

Teachers Retirement Board

State of Wisconsin

Location:

State Hill Farms Building – Room N134 4822 Madison Yards Way, Madison WI 53705

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Brent Grochowski, Secretary Esther Ancel Gary Epping Chris Heller James Langkamp

Amy Mizialko Allison Pratt Tony Przybylski, Jr. David Schalow

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

David Wiltgen, Vice Chair Sandra Claflin-Chalton

PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEE TRUST FUNDS (ETF) STAFF:

Office of the Secretary: Bob Conlin, Secretary John Voelker, Deputy Secretary Cheryllynn Wilkins, Board Liaison

Division of Retirement Services: Matt Stohr, Administrator

OTHERS PRESENT:

ETF Division of Management Services: Patrick Hughes, Dave Lemke ETF Division of Retirement Services: Anne Boudreau

ETF Office of Legal Services: Monica Anderson, Diana Felsmann

ETF Office of the Secretary: Pam Henning, Lisa Gurley ETF Board Member: Stephen Arnold, Robert Niendorf, Roberta Rasmus, Mary Von Ruden WR Board Member: Julie Wathke, Steve Wilding

In the absence of the Chair and Vice Chair, Brent Grochowski, Secretary, called the meeting of the Teachers Retirement Board (Board) to order at 12:19 p.m.

Board	Mtg Date	Item #
TR	6.20.19	1



March 21, 2019



Teachers Retirement Board March 21, 2019 Minutes Page 2

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES

MOTION: Mr. Heller moved approval of the June 21, 2018, minutes as submitted by the Board Liaison. Ms. Pratt seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

ANNOUCEMENTS

Mr. Stohr reviewed the Board elections, the process of drawing of lots and the term expiration dates.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

MOTION: Mr. Heller moved to elect Brent Grochowski as Chair. Mr. Langkamp seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

MOTION: Mr. Epping moved to elect Chris Heller as Vice Chair. Mr. Przybylski seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

MOTION: Mr. Heller moved to elect Esther Ancel as Secretary. Mr. Schalow seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

DISCUSSION/CONSIDERATION

Appointment to State of Wisconsin Investment Board (SWIB)

Mr. Voelker referred the Board to the memo in the board materials (Ref. TR | 3.21.19 | 4A). This seat is for any teacher participant. Mr. Stohr sent an email to all Board members, inquiring about their interest in being on the SWIB Board of Trustees. Mr. Schalow was the only member who responded that met the requirements.

Mr. Schalow provided a short presentation on his qualifications and interest in the appointment to SWIB.

Motion: Ms. Pratt moved to nominate Dave Schalow as the Teachers Retirement Board appointee to the State of Wisconsin Investment Board. Mr. Epping seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote. Teachers Retirement Board March 21, 2019 Minutes Page 3

FUTURE ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION

Mr. Conlin advised the Board that it would have an appeal on its June agenda. He noted that related confidential materials are forthcoming. ETF is also planning to provide appeal training at the Joint Meeting of the Retirement Boards in June.

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: Mr. Przybylski moved to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Pratt seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

The Board meeting adjourned at 12:40 p.m.

Date Approved: _____

Signed: ______Esther Ancel, Secretary Teachers Retirement Board