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I. Introduction 
Supplemental Benefit Plans (Supplemental Plans) are types of insurance that are: 

• Generally supplementary to group health insurance, providing coverage for dental, 
vision, accidental injury, or accidental death. 

• Voluntary for eligible Employees and Retirees as determined by Group Insurance Board 
(Board) contract. 

• Paid for by Employees via payroll deduction—Subscribers are responsible for the entire 
cost of premiums. 

• Paid for by Retirees using a direct pay method arranged with the Vendor (sick leave 
conversion does not apply). 

• Approved and offered by a contract with the Board under provisions of Wis. Stat. § 
40.03(6) and § 20.921(1)(a). 

The Group Health Insurance Program (GHIP) is referenced occasionally in this manual, for 
reference or contrast. ETF has made efforts to align administrative policy and procedure for 
Supplemental Plans with those for State Group Health, where feasible. 

 
II. Definitions 
Beneficiary: Any individual identified as the recipient of benefits in the event of the subscriber’s 
death (http://etf.wi.gov/publications/et2320.pdf); generally, an Employee’s Spouse, child(ren) 
and/or stepchild(ren). 

Beyond Vision: An Employer with its own payroll system. Also known as Wiscraft. 

COBRA: Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1986 (COBRA), also known as 
Continuation Coverage. COBRA requires that the state offer subscribers (employees/members) 
and their covered dependents (qualified beneficiaries) temporary extension of identical 
coverage at the same rate as current employees are paying for a maximum of 18 months (36 
months under certain circumstances) following specific events, referred to as “qualifying 
events”. Wisconsin State Statute §632.897 also applies. When Federal and State laws are in 
conflict, the law that is more beneficial to the employee must be applied. 

Complaint: Any expression of dissatisfaction to the Vendor by the insured or an insured's 
authorized representative, about a Vendor or the providers with whom the Vendor has a direct 
or indirect contract. 

Continuant: An Employee or Dependent who is eligible for coverage under COBRA. See 
Section XI of this manual for a detailed breakdown of qualifications of continuants. 

Coverage: The specific benefit levels for which an employee and/or Dependent is eligible under 
the Supplemental plan. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/I/03/6
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/I/03/6
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/I/03/6
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/20/X/921/1/a
http://etf.wi.gov/publications/et2320.pdf)%3B
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Dependent: Means a Subscriber’s: 

• Spouse 

• Child 

• Legal Ward; who becomes a legal ward of the Subscriber or the Subscriber’s Spouse, 
prior to age 19, 

• Adopted child when placed in the custody of the parent as provided by Wis. Stat. § 
632.896 

• Stepchild 

• Grandchild if the parent is a Dependent child under 18 years of age. 

Eligibility Termination Date: This is the date a Subscriber or their Dependent’s supplemental 
insurance coverage through the State of Wisconsin comes to an end. 

Employee: Same as ‘Eligible Employee’ as defined in Wis. Stat. §40.02(25) (b). It includes 
state employees eligible for the WRS, elected state officials, and graduate assistants employed 
at least 1/3 time who are expected to be employed for at least six months. 

Employer: The Employer’s office of Human Resources, Payroll and/or Benefits, and the Payroll 
Center that serves that WRS participating State Agency. 

ETF: Department of Employee Trust Funds. 

Fox River Navigational System Authority: An Employer with its own payroll system. 

Group Insurance Board or Board: Eleven (11) member board that sets policy and oversees 
administration of the group health, life insurance, and income continuation insurance plans for 
state employees, retirees and the local employers who choose to offer them. The Board also 
can provide other insurance plans, if employees pay the entire premium. The Board’s authority 
is governed by Wis. Stat. § 40.03 (6). For more information on the Board visit: 
http://www.etf.wi.gov/boards/board_gib.htm 

HIPAA: Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, a United States federal law that 
includes privacy standards to protect personal health information. 

Hire Date: For purposes of insurance effective date, the first day of active benefits-eligible 
employment upon hire, also called eligibility date. 

Leave of Absence (LOA): Under Wis. Stat. § 40.02 (40), “Leave of absence” means any period 
during which an employee has ceased to render services for a participating employer and 
receive earnings and there has been no formal termination of the employer−employee 
relationship. 

Legal Ward: An individual for whom a permanent legal guardian has been appointed under 
Wis. Stat. §54.10 

Limited-Term Employee (LTE)/University Staff-Temporary: An Employee who is eligible for 
the GHIP but is appointed to work less than half time as defined by Wis. Stat. §40.05 (4) (ag). 

Member: An individual enrolled in a Supplemental Plan. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632/VI/896
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632/VI/896
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632/VI/896
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/I/03/6
http://www.etf.wi.gov/boards/board_gib.htm
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/I/02/40
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/I/05/4/ag
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National Medical Support Notice (NMSN): The NMSN is a federal requirement used to 
enforce medical support orders for minor children. It is to be used throughout the United States 
to enroll children in employment related health insurance coverage. NMSN occurs when a court 
orders the parent in question to provide coverage for their child(ren). 

Plan or Supplemental Plan: Supplemental Plan approved by the Board as an optional 
employee-pay-all benefit, and/or benefit available to Employees and/or Retirees 

Open Enrollment: A defined period when eligible Employees and/or Annuitants may enroll, 
change, or cancel participation in any Supplemental Plan. The time frame is established by the 
Board, usually for 4 weeks beginning in early to mid-October. 

Qualifying Event: Life event that provides an opportunity for a Subscriber to add, cancel, or 
change coverage. See specific sections for enrollment, change, and cancellation opportunities. 

Retirees: A Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS) member who has retired and is eligible for 
group health insurance plans under the WRS or is the surviving Spouse of a Retiree. Eligible 
Retirees include those who meet at least one of the following criteria: 

• Receive a disability annuity under Wis. Stat. §40.63, 

• Receive duty disability benefits under Wis. Stat. § 40.65, 

• Left State service with at least 20 years of creditable service under the WRS, regardless 
of age, or 

• Have received a retirement lump-sum payment. 

Note: This does NOT include Beneficiaries who were not the Spouse of the Subscriber. 

Spouse: Person in a marriage recognized in the State of Wisconsin. 

STAR: “State Transforming Agency Resources.” The automated payroll and benefits system for 
State agencies used by Central Payroll, the Legislature and the Wisconsin Courts System. 

State: State of Wisconsin. 

State Group Health Insurance Program (GHIP): Group health care benefits for Employees, 
Retirees, and their Dependents eligible for coverage offered by the Board as required by Wis. 
Stat. § 40.51 and §40.52. 

Subscriber: An active Employee or Retiree enrolled in a Supplemental Plan who is not enrolled 
as the Dependent of another Subscriber. 

UWHC: University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics, an Employer with its own payroll system. 

UWS: University of Wisconsin System, an Employer with its own payroll system. Includes all 
University of Wisconsin institutions. 

Vendor: Company providing an insurance plan approved by the Board as a Supplemental Plan. 

WEDC: Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation, an Employer with its own payroll 
system. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/V/63
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/V/65
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/IV/51
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/IV/51
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/IV/52
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WHEDA: Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority, an Employer with its own 
payroll system. 

WHEFA: Wisconsin Health and Educational Facilities Authority, an Employer with its own 
payroll system. 

WRS: Wisconsin Retirement System. 
 

III. Eligibility & Enrollment 
Employee Eligibility 
An active Employee who is eligible for the GHIP, with or without Employer contribution. 

Employee Enrollment 
Eligible Employees may enroll within the first 30 days of their Hire Date. Coverage is effective 
on the 1st of the month that first occurs during the 30-day enrollment period. For example, if a 
new hire starts their employment on June 14th, their coverage would become effective July 1st. 

