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This Brochure is Your Certificate of Participation. 

Read this brochure carefully. It provides a description of your group 
term life insurance protection and is your certificate of participation, 
provided that a valid enrollment form is on file with the Department 
of Employee Trust Funds and premiums are being paid. You are 
responsible for reviewing your payroll records and statements of 
fringe benefits regularly to be sure that premiums are being properly 
deducted. Discrepancies should be reported to your employer 
immediately. Coverage may lapse if the required premiums go unpaid 
for 60 days. 

Whenever the insurance program is modified substantially, revised 
copies of this brochure will be made available. Keep this brochure in a 
safe place with your other important papers. 

Every effort has been made to assure that the information in this 
booklet is accurate. In the event of conflicting information, state or 
federal statutes, state insurance contracts, and the policies and 
provisions established by the State of Wisconsin Group Insurance
Board shall be followed. In the event of any discrepancies between the 
policy and this booklet, the policy shall be followed. 

Please note that the most updated version of this booklet can be 
found online at https://etf.wi.gov/publications/et2101/direct. 

https://etf.wi.gov/publications/et2101/direct
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1 
INTRODUCTION 

The Wisconsin Public Employers Group Life Insurance Program
(the Program) is a benefit provided under the Wisconsin Retirement 
System and is available to employees of the State of Wisconsin and 
employees of participating Wisconsin local government employers. 
The Program is governed under Chapter 40 of the Wisconsin State 
Statutes, Wisconsin Administrative Code and the life insurance policy 
between the Wisconsin Group Insurance Board and Securian Financial 
Group, Inc. (Securian Financial). The Wisconsin Group Insurance 
Board is the policyholder and is responsible for Program oversight.
The Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds (ETF) has overall 
responsibility for administration of the Program. Securian Financial and 
its affiliate, Minnesota Life Insurance Company, underwrite and assist 
ETF with administration of the Program. 

2 
ELIGIBILITY 

You may enroll if your employer participates in the Program, 
you are an eligible employee in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes 
40.02(25)(a) or (c), whether full time or part time, and you are under age 
70. You may enroll if you are included under a private pension plan 
with a participating local government employer. 

Any blind employee qualifying under Wisconsin Statutes 
40.02(25)(a)(3) is eligible. 

Employees who reach age 70 before becoming eligible for 
coverage may be insured only under the Additional Plan if their 
employer offers the plan, if the employee provides evidence of 
insurability satisfactory to Securian Financial. 

Rehired annuitants who have continued coverage during 
retirement, who subsequently return to employment as a WRS 
participating employee in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes 
40.02(46), may choose between retaining the annuitant coverage or 
enrolling for coverage as an eligible employee for the plans available 
through the employee’s employer. 

An employee who returns to work as an eligible employee with 
the same employer within 30 days after termination of employment or 
after a leave of absence without earnings, during which time coverage 
lapsed, is eligible to apply for the plans and amounts in effect prior to 
termination or leave of absence, except plans that have been cancelled 
by the employee. 
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3 
ENROLLMENT 

A. Enrollment When First Eligible 
If you are under age 70, you may obtain coverage by completing an 

application provided by your employer. Applications must be submitted 
within 30 days of hire. 

B. Enrollment Upon Return from Leave of Absence
If you return to employment after a leave of absence without

earnings, during which time coverage lapsed, you may enroll without
evidence of insurability for the plans of insurance in effect prior
to your leave. You also may apply for any new coverage that your
employer made available to all employees for the first time during
your leave. You may not enroll in any plan which you previously
declined or cancelled. Your application must be submitted within 30
days of your return to work. 

C. Enrollment for Change in Employment Class
A change in employment class or a change in appointment does

not provide you with an open enrollment unless the change resulted 
from a termination of employment. However, if you have a change in
employment class that requires your employer to provide you with
100% employer-paid coverage under its employment contract for an
entire employment class, you will be eligible for an open enrollment
only for the plans that are 100% employer paid. You will have 30
days to enroll from the date you became eligible for 100% employer
paid coverage. 

D. Enrollment Due to Family Status Change Event 
You may enroll in Basic coverage, or increase your employee 

coverage by one level, and enroll in one or two units of Spouse and 
Dependent coverage without evidence of insurability if application is 
made within 30 days of gaining a dependent as defined in ETF 10.01(2) 
due to one of the following: 
1. the date of the employee’s marriage or 
2. the date of birth, adoption, placement for adoption, or award of 

legal guardianship of a dependent child. 
You may only enroll in coverage levels offered by your employer;

if you already have all the coverage offered, you do not have an
enrollment opportunity. 
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E. Enrollment Under Evidence Of Insurability
If you do not enroll for all available coverage within 30 days of first

becoming eligible, or within 30 days of a family status change event,
as described above, you may obtain coverage by providing Securian
Financial with satisfactory evidence of insurability. The Evidence of
Insurability Application form (ET-2305) must be received by Securian
Financial prior to your 70th birthday for the Basic and Supplemental
Plans of insurance. However, the Evidence of Insurability Application
may be received by Securian Financial at any age for the Additional Plan. 

Employees who become an eligible employee at age 70 or later
are not eligible for the Basic or Supplemental Plans. They are eligible
to apply for the Additional Plan but are required to provide evidence
of insurability. 

The Evidence of Insurability Application form is available from 
your employer and on ETF’s internet site at http://etf.wi.gov. You and 
your employer will receive written notice when the coverage becomes 
effective or if it is denied. Securian Financial may contest payment of 
any benefit for up to two years after coverage begins. 

F. Effective Date of Insurance 
Your insurance becomes effective, if you are an eligible employee 

and have filed an application in accordance with the enrollment 
provisions described above, on the first day of the month following 30 
days from the date of hire, the first day of the month following 30 days 
from return from an approved leave of absence, or the first day of the 
month following 30 days from the date of the qualifying family status 
change event, whichever is applicable. 

For claims purposes, an employee’s election date will be the point 
of reference for providing coverage and paying claims. Election date 
is the date of online enrollment or the date the paper application is 
received by the employer, but not earlier than the date of hire, the date 
of the qualifying family status change event, or the return to work date, 
whichever is applicable. 

Insurance shall not become effective if the applicant is no longer an
employee of a participating employer on the insurance effective date. 

4 
AMOUNT OF LIFE INSURANCE DURING ACTIVE EMPLOYMENT 

When you first become insured through your current employer,
your amount of insurance is an estimate determined by your
employer. The estimate is based on the employer’s projection
of your earnings for the next twelve months rounded to the next
higher $1,000 if not already an even $1,000. On the January 1 that
immediately follows the date you became insured, the amount of 
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insurance is based on the higher of the estimated earnings or the
actual earnings in the previous calendar year. On each January 1
thereafter your insurance amount will be based on your highest prior
calendar year’s actual earnings with your current employer. 

“Earnings” means the total salary or wages paid to you by your 
employer during the previous calendar year. This includes deferred 
compensation, tax shelter arrangements and allowances provided for 
you in lieu of money. For employers that provide employees a private 
pension plan, “earnings” has the same meaning as above and are 
reported by your employer to Securian Financial. 

