

STATE OF WISCONSIN Department of Employee Trust Funds Robert J. Conlin Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison WI 53707-7931 1-877-533-5020 (toll free) Fax 608-267-4549 etf.wi.gov

Correspondence Memorandum

Date: June 8, 2018

- To: Teachers Retirement Board
- From: John Voelker, Deputy Secretary
- Subject: Reappointment to ETF Board

Per State Statute 15.16(1)(a), the Teachers Retirement (TR) Board appoints four members to the ETF Board. Currently, each of the seats are filled, but have expired terms. In discussing the appointment terms with Chair Robin Starck, it is recommended that these terms be updated progressively to provide for staggered terms on the ETF Board.

The current Board appointees to the ETF Board are as follows:

- Michael Langyel
- Robert Niendorf
- Roberta Rasmus
- David Wiltgen

In reviewing the circumstances regarding each of these appointees, the seat held by David Wiltgen provides the most straightforward course of action to start the progressive reappointment process. His current term on the Board expires in 2022. Moving ahead with his reappointment to a new four-year term on the ETF Board will align his terms with both expiring in the same year.

On a matter related to TR Board membership, Kim Schroeder resigned on May 18, 2018, leaving a vacancy on the Board. To fill the vacancy, ETF will proceed with adding the Milwaukee Public Schools teacher seat to the 2019 election schedule, which starts with the call for nominations in September 2018.

Staff will be at the Board meeting to answer any questions.

Board	Mtg Date	Item #
TR	6.21.18	4B