In addition, Employees have the following enrollment opportunities: 

• If previously eligible under WRS, an Employee may enroll if he or she has had more 
than a 30-day break in employment. 

• If an Employee previously eligible under WRS has less than a 30-day break between 
state Employers. 

o Treat the Subscriber Records as a transfer, as if employed by a new State agency 
o Treat the Subscriber Records as a reinstatement with no break in coverage if the 

Subscriber returns to the same agency within 30 days. 
 

Note: If the break in employment crosses the 1st of the month, that coverage is still 
continuous 

• Under Wis. Stat. §40.52(3), §40.02(25)(b)2 and §40.02(25)(b)2g a UWS employee 
eligible for the Graduate Assistant/Short-term Academic Staff Benefit Package may 
enroll in supplemental benefits within 30 days of beginning their first eligible 
appointment; however 

o If this is not the employee’s first eligible appointment, they may still be eligible for the 
“initial” 30-day enrollment period if they had a 30-day employment break between 
appointments. 

• LTEs/University Staff-Temporary have an additional 30-day enrollment opportunity under 
the following conditions: 

o The hours of employment increase due to a change in the position appointment and 
the Employee now qualifies for full share of Employer contribution towards the GHIP; 
or 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/IV/52/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/I/02/25/b/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/I/02/25/b/2g
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o The Employee is appointed to a different position and newly qualifies for the full 
share of the Employer contribution towards the GHIP. 

 
 

• Local Employees 

o Local employees are eligible for supplemental dental if their employer opts in to the 
program 

o Local employers work directly with Delta Dental of Wisconsin on payment of 
coverage 

o If a local employer calls ETF with questions about Supplemental Dental, ETF will 
refer the local employer to Delta 

Declining Enrollment 
An eligible Employee may choose to decline or waive coverage. In this case, the Employer must 
retain a record of the Employee’s choices to waive each Plan, showing that the Plan was 
offered in a clear and timely way but was declined. Note: if no election is made, this is 
considered waiving coverage. 

State Transfers 
If an employee transfers to a different state agency under the same payroll center (for example 
in STAR a transfer from Department of Corrections to Department of Justice and UWS (for 
example UW-Whitewater to UW-Stevens Point), coverage is continuous. If the transfer occurs 
across different payroll centers, a new application must be submitted. 

An Employee is eligible to enroll in Supplemental Plans after a transfer only if the Plan was not 
offered at the prior agency. The Employee is not eligible to enroll if the Plan was available at the 
previous Employer, but they waived coverage. 

Retiree Eligibility 
Any Retiree who is eligible for the GHIP is also eligible for supplemental vision and dental 
programs. Retirees, who did not have the Securian Accident Plan as an active employee, are 
not eligible for that coverage. 

Employees enrolled in a Supplemental Plan while active may continue coverage on that Plan on 
a direct-pay basis following retirement either as a retiree or as a continuant. 

VSP and Delta require a completed Continuation Form within 60 days of retirement (See 
Continuation section) in order to continue coverage. Note: Accident Plan coverage is portable 
and available to any employee who had the plan as an active state employee until that 
employee turns 70 years old. Securian Financial requires a completed Portability Form within 31 
days of retirement. 

Re-hired Retirees may enroll in Supplemental Plans if they have suspended their annuity and 
are eligible to enroll in the GHIP as an active Employee. The Employer is responsible to offer 
enrollment to an eligible re-hired Retirees. A Member remains in Retiree status if: 
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• The Retiree does not have a Qualifying Event 

• The Retiree is receiving an annuity while employed. 

• The Retiree does not use payroll deduction but continues to pay the Vendor directly. 

Dependent Eligibility 
Eligible children cease to be Dependents on a Supplemental Plan at the end of the month in 
which they turn 26 years of age, except in the following circumstances: 

• A grandchild ceases to be a Dependent at the end of the month in which the covered 
Dependent child (parent) turns age 18. 

• A Spouse and Step-child(ren) cease to be Dependents at the end of the month in which 
a marriage is terminated by divorce or annulment or the date that the Continuation or 
Portability Notice for each plan is provided to the divorced spouse. 

• Full-time students called to active duty prior to age 27 

o After attaining age 26, as required by Wis. Stat.§ 632.885(2)(b), a Dependent 
includes a child who is a full-time student, regardless of age, who was called to 
federal active duty when the child was under the age of 27 years and while the child 
was attending, on a full-time basis, an institution of higher education. 

o The adult child must apply to an institution of higher education within 12 months after 
completing his/her active duty obligation. 

o The Employer will verify this status to enroll the Dependent. Vendors will enroll 
Dependents based on the Employer’s approval. 

o For a Retiree Subscriber whose adult child fits this situation, the Vendor may require 
that the Subscriber submit verification. 

• Adult Disabled Dependents 

o An unmarried Dependent child who is incapable of self-support because of a 
physical or mental disability that began prior to age 26 and can be expected to be of 
long-continued or indefinite duration of at least one year is an eligible Dependent, 
regardless of age. 

o The child remains a disabled Dependent as long as at least 50% of the child’s 
support and maintenance is provided by the Subscriber and/or the Subscriber’s 
Spouse, as demonstrated by the IRS Pub. 501. 

o The GHIP will monitor eligibility annually of members and dependents that receive 
insurance in the GHIP and will notify the Employer and ETF when terminating 
coverage prospectively upon determining the Dependent is no longer disabled and/or 
no longer meets the support requirement. The Employer will notify their Employer 
Services (ESS) contact at ETF of any support requirement changes. 

o Employers are not required to transmit disability status of Dependents with 
enrollment records, but are responsible to provide the designation and/or verification 
as follows: 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632/VI/885/2/b
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p501.pdf
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o Delta: If Employer indicates dependent is permanently disabled on electronic 
enrollment via an Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) transmission or online 
enrollment, no further verification is needed. If dependent becomes permanently 
disabled after enrollment or is not reported as previously stated, a form will be 
provided to the Subscriber for completion by a physician for verification. 

o VSP: Records disability status of Dependent, self-reported by Subscriber upon 
enrollment. No regular verification required. 

o Securian Financial: Does not need to be notified that the dependent is an 
adult disabled dependent. Securian Financial will verify status when a 
claim is filed on the adult disabled dependent. 

Additional Eligibility Rules 

Child born outside of marriage 

• A child born outside of marriage becomes a Dependent of a parent when the parent 
completes the enrollment change form, therefore making the child eligible to be added to 
parent’s supplemental coverage. Single parents must include the following 
documentation, and eligibility will be determined based upon the latter of the dates 
provided on the: 

o Date of the court order declaring paternity; or 
o Date the Acknowledgement of Paternity is filed with the Department of Health 

Services (or equivalent if the birth was outside of Wisconsin); or 

o Date of birth on birth certificate listing the parent’s name; or 
o Date specified on a National Medical Support Notice that occurs when a court orders 

the parent in question to provide coverage for their child(ren) or 

o Date that a court makes a final order granting adoption by the member or the date 
the child is placed in custody of the subscriber in a pre-adoption placement. 
Whichever date occurs first; or 

o Date that a court awards permanent guardianship of a legal ward before the age of 
19 to either the member of spouse; or 

o Date of birth if the statement or court order of paternity is filed within 60 days of the 
birth and the parent completes the enrollment change request within 60 days of filing 
that paternity order. If the Subscriber submits the eligibility change request more than 
60 days after the paternity filing, the coverage effective date must be set to the first 
of the month following receipt of application. 

