# **Draft**

# **MINUTES**

**February 28, 2023** 

# **Teachers Retirement Board**

State of Wisconsin

# Location:

Department of Employee Trust Funds This meeting was held via teleconference



## **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Brent Grochowski, Chair Chris Heller, Vice Chair Esther Ancel, Secretary Adam Balz Ryan Kamien Amy Mizialko Allison Pratt Tony Przybylski, Jr.

## **BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:**

David Schalow

# PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEE TRUST FUNDS (ETF) STAFF:

Office of the Secretary:
John Voelker, Secretary
Shirley Eckes, Deputy Secretary
Cheryllynn Wilkins, Board Liaison

Division of Retirement Services: Matt Stohr, Administrator

Office of Policy, Privacy & Compliance (OPPC): Laura Patterson, Policy Advisor

#### OTHERS PRESENT:

ETF Office of the Secretary: Kimberly Schnurr, Kathryn Young

Brent Grochowski, Chair, called the meeting of the Teachers Retirement Board (TR) Board to order at 3:30 p.m.

### **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

Mr. Stohr thanked the board members for attending today's meeting. He said due to several vacancies on the board, quorum can be difficult to arrange. Michael Langyel will replace Esther Ancel in May. Ms. Ancel did not run for reelection. She will be

Board	Mtg Date	Item #
TR	09.21.23	2

Teachers Retirement Board February 28, 2023, Open Session Minutes Page 2

recognized at the March ETF Board meeting, and Mr. Langyel will start at the June meeting. Mr. Langyel, a retired Milwaukee Public School District teacher, was on the TR and ETF Boards in the 2000s until recently, when he became ineligible for the active Milwaukee Teacher member seat. Mr. Stohr thanked Ms. Ancel for her contributions to the Board. Mr. Przybylski's term on the Board was set to expire this year; however, he ran unopposed in the Technical College Teacher member election, so his term will be extended another five years.

Mr. Stohr reminded the Board about the annual public records training, from the State of Wisconsin Department of Administration. There will be a form to review and sign.

#### **CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES**

MOTION: Mr. Heller, moved approval of the September 22, 2022 and December 8, 2022, open session minutes as submitted by the Board Liaison. Ms. Pratt seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

#### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

The Chair (Ref. TR | 2.28.23 | 3) listed the Board's current slate of officers.

MOTION: Mr. Kamien moved to elect: Brent Grochowski as chair and Chris Heller as vice chair. Ms. Pratt as seconded the motion, which passed on the following roll call vote:

Members Voting Aye: Ancel, Balz, Grochowski, Heller, Kamien, Mizialko, Pratt, Przybylski

Members Absent: Schalow

MOTION: Ms. Pratt moved to elect Allison Pratt as Secretary. Mr. Kamien seconded the motion, which passed on the following roll call vote:

Members Voting Aye: Ancel, Balz, Grochowski, Heller, Kamien, Mizialko, Pratt, Przybylski

Members Absent: Schalow

#### **BOARD POLICIES AND FORMAT UPDATE**

Ms. Patterson (Ref. TR | 2.28.23 | 4) provided the Board a brief overview of the materials provided in their packets.

Teachers Retirement Board February 28, 2023, Open Session Minutes Page 3

MOTION: Ms. Mizialko moved to replace the current Board policies with a unified Board Policies and Procedures document. Mr. Balz seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

MOTION: Ms. Pratt moved to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Ancel seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

The Board meeting adjourned at	3:46 p.m.
	Date Approved:
	Signed:
	Allison Pratt, Secretary
	Teachers Retirement Board