

STATE OF WISCONSIN Department of Employee Trust Funds

A. John Voelker SECRETARY Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison WI 53707-7931 1-877-533-5020 (toll free) Fax 608-267-4549 etf.wi.gov

Correspondence Memorandum

Date: February 7, 2022

To: Employee Trust Funds Board

Teachers Retirement Board Wisconsin Retirement Board

From: Matt Stohr, Administrator

Division of Retirement Services

Subject: Employers that Joined the Wisconsin Retirement System in 2022

This memo is for informational purposes only. No Board action is required.

Each year, there are public employers who resolve to join the Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS). In 2022, 31 employers either joined the WRS, added a group of employees to the WRS, or merged with another employer covering 81* new WRS eligible employees. This compares to 23 employers in 2021 covering 66 new employees and 21 new employers covering 104 employees in 2020.

New employers typically join the WRS effective the first of the year. The most notable exceptions are state agencies created by legislation — these typically are created mid-year. Included in the listing of new employers are those employers that, in compliance with state law, covered protective occupation employees or teachers but did not resolve to provide WRS coverage to other employees until now.

In sum, the number of WRS employers continues to grow.

I will be available at the Board meeting to answer any questions you may have.

2022 New WRS Employers

Name of Employer	Number of Current WRS Eligible Employees*
Town of Moscow (Iowa)	0
Town of Sun Prairie (Dane)	3
Village of Fairchild	0
Town of Whitewater (Walworth)	1
Town of Barnes (Bayfield)	5

Reviewed and approved by Shirley Eckes, Deputy Secretary Electronically Signed 2/23/22

Board	Mtg Date	Item #
JM	3.24.22	4G

Village of Readstown	3
Town of Hiles (Wood)	3
Plum City School District**	15
Town of Lyndon (Sheboygan)	2
Village of Reedsville	7
Town of Rantoul (Calumet)	1
Town of Lake (Marinette)	3
Town of New Holstein (Calumet)	1
Town of Elcho (Langlade)	1
Town of Stanley (Barron)	2
Town of Seymour (Eau Claire)	1
Town of Birchwood (Washburn)	1
Town of Necedah (Juneau)	2
Town of Emery (Price)	1
Village of Theresa	4
Town of Kelly (Bayfield)	1
Village of Waldo	1
Town of Armstrong Creek (Forest)	0
Village of Wales	3
Sawyer LCO Transit Commission	10
Sullivan Joint Wastewater Commission	3
Town of Hudson (St. Croix)	2
Village of Merton	2
Town of Merrimac (Sauk)	2
Kettle Moraine Fire District	0
Brooklyn Fire & EMS District	1
Total Employee Count (WRS eligible)	81

^{*}The employee count only includes the employees for that employer who met WRS eligibility criteria at the time the employer joined the WRS. Therefore, that number is subject to change.

The employers above are listed in order in which they were enrolled.

^{**}Teachers were already in the WRS. The employer added educational support staff as of January 1, 2022.