

STATE OF WISCONSIN Department of Employee Trust Funds

> Robert J. Conlin SECRETARY

Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison WI 53707-7931 1-877-533-5020 (toll free) Fax 608-267-4549 etf.wi.gov

## Correspondence Memorandum

**Date:** March 12, 2020

- To: Wisconsin Retirement Board
- From: John Voelker Deputy Secretary
- Subject: Election of Board Officers

## ETF requests the Wisconsin Retirement Board defer its annual election of officers to the first in-person meeting of the calendar year.

Under Wis. Stat. § 15.07 (2), the Wisconsin Retirement (WR) Board must elect officers at the first meeting of each calendar year. Considering the virtual nature of the March meeting, ETF requests the election be deferred.

The current officers are shown below.

Chair	John David
Vice Chair	Steve Wilding
Secretary	Julie Wathke

Current officers will continue their duties for purposes of running the March meeting.

Attachment: WR Roster

Board	Mtg Date	Item #
WR	3.26.20	3

## 2020 WISCONSIN RETIREMENT BOARD MEMBERSHIP ROSTER (9 Members)

MEMBER NAME	BOARD MEMBER SINCE	CURRENT TERM EXPIRES	MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS	
<b>David,</b> John (Chair)	11/2004	5/1/23	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)1</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor from a list of five names submitted by the Board of Directors of the League of Wisconsin Municipalities. Chief executive or member of the governing body of a participating city or village and from a different county than subds. 2 & 3.	
Wilding, Steven (Vice Chair)	5/2011	5/1/24	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)3</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor. Participating employee of a participating city or village and from a different county than subds. 1 & 2.	
Wathke, Julie (Secretary)	2/2016	5/1/18	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)5</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor. County clerk or deputy county clerk of participating county and from a different county than subds. 4 & 6.	
Afable, Mark	3/2019	Ex Officio	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)9</b> Ex Officio Commissioner of Insurance or an experienced actuary in the Office of the Commissioner designated by the Commissioner.	
Koessl, Wayne	11/1989	5/1/09	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)4</b> 5-year term Appointed by the Governor from a list of five names submitted by the executive committee of the Wisconsin Counties Association. Chairperson or a member of the governing body of a participating county or town, and from a different county than subds. 5 & 6.	
Stinski, Herbert	11/2004	5/1/12	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)2</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor. Participating employee and principal finance officer of a participating city or village and from a different county that subds. 1 & 3.	
Von Ruden, Mary	11/2004	5/1/13	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)6</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor. Participating employee of a participating local employer other than a city or village and from a different county than subds. 4 & 5.	

<sup>1</sup>Marilyn Wigdahl retired on September 17, 2010. A replacement has not yet been appointed. <sup>2</sup>Scott Nordstrand resigned on June 18, 2018. A replacement has not yet been appointed.

Vacant <sup>1</sup> (Wigdahl)		<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)7</b> Appointed by Governor. Participating stat	5-year term te employee.
Vacant <sup>2</sup>	5/1/2020	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)8</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor. Public member who is not a participant or beneficiary of the WRS.	
(Nordstrand)			,

## CORRESPONDENCE FOR BOARD MEMBERS SHOULD BE DIRECTED TO:

Wisconsin Retirement Board c/o Board Liaison Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison, WI 53707-7931 Phone: (608) 266-0301