

STATE OF WISCONSIN Department of Employee Trust Funds

A. John Voelker SECRETARY Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison WI 53707-7931 1-877-533-5020 (toll free) Fax 608-267-4549 etf.wi.gov

Correspondence Memorandum

Date: August 15, 2022

To: Teachers Retirement Board

From: Pam Henning, Assistant Deputy Secretary

Subject: TR Board Appointment to ETF Board

The Teachers Retirement (TR) Board periodically reviews its expiring terms or vacant appointments to the Employee Trust Funds (ETF) Board.

The seat occupied by Chris Heller on the ETF Board expired May 1, 2022. This seat is appointed under Wis. Stats. s.15.16 (3)(a)1 or 2 and is either a member appointed or elected as a public or vocational school teacher. The current eligible TR Board members for this appointment to the ETF Board are as follows:

- Adam Balz
- Brent Grochowski
- Chris Heller
- Ryan Kamien
- Allison Pratt
- Tony Przybylski

Chris Heller has expressed interest in being reappointed to the ETF Board to continue his service as an appointment from the TR Board.

Staff will be available at the Board meeting to answer any questions.

Attachments A. TR Board Roster

B. ETF Board Roster

Board	Mtg Date	Item #	
TR	9.22.22	2	

2022 TEACHERS RETIREMENT BOARD MEMBERSHIP ROSTER (13 Members)

MEMBER NAME BOARD CURRENT MEMBER TERM SINCE EXPIRES		TERM	MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS		
Grochowski, Brent (Chair)	5/2014	5/1/24	§ 15.165 (3)(a)1 5-year term Elected by public school teachers. Public school teacher.		
Heller, Chris (Vice Chair)	5/2016	5/1/26	§ 15.165 (3)(a)1 5-year term Elected by public school teachers. Public school teacher.		
Ancel, Esther (Secretary)	5/2018	5/1/23	§ 15.165 (3)(a)6 5-year term Elected by annuitants who were teacher participants. Annuitant who was a teacher participant in WRS.		
Balz, Adam	5/2019	5/1/24	§ 15.165 (3)(a)1 5-year term Elected by public school teachers. Public school teacher.		
Kamien, Ryan	5/2022	5/1/27	§ 15.165 (3)(a)1 5-year term Elected by public school teachers. Public school teacher.		
Mizialko, Amy	3/2019	5/1/25	§ 15.165 (3)(a)7 5-year term Elected by Milwaukee public school teachers who are participants. City of Milwaukee teacher who is a participant in WRS.		
Pratt, Allison	5/2016	5/1/26	§ 15.165 (3)(a)1 5-year term Elected by public school teachers. Public school teacher.		

Przybylski Jr., Anton (Tony)	5/2018	5/1/23	§ 15.165 (3)(a)2 Elected by participating Wisconsin Technical C teacher from a participating Wisconsin Technic participating employee in WRS.	<u> </u>
Schalow, David	2/2016	5/1/24	§ 15.165 (3)(a)4 Appointed by Governor. UW teacher participan as other UW teacher representative).	5-year term nt in WRS (not from same campus
Vacant ¹ (Claflin- Chalton)			§ 15.165 (3)(a)4 Appointed by Governor. UW teacher participant as other UW teacher representative).	5-year term nt in WRS (not from same campus
Vacant ² Hubbell		5/1/23	§ 15.165 (3)(a)3 Appointed by Governor. Public school administ teacher.	5-year term trator who is not a classroom
Vacant ³ Epping			§ 15.165 (3)(a)5 Appointed by Governor. Member of a school be	5-year term oard.
Vacant ⁴ Langkamp		5/1/27	§ 15.165(3)(a)1 Elected by public school teachers. Public school	5-year term ol teacher.

¹Sandra Claflin-Chalton resigned on March 21, 2019.

CORRESPONDENCE FOR BOARD MEMBERS SHOULD BE DIRECTED TO:

Teachers Retirement Board c/o Board Liaison Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison, WI 53707-7931

Phone: (608) 266-0301

²Craig Hubbell resigned effective March 17, 2019.

³Gary Epping resigned effective October 9, 2019.

⁴James Langkamp's term expired May 1, 2022.