Each local government employer is a separate employer
and the State of Wisconsin is considered one employer for life
insurance purposes. 

If your earnings increase above the current level of coverage, your 
insurance coverage will increase January 1 of the following year. If your 
earnings decrease, your insurance coverage will not decrease unless 
you request a reduction of insurance in writing or unless your calendar 
year earnings after one full year of employment are less than the 
coverage amount that was based on the prior year’s estimate. 

Basic Plan 
Except as provided above, under the Basic Plan you will have 

insurance equal to the earnings paid to you by your employer during 
the previous calendar year rounded to the next higher $1,000. 

If you are employed when you reach age 70, your premiums 
will be discontinued and the amount of your Basic insurance will be 
adjusted as shown in the Continuing Coverage Table in Section 14. The 
adjustments shown in the Continuing Coverage Table do not apply to 
employees under age 70. 

When the governing body of an employer adopts a resolution to 
participate in the Program and makes insurance available for the first 
time to its employees, eligible employees who are age 70 and older on 
the effective date of the Basic Plan, will receive an amount of insurance 
equal to the final reduced amount provided in the Continuing Coverage 
Table in Section 14. 

Supplemental Plan 
You must have Basic coverage and your employer must participate 

in the Supplemental Plan to be eligible for the Supplemental Plan. This 
plan provides life insurance coverage in addition to the Basic Plan at 
one times your previous year’s earnings, rounded to the next higher 
$1,000. If you are employed when you reach age 70, your premiums 
will stop and your Supplemental insurance coverage will terminate. 

If you have continued the Supplemental Plan following termination 
of employment or retirement, coverage will end at age 65. 
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Additional Plan 
You must have Basic coverage and your employer must participate 

in the Additional Plan to be eligible for the Additional Plan. This plan 
provides life insurance in addition to the Basic Plan at up to three times 
your prior year’s earnings. If you are employed when you reach age 
70, your coverage will continue until you terminate employment, cancel 
coverage or stop paying premiums, whichever is earliest. If you have 
continued the Additional Plan following termination of employment or 
retirement, coverage will end at age 65. 

When the governing body of an employer adopts a resolution to 
participate in the Additional Plan and makes it available for the first 
time to all its employees, eligible employees who are age 70 and older 
on the effective date of the Additional Plan are required to provide 
evidence of insurability satisfactory to Securian Financial, if they wish 
to enroll in the Additional Plan. 

The Additional Plan does not include waiver of premium or 
accidental death and dismemberment benefits for insureds who are 
age 70 and older. 

5 
COST OF INSURANCE 

Cost To You 
Your monthly premiums are determined as of April 1 of each year 

if you are a state employee and as of July 1 of each year if you are a 
local government employee, based on your age on that date and your 
amount of insurance. The monthly rates for Basic, Supplemental and 
Additional insurance are available from your employer, ETF or Securian 
Financial. Rates could change annually. You can also find current 
premium rates (ET-2164) on ETF’s Internet site at http://etf.wi.gov. 

Premiums are due for each month during which your group 
coverage is in force beginning on the first day of the month following 
30 days from the date of hire. When an insured retiree turns age 65 
no premiums will be deducted from the insured’s annuity. If you are 
between age 65 and age 69 when you retire, your last premium is due 
for the month in which you retire. 

Cost To Your Employer 
Basic Plan 

If you are a state employee, your employer pays an additional 
65.25 percent of the employee Basic premium. If you are a local 
government employee whose employer has chosen to provide 
continued post- retirement coverage at the 50 percent-of-Basic level, 
your employer pays an additional 40 percent of the employee Basic 
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premium. All other employers pay an additional 20 percent of the 
employee Basic premium. This provides post-retirement coverage at 
the 25 percent-of-Basic level. The employer’s cost is authorized by the 
Group Insurance Board and is subject to change. 

Supplemental Plan 
If you are a state employee, your employer pays an additional 37.25 

percent of the employee Supplemental rate. No employer contribution 
is required of local government employers. 

Additional and Spouse and Dependent Plans 
No employer contribution is required. Employees pay the full cost 

of coverage. 

6 
ACCIDENTAL DEATH, DISMEMBERMENT 

AND LOSS OF USE INSURANCE 

A. Benefits 
The amount of Accidental Death, Dismemberment, and Loss of 

Use (AD&D) coverage is equal to the total amount of your insurance 
under the Basic, Supplemental and Additional coverages. This amount 
of coverage is also referred to as the “Principal Sum.” Payment of 
benefits under the Accidental Death, Dismemberment and Loss of Use 
coverage is in addition to any payment under the Basic, Supplemental 
and Additional coverages. If you suffer more than one of the losses 
listed below in Coverages A and B because of any one accident, 
payment will be made only for the loss for which the largest amount is 
payable, but not more than the Principal Sum. If you receive payment 
for a loss under this policy and later incur another loss, payment will 
be made for that loss regardless of any previous loss. However, under 
no circumstances will more than one payment be made for the loss or 
loss of use of the same limb(s), or part thereof, or member(s). 

This coverage continues while your insurance is in force and you are: 
•	 employed and under age 70, or 
•	 retired and under age 65, or 
•	 on a disability waiver of premium. 
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Coverage A – Loss Of Life, Limb Or Sight 
Loss Benefit Payment 
Life Principal sum 
Two or more members Principal sum 
One member One-half of principal sum 
Thumb and index finger on same hand One-fourth of principal sum 

“Member” means hand, foot or eye. Loss of hand or foot means 
actual severance through or above the wrist or ankle joint. Loss of 
sight means the entire and irrecoverable loss of sight. Loss of thumb 
and index finger means actual severance through or above the 
metacarpophalangeal (close to the palm of the hand) joint. Above the 
wrist and metacarpophalangeal joints means towards the elbow; above 
the ankle joint means towards the knee. 

Benefits for loss of life will be paid to your beneficiary. Benefits for 
any other loss will be paid to you. 

Coverage B – Permanent And Total Loss Of Use 
Loss Benefit Payment 
Each hand or foot from wrist or ankle One-fourth of principal sum 
Each arm or leg from shoulder or hip. One-half of principal sum 

Permanent and total loss of use means the permanent and 
total loss of the ability to function because of incurable paralysis or 
stiffening. The requirements of your occupation or profession are not 
considered when determining your right to this benefit. Permanent and 
total loss of use of arm or leg means the permanent and total loss of 
use to the entire arm or leg, including loss of use of the attached hand 
or foot. 

B. Requirements 
For payment of AD&D benefits under Coverages A and B, your 

injury and loss must: 
1. Result from a bodily injury which was unintended, unexpected 

and unforeseen, as shown by a visible contusion or wound on the 
exterior of the body (except in the case of drowning). 

2. Be suffered through external, violent and accidental means. 
3. Be the direct result of that injury. 
4. Be independent of all other causes. 
5. Occur within one year of the date of the accident. 
6. Occur while your coverage is in force. 
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C. Limitations 
In no event will the AD&D benefit be paid where the loss is caused 

directly or indirectly by, results from, or there is contribution from, any 
of the following: 
1. Self-inflicted injury or self-destruction, whether sane or insane. 
2. Suicide or attempted suicide, whether sane or insane. 
3. Participation in or attempt to commit a crime, assault, or felony. 
4. Bodily or mental infirmity, illness or disease. 
5. The use of alcohol, drugs, medications, poisons, gases, fumes or 

other substances taken, absorbed, inhaled, ingested or injected, 
unless taken upon the advice of a licensed physician in the 
verifiable prescribed manner and dosage. 

