

STATE OF WISCONSIN Department of Employee Trust Funds

Robert J. Conlin SECRETARY Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison WI 53707-7931 1-877-533-5020 (toll free) Fax 608-267-4549 etf.wi.gov

Correspondence Memorandum

Date: February 7, 2019

To: Group Insurance Board

From: Eileen Mallow, Director

Office of Strategic Health Policy

Subject: Election of Officers

By statute, Wis. Stat. § 15.07 (2), the Group Insurance Board must elect officers at the first meeting of each year. Due to 2 members attending their first board meeting, and the expiration of 5 members' terms on May 1, the membership of the Board is in transition. This transition presents some logistical difficulties in the election of officers. To complicate matters further, the previous chair has resigned from the Board.

Considering the circumstances, the Board may want to consider electing a temporary chair or slate of officers. This approach would provide for governance to be in place for the February meeting, and allow for a more formal selection of officers once the long-term membership of the Board is more clear.

The current officers and the expiration dates of their terms on the Board are shown below. A current Board membership roster is attached.

ChairVacant (Michael Farrell)5/01/2019Vice-ChairStacey RolstonEx OfficioSecretaryHerschel Day5/01/2019

Staff will be at the Board meeting to answer any questions.

Attachment: 2018 Group Insurance Board Membership Roster

Reviewed and approved by John Voelker, Deputy Secretary

I. M. Væll

Electronically Signed 2/7/19

Board	Mtg Date	Item #
GIB	2.20.19	3

2018 GROUP INSURANCE BOARD MEMBERSHIP ROSTER (11 Members)

MEMBER NAME	BOARD MEMBER SINCE	CURRENT TERM EXPIRES	MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS	
Farrell Michael (Chair)	3/2012	5/01/19	§ 15.165 (2) 2-year term Appointed by Governor. No membership requirement.	
Rolston* Stacey (Vice Chair)	11/2015	Ex Officio	§ 15.165 (2) (intro.) Ex Officio Administrator of the Division of Personnel Management in the Department of Administration or the Administrator's designee.	
Day Herschel (Secretary)	5/2013	5/01/19	§ 15.165 (2) 2-year term Appointed by Governor. Insured participant in WRS who is a teacher.	
Grapentine Charles	3/2012	5/01/19	§ 15.165 (2) 2-year term Appointed by Governor. Insured participant in WRS who is a retired employee.	
Hurlburt* Waylon	10/2017	Ex Officio	§ 15.165 (2) Ex Officio Secretary of Dept. of Administration or his/her designee.	
Neitzke Theodore	2/2014	5/01/19	§ 15.165 (2) Appointed by Governor. Insured participant who is an employee of a local unit of government.	
Stegall Jennifer	6/2017	5/01/19	§ 15.165 (2) 2-year term Appointed by Governor. Insured participant in WRS who is not a teacher.	
Wimmer* Bob	8/2018	Ex Officio	§ 15.165 (2) Ex Officio Attorney General or his/her designee.	
Thompson Nancy	2/2012	5/01/19	§ 15.165 (2) Appointed by Governor. Chief executive or member of the governing body of a local unit of government that is a participating employer in the WRS.	
Wieske* J.P.	6/2016	Ex Officio	§ 15.165 (2) Ex Officio Commissioner of Insurance or his/her designee.	
Ziegelbauer* Bob	5/2016	Ex Officio	§ 15.165 (2) (intro.) Ex Officio Governor or his/her designee.	

^{*}Designee appointed.