DRAFT

Teachers Retirement Board

State of Wisconsin

Location:

State Revenue Building – Events Room 2135 Rimrock Road, Madison, WI

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Lon Mishler, Chair Michael Langyel, Vice-Chair Sandra Claflin-Chalton Betsy Kippers Mary Jo Meier Tom Pedersen Roberta Rasmus Steve Scheible David Wiltgen

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

Robin Starck, Secretary Susan Harrison

Dan Nerad Patrick Phair

PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEE TRUST FUNDS (ETF) STAFF:

Bob Conlin, Secretary Rob Marchant, Deputy Secretary Sharon Walk, Board Liaison Division of Retirement Services: Matt Stohr, Administrator Office of Policy, Privacy and Compliance: Steve Hurley, Director

OTHERS PRESENT:

ETF Legal Services: Daniel Hayes, David Nispel ETF Division of Management Services: Pam Henning, Jack Loman ETF Division of Retirement Services: Anne Boudreau, Roger Fletcher ETF Division of Insurance Services: Deb Roemer ETF Office of Enterprise Initiative: Bob Martin ETF Office of Internal Audit: John Vincent ETF Board Members: John David, William Ford, Kimberly Hall, Jon Litscher, Robert Niendorf, Jessica O'Donnell Gabriel Roeder Smith & Company: Mark Buis, Brian Murphy Legislative Audit Bureau: Kyle Everard

Board	Mtg Date	Item #
TR	12.6.12	1



June 21, 2012



Teachers Retirement Board June 21, 2012, Minutes Page 2

Lon Mishler, Chair, called the meeting of the Teachers Retirement (TR) Board (Board) to order at 12:25 p.m.

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES

MOTION: Mr. Scheible moved approval of the December 1, 2011, minutes as submitted by the Board Liaison. Ms. Kippers seconded the motion, which passed without objection on a voice vote.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Mr. Stohr reviewed housekeeping items related to the meeting and agenda. He then made the following announcements:

- The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) rule related to the normal retirement age for specific protective occupation employees is scheduled to be effective on January 1, 2013. The IRS recently provided clarification that this rule will not pertain to plans that do not do in-service distributions. Therefore, the rule will not impact the Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS).
- The TR Board Election Committee met earlier to certify the results of the recent election for the open active teacher seat on the Board. There were three candidates nominated and slightly over 5,000 ballots cast. As a result of the election, Jon Joslin, a middle school teacher from the Nekoosa School District, will be joining the TR Board at the September 2013 meeting.

DISCUSSION/CONSIDERATION

Election of Officers

MOTION: Mr. Wiltgen moved to nominate and elect Mr. Mishler as Chair, Mr. Langyel as Vice-Chair, and Mr. Starck as Secretary of the Board. Ms. Kippers seconded the motion, which passed without objection on a voice vote.

Clearinghouse Rule #12-020

Mr. Hurley referred the Board members to his memo (Ref. TR | 6.21.12 | 3B) and the discussion conducted at the Joint Informational meeting held earlier in the day. There were no questions or clarifications requested.

MOTION: Ms. Kippers moved to approve Clearinghouse Rule #12-020 as presented. Ms. Meier seconded the motion, which passed without objection on a voice vote.

Teachers Retirement Board June 21, 2012, Minutes Page 3

OPERATIONAL UPDATES

Mr. Mishler referred the Board members to the quarterly disability report memo included in the Board packet (Ref. TR | 6.21.12 | 4A). There were no questions or clarifications about the report.

Mr. Marchant referred the Board members to his memo (Ref. TR | 6.21.12 | 4B) regarding the TR Board election process. He requested feedback from Board members about transitioning to an electronic election process to fill vacant Board seats. Mr. Marchant stated a workgroup comprised of Employee Trust Funds staff will be convened to develop recommendations for the Board's approval.

FUTURE ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION

Mr. Wiltgen requested a follow up discussion about the ability of teachers to attend Board meetings. Mr. Stohr confirmed future Joint Informational meeting topics will include annuity adjustments and contribution rates.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion: Ms. Rasmus moved to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Pedersen seconded the motion, which passed without objection on a voice vote.

The Board meeting adjourned at 12:48 p.m.

Date Approved: _____

Signed: _

Robin Starck, Secretary Teachers Retirement Board