6. Motor vehicle collision or accident where the employee is the 
operator of the motor vehicle and the employee’s blood alcohol 
level meets or exceeds the level at which intoxication is defined in 
the state where the collision or accident occurred, regardless of 
the outcome of any legal proceedings connected thereto. 

7. Infection, other than infection occurring simultaneously with, and 
as a direct result of, the accidental injury. 

8. Medical or surgical treatment or diagnostic procedures or any 
resulting complications. 

9. Travel in or descent from any aircraft, except as a fare-paying 
passenger on a regularly scheduled commercial flight on a 
licensed passenger aircraft carrier, or except for an employee 
who is a pilot, crew member or passenger on an aircraft owned, 
operated or leased by a state or local government employer and 
being used for business of that employer. 

10. War or any act of war, whether declared or undeclared. 

D. Notice And Proof Of Injury 
A claim form for Accidental Dismemberment Total and Permanent 

Loss of Use or Loss of Sight should be requested directly from
Securian Financial. 

This form or written notice of an injury on which a claim may 
be based, must be given to Securian Financial within 30 days 
after the accident causing the loss unless it is shown not to have 
been reasonably possible to give such notice prior to the date it is 
presented. Instructions for filing a proof of loss will accompany the 
claim form. Securian Financial may require a claimant to be examined 
at Securian Financial’s expense while a claim is pending. 
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7 
SPOUSE AND DEPENDENT COVERAGE 

Definitions 
“Spouse” means your lawful husband or wife. 
“Dependent” means your children, including natural children, 

stepchildren, adopted children, legal wards and children in adoptive 
placement under Wis. Stats. §48.837(1). Children are eligible from live 
birth (stillborn and unborn children are not eligible) to the attainment 
of age 26. A child who is age 26 or older is also eligible if he or she 
is incapable of self-support because of a physical or mental disability 
which is expected to be of a long-continued and indefinite duration. 

Eligibility 
You must have the Basic Plan or file an application for Basic 

coverage at the same time you apply for the Spouse and Dependent 
coverage. Also, you must be an eligible employee under age 70 and 
your employer must offer this plan as part of its benefits program. 

Enrollment for Spouse and Dependent Coverage 
An eligible employee may enroll without evidence of insurability for 

Spouse and Dependent insurance by filing an application provided by 
ETF which must be received by the employer within 30 days after: 
1. The date the employee first qualifies with that employer as an 

eligible employee under Wisconsin Statutes 40.02(25)(a) or (c) 
provided the employee enrolls in the Basic Plan; or 

2. One of the following changes: 
a. The date of the employee’s marriage, 
b. The date of birth, adoption, placement for adoption, or award 

of legal guardianship of a dependent child; or 
3. The date an employee returns to work as an eligible employee

of a participating employer if within 30 days of terminating
employment or after a leave of absence without earnings, during
which time coverage lapsed. The employee may enroll only for
the plans of coverage that were in effective prior to termination or
leave of absence, unless coverage was previously cancelled by
the employee. 
You may only enroll in coverage levels offered by your employer;

if you already have all the coverage offered, you do not have an
enrollment opportunity. 
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Evidence of Insurability for Spouse and Dependent 
Evidence of insurability is required if you enroll or increase 

coverage after the enrollment period ends. 
If you cancel your coverage because you no longer have an 

eligible spouse or dependent, you may re-enroll without evidence of 
insurability within 30 days of a qualifying family status change event. 

Effective Date of Insurance 
If an eligible employee enrolls for Spouse and Dependent coverage 

on an application in accordance with the enrollment provisions in 
this section, the effective date of insurance shall be the first day of 
the month following 30 days from the date of hire, the first day of 
the month following 30 days from return from an approved leave of 
absence, or the first day of the month following 30 days from the date 
of the qualifying family status change event, whichever is applicable. 

For a spouse who is required to submit evidence of insurability the 
effective date of insurance is the first of the month following the date 
the application is approved by Securian Financial. For claims purposes, 
the approval date will be the point of reference for providing coverage 
and paying claims. 

Insurance shall not become effective if the applicant is no longer 
an employee of a participating employer or if the applicant is no longer 
a spouse or dependent of an employee on the insurance effective date. 

Amount of Coverage 
If you meet eligibility requirements, you may apply for one or two 

units of Spouse and Dependent term life insurance. You may not 
elect more than two units of coverage even if you are employed by 
more than one participating employer. However, you and your spouse 
may both elect Spouse and Dependent coverage if both employers 
offer it. There is no Accidental Death, Dismemberment or Loss of 
Use coverage in the Spouse and Dependent Plan. The amounts of 
coverage under each unit may be subject to changes made by the 
Group Insurance Board. 

1 Unit Spouse $10,000 
Each Dependent Child 5,000 

2 Units Spouse $20,000 
Each Dependent Child 10,000 
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Cost of Insurance 
The monthly cost for each unit of Spouse and Dependent life

insurance is a set dollar amount. The cost is the same for each unit of 
coverage regardless of the age or number of family members you have
to insure. Contact ETF, your employer, or Securian Financial for current
premium information. You can also find current premium information on
the Life Insurance Rates form (ET-2164) on ETF’s Internet site at http://etf. 
wi.gov. 

Coverage During Disability 
If you become disabled as explained in Section 9, “Disability 

Waiver of Premium Benefit,” you can continue Spouse and Dependent 
life insurance coverage until age 65 without premium payments, as 
long as your disability continues and you continue to be covered under 
the Basic Plan. 

Coverage During An Approved Leave Of Absence, Layoff, Or While 
Appealing A Discharge 

Spouse and Dependent coverage may be continued during any 
approved leave of absence or layoff subject to the conditions specified 
in Section 10, “Coverage During Leave of Absence”, or while employee 
is appealing a dismissal, subject to the conditions specified in Section 
11, “While Appealing A Dismissal”. 

Conversion To An Individual Policy 
When coverage on your insured spouse or dependent child 

terminates, he or she may convert to an individual policy. The 
application for conversion and first premium payment must be 
received by Securian Financial within 31 days after the insured is no 
longer eligible for coverage under the group policy. Failure to obtain 
an application for conversion does not extend the conversion period.
In the event of your death, your spouse and dependent(s) will have 90 
days from the date of your death to convert. Spouse and Dependent 
coverage must have been in effect for the entire six-month period 
preceding termination of coverage. You may obtain the conversion 
application (ET-2306) from your employer, ETF, Securian Financial, 
or ETF’s Internet site at http://etf.wi.gov. Completed applications for 
conversion should be sent to Securian Financial. 

