

STATE OF WISCONSIN Department of Employee Trust Funds

A. John Voelker SECRETARY Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison WI 53707-7931 1-877-533-5020 (toll free) Fax 608-267-4549 etf.wi.gov

## Correspondence Memorandum

Date: March 18, 2025

To: Employee Trust Funds Board

- **From:** Sara Regenauer, Employer Services Bureau Director Division of Benefits Administration
- Subject: Employers that joined the Wisconsin Retirement System in 2025

## This memo is for informational purposes only. No Board action is required.

Each year, there are public employers who resolve to join the Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS). In 2025, 40 employers either joined the WRS, added a group of employees to the WRS, or merged with another employer covering 140 new WRS eligible employees as of now. (See Table 1 for details.) Compared to the 32 employers covering 145 new employees joining in 2024, the WRS continues to grow.

New employers typically join the WRS effective the first day of the year. The most notable exceptions are state agencies created by legislation, which are typically created mid-year. included in this annual listing of new employers are those that, in compliance with state law, covered protective occupation employees or teachers but did not resolve to provide WRS coverage to other employees until now.

Name of Employer	Number of Current WRS Eligible Employees
Amberg, Town of	2
Bagley, Village of	1
Barneveld School District*	11
Birch Creek, Town of	1
Bloomington, Village of	3
Brown County Housing Authority	1
Calumet, Town of	1
Cassville, Village of	7
Charlestown, Town of	2
Clinton Fire Protection Dist	6
Crandon, Town of	1

## Table 1. 2025 New Employers

Att Grating
 Board
 Mtg Date
 Item #

 Reviewed and approved by Patti Epstein, Chief Benefits Officer, Division of Benefits Administration
 ETF
 03.27.25
 6E

Name of Employer	Number of Current WRS Eligible Employees
Evansville Community Fire District	1
Fennimore, Town of	1
Francis Creek, Village of	1
Frederic Village Housing Authority	2
Grand View, Town of	3
Greenfield, Town of	1
Hickory Grove, Town of	1
La Grange, Town of	1
Lenroot, Town of	2
Liberty, Town of	1
Meeme, Town of	1
Melrose, Village of	4
Merrillan, Village of	4
Milwaukee County <sup>†</sup>	0
Mountain Bay Metro Police Dept	41
North Prairie, Village of	1
Northwoods EMS District	12
Norwood, Town of	1
Oakfield, Village of	2
Pittsville, City of <sup>‡</sup>	6
Plum City, Village of	3
Reedsburg, Town of	1
Rock Falls, Town of	1
Rockbridge, Town of	1
Seneca School District*	7
Spider Lake, Town of	2
Spring Prairie, Town of	1
Sumner, Town of	1
Wonewoc, Town of	1
Total Employee Count (WRS Eligible)	140

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>\*</sup> Teachers were already in the WRS. The employer added educational support staff as of January 1, 2025.

Staff will be at the Board meeting to answer any questions.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>†</sup> The employee count only includes the employees for that employer who met WRS eligibility criteria at the time the employer joined the WRS. Therefore, that number is subject to change. 79 employees were enrolled between January 1 – February 14, 2025.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>‡</sup> Protective were already in the WRS. The employer added all other employment categories as of January 1, 2025.