VSP, Delta and Securian Financial do not need copies of the documentation if the 
Employer has seen the documentation and is satisfied the above requirements were 
met. However, the supplemental providers do reserve the right to ask for a copy of the 
documentation at a later date if the need arises. 

Foreign nationals 

• An eligible foreign national member who is: 
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o A citizen of a country with national health care coverage that is deemed comparable 
to supplemental insurance coverage offered by ETF as determined by the Employer; 
and 

o Does not select supplement coverage when hired, during an open enrollment period, 
or during Qualifying Event; and 

o In the event Member or Dependent(s) lose eligibility for the national health care 
coverage offered by the foreign country the member may elect coverage under any 
plan by filing an application with the Employer within 30 days of the loss of eligibility. 
The member must provide evidence satisfactory to the Employer of the loss of 
eligibility; and 

o This enrollment period will coincide with their enrollment opportunity for the GHIP. 
 

IV. Late Changes or Applications (see also Employer 
Error) 

Note: An Employee or Retiree may cancel their enrollment in any Supplemental Plan up until 
December 31 for the subsequent year; this is not considered a Late Change. The cancellation 
will not be effective until the 1st  day of the following calendar year. If the Employee’s paycheck 
or Retiree’s annuity is deducted for coverage beginning January 1st and the member cancels the 
coverage before January 1st the vendor must return the premium payment. 

Employees 
If an Employee or eligible Subscriber failed to enroll or make a change during their eligibility 
period or Open Enrollment, they may request a review from the Employer which may need 
subsequent approval by ETF. 

The review process for active Employees is as follows: 

1. Employee submits an application after the end of the Open Enrollment period. 

2. Employee submits a written request to their Employer. The request must outline the 
reason and/or circumstances for the late application. 

• If the Employer rejects a late application, the Employer provides the Employee with 
notice of the late application, and instructions for requesting a review. 

• The Employer’s email must be sent encrypted. The subject line of the email should 
be “[SEND SECURE] Late Enrollment, Employer record.” 

3. The Employer will review and forward the request for review to ETF’s Employer Services 
Section (ESS) ETFSMBEmployerInsurance@etf.wi.gov along with a cover memo 
outlining their actions to this point, and any circumstances they are aware of to support 
or refute the Employee’s request. 

4. ESS will review the request. If the circumstances fall outside the criterion outlined in 
ETF’s supplemental policy as outlined in this manual ET-1158, ESS will forward the 
request to the Office of Strategic Health Policy (OSHP) for review. 

mailto:ETFSMBEmployerInsurance@etf.wi.gov
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5. ETF will advise the Employee and Employer of a decision within 30 days. If a late 
enrollment or change is allowed, premiums will be adjusted back to January 1st or the 
missed effective date. 

Retirees 
1. If a Retiree failed to submit enrollment or changes during Open Enrollment, they must 

submit their request for review directly to ETF. ETF in consultation with the Vendor, if 
needed, has the final decision, based on standards set forth in the State of Wisconsin 
Supplemental Benefit Plans Administration Manual (ET-1158). If a late enrollment or 
change is allowed, premiums will be adjusted back to January 1st or the missed effective 
date. 

 
 
 

V. Changing Coverage 
Specific Qualifying Events trigger opportunities for a Subscriber to enroll, cancel, or change 
supplemental coverage. They include: 

• Marriage, 

• Birth or adoption, 

• Permanent placement of a Legal Ward, 

• Dependent child turning age 26, 

• Divorce or annulment, 

• Leave of Absence, and 

• Eligibility for or loss of comparable coverage. 

Refer to the Life Event Change Guide for a complete list of Qualifying Events: 
https://etf.wi.gov/its-your-choice/2020/state-employee-retiree-health-plan/how-choose-enroll- 
your-benefits/life-events-guide 

Notification of Change - Employees 
The Subscriber must notify the Employer and complete applicable forms and/or tasks necessary 
within the specified time limits for each Plan, and provide the required documentation as 
outlined below. The Employer is responsible for timely submission to the Vendor, and for 
making necessary changes to payroll deductions. 

Notification of Change - Retirees 
The Vendor and the Retiree communicate directly regarding changes in coverage. Retirees 
must use online portals, or call the Vendor’s service center for forms, and submit change 
requests or notifications directly to the Vendor. The timelines below apply to Retirees as well as 
to active Employees. 

https://etf.wi.gov/its-your-choice/2020/state-employee-retiree-health-plan/how-choose-enroll-your-benefits/life-events-guide
https://etf.wi.gov/its-your-choice/2020/state-employee-retiree-health-plan/how-choose-enroll-your-benefits/life-events-guide
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Adding Dependents to Existing Coverage 
Absent a Qualifying Event, a Dependent can be added only during an enrollment period 
designated for such action. The newly added Dependent will be subject to coverage limits 
applied to new enrollees if a Plan includes coverage limits. 

Note: Unlike State Group Health Insurance, a Subscriber may elect which eligible Dependents 
to cover under Supplemental Plans. 

Changing Coverage Upon Marriage 
A covered Employee must complete and sign an Enrollment Application within 30 days of the 
date of marriage if the Employee wishes to insure the Spouse and any eligible Dependents of 
the Employee or Spouse. 

Adding a Newly Eligible Dependent Child When Single, Individual + 
Child(ren), or Individual + Spouse Coverage is in Force 
The Subscriber must complete, sign and submit an Enrollment Application to the Employer 
within 60 days of the date of birth, adoption, or legal guardianship or within 30 days of the other 
Qualifying Events that makes the Dependent eligible. 

Note: Unlike the State Group Health Insurance policy, a Subscriber is not required to add all 
Dependent children when one or some are added. This allows blended families to avoid 
coordination of benefits issues. 

Process When a Covered Employee Gets a Divorce or an Annulment 
Refer to the Continuation Coverage section to determine if or how continuation must be offered 
to the former Spouse and his or her Dependents. If the covered Employee is removing 
Dependents from coverage, the Employee must submit an Enrollment Application(s) to the 
Employer. 

Dual Coverage for a Child Whose Parents are not Married to Each 
Other: 
VSP and Delta Dental allow dual coverage for a child but will not pay more than 100% of the 
covered amount for a service or item. 

Securian Financial: An individual may only be covered once under the Accident Plan. If both 
parents are eligible Employees for the accident plan, only one parent may cover the child(ren). 
Since Employers may be unaware of dual coverage, it is the Vendor’s responsibility to monitor 
and report dual coverage issues. 
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VI. Pre-Tax or Post-Tax Deduction of Premiums 
Pre-Tax Deductions 

Eligible Subscribers (LTEs/University Staff-Temporary are not eligible) may have premiums for 
the VSP and Delta Dental Supplemental Plans deducted from their paychecks before Federal, 
State and Social Security taxes are calculated. 

• Changes to coverage may be made only at the beginning of a new plan year (January 
1). Note: Changes to or cancellation of existing coverage are not permitted during the 
year without a Qualifying Event. 

• Income records used for determining any other benefits that are based on salary, such 
as WRS retirement benefits, disability benefits and life insurance coverage will not reflect 
a decrease. 

Employees premiums are automatically deducted on a pre-tax basis unless the covered 
Subscriber files a waiver or one or more enrolled Dependents are not eligible tax-dependents or 
qualifying relatives under the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) §125 as indicated on the application. 

Post-Tax Deductions 
If a Subscriber does not wish to have their premiums taken on a pre-tax basis, they must 
complete an Automatic Premium Conversion Waiver/Revocation of Waiver form. If the 
application reflects enrollment of at least one Dependent whose coverage is not tax deductible 
under IRA Publication 501, the full premium must be deducted post-tax even if the Subscriber 
does not complete an ERA Automatic Premium Conversion Waiver. 