Termination Of Coverage 
Insurance on any spouse or dependent shall terminate 

automatically on the earliest of the following dates: 
1. The last day of the calendar month in which the employee 

terminates employment; or 
2. The date the employee meets any of the conditions specified in 

Section 13, “Termination of Employee’s Insurance,” or reaches age 
70; or 
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3. For an individual whose premiums are waived under the section 
entitled Section 9, “Disability Waiver of Premium Benefit,” the date 
the individual reaches age 65; or 

4. The last day of the calendar month in which the employer 
receives a written notice of cancellation of this insurance from 
the employee. The notice must be on a form provided by ETF. A 
notice of cancellation may be withdrawn only by a written request 
to the employer or ETF which is received prior to the termination of 
coverage; or 

5. For a dependent, the date of qualification for insurance as an 
eligible employee under Wisconsin Statutes 40.02(25); or 

6. For a spouse, the date a divorce decree is entered; or 
7. Ninety days after the death of the employee; or 
8. For a dependent other than one described in (10) below, upon 

reaching age 26; or
9. For a dependent incapable of self-support due to a physical or 

mental disability which can be expected to be of long-continued 
or indefinite duration who would not otherwise be eligible, the date 
disability ceases; or 

10. The date this coverage is terminated. 

Insurance coverage shall be considered lapsed if an employee who 
is receiving earnings fails to make required premium payments during 
a consecutive 60-day period, commencing with the first day for which 
premiums have not been paid, except where the employer has elected 
to pay the entire premium for all its employees. Cancellation under this 
provision shall not preclude the employee from obtaining life insurance 
coverage after the 60 days have elapsed, if premiums were omitted as 
a result of employer payroll deduction error and all past due premiums 
are paid. 

Cancellation Of Coverage 
You should cancel your Spouse and Dependent coverage as soon 

as you no longer have a spouse or eligible dependent to insure by 
filing a Life Insurance Application/Cancellation/Refusal form (ET-2304) 
with your employer. If you delay filing a cancellation, a refund of your 
premiums is limited to the current year and the immediately preceding 
calendar year. 

Beneficiary 
You (the employee) are the beneficiary in the event of the death

of your spouse or dependent. In the case of simultaneous deaths of
you and your spouse or dependent child, payment will be made to 
your estate. 
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Payment Of Benefits At Death 
Upon the death of an insured spouse or dependent, contact your 

employer’s payroll and benefits office to report the death. They will 
assist you in completing the proper form for reporting the death of the 
insured and will submit it to Securian Financial. 

8 
BENEFITS PAYABLE DURING YOUR LIFETIME 

Living Benefits 
If you are an insured person, employee, annuitant, spouse, or 

dependent, you may apply to receive all or part of the value of your 
life insurance coverage while still living, provided you are diagnosed 
with a terminal condition caused by illness or injury and have a life 
expectancy of 12 months or less. 

The benefit amount must be equal to an amount provided under 
a plan of insurance or a multiple of plans. You may request a Living 
Benefit more than once, provided you have not exhausted all your 
coverage. In no event are you allowed to claim more benefits than 
the amount for which you are insured. Any value remaining at death 
will be paid to your beneficiary(ies), or to you if the coverage is the 
Spouse and Dependent Plan. Living Benefits may be taxable to the 
recipient as regular income in the year of payment. 

The amount of life insurance eligible for a living benefit payment 
shall be the total amount of insurance in force on the life of the insured 
on the date Securian Financial receives the application for a living 
benefit payment. 

An eligible insured may request the payment of a living benefit
by completing the Application for Living Benefits form (ET-2322). The
insured’s life insurance must be in force and all required premiums must
have been fully paid. Medical evidence will be requested by Securian
Financial after you file the application. Securian Financial’s determination
regarding the applicant’s eligibility for the living benefit is final. 

The request for a living benefit must be voluntary. A living benefit 
is not intended to cause the insured to involuntarily reduce the death 
proceeds ultimately payable to the named beneficiary. Therefore: 
1. If the insured is required by law to use this option to meet the 

claims of creditors, whether in bankruptcy or otherwise, the 
insured is not eligible for this benefit. 

2. If the insured is required by a government agency to use this 
option in order to apply for, obtain or keep a government benefit or 
entitlement, the insured is not eligible for this benefit. 
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Upon receipt of satisfactory evidence of the insured’s qualifying 
condition as defined in this section, Securian Financial will pay the 
living benefit to the insured subject to Wisconsin Statutes 40.08 (9) and 
(9m) and applicable ETF Wisconsin Administrative Code. If the insured 
dies, any remaining life insurance that remains in force will be paid to 
the insured’s beneficiary. 

For more information about Living Benefits, contact ETF for a 
Living Benefits brochure (ET-2327) or contact Securian Financial for an 
Application for Living Benefits form (ET-2323). Information can also be 
found on ETF’s website at http://etf.wi.gov. 

Conversion To Pay Health or Long-Term Care Insurance Premiums 
If you have health or long-term care insurance through ETF and 

your life insurance has been reduced to its final amount, you may elect 
to use the present value of your life insurance to pay premiums for your 
health or long-term care insurance. Note: Long term care coverage 
through ETF is available to state employees only. To be eligible, 
you must be at your final insurance reduction age as shown in the 
Continuing Coverage Table in Section 14. If you are a state employee 
you must also exhaust your accumulated sick leave before converting 
your life insurance to pay for health insurance premiums through the 
conversion program. 

In exchange for payment of health or long-term care insurance 
premiums, you give up the death benefit that would otherwise be 
payable to your beneficiaries. You also give up the difference between 
the face value and present value of your life insurance coverage. The 
election is permanent and cannot be withdrawn. 

Contact ETF to receive a brochure (ET-2325) about the program. 
You may also obtain one on ETF’s Internet site at http://etf.wi.gov. If 
you are eligible for conversion now, or will be eligible within the next 12 
months, you may request an application (ET-2324). You will receive an 
estimate of the amount available to you under the conversion program 
along with your application form. 

9 
DISABILITY WAIVER OF PREMIUM BENEFIT 

This benefit provides for continued coverage without further 
payment of premiums for an employee who becomes totally disabled 
while insured under this policy and prior to attaining age 70. 
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Definition of Disability 
An insured employee must be totally disabled if, as a result of 

bodily injury or disease, he or she is wholly prevented from performing 
any work or engaging in any occupation for remuneration or profit 
and is likely to remain so disabled for an indefinite period of time. 
The employee is required to submit medical evidence acceptable to 
Securian Financial showing the date that total disability began or was 
diagnosed and that the employee is totally disabled from any gainful 
occupation and is likely to remain disabled for an indefinite period. 

An employee shall also be deemed to be disabled for the purposes 
of this policy if the employee has qualified for a disability annuity under 
Wis. Stats. §40.63 for as long as the insured qualifies for a disability 
annuity. Further proof of disability shall not be required while the 
insured qualifies for disability annuity benefits. 

An employee is ineligible for a waiver of premium if employment 
was terminated for reasons other than disability. 

Filing a Disability Waiver of Premium Claim 
A claim for waiver of premium must be submitted to Securian

Financial on a form provided by ETF within 36 calendar months after the
last day for which earnings are paid. Insured employees who are on a
leave of absence are eligible to submit a claim if they become disabled
as defined in this section during the leave of absence and insurance is
in force. 

