Group Health Cooperative of Eau Claire Greater Wisconsin is pleased to service counties in western, central, and southern Wisconsin.

What’s New for 2023

There have been major changes to Group Health Cooperative of Eau Claire's service area or network for the 2023 plan year. 

Group Health Cooperative of Eau Claire Greater Wisconsin offers coverage in the following counties: Douglas, Bayfield, Ashland, Iron, Vilas, Burnett, Washburn, Sawyer, Price, Oneida, Forest, Florence, Polk, Taylor, Lincoln, Langlade, St.Croix, Clark, Marathon, Pierce, Pepin, Buffalo, Trempealeau, Jackson, Clark, Wood, Portage, La Crosse, Monroe, Juneau, Adams, Vernon, Crawford, Richland, Grant, Iowa, Lafayette, Green.

The Cooperative continues to urge members to utilize our telehealth service, Teladoc. Teladoc provides access to a doctor through the convenience of a phone or video consult, providing access to treatment for many minor conditions, such as cold and flu symptoms, from the comfort of your home. If necessary, you can even receive a prescription. Visit for more information.

Provider Directory

Go to to access provider directory. Use as a direct path or visit, choose “Members,” then “Find a Doctor.” In the drop-down menu under “Select A Plan,” choose State of Wisconsin Employee. To request a printed directory be mailed to you, call Member Services at 1-888-203-7770.

Referrals, Authorizations, Out-of-Network

Referrals are not needed when receiving care from in-network providers. All out of network requests require prior authorization. Certain in-network services and all admissions require a prior authorization as well. You will receive written notification of the approval or denial for the prior authorization. Members with low back pain are required to participate in a shared decision-making tool to review information on options, outcomes, and to clarify personal values. For further information regarding authorization guidelines, please visit or call 1-888-203-7770 to speak with Member Services.

Emergency and Urgent Care

If you require emergency or urgent care while outside the network, seek care at the nearest medical facility. Use the Teladoc number listed on your ID card if assistance is needed to determine the appropriate level of care. Follow-up care must be received from an in-network provider unless otherwise authorized by the Cooperative.

Mental, Behavioral Health and Substance Abuse

No referral is needed to see a provider in the Cooperative’s network. Prior authorization guidelines may apply for certain services; please contact Member Services at 1-888-203-7770 for additional information. Please refer to the provider directory for a listing of mental health providers in the Cooperative’s network.

24-Hour Nurseline

Teladoc: 1-800-835-2362

Virtual Visits

Members of the Cooperative have 24/7/365 access to telehealth services through Teladoc. Through the convenience of phone or video consult, this service allows you to discuss your medical concerns with a doctor and, if necessary, receive a prescription from the comfort of your home. It is cost-effective and convenient. Visit for more information.

Major Health Systems

  • Aspirus Health Care
  • Essentia Health
  • Marshfield Clinic
  • Gundersen Health System
  • St Luke's Regional Health Care System

Full Service Areas

Adams County, Ashland County, Bayfield County, Buffalo County, Burnett County, Clark County, Crawford County, Douglas County, Forest County, Grant County, Green County, Iron County, Jackson County, Juneau County, La Crosse County, Lafayette County, Langlade County, Lincoln County, Marathon County, Monroe County, Oneida County, Pepin County, Pierce County, Polk County, Portage County, Price County, Richland County, Sawyer County, St. Croix County, Taylor County, Trempealeau County, Vernon County, Vilas County, Washburn County, Wood County

Limited Service Areas

Minnesota, Michigan, Florence County, Iowa County