Premiums for LTEs must always be deducted post-tax. Note: Accident Plan premiums are only 
deducted post-tax. 

 
VII. Naming a Beneficiary 

Beneficiary Records 
The Securian Financial Accident Plan is the only Supplemental Plan that has a death benefit. A 
subscriber must be offered the Beneficiary form specific to that plan. The following provisions for 
naming a beneficiary are for the Securian Financial Accident Plan only: 

• Members should fill out the Beneficiary forms found on ETF’s website at 
https://etf.wi.gov/resource/beneficiary-designation 

• The member, not the employer should submit the form to ETF via the contact 
information found on the form. 

• Securian Financial will collect a new beneficiary form if a Member chooses to port their 
policy. 

• If the Subscriber dies without a named Beneficiary, the standard sequence applies as 
outlined in Wis. Stat. § 40.02(8)(a)2. 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26/125
http://etf.wi.gov/publications/et2340.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p501.pdf
https://etf.wi.gov/resource/beneficiary-designation
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/I/02/8/a/2
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Benefits Payable After Death of the Subscriber 
For any Supplemental Plan under contract with ETF, if a Subscriber dies before receiving a 
benefit owed by the Vendor, ETF may release the contact information for the Chapter 40 
Beneficiary to the Vendor, upon request of the Vendor, per Wis. Stat. § 40.07(1m). 

 
VIII. Both Parents or Spouses Employed by a State 

Employer 
1. May two married, covered Subscribers (Employees and/or Retirees) each 

subscribe to family coverage for the same Supplemental Plan? 
VSP allows a person to be a Subscriber on one plan and a Dependent on another. 

Delta Dental allows a person to be a Subscriber on one plan and a Dependent on 
another in the Select and Select Plus plans only. Duplicate coverage is not allowed 
under the Preventive Plan. 

If a Member is covered by more than one Vision or Dental Supplemental Plan and has 
duplicate coverage, VSP and Delta Dental will allow coverage for two separate sets of 
service, or “stacking,” wherein both plans pay for one set of services 

The Securian Financial Accident Plan does not allow stacking. 

2. What is the difference if two eligible married Employees elect two separate 
policies (single for each versus limited-family or family coverage)? 

Coverage would be equal for adults in the dental and vision plans, as each Member has 
the exact same level of benefits. 

For the AD&D portion of the Accident Plan, the Subscriber is covered at a higher level 
than the Employee who is designated as a Spouse, the other portions of the plan are at 
the same level. 

3. Can two covered Employees change from two single plans to family coverage? 

If Spouses are both Subscribers, work for the same or different Employer, and each 
carries single coverage, one Spouse can change to family coverage or employee + 
spouse coverage if they experience a Qualifying Event and apply within 30 days of the 
event. This new family or employee + spouse coverage could include both spouses if 
one of the adults drops their individual plan. 

If two people, who are each Subscribers in the same Plan, become married, this 
provides an enrollment opportunity to choose which type of coverage they want to keep. 

If there is no Qualifying Event, these changes can only be made during the Plan’s Open 
Enrollment and will be effective on the following January 1. 

4. Can two Subscribers who are married do a Spouse-to-Spouse transfer of 
coverage? 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/I/07/1m
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Spouses who are both employed by the State and have individual +child(ren) or family 
coverage may change the Subscriber under the Plan from one Spouse to the other 
within 30 days of the following events: 

o The Employee designated as the Subscriber terminates. The change will be effective 
on the first day of the month following the date of termination or retirement of the 
Subscriber. 

o The Employee designated as the Subscriber goes on an unpaid or military Leave of 
Absence. The change will be effective on the first day of the calendar month 
following the first date of the Subscriber’s unpaid or military Leave of Absence. 

o The Employee may also make the change during the Open Enrollment period, which 
will be effective on the following January 1. 

Delta Dental and VSP’s Summary of Benefits for 2020 can be found on at this link: 
https://etf.wi.gov/its-your-choice/2020/state-employee-retiree-health-plan/supplemental- 
benefits 

 
IX. Leave of Absence 
Leave of Absence (LOA) Procedures 
A Leave of Absence is any period in which a Subscriber is not working for, or receiving earnings 
from, the Employer and has not terminated the Employer-Subscriber relationship as defined in 
Wis. Stat. § 40.02 (40). 

To continue benefits for up to 36 months during LOA, the Subscriber must pay the monthly 
premium to the Employer or payroll center, which will submit payment to the Vendor. 

• The Subscriber must pay the Employer, on terms determined by the Employer. The 
Employer must make timely payments to the Vendor to maintain coverage. 

o Employers may arrange to collect payments in advance for up to three months of 
premiums, using payroll deduction (to preserve the pre-tax opportunity). 

o If an Employer sends a lump sum payment to the Vendor in advance of premium 
due dates, the Employer must clearly identify the months of coverage the lump 
sum represents. 

o If the payroll center’s payment system allows, the Employer holds the personal 
checks and applies them to the remittance to the Vendor in the month due. 

• If the Subscriber’s payments to the Employer lapse, the Employer will notify the Vendor 
to lapse coverage. Vendors should only lapse coverage if instructed by the Employer 
and/or noted in enrollment/change files from a payroll center, and not on the basis of 
non-payment on remittance reports. 

If the Subscriber intends to let coverage lapse, the Employer must notify the Vendor that the 
Subscriber is on an approved LOA. Best Practice Note: Employers should advise employees 
not to cancel coverage during LOA, but instead choose to have it lapse to preserve their rights 
to re-enroll when they return to work. 

https://etf.wi.gov/its-your-choice/2020/state-employee-retiree-health-plan/supplemental-benefits
https://etf.wi.gov/its-your-choice/2020/state-employee-retiree-health-plan/supplemental-benefits
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/I/02/40
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If the Subscriber lets coverage lapse while on LOA, within 30 days of his or her return to work, 
he or she may re-enroll in the same level of coverage that was in force prior to the lapse of 
coverage. Coverage is effective the 1st of the month on or following return to work. 

If an Open Enrollment period occurred while the Subscriber was on LOA, he or she may make 
any changes that were allowed during the Open Enrollment period. 

A LOA ends when the Subscriber resumes active performance of duty for 30 consecutive days 
for at least 50% of the Subscriber’s normal work time. If the Subscriber does not complete 30 
days of duty, the Subscriber is not deemed to have returned from leave and coverage will 
continue as an employee on leave of absence. 

An employee on LOA is subject to the same eligibility and enrollment provisions as an active 
employee. 

Military Leave Procedure 
A Subscriber and his/her covered Dependents may maintain their coverage(s) while the 
Subscriber is on active military duty for 30 calendar days or more, with the requirements set 
forth below: 

• Premium(s) for Plan coverage(s) must be paid through the Employer. The Vendor will 
not bill the Subscriber directly. 

• Employers that collect premiums in advance may collect up to one year of premium prior 
to deployment. 

• The Employer will contact the Subscriber at least one month before prepaid coverage 
will lapse, to request notification from the Subscriber to extend or let the coverage lapse. 

• The Subscriber provides documentation of military leave to the Employer for other HR 
purposes, but it is not necessary to send documentation of the military leave to the 
Vendor. 

The Vendor does not terminate the coverage of a Subscriber and Dependents upon notification 
of active military status. Enrollment will remain active until the Subscriber or Employer notifies 
the Vendor to terminate coverage, using electronic enrollment file or paper enrollment/change 
form. 