If the claim is approved, the effective date of the premium waiver 
will be the first of the month following the date the disability began, or 
the date the employee is no longer receiving earnings or other earned 
income from any gainful occupation, whichever is later. 

An insured employee will be granted a waiver of premium only if 
he or she becomes totally disabled as defined above while coverage 
is in force at the time the disability commences and prior to age 70. 
Coverage must have been in force continuously from the date of onset 
of the disability to the date the waiver of premium is approved. 

The employer must continue to remit premiums for employer-paid 
coverage and the employee must continue to remit premium payments 
for all amounts of employee-paid coverage until Securian Financial 
approves the claim. Premiums that were paid after the effective date 
of the premium waiver will be refunded. The insurance shall remain in 
force while the premiums are waived. Insurance shall continue during 
the continuance of disability even if the person insured ceases to be an 
employee of a participating employer. 

Except for those who qualified for a disability annuity benefit as 
described above, the employee shall submit proof of disability to 
Securian Financial at Securian Financial’s request. Securian Financial 
shall also have the right and opportunity to have medical examiners 
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designated by Securian Financial examine the employee when and as 
often as it may reasonably require during the employee’s disability, 
but not more than once each year after insurance has been extended 
under this section. 

Amount of Insurance 
During the period of disability in which premiums are waived, the 

amount of insurance shall be the same as the amount of insurance 
at the date of onset of the disability. If an employee’s insurance is 
continued in force under this section, any Spouse and Dependent life 
insurance shall also continue in force without payment of premium. 

For purposes of determining the amount of post-retirement 
coverage, it shall be assumed that a person insured under a waiver 
or premium retires upon attainment of age 65. The amount of Basic 
Insurance shall then be reduced according to the “Continuing 
Coverage Table” in section 14 entitled “Maintaining Coverage After You 
Terminate Employment” and in accordance with Wis. Stats. §40.72(2) 
and (3). All other insurance will terminate upon the date the insured 
reaches age 65 if it has not already terminated or been cancelled. 

If the insured dies while waiver of premium is In effect and while
remaining continuously disabled, then upon due proof of death, Securian
Financial will pay the amount of insurance in force to the beneficiary. 

Termination of a Disability Waiver of Premium Benefit 
If the insured employee is receiving a disability annuity benefit 

as provided under Wis. Stats. §40.63, premiums shall be waived for 
all insurance under this section until the date the insured’s disability 
annuity is terminated, unless the insured submits proof of disability to 
Securian Financial. 

However, if the insured employee attains age 65 while receiving a 
disability annuity benefit, the waiver of premium ends and the insured 
may qualify to be covered as provided in Section 14, “Maintaining 
Coverage After You Terminate Employment”. 
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If the insured is not receiving a disability annuity benefit, then 
premiums shall be waived for all insurance under this section until the 
earliest of: 
1. The date the insured is able to return to gainful occupation; or 
2. 60 days after a request by Securian Financial for an examination 

or proof of disability if the insured refuses to be examined as 
required above or fails to furnish proof of continued total disability, 
unless it can be shown conclusively not to have been reasonably 
possible to undergo such examination or to provide such proof 
and Securian Financial’s request for an examination or proof is 
complied with as soon as reasonably possible; or 

3. The end of the month in which the employee’s insurance reduces 
in accordance with the Program. If eligible, the insured may then 
be covered under the Basic insurance as provided under the 
Continuing Coverage Table in Section 14, “Maintaining Coverage 
After You Terminate Employment.” 
If the extension of insurance without payment of premiums under 

this section is terminated because disability ceases, the employee 
shall be entitled to the rights and benefits under the section entitled 
“Conversion Privilege,” together with insurance protection during
the 31-day period allowed for conversion as if employment had then 
terminated, unless during that period the insured returns to work, 
continues to be on an approved leave of absence or qualifies for 
continuation of insurance as provided in Wis. Stats. §40.72(4). 

10 
COVERAGE DURING LEAVE OF ABSENCE 

An insured employee may continue insurance coverage during
any approved unpaid leave of absence for up to 36 months. Insurance
coverage may be continued beyond 36 months if the approved leave is a
union service leave as provided under Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 40. 

In order to continue the insurance in force during an approved
unpaid leave of absence, the employee must contact the employer
to make premium payments during the leave of absence. Premium
contributions must be paid in advance and each payment must be
received by the employer at least 31 days prior to the end of the period
for which premiums had previously been paid. 

The amount of insurance for an employee on an approved unpaid
leave of absence shall be the same as that in effect immediately
preceding the approved unpaid leave of absence. Initial coverage or
increased coverage will not be available during the unpaid leave of
absence. Premium may increase due to changes in the employee’s age
or premium rates during the unpaid leave of absence. 
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Insurance will lapse for employees who do not wish to continue
insurance in force or who do not make arrangements to pay premiums
during an unpaid leave of absence. 

An employee who returns from a leave of absence, during which
time coverage lapsed, as an eligible employee will have 30 days to apply
for the plans and amounts in effect prior to the leave of absence except
those plans that were cancelled. 

11 
WHILE APPEALING A DISMISSAL 

You may continue your coverage after being involuntarily 
discharged from your employment if you: 
1. Exercise a right of appeal of your removal or discharge within 30 

days after it occurs; and 
2. Pay premiums to your employer during the appeal process. The 

first premium payment must be made within 31 days of the date of 
the removal or discharge, and must include both the employee’s 
and employer’s share of the premium for a three-month period. 
You must continue to pay both parts of the premium in quarterly 
payments, which are due within 31 days of the last date for which 
premiums have been paid. 
If your appeal is successful, your employer will refund the 

payments you made for the employer’s share of the premium. If the 
appeal determination is adverse to you, coverage will terminate on the 
last day of the month in which the determination becomes final. Any 
premiums you paid for coverage after that date will be refunded to you. 

12 
CANCELLATION 

You may cancel your coverage at any time by submitting a Life 
Insurance Application/Cancellation/Refusal form (ET-2304) to your
employer. Coverage will cease at the end of the month in which your
employer receives your application to cancel. You may cancel one plan
and keep the others, but if you cancel your Basic coverage, all other 
coverages are automatically canceled. 

Annuitants who wish to cancel coverage should contact ETF 
to obtain a Life Insurance Application/Cancellation/Refusal form 
(ET-2304). The form is also available on ETF’s Internet site
at http://etf.wi.gov. 

If you cancel your coverage you will not be able to reinstate your 
coverage. To reenroll you will need to provide evidence of insurability. 
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13 
TERMINATION OF YOUR INSURANCE 

Your insurance will terminate on the earliest of the following dates: 
1. The last day of the calendar month in which you terminate 

employment with the state or a participating local government 
employer if this occurs before you become entitled to a disability 
waiver of premium benefit as provided under Section 9 or before 
you qualify for continuation of insurance as a retiree as provided in 
Section 14. 

2. Thirty days after the date of expiration of an authorized leave of 
absence for the period permitted in Section 10 of this booklet. 

3. The last day of the calendar month in which you file a cancellation 
of insurance with your employer, or ETF, if you are an annuitant. 

