

STATE OF WISCONSIN Department of Employee Trust Funds

> Robert J. Conlin SECRETARY

Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison WI 53707-7931 1-877-533-5020 (toll free) Fax 608-267-4549 etf.wi.gov

## **Correspondence Memorandum**

Date: February 3, 2020

- To: Employee Trust Funds Board Teachers Retirement Board Wisconsin Retirement Board
- From: Matt Stohr, Administrator Division of Retirement Services
- Subject: Employers that Joined the Wisconsin Retirement System

## This memo is for informational purposes only. No Board action is required.

In any given year, there are employers who resolve to join the Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS). In 2020, 21 employers either joined the WRS, added a group of employees to the WRS, or merged with another employer covering 104 new employees. This compares to 18 new employers in 2019 covering 481 employees and 15 new employers covering 144 employees in 2018.

New employers typically join the WRS effective the first of the year. The most notable exceptions are state agencies created by legislation -- these typically are created mid-year. Included in the listing of new employers are those employers that, in compliance with state law, covered protective occupation employees or teachers but did not resolve to provide WRS coverage to other employees until now.

I will be available at the Board meeting to answer any questions.

## 2020 New WRS Employers

Name of Employer	Number of Employees
Almond, Village of	1
Black Earth, Town of (Dane)	2
Bowler, Village of	1
Bradley, Town of (Lincoln)	3
Butternut, Village of	2
Balsam Lake-Centuria Joint Police Dept.	1
Chippewa, Town of (Ashland)	2

Reviewed and approved by John Voelker, Deputy Secretary

J. M. Vell

Electronically Signed 3/5//20

Board	Mtg Date	Item #
ETF	3.26.20	6M

New WRS Employers February 3, 2020 Page 2

Cleveland, Town of (Marathon)	1
Crystal Lake, Town of (Barron)	3
Glenwood City, City of*	6
Gordon, Town of (Douglas)	2
Gratiot, Village of	1
Great Divide Ambulance Service	21
Lone Rock, Village of	3
Marion, City of*	6
City of Milton/Milton Township Fire Dept.	20
Morse, Town of (Ashland)	2
Pembine, Town of (Marinette)	2
Sturtevant, Village of	18
Washburn County Housing Authority	6
Washington, Town of (Sauk)	1
Total Employee Count	104

\*Protective occupation employees were already in the WRS. The employer added general employees as of January 1, 2020.