

## **Teachers Retirement Board**

State of Wisconsin

## **Location:**

State Hill Farms Building – Room N134 4822 Madison Yards Way, Madison WI 53705

## **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Robin Starck, Chair David Wiltgen, Vice Chair Brent Grochowski, Secretary Esther Ancel Sandra Claflin-Chalton Chris Heller

#### Craig Hubbell James Langkamp Allison Pratt Tony Przybylski, Jr. David Schalow

## **BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Gary Epping

## PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEE TRUST FUNDS (ETF) STAFF:

Office of the Secretary: Bob Conlin, Secretary John Voelker, Deputy Secretary Cheryllynn Wilkins, Board Liaison Division of Retirement Services: Matt Stohr, Administrator Office of Policy, Privacy & Compliance: Lucas Strelow, Policy Analyst

## **OTHERS PRESENT:**

ETF Division of Management Services: Patrick Hughes ETF Division of Retirement Services: Anne Boudreau, Jim Guidry ETF Office of Legal Services: Diana

Felsmann, David Nispel, Monica Anderson ETF Office of the Secretary: Pam Henning, Lisa Gurley ETF Board Member: Roberta Rasmus, Mary Von Ruden

Robin Starck, Chair, called the meeting of the Teachers Retirement Board (Board) to order at 12:14 p.m.

Board	Mtg Date	Item #
TR	3.21.19	1



# June 21, 2018



Teachers Retirement Board June 21, 2018 Minutes Page 2

#### **CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES**

MOTION: Ms. Pratt moved approval of the June 22, 2017, minutes as submitted by the Board Liaison. Mr. Heller seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

## **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

MOTION: Mr. Heller moved to elect the following slate of officers, Robin Starck, Chair; David Wiltgen, Vice Chair; and Brent Grochowski, Secretary. Mr. Hubbell seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

#### DISCUSSION/CONSIDERATION

#### Board Policies Update

Mr. Strelow reminded the Board of the presentation (Ref. JM | 6.21.18 | 3C) and the proposed wording change discussed at the Joint Meeting of the Retirement Boards. The proposed change would clarify language that could potentially be interpreted incorrectly regarding what violates the Wisconsin's Open Meetings law. Mr. Strelow read the exact wording of the amendment. Under the section, Communication Between Board Members at Board Meetings, the wording, "to prevent a violation of Wisconsin's Open Meeting law," changed to "to the extent that such communication could violate Wisconsin's Open Meeting law,"

#### Motion: Ms. Claflin-Chalton moved to approve the updated Communications Policy for incorporation into the Board Governance Manual as proposed and amended. Mr. Heller seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

#### Appointments to the ETF Board and Vacancies

Mr. Voelker presented the chair's recommendation to update appointments for those members with expired terms. (Ref. TR | 6.21.18 | 4B) The seats with expired terms would be updated one at a time on an annual basis, starting with the Mr. Wiltgen appointment. Kim Schroeder's recent resignation from the TR Board makes him ineligible for the Milwaukee Public School District active teacher member seat under Wis. Stat. § 15.165 (3)(a)(7).

Motion: Mr. Hubbell moved to reappoint David Wiltgen to the seat on the ETF Board under Wis. Stats. § 15.165 (3)(a) 1 or 2., for a public or vocational school teacher. Mr. Langkamp seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

## ADJOURNMENT

## MOTION: Mr. Wiltgen moved to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Pratt seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

The Board meeting adjourned at 12:29 p.m.

Date Approved: \_\_\_\_\_

Signed: \_\_\_\_\_\_ Brent Grochowski, Secretary Teachers Retirement Board