4. The date to which your premiums are paid if you fail to pay the 
required premiums within 30 days of such date while you are on 
unpaid leave as provided in Section 10, or while your coverage has 
continued as provided in Section 14. 

5. The date to which premiums are paid for continuing coverage 
provided in Section 14 after you have again become employed 
by a participating employer and enroll for coverage as an 
eligible employee. 

6. Your 70th birthday for the Supplemental and Spouse and 
Dependent Plans. 

7. The effective date of termination of the group policy by 
your employer. 
Insurance coverage shall be considered lapsed if you fail to make 

the required premium payments during a 60-day period which begins 
on the day following the last day for which premiums were paid. 

Unless cancelled or terminated as provided above, Supplemental 
and Additional Plans shall automatically terminate on the date the 
retired employee attains age 65. 

Accidental Death, Dismemberment and Loss of Use coverage 
will automatically terminate when an insured employee terminates 
employment or attains age 70, whichever is earlier. For insureds who 
retiree prior to age 65, coverage will automatically terminate at age 65. 
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14 
MAINTAINING COVERAGE AFTER YOU TERMINATE EMPLOYMENT 

A. Continuation Of Group Coverage 
You may continue your group life insurance after terminating 

employment, provided you meet the following requirements: 
1. Your WRS coverage began before January 1, 1990, or you have 

been covered by the group life insurance plan in five calendar 
years beginning January 1, 1990; and 

2. You qualify under one of the following situations: 
a. You are receiving an immediate WRS annuity or meet all of the 

requirements for receiving an immediate WRS annuity except 
the filing of an application; or 

b. The sum of the years of your creditable service in the WRS on 
January 1, 1990 plus your years of group life insurance coverage 
after 1989 equals 20 years; or 

c. You have 20 years of service on payroll with your last employer. 
If you begin a WRS annuity within 31 days after your coverage 

terminates, your insurance will be continued for you automatically. 
Premiums will be deducted from your annuity. If you do not begin an 
annuity, you must file a Continuation Application (ET-2154) with ETF 
within 31 days of the date coverage terminates. Securian Financial will 
bill you directly for your premiums. 

If you participate in your employer’s private pension plan, you may 
continue your group insurance after terminating employment provided 
you have 20 years of service with your last employer. 

If You Terminate Before Age 65 
The amount of your insurance will be the same as prior to 

termination or retirement. Premiums are calculated in the same manner 
as before and will automatically be deducted from your retirement 
annuity check, or you will be billed directly by Securian Financial. 

The Basic insurance will continue after age 65 without cost to 
you, subject to the Continuing Coverage Table below. However, the 
Accidental Death, Dismemberment and Loss of Use coverage as well 
as any Supplemental and Additional insurance coverage will terminate
at age 65. Spouse & Dependent coverage will terminate at the end of
the month that your employment ends. 

If You Terminate At Age 65 Or Later 
Your Basic insurance coverage will continue in a reduced amount 

for life, without cost to you, if you retire at age 65 or later. 
The amount of Basic insurance is shown on the Continuing 

Coverage Table below. Your Supplemental, Spouse & Dependent, and 
Accidental Death, Dismemberment and Loss of Use coverages will 
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terminate at the end of the month in which you retire, or attain age 70, 
whichever is earlier. Your Additional insurance will terminate when you 
terminate employment, cancel coverage, or stop paying premiums, 
whichever is earliest. 

Continuing Coverage Table 
Age Percent of Basic Coverage Continuing 

Before age 65 100% 
While age 65 75% 
While age 66 50% 
While age 67 and after 25%* 

* Applies only to employees of local government employers. Local government 
employers may, however, elect a continuation of 50 percent of the Basic coverage if 
they agree to make the increased employer contributions. State employee coverage 
continues at the 50 percent rate from age 66 and after. 

B. Conversion To An Individual Policy 
If your insurance is terminated under (1) or (2) of Section 13, 

“Termination Of Your Insurance,” and you are not eligible to continue 
group coverage, you may apply for an individual policy with Securian 
Financial. However, you must have been insured for the entire six 
months preceding termination of coverage. 

No evidence of insurability is required if the following terms are met: 
1. You apply for individual coverage that is less than or equal to the 

amount of group insurance coverage you had. 
2. You apply for the individual policy on a form provided by Securian 

Financial and pay the first premium within 31 days after your group 
insurance coverage terminates. 
Any spouse or dependent who is insured continuously for the 

entire six months preceding termination of coverage may apply to 
convert coverage to an individual policy with Securian Financial. The 
individual policy will be issued without evidence of insurability subject 
to the terms of this section. When termination of coverage is due to the 
death of the insured employee, written application and payment of the 
first premium must be received by Securian Financial within 90 days of 
the employee’s death. 

Insurance under the individual policy shall become effective at the 
end of the 31-day period during which application for the individual 
insurance may be made, provided the above terms are met. If the 
insured dies during that 31-day period, Securian Financial will pay your 
beneficiary the maximum amount of insurance for which the individual 
policy could have been issued, regardless of whether or not you 
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actually applied for conversion or paid the first premium. 
The individual policy is a type currently issued by Securian 

Financial but cannot be term insurance. This policy will not include a 
Waiver of Premium or Accidental Death and Dismemberment benefit. 
Application forms for this conversion (ET-2306) are available from 
your employer, on ETF’s internet site at http://etf.wi.gov, or Securian 
Financial. Failure to obtain an application for conversion does not 
extend the conversion period. 

15 
BENEFICIARY 

Beneficiaries shall be determined in accordance with Wisconsin 
Statutes §40.02(8) and §40.74. You may designate a beneficiary or 
change your beneficiary at any time by completing a form provided by 
ETF. Separate Beneficiary Designation forms (ET-2320) may be filed 
for WRS retirement and life insurance benefits. Benefits will be paid 
according to the last Beneficiary Designation on file with ETF at the 
time of your death. It is important to keep a copy of your Beneficiary 
Designation form and review it periodically. It is your responsibility 
to maintain a current and accurate Beneficiary Designation on file 
with ETF. If you do not designate a beneficiary or if the designated 
beneficiaries are not living at the time of your death, the sequence of 
beneficiaries will be as follows: 
1. Surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner. (“Domestic Partner”

means a person who meets the definition of domestic partner in
Wis. Stats. §40.02(21d) and for whom the employee has submitted
an Affidavit for Domestic Partnership form (ET-2371) with the
Department of Employee Trust Funds before September 23, 2017.)

2. Children of the deceased participant, employee, or annuitant, in 
equal shares, with the share of any deceased child payable to the 
issue of the child or, if there is no surviving issue of a deceased 
child, to the other eligible children in this group or, if deceased, 
their issue. 

3. Parent, in equal shares if both survive. 
4. Brother and sister in equal shares, and the issue of any deceased 

brother or sister. No payment may be made to a person included 
in any group if there is a living person in a preceding group. 

5. Estate. 
Contact ETF to obtain a Beneficiary Designation form (ET-2320). A 

Beneficiary Designation form can also be found on ETF’s Internet site, 
at http://etf.wi.gov. 

