MINUTES OF MARCH 10, 2011, MEETING STATE OF WISCONSIN TEACHERS RETIREMENT BOARD

DRAFT

Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites, Conference Room C 1109 Fourier Drive, Madison, WI

BOARD PRESENT:

Lon Mishler, Chair	Tom Pedersen
Michael Langyel, Vice-Chair	Patrick Phair
Robin Starck, Secretary	Roberta Rasmus
Susan Harrison	Steve Scheible
Mary Jo Meier	David Wiltgen

BOARD NOT PRESENT:

Sandra Claflin-Chalton	Dan Nerad
Betsy Kippers	

PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEE TRUST FUNDS (ETF) STAFF:

Dave Stella, Secretary	Linda Owen, Office of Policy,
Bob Conlin, Deputy Secretary	Privacy and Compliance
Sari King, Office of Communications	Diane Poole, Division of Insurance
and Legislation	Services
	Sharon Walk, Board Liaison

OTHERS PRESENT:

ETF Office of the Secretary: Rhonda	ETF Division of Insurance Services:
Dunn, Cindy Gilles, David Nispel	Lisa Ellinger
ETF Office of Communications and	ETF Division of Retirement Services:
Legislation: Matt Stohr	Anne Boudreau
ETF Office of Policy, Privacy &	
Compliance: Steve Hurley	

Lon Mishler, Chair, called the meeting of the Teachers Retirement (TR) Board (Board) to order at 12:53 p.m.

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES

MOTION: Mr. Phair moved approval of the minutes of the December 2, 2010, Board meeting as submitted by the Board Liaison. Mr. Scheible seconded the motion, which passed without objection on a voice vote.

Board	Mtg Date	Item #
TR	6.23.11	1

Teachers Retirement Board March 10, 2011, Minutes Page 2

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Sari King, Office of Communications and Legislation, congratulated Mr. Phair and Mr. Starck on their re-election to the Board.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

MOTION: Mr. Scheible moved to nominate the current slate of officers (Lon Mishler, Chair; Michael Langyel, Vice-Chair; and Robin Starck, Secretary) and cast a unanimous ballot. Ms. Harrison seconded the motion, which passed without objection on a voice vote.

APPOINTMENT OF TR BOARD MEMBER TO THE EMPLOYEE TRUST FUNDS (ETF) BOARD

Mr. Conlin referred the Board members to the memo at their places that described the position on the TR Board eligible to be appointed to the ETF Board (ref. TR | 03.10.11 | 3). Wayne McCaffery is the current TR appointee to the ETF Board. His term expires on May 1, 2011, and, since he is now retired, he is no longer eligible to serve in this capacity. This position must be filled by an active teacher.

MOTION: Ms. Rasmus nominated David Wiltgen to the seat on the ETF Board under § 15.16 (1)(a)1. Mr. Phair seconded the motion, which passed without objection on a voice vote.

ADMINISTRATIVE RULE CHANGES

Ms. Owen noted that Clearinghouse Rule (CR) #10-137 concerning Spousal/Domestic Partner Consent had been discussed at the Joint Informational (JI) meeting held earlier in the day. She asked if the Board members had any questions. Hearing none, she requested the Board's approval of the proposed rule.

MOTION: Ms. Harrison moved to approve CR #10-137. Mr. Phair seconded the motion, which passed without objection on a voice vote.

Ms. Owen stated that CR #10-138, concerning Power of Attorney, had also been discussed at the JI meeting. She offered the Board members an opportunity to ask questions about the rule and then requested their approval.

Teachers Retirement Board March 10, 2011, Minutes Page 3

MOTION: Mr. Phair moved to approve CR #10-138. Ms. Harrison seconded the motion, which passed without objection on a voice vote.

OPERATIONAL UPDATES

Diane Poole, Director, Disability Programs Bureau, referred the Board members to the 2010 Benefit Annuity Statistics Report (ref. TR | 03.10.11 | 6Aii). She also provided a brief summary of the highlights of the report.

FUTURE ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION

No future items for discussion were mentioned.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion: Mr. Pederson moved to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Scheible seconded the motion, which passed without objection on a voice vote.

The meeting of the Teachers Retirement Board adjourned at 1:12 p.m.

Date App	proved:
Signed:	
	Robin Starck, Secretary Teachers Retirement Board