DRAFT

MINUTES

June 22, 2017

Wisconsin Retirement Board

State of Wisconsin



Location:

State Revenue Building – Events Room 2135 Rimrock Road, Madison, WI

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Wayne Koessl, Chair John David, Vice Chair Steven Wilding, Secretary Herbert Stinski Mary Von Ruden Julie Wathke

BOARD MEMBERS NOT PRESENT:

Ted Nickel Scott Nordstrand

PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEE TRUST FUNDS (ETF) STAFF:

Office of the Secretary:
Bob Conlin, Secretary
John Voelker, Deputy Secretary
Cheryllynn Wilkins, Board Liaison

Division of Retirement Services: Matt Stohr, Administrator Office of Legal Services: Dan Hayes, Attorney

OTHERS PRESENT:

ETF Division of Management Services: Stacie Meyer, Ryan Perkins

ETF Division of Retirement Services: Anne Boudreau, Gina Fischer, Jim Guidry, Megan Jeffers, Deb Roemer

ETF Division of Trust Finance:

Michelle Mattox

ETF Office of Internal Audit: Michelle Hoehne

ETF Office of Legal Services (OLS): Diana Felsmann, Amanda Postel

ETF Office of Communications:

Nancy Ketterhagen

ETF Office of Policy, Privacy & Compliance: Steve Hurley, Laura

Patterson

ETF Office of the Secretary: Pam

Henning

ETF Office of Strategic Health Policy:

Sara Brockman

ETF Board Member: Robert Niendorf Department of Justice: Charlotte Gibson Milliman: Paul Correia, Jack Chimielewski

University of Wisconsin System:

Zova Vang

Board	Mtg Date	Item #
WR	6.21.18	1

Wisconsin Retirement Board June 22, 2017 Minutes Page 2

Wayne Koessl, Chair, Wisconsin Retirement Board (Board), called the meeting to order at 11:34 a.m.

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

MOTION: Ms. Von Ruden moved to approve the September 29, 2016, minutes of the Wisconsin Retirement Board meeting, as submitted by the Board Liaison. Mr. David seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

MOTION: Mr. Stinski moved to nominate Wayne Koessl as Chair. Mr. Wilding seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

MOTION: Mr. Stinski moved to nominate John David as Vice Chair. Mr. Wilding seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

MOTION: Mr. Stinski moved to nominate Steve Wilding as Secretary. Ms. Wathke seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

DISCUSSION AND CONSIDERATION

<u>Clearinghouse Rule # CR 17-031: ETF-50 – Disability Programs Redesign</u> Mr. Hayes reminded the Board of the presentation (Ref. JM | 6.22.17 | 3C) at the Joint Meeting of the Retirement Boards.

Motion: Mr. David moved to approve the final revisions of the Clearinghouse Rule # CR 17-031 as proposed. Mr. Wilding seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

APPEAL 2015-005-WR

Mr. Koessl indicated the Board would convene in closed session for the purpose of deliberation on appeals.

MOTION: Ms. Von Ruden moved to convene in closed session, pursuant to the exemptions contained in Wis. Stat. § 19.85 (1) (a) for the purpose of quasi-judicial deliberations on an appeal. Mr. Wilding seconded the motion, which passed on the following roll call vote:

Wisconsin Retirement Board June 22, 2017 Minutes Page 3

Members Voting Aye: David, Koessl, Nickel, Von Ruden, Wathke, Wilding

Members Absent: Stinski, Nordstrand

The Board convened in closed session at 12:19 p.m. and reconvened in open session at 12:37 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT OF ACTION TAKEN ON BUSINESS DELIBERATED DURING CLOSED SESSION

Mr. Koessl announced the Board took the following action during closed session:

APPEAL 2015-005-WR

The Board voted to uphold the Hearing Examiner's proposed decision with modifications.

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: Ms. Von Ruden moved to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Wathke seconded the motion, which passed unanimously on a voice vote.

The meeting	adjourned	at 12:39	p.m.
-------------	-----------	----------	------

Date App	roved:	
Signed: _		
	Steven Wilding, Secretary Wisconsin Retirement Board	