See Section 7 for beneficiary information for Spouse and 
Dependent coverage. 
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16 
PAYMENT OF THE BENEFIT AT DEATH 

Notify ETF at the time of an insured member’s death. That 
information will be forwarded to Securian Financial so that the 
appropriate claim forms can be sent. Securian Financial will send claim 
forms to the beneficiary(ies) and will request a death certificate and 
other documents Securian Financial deems necessary to consider a 
claim for payment. Benefits will be paid as shown under Section 15. 

17 
HOW YOUR BENEFITS ARE TAXED 

Group Term Life Insurance 
Under section 79 of the Internal Revenue Code, if the total value of 

your group life insurance provided through your employer(s) exceeds 
$50,000, you may be liable for income tax on “imputed income.” The 
imputed income should be reported by your employer on your W-2 and 
is equal to: 

the total “uniform premium” set by the IRS for all group term 
life insurance in excess of $50,000, which is provided through 
your employer(s), 

minus 
the total premiums for all group life insurance coverage that 
you paid with after-tax dollars (i.e., not through a tax-sheltered 
or cafeteria plan). 

Death Benefits 
Death benefits paid by your life insurance are not taxable by the 

State of Wisconsin. For federal tax purposes, you should consult with a 
tax advisor. 

Life insurance proceeds that you receive as a result of the death of 
your spouse or dependent are not taxable to you and are not included 
in the deceased person’s estate. 

For more information about tax treatment of group term life 
insurance and death benefits, please consult with a tax professional. 
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18 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR 

GROUP LIFE INSURANCE 

How much coverage is available? 
State employees may apply for insurance coverage on their own

lives from the plans below. The maximum amount of insurance is 5
times their prior year earnings. For local government employees, 
the insurance coverage available depends on which plans the 
employer offers. 
•	 The Basic Plan = 1 times earnings. 
•	 The Supplemental Plan = 1 times earnings. 
•	 The Additional Plan = 1, 2, or 3 times earnings. 

Employees may also apply for 1 or 2 units of coverage for 
their spouse and dependents, if your employer offers Spouse and 
Dependent coverage. Each unit provides $10,000 of coverage for a 
spouse and $5,000 for each dependent child. 

All employees (both state and local government) must elect Basic 
coverage in order to elect Supplemental, Additional, or Spouse and 
Dependent coverage. Coverage on the life of an employee includes 
Accidental Death, Dismemberment and Loss of Use benefit. 

How are earnings determined? 
Earnings are your wages and salary paid to you by your employer 

who participates in this life insurance program as provided in Wis. 
Stats. §40.02(22). For employees covered by a private pension plan, 
earnings means taxable compensation as reported to the Internal 
Revenue Service. 

What are the requirements for coverage to be in effect? 
There are two requirements for coverage to be in effect: 1) a valid 

application must be on file with the Department of Employee Trust 
Funds; and 2) premiums must be paid when due. 

What coverage do I have? 
If you are an eligible insured employee, your employer can tell you 

what coverage you have. You are responsible for checking your payroll 
deductions and statements of benefits to be sure that appropriate 
premiums are being deducted, because coverage lapses after 60 days 
if premiums are not paid. Inactive or retired employees may contact the 
Department of Employee Trust Funds (ETF) with questions regarding 
coverage or premiums. 
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How can I add more coverage? 
If you do not enroll for all available coverage when you were 

eligible, you can apply for any of the remaining coverage offered by 
your employer by submitting an evidence of insurability form. You 
must be an eligible employee in order to apply for insurance and for 
insurance to take effect. 

Does the policy build cash value? 
This is term insurance that does not accumulate cash value. 

Persons with terminal medical conditions may qualify for Living 
Benefits. Retired employees who have an ETF-sponsored health
insurance plan may convert the value of their life insurance coverage 
to pay premiums for health insurance. Retired state employees may 
also convert the value of their life insurance coverage to pay for ETF-
sponsored long-term care insurance. See Section 8. 

Can I increase coverage if I have a family status change? 
You may enroll for Basic coverage, increase your coverage by one

level, or enroll in one or two units of Spouse & Dependent coverage
(subject to the plans that are made available by your employer) if
you have a qualifying family status change due to marriage, or birth,
adoption, placement for adoption, or award of legal guardianship of a
dependent child. See the Enrollment Section of this booklet for more
information. 

What if I take a leave of absence without pay from my job? 
You may continue your coverage during an approved leave of 

absence by paying premiums to your employer in advance. Otherwise, 
coverage will lapse and you will only be eligible to reapply for coverage 
if and when you return to work. Upon return to work, you may enroll 
without evidence of insurability for the plans you had prior to your 
leave, if you apply within 30 days of your return to work. 

Leave of absence means the same as “leave of absence” as 
prescribed in Wis. Stats. §40.02(40) but excluding the group health 
insurance portion of the definition. This also includes temporary layoffs 
as defined under the applicable collective bargaining agreement or 
Wisconsin Administrative Code. 

What are my options for reinstating coverage or reenrolling in coverage 
that I cancelled? 

If you cancel your coverage, you will not be able to reinstate or 
reenroll without evidence of insurability. There are no exceptions. 
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What if I become disabled? 
If you go on unpaid medical leave or terminate employment due to 

a disability which is total and permanent or of unknown duration, you 
may file a claim to continue your coverage without making premium 
payments. Contact your employer to obtain more information about 
submitting a Request for Disability Premium Waiver form (ET-5306). 

Can I keep this insurance if I change jobs or retire? 
If you move to a different participating Wisconsin public

employer, you will be eligible to enroll for coverage at your new job.
If you meet certain service requirements, you may keep your group
coverage after you retire or terminate employment. For purposes
of this life insurance program, termination of employment means
the same as prescribed under ETF 10.08 (2) and (3). Most coverage
terminates when you reach age 65 (or age 70 if you are still working),
but a reduced amount of Basic coverage will continue for your
lifetime if you meet the service requirements. 

Even if you do not meet the requirements to continue group 
coverage, you will be eligible to convert your coverage to an individual 
policy with Securian Financial, if you are insured for the six full months 
before group coverage ends. Coverage for your spouse or dependent 
child can also be converted. 

What is an example of the insurance coverage? 
Previous calendar year earnings = $53,200 

Coverage Doubles 
Coverage In Case of Accidental Death 

Basic Plan coverage
for the current year $54,000 $108,000 
Supplemental Plan $54,000 $108,000 
Additional Plan - Unit 1 $54,000 $108,000 
Additional Plan - Unit 2 $54,000 $108,000 
Additional Plan - Unit 3 $54,000 $108,000 
TOTAL COVERAGE $270,000 $540,000 
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How is the insurance premium calculated? 
Premiums for coverage are set annually by the Group Insurance 

Board and are based on your age. Contact ETF, your employer or 
Securian Financial for current premium rates. Rates (ET-2164) may also 
be found on ETF’s Internet site at http://etf.wi.gov. 
Note: 
•	 The cost of Spouse and Dependent coverage is a dollar amount for 

each unit of coverage, regardless of the age or number of family 
members you have to insure. 

•	 Your employer contributes premium for the Basic Plan, and in 
some cases, the Supplemental Plan. 