The Employer must notify the Vendor that the Subscriber is on military leave if the Subscriber 
intends to let coverage lapse. If the Subscriber allows coverage to lapse while on military leave, 
he or she may re-enroll in the same level of coverage that was in force prior to the lapse of 
coverage, if he or she does so within 30 days of his or her return to work. Coverage is effective 
the 1st of the month on or following return to work. 

If an Open Enrollment period occurred while the Employee was on military leave, he or she may 
change the level of coverage or make any other changes that were allowed during the 
enrollment period. 
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Retirees 
LOA is a status that does not apply to Retirees, unless a Retiree is deployed into active military 
service. In that situation, the Retiree must contact the Vendor to arrange for payment or 
temporary lapse of coverage. 

 
X. Cancellation/Termination 
Once enrolled, Subscribers must remain in the plan for the full calendar year unless there is a 
Qualifying Event as described below. Non-payment of premiums will lead to cancellation of the 
policy at the end of the last month for which payment was received and alapse of coverage 
may limit future re-enrollment opportunities. See further detail on timing and process at https:// 
etf.wi.gov/its-your-choice/2020/state-employee-retiree-health-plan/how-choose-enroll-your- 
benefits/life-events-guide 

State Transfer 
• Coverage ends at the end of the month in which the transfer occurs. The payroll 

deduction to pay for supplemental coverage(s) are paid through the first Employer for 
that month, if the transfer occurs on or before the 16th. 

• The First Employer makes the appropriate notations about coverage and paid-through 
dates on the Personnel Transfer Record (PTR). 

• Many Employers choose to also send an email to the new Employer to reinforce any 
details related to benefits, at the time of transfer. 

Adult child turning age 26 

The Employer must terminate a Dependent’s Plan enrollment at the end of the month in which 
they turn age 26. The Employer must issue a Continuation Coverage election form for VSP and 
Delta coverage to the Dependent losing eligibility and adjust the records accordingly so that 
there is no excess premium deducted from the Subscriber’s payroll. An Adult child turning age 
26 can choose to port their Accident Plan coverage by calling Securian Financial at 866-295- 
8690 or emailing madisonbranch@securian.com. 

Employers notify Subscribers that Dependents will be removed and advise whether coverage 
level changes will be made automatically due to the change. The Employee does not need to 
complete an application/change request. 

Delta Dental will issue any Payroll Center a monthly report listing dependents reaching age 26. 
Payrolls centers should email ETFsales@deltadentalwi.com to request the report. Please note 
that the report can be emailed/to one email address per 18-digit group number (payroll 
center/plan). 

Dependent Coverage Terminations 

Absent a Qualifying Event, the Subscriber may only elect to remove covered Dependents during 
the annual Open Enrollment period. Coverage ends on December 31. 

https://etf.wi.gov/its-your-choice/2020/state-employee-retiree-health-plan/how-choose-enroll-your-benefits/life-events-guide
https://etf.wi.gov/its-your-choice/2020/state-employee-retiree-health-plan/how-choose-enroll-your-benefits/life-events-guide
mailto:madisonbranch@securian.com
mailto:ETFsales@deltadentalwi.com
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When the Dependent is removed, he or she may not be re-enrolled except during a designated 
enrollment period. There are no mid-year opportunities to remove a Dependent from coverage, 
except due to a Qualifying Event. 

Dependents of employees: 

• Coverage can only be canceled mid-year if a Qualifying Event makes the Dependent 
ineligible for coverage or the dependent gains access to comparable coverage. The 
Subscriber may submit an application/change request to the Employer by December 31 
to remove the Dependent for the following calendar year in absence of a Qualifying 
Event. 

• To remove a Dependent due to a Qualifying Event, the Subscriber must indicate the 
date of and reason for the loss of eligibility in the “Delete” section of the Enrollment 
Application. 

• Even if family coverage will remain in force, a change form must be submitted indicating 
which Dependent is being canceled, the reason for the cancellation, as well as the date 
of the cancellation. 

Dependents of retirees: 

• Retirees and their Dependents are committed to be enrolled for a full year, absent a 
Qualifying Event. Retirees can obtain a change form on ETF’s website or by contacting 
the vendor and requesting the form be mailed to them. Retirees must submit it directly to 
the Vendor at the address provided on the form (not to ETF). 

Cancellation Rights 

All Supplemental Plans require that once a Subscriber is enrolled for the calendar year, they 
must stay enrolled unless there is a Qualifying Event. 

A Subscriber who wishes to cancel coverage for the following calendar year may do so without 
a Qualifying Event during Open Enrollment. However, any valid cancellation notice filed with the 
Employer (or with the Vendor, for Retirees) by December 31st will be honored effective January 
1st of the following year. 

If a premium has been deducted, the Employer will refund the payment on a subsequent payroll. 

• The Vendor must notify ETF to adjust a premium paid through annuity deduction on the 
following month’s annuity (VSP only). 

• If needed, the Vendor will make a refund to Subscribers who use direct pay. 

If a Subscriber is disenrolled for non-payment of premiums, they may be ineligible to re-enroll in 
the Plan at a later date. 

Any Subscriber may cancel or move from Family, Individual+child(ren), or Individual+spouse to 
single coverage during the annual Open Enrollment period, even if the plan is not offering an 
enrollment opportunity. 



ET-1158 (REV 2/19/2020) 19  

XI. Continuation Coverage 
Participants and their eligible Dependents have options available to them for the continuation of 
coverage of supplemental insurance in the event state employment is terminated. The Employer 
is responsible to notify each eligible insured person of their continuation rights, for those who 
were covered based on active employment. A Continuation Notice must be issued for each plan 
under which the participant is enrolled at the time of retirement or involuntary termination 
regardless of whether the former Member is eligible to continue coverage. 

Retirees are only eligible to continue coverage for 18 months under federal continuation 
coverage and state continuation. Retiring Subscribers must complete the Vendor’s specific 
continuation form. 

It is up to the retiring Subscriber to register during an open enrollment period before the 18 
months of continuing coverage has expired to change their supplemental coverage from 
continuation coverage to retiree. If the retiree’s continuation coverage expires before the next 
open enrollment period, the retiree will go without coverage and must wait until the next open 
enrollment period to re-register for supplemental insurance. 

Accident Plan: Does not offer continuation coverage since the Accident Plan is a portable 
benefit. Any subscriber who has the Securian Financial Accident Plan as an Active Employee 
can maintain the coverage until age 70 currently at the same rate as Active Employees. 

An employee can choose to port their Accident Plan coverage by calling or emailing Securian 
Financial. 

Continuation Coverage Requirements 
Supplemental Plans have the same continuation privileges offered under the State Group 
Health Insurance Plan. 

Federal Continuation Coverage requires Employers to provide notice of the right to continuation 
of identical coverage to persons who are qualified beneficiaries (Dependents) under the law. For 
the purpose of Continuation Coverage, all participating agencies and payroll centers are 
considered to be one Employer (including the UWS and UWHC). 

The Employer must complete all appropriate information on the bottom of the continuation form 
within five (5) days of notification of a Qualifying Event. The form must include the date the form 
was sent and the eligibility termination date. 

Dependent Loss of Eligibility 
The Subscriber is responsible for notifying the Employer of an event that makes a Dependent 
ineligible for coverage. Each covered Member has an independent right to elect to continue 
coverage. 

• The Employer must ask the Employee for each Dependent’s current address. If a 
Dependent’s address is not available, send the notice to the last known address for the 
Dependent. If the last known address for a covered Dependent is different, even for a 
minor, send the notice to that minor’s known address. 



