Election News: Watch for Nomination Papers

Picture yourself serving your Wisconsin Retirement System and active employees on a Wisconsin Retirement System governing board! Watch the September edition of WRS News Online for how to declare your candidacy for the following governing board seats:

  • ETF Board: Educational Support Personnel Member
  • Teachers Retirement Board: Technical College Teacher Member
  • Teachers Retirement Board: Active Teacher Member (1 seat)

The elections are scheduled to take place in January, but the first step is the self-nomination process this fall. Again, watch for instructions in September, including the requirement to collect signatures from 25 eligible voters.

ETF supports a diverse and inclusive environment for our staff and board members. ETF is seeking a diverse pool of nominees for board vacancies. Those identifying with traditionally underrepresented groups, particularly women, people of color, and persons with disabilities, are encouraged to submit their nomination.

To learn more about the WRS governing boards, including membership and roles and responsibilities, visit our governing boards webpage.

Officers Elected

The Department of Employee Trust Funds announces the following changes to the WRS governing boards. Wisconsin statutes require that board officers be elected at the first meeting of each year.

ETF Board 

William Ford was elected chair; John David, vice-chair; and Steven Wilding, secretary.

Wisconsin Retirement Board

John David was elected chair; Steven Wilding, vice-chair; and Julie Wathke, secretary.

Teachers Retirement Board

Brent Grochowski was elected chair; Chris Heller, vice-chair; and Esther Ancel, secretary.


Newly Elected -- Teachers Retirement Board

Ryan Kamien was declared by the Teachers Retirement Board to fill one of two available teacher member seats. Two candidates completed the nomination process after ETF called for nominations last fall, but one is no longer eligible for the active teacher member seat.


Special Thanks to Koessl, Niendorf, Langyel

ETF would like to recognize and thank Wayne Koessl for continuing his long tenure serving on the WRS governing boards. Koessl, ETF Board chair from 2011 to May 2022, has served on multiple boards since 1989. While no longer ETF Board chair, Koessl continues to serve on both the ETF Board and the Wisconsin Retirement Board.

The Department would also like to recognize and thank outgoing members Bob Niendorf and Michael Langyel for their long tenures of board service. Niendorf had served on multiple boards for a 39-year period and Langyel on multiple boards for a 16-year period.

For More Information

Learn more about the WRS governing boards