## **MINUTES OF MEETING**

# STATE OF WISCONSIN WISCONSIN RETIREMENT BOARD

Thursday, June 26, 2008

Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites 1109 Fourier Drive Madison, Wisconsin

**BOARD PRESENT:** Rick Gale, Chair

Wayne Koessl, Vice-Chair Mary VonRuden, Secretary

Jamie Aulik John David Herb Stinski Marilyn Wigdahl

**BOARD NOT PRESENT:** Sean Dilweg

**PARTICIPATING ETF STAFF:** Dave Stella, Secretary

Bob Conlin, Deputy Secretary

Michelle Baxter, Division of Trust Finance and Employer

Services

Sari King, Administrator, Division of Retirement Services

Linda Owen, Division of Retirement Services Diane Poole, Director, Disability Programs Bureau

Bob Willett, Division of Trust Finance and Employer Services

Ann McCarthy, Board Liaison

OTHERS PRESENT: John Brown, ETF Board Member

Rhonda Dunn, Executive Assistant

Jean Gilding, Division of Retirement Services Debra Roemer, Division of Insurance Services

Steve Scheible. TR Board Member

Matt Stohr, Director, Legislation, Communications, and

**Planning** 

John Vincent, Division of Trust Finance and Employer

Services

Sharon Walk, Division of Management Services

Rick Gale, Chair, called the meeting of the Wisconsin Retirement Board (Board) to order at 1:28 p.m.

Board	Mtg Date	Item #
WR	9/18/08	1

## **CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES**

Motion: Ms. Von Ruden moved approval of the minutes of the March 13, 2008, meeting as submitted by the Board Liaison. Mr. David seconded the motion, which passed without objection on a voice vote.

# **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

<u>Introduction of New Board Members</u> Sari King, Administrator, Division of Retirement Services, welcomed new Board member Jamie Aulik and returning Board member Mary Von Ruden, who was recently re-appointed to the Board.

**Board Chair** Ms. King thanked former Board chair Marilyn Wigdahl for her service and welcomed Rick Gale, the new Board chair.

## APPOINTMENT TO THE EMPLOYEE TRUST FUNDS BOARD

Bob Conlin, Deputy Secretary, explained that the Wisconsin Retirement Board, by statute, appoints four of its members to represent it on the Employee Trust Funds (ETF) Board for four-year terms. He reported that Mr. Brown's term on the ETF Board expired May 2006.

NOMINATION: Mr. Stinski nominated John David to serve a four-year term on the Employee Trust Funds Board. Mr. Aulik seconded the nomination.

NOMINATION: Ms. Wigdahl nominated Mary Von Ruden to serve a four-year term on the Employee Trust Funds Board. Ms. Von Ruden seconded the nomination.

BALLOT RESULTS: Mr. David received five votes and Ms. Von Ruden received two votes.

MOTION: Mr. Koessl moved to accept the ballot results and elect Mr. David to the ETF Board. Mr. Aulik seconded the motion, which passed without objection on a voice vote.

## **OPERATIONAL UPDATES**

**2008 Board Roster** Ms. King advised that the 2008 Board roster was included in the meeting materials.

<u>Disability Statistics Quarterly Report January 2008-March 2008</u> Ms. King referred the Board to the provided report.

Mr. Conlin noted that the tax review backlog within Disability Services had been significantly reduced. He thanked Diane Poole and her staff for their efforts to address this issue.

**40.65 Duty Disability Actuarial Review** Ms. King referred the Board to the actuarial review in the materials.

# **Miscellaneous**

• **Items for Future Discussion** The Board members expressed interest in an update on the Variable fund topic and information about the background of the local executive classification.

# TREATMENT OF OVERTIME COMPENSATION

Mr. Gale introduced Michelle Baxter from the Division of Trust Finance & Employer Services, Linda Owen from the Division of Retirement Services and Bob Willett from the Division of Trust Finance & Employer Services. Ms. Baxter discussed the Department's review process on overtime and reasons for reviews and answered questions about the Department's processes.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion: Ms. Von Ruden moved adjournment. Mr. Aulik seconded the motion, which passed without objection on a voice vote.

The meeting of the Wisconsin Retirement Board ac	ljourned at 1:44 p.m.
	Date Approved:
	Signed:  Mary Von Ruden, Secretary Wisconsin Retirement Board