ET-1158 (REV 2/19/2020) 20  

• If the individuals who are eligible to continue coverage live together in a common 
household, one notice to all eligible individuals is acceptable. 

If a Spouse or child loses eligibility, the Subscriber must notify their Employer within 60 days of 
the event (such as divorce). Failure to notify the Employer in that period may make the 
Dependent ineligible to continue coverage. However, a continuation election form must still be 
issued by the Employer. The Employer must provide the qualified beneficiary with the Vendor’s 
appropriate continuation form or in the case of the Accident Plan information on contacting 
Securian Financial about porting the policy. 

• In the case of divorce, Wis. Statute 632.897 mandates that coverage remains in effect 
until the Ex-Spouse is notified of the right to continue coverage. Once the Continuation 
Notice is issued, the 60-day period to accept continuation begins. 

• In the case of a Dependent child turning age 26, the Employer is responsible to issue a 
Continuation Coverage statement, even if the Vendor has an automated process for 
terminating enrollment. 

 
 

Continuation/Portability Form Timeline 
An Employee or Retiree has 60 days from the date they were notified of their Continuation 
Rights or the date that their coverage as an active Employee ends, whichever is later, to submit 
the continuation form to VSP and Delta. 

An Employee or Retiree has 31 days from the date they were notified of their Continuation 
Rights or date that their coverage as an active Employee ends, whichever is later, to submit a 
portability form, call, or email Securian Financial. 

Vision Insurance and Dental Insurance will have continuation forms, while the Accident 
Insurance Plan will have portability forms. 

Premium Due Dates 
Once the Subscriber has submitted the continuation application, the Vendor bills the Subscriber 
directly based on his/her selection indicated on the application. 

• The Subscriber may elect to receive and pay their bill by mail. The Vendor may charge a 
small billing fee and will advise the Subscriber of payment options, which may include 
annually, semi-annually, monthly or quarterly. 

• The Subscriber may elect to pay premiums using electronic funds transfer from a bank 
account monthly. 

If the divorced/widowed Spouse or other Dependent chooses continuation coverage, that 
Subscriber must pay premiums beginning the first of the month following the divorce effective 
date, or the original Subscriber’s death. 

Notification of Changes 
If the Board approves a change to Retiree rates, the Vendor will send a letter to covered 
Retirees/surviving Dependents at least 60 days prior to the new premium effective date with the 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/632/VI/897
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new premium amount. The letter is not a billing statement. The letter advises Subscribers that 
the increase will show as an adjustment on their first billing statement following the date of 
change. 

All changes to premiums or benefits take place at the same time for Active Employees, Retirees 
and Continuation Coverage Subscribers. Premium change is usually effective as of January 1st 

for all Subscribers. 

Duration of Continuation Coverage 
The duration of coverage is as follows: 

• An Employee who terminated employment may continue coverage for up to 18 months. 

• A Spouse or Dependent child who lost eligibility due to Employee’s termination may 
continue coverage for up to 18 months. 

• An ex-Spouse and his/her covered children (the Employee’s stepchildren) may continue 
coverage for up to 36 months or until the children otherwise lose eligibility (such as 
reaching the limiting age for coverage). 

• In limited situations, the length of the Continuation Coverage period is extended. If a 
qualified beneficiary is determined by the Social Security Administration (SSA) to be 
disabled before the 60th day of continuation coverage and the disability continues during 
the rest of the 18-month period of continuation coverage, coverage may be continued for 
a total of 29 months. 

Indefinite Continuation Coverage 
The following individuals are eligible to continue their coverage as long as premiums are paid in 
a timely manner, as defined in Wis. Stats. Chapter 40. 

• Surviving Spouse may continue coverage indefinitely. 

• Surviving Dependent children may continue coverage until they otherwise lose eligibility. 

• Retirees and their Dependent(s) may continue coverage indefinitely until they otherwise 
lose eligibility for coverage. 

• Subscribers who are approved for disability retirement under Wis. Stat. § 40.63 or a duty 
disability under Wis. Stat. § 40.65, must be offered Continuation Coverage, or may stay 
continuously covered. They must be offered the option to reinstate coverage even if no 
coverage was in effect while no earnings were being received or the Employee elected 
to discontinue coverage. 

• The Accident Plan is a portable benefit. Any subscriber who has the Securian Financial 
Accident Plan as an Active Employee can maintain the coverage until age 70 currently at 
the same rate as Active Employees pay. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/V/65
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/V/63
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/40/V/65
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XII. Retirement, Disability, or Long-Term Disability 
Retirement Continuation 
A Subscriber who terminates employment and qualifies as a Retiree may complete and submit 
a Continuation form to the Vendor. This must be done within 60 days of coverage termination as 
an active Employee, or the date of the Continuation Notice, whichever is later. 

Most retiring Subscribers should choose the retiree continuation opportunity, instead of 
Continuation Coverage. Continuation Coverage expires, and the Subscriber will have to wait for 
a designated enrollment opportunity to be eligible to re-enroll as a Retiree. Retiree coverage 
begins on the first of the month following the date on which employment terminates. 

Continuation Forms are located at https://etf.wi.gov/publications/employer 

Subscribers who have the Securian Financial Accident Plan at retirement may maintain that 
coverage until age 70, making payments directly to the Vendor. 

Retirement and Continuation Billing 
Vendors use an individual billing method for Continuants and Retirees who choose to continue 
their coverage. Subscribers should be advised to pay close attention to each plan’s billing 
frequency, method, and possible fees for certain payment frequency (i.e. monthly vs. quarterly). 

For VSP, most Retirees can have their premiums paid through WRS annuity deduction. The 
exception is those who were paid a lump sum rather than a monthly annuity, or those whose 
annuity amount is insufficient to cover premium deductions. Duty Disability benefits cannot have 
premiums withheld 

Re-hired Retirees 
A Retiree who returns to work for a state agency but continues to collect a WRS annuity is not 
eligible to enroll in Supplemental Plans at the time of hire. He or she can enroll as a retiree at 
the next Open Enrollment period and will pay premiums directly to the Vendor. If the Retiree is 
enrolled in the Plan(s) during retirement, he or she may continue coverage by paying premiums 
directly to the Vendor. 

If a Retiree suspends his/her annuity upon return to work for a state agency, he or she is eligible 
to enroll in the Plans as an active Employee. 

 
XIII. Death of a Subscriber or Dependent 

Procedures Outline 
The Employer must notify the Vendor of a covered Employee’s death within 30 days, or by the 
end of the month in which the death is reported to the Employer, whichever is earlier. 

For insurance that is paid via annuity deduction, ETF will notify the Vendor of a Subscriber 
death. 

https://etf.wi.gov/publications/employer
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The Vendor must notify ETF if the Vendor is advised of the death but has not received this 
information from ETF within 30 days. 

If a Dependent die, follow process for Qualifying Event if appropriate to change coverage level. 

Notification of Death 

Coverage for the Subscriber and any Dependents will end at the end of the month in which the 
death occurred. Premiums are not refunded for partial months of coverage. Premiums withheld 
for a subsequent month will be refunded by the Employer on the final paycheck. 

When an Employer is notified of the death of a covered Dependent, the Employer should assist 
the Subscriber in completing an application/change form. If a change to level of coverage is 
appropriate, the new premium rate is effective the first of the month following the death of the 
Dependent. 

Continuation Coverage 

Survivors of a deceased Subscriber have 60 days after the date of the Continuation Coverage 
notice to submit a Continuation Coverage to Delta and VSP to request continuation and 31 days 
to submit portability coverage to Securian Financial (see Continuation Coverage section). 