2022 EMPLOYEE TRUST FUNDS BOARD MEMBERSHIP ROSTER (13 Members)

MEMBER NAME	BOARD MEMBER SINCE	CURRENT TERM EXPIRES	EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE	AUDIT COMMITTEE	BUDGET/ OPERATIONS COMMITTEE	MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS
Ford, William (Chair)	5/2011	5/1/23	Chair: 3/2022 - Present			§ 15.16 (1)(d) 4-year term Elected by WRS annuitants. WRS annuitant as defined for purposes other than life insurance under § 40.02 (4).
David, John (Vice Chair)	6/2008	5/1/23	Vice Chair: 6/2011 – Present			§ 15.16(1)(b) 4-year term Appointed by Wisconsin Retirement Board. Any Wisconsin Retirement Board member.
Wilding, Steven (Secretary)	5/2019	5/1/23	Secretary: 3/2022 - Present			§ 15.16 (1)(b)2 Appointed by Wisconsin Retirement Board. Wisconsin Retirement Board member appointed under § 15.165 (3)(b) 3, 6 or 7 (participating employee of a city or village, participating employee of a local employer other than a city or village or participating state employee).
Arnold, Stephen	2/2019	5/1/23				§ 15.16 (1)(c) Appointed by Governor, with Senate confirmation. Public member who is not a participant in or beneficiary of the WRS, with at least five years of experience in actuarial analysis, administration of an employee benefit plan, or significant administrative responsibility in a major insurer.
Flogel, Jen	4/2022	Ex Officio			Secretary 6/2022 - Present	§ 15.16 (1) (intro.) Ex Officio Administrator of the Division of Personnel Management in the Department of Administration or the Administrator's designee.
Heller, Chris	6/2019	5/1/22			Vice Chair: 9/2019 - Present	§ 15.16 (1)(a)1 Appointed by Teachers Retirement Board. Teachers Retirement Board member appointed or elected under § 15.165 (3)(a) 1 or 2 (public or vocational school teacher).
Koessi, Wayne	5/1996	5/1/23				§ 15.16 (1)(b)1 Appointed by Wisconsin Retirement Board. Wisconsin Retirement Board member appointed under § 15.165 (3)(b)1, 2, 4, 5 or 8 (chief executive, finance officer or member of governing body of a participating city or village, county clerk, deputy county clerk, chairperson, or member of the governing body of a participating county or town, or public member who is not a participant).

MEMBER NAME	BOARD MEMBER SINCE	CURRENT TERM EXPIRES	EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE	AUDIT COMMITTEE	BUDGET/ OPERATIONS COMMITTEE	MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS
Lounsbury, Katy	5/2020	Ex Officio		Secretary: 12/2021 - Present		§ 15.16 (1) (intro.) Ex Officio Governor or the Governor's designee on the Group Insurance Board.
Mizialko, Amy	7/2021	7/1/25		Vice Chair: 12/2021 - Present		§ 15.16 (1)(a)3 Appointed by Teachers Retirement Board. Teachers Retirement Board member elected under § 15.165 (3)(a)7 (City of Milwaukee teacher participant).
Paul, Leilani	5/2015	5/1/23		Chair: 12/2021 - Present		§ 15.16 (1)(f) Elected by educational support personnel. WRS participant who is either a public school district educational support personnel employee or a technical college district educational support employee.
Rasmus, Roberta	12/2012	5/1/17			Chair: 9/2019 - Present	§ 15.165 (3)(a) 5 Appointed by Teachers Retirement Board. Teachers Retirement Board member appointed under § 15.165 (3)(a) 3 or 5 (public school administrator or school board member).
Schalow, David	7/2021	7/1/25				§ 15.16 (1)(a)2 Appointed by Teachers Retirement Board. Teachers Retirement Board member appointed under § 15.165 (3)(a)4 (UW teacher participant).
Vacant ¹ (Wigdahl)		5/1/19				§ 15.16 (1)(b) 3 Appointed by Wisconsin Retirement Board. Wisconsin Retirement Board member appointed under § 15.165 (3)(b) 7 or 8 (participating state employee or public member who is not a participant).

¹Marilyn Wigdahl retired on September 17, 2010. *Designee appointed.

CORRESPONDENCE FOR BOARD MEMBERS SHOULD BE DIRECTED TO:

Employee Trust Funds Board c/o Board Liaison Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison, WI 53707-7931

Phone: (608) 266-0301