

STATE OF WISCONSIN Department of Employee Trust Funds A. John Voelker

SECRETARY

Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison WI 53707-7931

1-877-533-5020 (toll free) Fax 608-267-4549 etf.wi.gov

# Correspondence Memorandum

**Date:** August 15, 2022

To: Wisconsin Retirement Board

From: Pam Henning, Assistant Deputy Secretary

**Subject:** WR Board Appointment to ETF Board

The Wisconsin Retirement (WR) Board periodically reviews its appointments to the Employee Trust Funds (ETF) Board. There is currently one WR Board appointment vacancy on the ETF Board. This vacant seat is under Wis. Stats. s.15.16 (3)(b)7 or 8 and is either a participating state employee or public member who is not a participant or beneficiary under the Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS). The current eligible WR Board members for appointment to the ETF Board are as follows:

- Angela Miller s. 15.16 (3)(b)7 participating state employee
- Christy Schwan s. 15.16 (3)(b)8 public member who is not a participant or beneficiary under the WRS

Staff will be available at the Board meeting to answer any questions.

Attachment A. WR Board Roster B. ETF Board Roster

Board	Mtg Date	Item #	
WR	9.22.22	2	

## 2022 WISCONSIN RETIREMENT BOARD MEMBERSHIP ROSTER (9 Members)

MEMBER NAME	BOARD MEMBER SINCE	CURRENT TERM EXPIRES	MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS
David, John (Chair)	11/2004	5/1/23	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)1</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor from a list of five names submitted by the Board of Directors of the League of Wisconsin Municipalities. Chief executive or member of the governing body of a participating city or village and from a different county than subds. 2 & 3.
Wilding, Steven (Vice Chair)	5/2011	5/1/24	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)3</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor. Participating employee of a participating city or village and from a different county than subds. 1 & 2.
Wathke, Julie (Secretary)	2/2016	5/1/18	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)5</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor. County clerk or deputy county clerk of participating county and from a different county than subds. 4 & 6.
Houdek, Nathan	2/2022	Ex Officio	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)9</b> Ex Officio Commissioner of Insurance or an experienced actuary in the Office of the Commissioner designated by the Commissioner.
Koessl, Wayne	11/1989	5/1/09	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)4</b> 5-year term Appointed by the Governor from a list of five names submitted by the executive committee of the Wisconsin Counties Association. Chairperson or a member of the governing body of a participating county or town, and from a different county than subds. 5 & 6.
Miller, Angela	6/2022	5/1/2024	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)7</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor. Participating state employee.
Schwan, Christy	6/2022	5/1/2025	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)8</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor. Public member who is not a participant or beneficiary of the WRS.
Stinski, Herbert	11/2004	5/1/12	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)2</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor. Participating employee and principal finance officer of a participating city or village and from a different county that subds. 1 & 3.
Von Ruden, Mary	11/2004	5/1/13	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(b)6</b> 5-year term Appointed by Governor. Participating employee of a participating local employer other than a city or village and from a different county than subds. 4 & 5.

### CORRESPONDENCE FOR BOARD MEMBERS SHOULD BE DIRECTED TO:

Wisconsin Retirement Board c/o Board Liaison Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison, WI 53707-7931 Phone: (608) 266-0301