• If a covered Retiree dies, the surviving Dependent(s) must contact the Vendor. The 
Vendor will provide the appropriate forms to apply to remain covered or see forms at 
etf.wi.gov and follow links to the Plan page. 

• VSP process: For Subscribers with an annuity deduction, ETF staff advise VSP of 
Retiree deaths. ETF does not automatically re-enroll Dependents. VSP issues a notice, 
and if Dependent survivor(s) qualify as a Retiree, the premium may be set up as an 
annuity deduction. 

Vendor will arrange billing or other premium arrangements via direct pay. Coverage will be 
effective with the first of the month following the death of the original Subscriber. 

If the survivor allows coverage to lapse, they must wait to re-enroll at the next available Open 
Enrollment period 

Once coverage begins, new Dependents may be added if there is a Qualifying Event. 

Important: If a death of the Employee (or Retiree) or one of the covered Dependents is due to 
an accident, the Employer or ETF may need to assist the survivor beneficiaries to submit a 
claim to the Vendor if there is accident Insurance coverage. Claim forms are located on the 
Vendor’s website. 

 
XIV. Employer Error 

The following situations will constitute an Employer error: 

• A monthly premium taken after a Subscriber has filed a cancellation notice with the 
benefits office: Payroll center must refund premiums and make adjustment of up to 60 
days of premium cost in the next remittance to the vendor. 

http://etf.wi.gov/
http://etf.wi.gov/
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• Enrolling an Employee who is in an ineligible position: Employer must refund premiums if 
taken. 

• In no event, will premium refunds exceeding two months of premium be approved 
by the Vendor: Premium refund requests more than three months should be submitted 
to the Employer’s risk management department. 

• Failure of the Employer to advise an Employee of his/her initial program eligibility, 
eligibility as a result of a change to an eligible position, or eligibility change if Employee 
makes Employer aware of a Qualifying Event. 

• An Employee submitted an application, but the Employer did not deduct premiums. 

• The coverage effective date may be retroactive only in the case of Employer error. For 
billing purposes, premiums must be collected based on the effective date of coverage. 

In cases of Employer error, the Employer must send an email detailing the error 
and member identification numbers of employees affected by the error to ESS at 
ETFSMBEmployerInsurance@etf.wi.gov. If needed ESS, with the assistance of 
OSHP if requested, will work with Vendor and Employer to resolve the error. 

Not Considered an Employer Error 
The following situations will not constitute an Employer error: 

• Initial Enrollment: Failure of the Employee to submit a completed application to the 
Employer within required deadlines if advised of his/her plan eligibility prior to the filing 
deadline. 

• Coverage Changes Reported Late: When an application to reduce coverage is not 
submitted and the omission is reported after the fact. The Employee must bear some 
responsibility in this situation. Refunds may be made for up to three months with 
extenuating circumstances, such as the death of a family member should have led to a 
different premium category, or the Subscriber was incapacitated. 

• Open Enrollment Periods: Failure on the Employee’s part to submit a completed paper 
or electronic application or change where notice has been given to the general 
Employee population. (Subscribers may cancel enrollment up to December 31). 

• Employee Misunderstanding of Benefits: The exception to this rule is if the Employer 
misinformed an Employee as to the level of benefits available under a specific Plan—in 
this instance a Subscriber may be able to cancel coverage with a refund of up to three 
months of premium. 

Correcting Errors 
If Employer Error prevented timely enrollment, an application can be approved with the following 
procedures: 

1. The Employer furnishes sufficient information to ETF indicating one of the Employer 
Error criteria has been met. 

mailto:ETFSMBEmployerInsurance@etf.wi.gov
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2. The employee files an application which must be received by the Employer within 30 
days after the employee first becomes aware of the error, and 

3. ETF finds that employee was denied coverage because of Employer error. 

4. Coverage is effective the first of the month following receipt of the new application. The 
application must be received within 30 days of the date the employer notifies the 
employee of the error. 

 
 

XV. Subscriber Grievance 
A Member has the right to file a complaint or grievance against any Supplemental Plan Vendor. 
This may include issues like incorrectly denied claims, coverage termination, or poor customer 
service. 

The procedure for filing a complaint or grievance with the Vendor, as well as with ETF is 
outlined in the policyholder certificate. The ETF Insurance Complaint Form (ET-2405) details the 
process for filing with ETF. Reference to this process is included in the Supplemental Plan 
Vendor contract. 

In general, if a Member or Subscriber receives a negative notice from a Supplemental Plan 
Vendor, they have the right to first question the action by contacting the Vendor. The Vendor is 
required to respond to all Subscriber grievances by stating the reasoning why the Vendor made 
the determination and a detailed outline of the formal complaint process a Subscriber must take 
to appeal the Vendor’s decision. 

Members must first use the formal complaint process outlined by the Vendor to request review, 
following the timelines given. 

If the Member is not satisfied with the resolution offered by the Vendor, the Member may appeal 
within 60 days of the written decision from the Vendor. A Member may choose to begin the 
appeal process with the ombudsperson level or request a Departmental Determination as the 
first level of administrative review: 

• File a Complaint with Ombudsperson Services. An informal review, this level allows 
the most latitude for resolution of the complaint. Ombudsperson Services staff provide 
information and assistance with filing a request for review by an Independent Review 
Organization. If the Member requests informal review by ETF, results of that review will 
be provided to the Member within sixty days of ETF’s receipt of the request for review. 

• File a Request for Departmental Determination. ETF has the authority to issue 
determinations based on the language of the contract, applicable Wisconsin statute or 
Wisconsin Administrative Code. This is a more formal process than the review by the 
ombudsperson. If the Member seeks a departmental determination, ETF will attempt to 
provide that determination within ninety (90) days of the request. 

• Appeal ETF’s Departmental Determination to the Group Insurance Board. The 
written request for appeal must be received by ETF within ninety (90) days of the date of 
the departmental determination. Appeals to the Group Insurance Board are conducted in 
accordance with Wisconsin Administrative Code ETF 11, and should be sent to: 

http://etf.wi.gov/publications/et2405.pdf
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Attn: Appeals Coordinator 
Department of Employee Trust Funds 
PO Box 7931, Madison, WI 53707-733931. 

 
XVI. ETF Resource Links 

Member or Employer Resource 

https://etf.wi.gov/its-your-choice/2020/state-employee-retiree-health- 
plan/how-choose-enroll-your-benefits/life-events-guideResolving 
Member Issues 
State Employers with questions about a policy outlined in this manual, contact ETF Employer 
Services Section (ESS) at your assigned email group below: 

• ETFSMBEmployerInsurance@etf.wi.gov 

• ETFSMBSTARInsurance@etf.wi.gov 

Each agency is assigned to a staff person in the Employer Services Section. The ESS worker 
will research the answer, including contacting the Supplemental Plans Manager, if necessary. 

State Employer or payroll center has an issue specific to a Subscriber’s enrollment status, 
premiums owed, ID card, etc. should contact the Vendor directly using the Contact List below. 

Retirees 
For Supplemental Plans, ETF’s Retiree Insurance Staff may refer Retirees to the designated 
Vendor contact for enrollment or premium issues. See contact information in the next section. 

https://etf.wi.gov/its-your-choice/2020/state-employee-retiree-health-plan/how-choose-enroll-your-benefits/life-events-guide
https://etf.wi.gov/its-your-choice/2020/state-employee-retiree-health-plan/how-choose-enroll-your-benefits/life-events-guide
mailto:ETFSMBEmployerInsurance@etf.wi.gov
mailto:ETFSMBSTARInsurance@etf.wi.gov
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XVII. Vendor Resource Links 
The following Vendors have contracts to provide supplemental plans in 2019. 

