

STATE OF WISCONSIN Department of Employee Trust Funds

A. John Voelker SECRETARY Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison WI 53707-7931 1-877-533-5020 (toll free) Fax 608-267-4549 etf.wi.gov

Correspondence Memorandum

Date: June 7, 2024

To: Teachers Retirement Board

From: Pam Henning, Assistant Deputy Secretary

Office of the Secretary

Subject: Teachers Retirement Board Appointments to Employee Trust Funds Board

The Department of Employee Trust Funds requests the Teachers Retirement (TR) Board appoint a member to the Employee Trust Funds (ETF) Board for the vacant seat under Wis. Stat. § 15.16 (1)(a)4, and for the seat under Wis. Stat. § 15.16 (1)(a)2.

The TR Board periodically reviews its appointments to the ETF Board. There is currently one TR Board appointment on the ETF Board that is vacant. This appointment is for a four-year term and effective immediately following the meeting at which a TR Board member is appointed¹. The current seat is under the following:

• Wis. Stat. § 15.16 (1)(a)4: a TR Board member appointed under § 15.165 (3)(a) 3 or 5 (public school administrator or school board member).

The current, eligible TR Board members for this appointment to the ETF Board are as follows:

- Dylan Helmenstine.
- Karl Morrin.

There is one TR Board appointment on the ETF Board that is currently held by David Schalow. This seat will be vacant following David Schalow's resignation from the ETF Board, effective July 1, 2024, and is for a four-year term. The current seat is under the following:

Wis. Stat. § 15.16 (1)(a)2: a TR Board member appointed under § 15.165 (3)(a) 4 (UW teacher participant).

¹ TR Board members must complete and file an Oath of Office for their appointment to the ETF Board before being a full ETF Board member with the ability to take action (i.e., move motions and vote).

iovo inionono ana votoj.		
Board	Mtg Date	Item #
TR	06.20.24	4

TR Board Appointments to the ETF Board June 7, 2024 Page 2

With the exception of David Schalow, the current, eligible TR Board member for this appointment to the ETF Board is as follows:

Michael Abler.

Staff will be available at the Board meeting to answer any questions.

Attachment A: TR Board Roster

Attachment B: ETF Board Roster