## 2022 EMPLOYEE TRUST FUNDS BOARD MEMBERSHIP ROSTER (13 Members)

MEMBER NAME	BOARD MEMBER SINCE	CURRENT TERM EXPIRES	EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE	AUDIT COMMITTEE	BUDGET/ OPERATIONS COMMITTEE	MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS
<b>Ford,</b> William (Chair)	5/2011	5/1/23	Chair: 3/2022 - Present			<b>§ 15.16 (1)(d)</b> 4-year term Elected by WRS annuitants. WRS annuitant as defined for purposes other than life insurance under § 40.02 (4).
<b>David,</b> John (Vice Chair)	6/2008	5/1/23	Vice Chair: 6/2011 – Present			<b>§ 15.16(1)(b)</b> 4-year term Appointed by Wisconsin Retirement Board. Any Wisconsin Retirement Board member.
Wilding, Steven (Secretary)	5/2019	5/1/23	Secretary: 3/2022 - Present			<b>§ 15.16 (1)(b)2</b> 4-year term Appointed by Wisconsin Retirement Board. Wisconsin Retirement Board member appointed under § 15.165 (3)(b) 3, 6 or 7 (participating employee of a city or village, participating employee of a local employer other than a city or village or participating state employee).
Arnold, Stephen	2/2019	5/1/23				<b>§ 15.16 (1)(c)</b> 4-year term Appointed by Governor, with Senate confirmation. Public member who is not a participant in or beneficiary of the WRS, with at least five years of experience in actuarial analysis, administration of an employee benefit plan, or significant administrative responsibility in a major insurer.
Flogel, Jen	4/2022	Ex Officio			Secretary 6/2022 - Present	<b>§ 15.16 (1) (intro.)</b> Ex Officio Administrator of the Division of Personnel Management in the Department of Administration or the Administrator's designee.
Heller, Chris	6/2019	5/1/22			Vice Chair: 9/2019 - Present	<b>§ 15.16 (1)(a)1</b> 4-year term Appointed by Teachers Retirement Board. Teachers Retirement Board member appointed or elected under § 15.165 (3)(a) 1 or 2 (public or vocational school teacher).
Koessl, Wayne	5/1996	5/1/23				<b>§ 15.16 (1)(b)1</b> 4-year term Appointed by Wisconsin Retirement Board. Wisconsin Retirement Board member appointed under § 15.165 (3)(b)1, 2, 4, 5 or 8 (chief executive, finance officer or member of governing body of a participating city or village, county clerk, deputy county clerk, chairperson, or member of the governing body of a participating county or town, or public member who is not a participant).

MEMBER NAME	BOARD MEMBER SINCE	CURRENT TERM EXPIRES	EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE	AUDIT COMMITTEE	BUDGET/ OPERATIONS COMMITTEE	MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS
Lounsbury, Katy	5/2020	Ex Officio		Secretary: 12/2021 - Present		<b>§ 15.16 (1) (intro.)</b> Ex Officio Governor or the Governor's designee on the Group Insurance Board.
Mizialko, Amy	7/2021	7/1/25		Vice Chair: 12/2021 - Present		<b>§ 15.16 (1)(a)3</b> 4-year term Appointed by Teachers Retirement Board. Teachers Retirement Board member elected under § 15.165 (3)(a)7 (City of Milwaukee teacher participant).
Paul, Leilani	5/2015	5/1/23		Chair: 12/2021 - Present		<b>§ 15.16 (1)(f)</b> 4-year term Elected by educational support personnel. WRS participant who is either a public school district educational support personnel employee or a technical college district educational support employee.
Rasmus, Roberta	12/2012	5/1/17			<b>Chair:</b> 9/2019 - Present	<b>§ 15.165 (3)(a) 5</b> 4-year term Appointed by Teachers Retirement Board. Teachers Retirement Board member appointed under § 15.165 (3)(a) 3 or 5 (public school administrator or school board member).
Schalow, David	7/2021	7/1/25				<b>§ 15.16 (1)(a)2</b> Appointed by Teachers Retirement Board. Teachers Retirement Board member appointed under § 15.165 (3)(a)4 (UW teacher participant).
Vacant <sup>1</sup> (Wigdahl)		5/1/19				<b>§ 15.16 (1)(b) 3</b> 4-year term Appointed by Wisconsin Retirement Board. Wisconsin Retirement Board member appointed under § 15.165 (3)(b) 7 or 8 (participating state employee or public member who is not a participant).

<sup>1</sup>Marilyn Wigdahl retired on September 17, 2010. <sup>\*</sup>Designee appointed.

#### CORRESPONDENCE FOR BOARD MEMBERS SHOULD BE DIRECTED TO:

Employee Trust Funds Board c/o Board Liaison Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison, WI 53707-7931 Phone: (608) 266-0301