Dental Claims and Benefits 
 
 
Address: 
Delta Dental of Wisconsin 
2801 Hoover Road 
PO Box 828 
Stevens Point, WI 54481-0828 

Phone: 1-844-337-8383 
Call Center Open Monday – Friday 
7:30 am to 5:00 pm Central Standard Time 

 
ETFcustomerservice@deltadentalwi.com 
www.deltadentalwi.com/state-of-wi 

Accident Plan 
 

 

 
 
Address: 
Securian Financial 
P.O. Box 259708 
Madison, WI 53725-9708 

Claims: 
Phone: 866-295-8690 
email: madisonbranch@securian.com 

 
Website: 
www.LifeBenefits.com/plandesign/WIETF 

 
To File a Claim: 
www.securian.com/benefits 

Vision Benefit 
 

 
Address: 
Vision Service Plan 
Attn: Client Administrative Services, MS 229 
PO Box 997100 
Sacramento, CA 95899-9986 

Address for direct pay premiums: 
Vision Service Plan 
PO Box 740260 
Los Angeles, CA 90074-0260 

UW System employees: uwsystem.vspforme.com/review 
STAR agency employees: staractives.vspforme.com 
All other employees: stateofwiemployees.vspforme.com 
Retirees: stateofwiretirees.vspforme.com 
Find a provider: vsp.com/go/voluntary-find-doctor-location.html 
Phone: 1-800-400-4569 Mon-Fri: 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Central Time 

mailto:ETFcustomerservice@deltadentalwi.com
http://www.deltadentalwi.com/state-of-wi
mailto:madisonbranch@securian.com
http://secure-web.cisco.com/1SVj4kxEZvomDBvJowa8lianWNet2vlGwIYbOv_sq6efRt8VihBeUY8GZqzUYdAEBUTCSSFupAuaVr0-OVDKsj7Pba9o7DFkeMey1pBZuCkkIamJZAg_ZXNT70dTdFdfBei-egSwGNiPi414Om4MOaZ8zoIyHEhoCHcI3Oe_rT6WOBoC61HldfOR7QjTBi2HQHJ_5zHPjQfX3tinSIR_mTxYLOVqSMr3a5dcsiKyDgZ0AJg0oDxgUNnxB-yfKOiOn/http%3A%2F%2Fwww.LifeBenefits.com%2Fplandesign%2FWIETF
http://www.securian.com/benefits
https://uwsystem.vspforme.com/review
https://staractives.vspforme.com/
https://stateofwiemployees.vspforme.com/
https://stateofwiretirees.vspforme.com/
https://www.vsp.com/go/voluntary-find-doctor-location.html
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Nondiscrimination and Language Access 
45 C.F.R. § 92.8(b)(1) and (d)(1) 

ETF complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and 
does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national 
origin, age, disability or sex. 

ETF provides free aids and services to people with 
disabilities to communicate effectively with us, such as 
qualified sign language interpreters and written information 
in other formats (large print, audio, accessible electronic 
formats and others). ETF provides free language services 
to people whose primary language is not English, such as 
qualified interpreters and information written in other 
languages. 
If you need these services, contact ETF at 1-877-533-
5020; TTY: 711.If you believe that ETF has failed to 
provide these services or discriminated in another way on 
the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability or 
sex, you can file a grievance with: 

ETF Office of Policy, Privacy & Compliance 
P.O. Box 7931 
Madison, WI 53707-7931 
1-877-533-5020; TTY: 711
Fax: 608-267-4549
Email: ETFSMBPrivacyOfficer@etf.wi.gov

If you need help filing a grievance, ETF’s Office of Policy, 
Privacy & Compliance is available to help you. You can 
also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Office for Civil Rights, 
electronically through the Office for Civil Rights Complaint 
Portal at crportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf or by mail or 
phone: 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
200 Independence Avenue, SW 
Room 509F, HHH Building 
Washington, D.C. 20201 

1-800-368-1019; 1-800-537-7697 (TDD)

Complaint forms are available at 
hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html. 

The Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds is a 
state agency that administers the Wisconsin Retirement 
System pension, health insurance and other benefits 
offered to eligible government employees, former 
employees and retirees.

Spanish – ATENCIÓN: si habla español, tiene a su 
disposición servicios gratuitos de asistencia lingüística. Llame 
al 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 711). 
Hmong – LUS CEEV: Yog tias koj hais lus Hmoob, cov kev 
pab txog lus, muaj kev pab dawb rau koj. Hu rau 1-877-533-
5020  
(TTY: 711). 

Chinese– 注意：如果您使用繁體中文，您可以免費獲得

語言援助服務。請致電 1-877-533-5020        
（TTY：711） 

German – ACHTUNG: Wenn Sie Deutsch sprechen, stehen 
Ihnen kostenlos sprachliche Hilfsdienstleistungen zur 
Verfügung. Rufnummer: 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 711). 

 متاحة مساعدة خدمة فھناك العربیة، اللغة تتحدث كنت إذا: ملاحظة
 بالرقم اتصل: مصاریف أي دون بلغتك

 )711: والبكم الصم خدمة( 5020-533-877-1
Russian – ВНИМАНИЕ: Если вы говорите на русском 
языке, то вам доступны бесплатные услуги перевода. 
Звоните 1-877-533-5020 (телетайп: 711). 

Korean – 주의: 한국어를 사용하시는 경우, 언어 지원

서비스를 무료로 이용하실 수 있습니다.       

1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 711)번으로 전화해 주십시오.

Vietnamese – CHÚ Ý: Nếu bạn nói Tiếng Việt, có các dịch 
vụ hỗ trợ ngôn ngữ miễn phí dành cho bạn. Gọi số     
1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 711).

Pennsylvania Dutch – Wann du [Deitsch (Pennsylvania 
German / Dutch)] schwetzscht, kannscht du mitaus Koschte 
ebber gricke, ass dihr helft mit die englisch Schprooch. Ruf 
selli Nummer uff: Call 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 711). 

Laotian/Lao – ໂປດຊາບ: ຖ້າວ່າ ທ່ານເວົ ້ າພາສາ ລາວ, ການບໍ
ລິ ການຊ່ວຍເຫຼື ອດ້ານພາສາ, ໂດຍບໍ່ ເສັຽຄ່າ, ແມ່ນມີ ພ້ອມໃຫ້
ທ່ານ. ໂທຣ 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 711). 

French – ATTENTION : Si vous parlez français, des 
services d'aide linguistique vous sont proposés gratuitement. 
Appelez le 1-877-533-5020 (ATS : 711). 

Polish – UWAGA: Jeżeli mówisz po polsku, możesz 
skorzystać z bezpłatnej pomocy językowej. Zadzwoń pod 
numer 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 711). 

Hindi – �ान द�:  यिद आप िहदंी बोलते ह� तो आपके �लए मु� म� 
भाषा सहायता सेवाएं उपल� ह�। 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 
711) पर कॉल कर�।

Albanian – KUJDES: Nëse flitni shqip, për ju ka në 
dispozicion shërbime të asistencës gjuhësore, pa pagesë. 
Telefononi në 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 711). 

Tagalog – PAUNAWA: Kung nagsasalita ka ng Tagalog, 
maaari kang gumamit ng mga serbisyo ng tulong sa wika 
nang walang bayad. Tumawag sa 1-877-533-5020 (TTY: 
711). 

Arabic – 
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