the end of the month in which they turn 26 years of age, except that:

a. An unmarried dependent child who is incapable of self-support because of a physical or mental disability that can be expected to be of long-continued or indefinite duration of at least one year is an eligible Dependent, regardless of age, as long as the child remains so disabled and he or she is dependent on the Subscriber (or the other parent) for at least 50% of the child’s support and maintenance as demonstrated by the support test for federal income tax purposes, whether or not the child is claimed. The Health Plan will monitor eligibility annually, notifying the employer and Department when terminating coverage prospectively upon determining the Dependent is no longer so disabled and/or meets the support requirement.  The Health Plan will assist the Department in making a final determination if the Subscriber disagrees with the Health Plan determination.

b. After attaining age 26, as required by Wis. Stat. § 632.885 a Dependent includes a child that is a full-time student, regardless of age, who was called to federal active duty when the child was under the age of 27 years and while the child was attending, on a full-time basis, an institution of higher education.

4.  A child born outside of marriage becomes a Dependent of the father on the date of the court order declaring paternity or on the date the acknowledgment of paternity is filed with the Department of Health Services (or equivalent if the birth was outside of Wisconsin) or the date of birth with a birth certificate listing the father’s name.  The Effective Date of coverage will be the date of birth if a statement or court order of paternity is filed within 60 days of the birth.

5. A child who is considered a Dependent ceases to be a Dependent on the date the child becomes insured as an Eligible Employee.

6. Any Dependent eligible for benefits who is not listed on an application for coverage will be provided benefits based on the date of notification with coverage effective the first of the month following receipt of the subsequent application by the employer, except as required under Wis. Stat. § 632.895 (5) and 632.896 and as specified in Article 3.3 (11).”

____________________________________________________________________________
*Domestic Partner:  Means an individual that certifies in an affidavit along with his or her partner that they are in a domestic partnership as provided under Wis. Stat. § 40.02(21d), which is a relationship between two individuals that meets all of the following conditions:

· Each individual is at least 18 years old and legally competent.

· Neither individual is married to, or in a domestic partnership with, another individual.

· The two individuals are not related by blood in any way that would prohibit marriage under Wisconsin law.

· The two individuals consider themselves to be members of each other’s immediate family.

· The two individuals agree to be responsible for each other’s basic living expenses.

· The two individuals share a common residence. Two individuals may share a common residence even if any of the following applies:

· Only one of the individuals has legal ownership of the residence (if ownership is applicable).

· One or both of the individuals have one or more additional residences not shared with the other individual.

· One of the individuals leaves the common residence with the intent to return.
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