

STATE OF WISCONSIN Department of Employee Trust Funds Robert J. Conlin SECRETARY 801 W Badger Road PO Box 7931 Madison WI 53707-7931

1-877-533-5020 (toll free) Fax (608) 267-4549 http://etf.wi.gov

## CORRESPONDENCE MEMORANDUM

DATE: February 7, 2013

- TO: Teachers Retirement Board
- **FROM:** Cheryllynn Mullins, Board Liaison Secretary's Office
- SUBJECT: Election of Board Officers

## Staff requests the Teachers Retirement Board conduct its annual election of officers.

Under Wis. Stat. § 15.07 (2), the Teachers Retirement (TR) Board must elect officers at the first meeting of each calendar year. The current officers and the expiration dates of their terms on the Board are shown below.

Chair	Lon Mishler	05/01/2013
Vice-Chair	Michael Langyel	05/01/2015
Secretary	Robin Starck	05/01/2016

Please note that TR Board Chair Lon Mishler, who currently holds the annuitant seat on the Board, has announced that he will be leaving when his term expires on May 1, 2013. An election to fill the annuitant seat is currently underway. Therefore, the Board will need to elect a new Chair.

It has been past practice for new officers to assume their duties effective immediately following the meeting at which they are elected.

Attachment: TR Roster

Reviewed and approved by Robert J. Marchant, Deputy Secretary.

Electronically signed 2/13/13

Board	Mtg Date	Item #
TR	3.7.13	3

## 2013 TEACHERS RETIREMENT BOARD MEMBERSHIP ROSTER (13 Members)

MEMBER NAME	BOARD MEMBER SINCE	CURRENT TERM EXPIRES	MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS	
<b>Mishler,</b> Lon (Chair)	5/2003	5/1/13	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(a) 6</b> 5-year term Elected by annuitants who were teacher participants. Annuitant who was a teacher participant in WRS.	
Langyel, Michael (Vice Chair)	5/2005	5/1/15	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(a)7</b> 5-year term Elected by Milwaukee public school teachers who are participants. City of Milwaukee teacher who is a participant in WRS.	
Starck,	5/2006	5/1/16	§ 15.165 (3)(a)1 5-year term	
Robin			Elected by public school teachers. Public school teacher.	
(Secretary)				
Claflin- Chalton, Sandra	5/2009	5/1/14	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(a)4</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor. UW teacher participant in WRS (not from same campus as other UW teacher representative).	
Harrison, Susan	5/2009	5/1/14	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(a)4</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor. UW teacher participant in WRS (not from same campus as other UW teacher representative).	
Joslin, Jon	9/2012	5/1/17	<b>§ 15.165(3)(a)1</b> 5-year term Elected by public school teachers. Public school teacher.	
Kippers, Betsy	9/2009	5/1/14	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(a)1</b> 5-year term Elected by public school teachers. Public school teacher.	
Meier, Mary Jo	9/2009	5/1/14	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(a)1</b> 5-year term Elected by public school teachers. Public school teacher.	

Pedersen, R. Thomas	5/2003	5/1/13	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(a)2</b> 5-year term Elected by participating Wisconsin Technical College teachers. Public school teacher from a participating Wisconsin Technical College district and a participating employee in WRS.	
Phair, Patrick	5/2006	5/1/16	§ 15.165 (3)(a)1 Elected by public school teachers. Public school teacher.	5-year term
Rasmus, Roberta	9/2004	5/1/13	§ 15.165 (3)(a) 5 Appointed by Governor. Member of a school board.	5-year term
Wiltgen, David	5/2002	5/1/17	§ 15.165 (3)(a)1 Elected by public school teachers. Public school teacher.	5-year term
Vacant <sup>1</sup> (Nerad)	10/2004	5/1/13	§ 15.165 (3)(a)35-year termAppointed by Governor. Public school administrator who is not a classroom teacher.	

## CORRESPONDENCE FOR BOARD MEMBERS SHOULD BE DIRECTED TO:

Teachers Retirement Board c/o Board Liaison Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison, WI 53707-7931 Phone: (608) 266-0301

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Dan Nerad resigned on October 15, 2012.