• No premiums are required for retired employees over age 65. 
Example: A state employee is age 36 and earned $53,200 last 

year. She is enrolled for Basic, Supplemental and 3 
units of Additional coverage, plus two units of Spouse
and Dependent coverage. Her coverage is $54,000 x 5 
= $270,000. 

Her monthly premium is: 
Basic 54 x $0.04* = $2.16 
Supplemental 54 x 0.04 = 2.16 
Additional – Unit 1 54 x 0.06 = 3.24 
Additional – Unit 2 54 x 0.06 = 3.24 
Additional – Unit 3 54 x 0.06 = 3.24 
Spouse and Dependent 5.00 
Total Employee Premium $19.04 

Her employer pays: 
Basic 65.25%** x $2.16 = $1.41 
Supplemental 37.25% x 2.16 = 0.80 
Total Employer Premium $2.21 

*Premium rates used in the example are for illustrative purposes only 
and may not be actual. 

**The percentage of the employer contribution used in the example is 
for illustrative purposes only and may not be actual. See section 5 for 
more information about the employer’s cost. 
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When will the policy pay benefits? 
Death benefits for Basic, Supplemental and Additional Plans are 

payable to your beneficiary upon your death if coverage is in force on 
the date of death. 

Death benefits from the Spouse and Dependent Plan are payable 
to you upon the death of the person insured under the Spouse and 
Dependent Plan. 

Accidental Death, Dismemberment and Loss of Use benefits apply 
to the Basic, Supplemental and Additional Plans during employment 
They are payable upon your death or covered accident. Some 
exclusions may apply. See Section 6 for more information. 

For benefits payable during your lifetime, including Living Benefits, 
see Section 8 for more information. 

You or your beneficiary must file a claim with Securian Financial to 
claim any benefits under the Program and the claim must be approved 
by Securian Financial before payment is made. 
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Contact ETF
etf.wi.gov
Find ETF-administered benefits information, forms, 
brochures, benefit calculators, educational offerings 
and other online resources. Stay connected with:

1-877-533-5020 
608-266-3285 (local Madison)
7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (CST), Monday-Friday

Benefit specialists are available to answer questions.

Wisconsin Relay: 711

P.O. Box 7931
Madison, WI 53707-7931
Write ETF or return forms.

@wi_etf
ETF E-Mail Updates
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CONTACTING SECURIAN FINANCIAL 

WRITE TO: 
Securian Financial 
P.O. Box 259708 
Madison, WI 53725-9708 

VISIT: 
2920 Marketplace Dr., Suite 201
Fitchburg, WI 53719-5306 

CALL: 
866-295-8690 (toll-free) 

FAX: 
608-277-8665 

OFFICE HOURS: 
7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Mon. - Fri.
(except holidays) 

EMAIL: 
MadisonBranch@securian.com 
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	This Brochure is Your Certificate of Participation. 
	Read this brochure carefully. It provides a description of your group term life insurance protection and is your certificate of participation, provided that a valid enrollment form is on file with the Department of Employee Trust Funds and premiums are being paid. You are responsible for reviewing your payroll records and statements of fringe benefits regularly to be sure that premiums are being properly deducted. Discrepancies should be reported to your employer immediately. Coverage may lapse if the requi
	Whenever the insurance program is modified substantially, revised copies of this brochure will be made available. Keep this brochure in a safe place with your other important papers. 
	Every effort has been made to assure that the information in this booklet is accurate. In the event of conflicting information, state or federal statutes, state insurance contracts, and the policies and provisions established by the State of Wisconsin Group InsuranceBoard shall be followed. In the event of any discrepancies between the policy and this booklet, the policy shall be followed. 
	Please note that the most updated version of this booklet can be found online at . 
	https://etf.wi.gov/publications/et2101/direct
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	INTRODUCTION 
	The Wisconsin Public Employers Group Life Insurance Program(the Program) is a benefit provided under the Wisconsin Retirement System and is available to employees of the State of Wisconsin and employees of participating Wisconsin local government employers. The Program is governed under Chapter 40 of the Wisconsin State Statutes, Wisconsin Administrative Code and the life insurance policy between the Wisconsin Group Insurance Board and Securian Financial Group, Inc. (Securian Financial). The Wisconsin Group
	2 
	ELIGIBILITY 
	You may enroll if your employer participates in the Program, you are an eligible employee in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes 40.02(25)(a) or (c), whether full time or part time, and you are under age 
	70. You may enroll if you are included under a private pension plan with a participating local government employer. 
	Any blind employee qualifying under Wisconsin Statutes 40.02(25)(a)(3) is eligible. 
	Employees who reach age 70 before becoming eligible for coverage may be insured only under the Additional Plan if their employer offers the plan, if the employee provides evidence of insurability satisfactory to Securian Financial. 
	Rehired annuitants who have continued coverage during retirement, who subsequently return to employment as a WRS participating employee in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes 40.02(46), may choose between retaining the annuitant coverage or enrolling for coverage as an eligible employee for the plans available through the employee’s employer. 
	An employee who returns to work as an eligible employee with the same employer within 30 days after termination of employment or after a leave of absence without earnings, during which time coverage lapsed, is eligible to apply for the plans and amounts in effect prior to termination or leave of absence, except plans that have been cancelled by the employee. 
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	ENROLLMENT 
	A. Enrollment When First Eligible 
	If you are under age 70, you may obtain coverage by completing an application provided by your employer. Applications must be submitted within 30 days of hire. 
	B. Enrollment Upon Return from Leave of Absence
	If you return to employment after a leave of absence withoutearnings, during which time coverage lapsed, you may enroll withoutevidence of insurability for the plans of insurance in effect priorto your leave. You also may apply for any new coverage that youremployer made available to all employees for the first time duringyour leave. You may not enroll in any plan which you previouslydeclined or cancelled. Your application must be submitted within 30days of your return to work. 
	C. Enrollment for Change in Employment Class
	A change in employment class or a change in appointment doesnot provide you with an open enrollment unless the change resulted from a termination of employment. However, if you have a change inemployment class that requires your employer to provide you with100% employer-paid coverage under its employment contract for anentire employment class, you will be eligible for an open enrollmentonly for the plans that are 100% employer paid. You will have 30days to enroll from the date you became eligible for 100% e
	D. Enrollment Due to Family Status Change Event 
	You may enroll in Basic coverage, or increase your employee coverage by one level, and enroll in one or two units of Spouse and Dependent coverage without evidence of insurability if application is made within 30 days of gaining a dependent as defined in ETF 10.01(2) due to one of the following: 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	the date of the employee’s marriage or 

	2. 
	2. 
	the date of birth, adoption, placement for adoption, or award of legal guardianship of a dependent child. 


	You may only enroll in coverage levels offered by your employer;if you already have all the coverage offered, you do not have anenrollment opportunity. 
	E. Enrollment Under Evidence Of Insurability
	If you do not enroll for all available coverage within 30 days of firstbecoming eligible, or within 30 days of a family status change event,as described above, you may obtain coverage by providing SecurianFinancial with satisfactory evidence of insurability. The Evidence ofInsurability Application form (ET-2305) must be received by SecurianFinancial prior to your 70th birthday for the Basic and SupplementalPlans of insurance. However, the Evidence of Insurability Applicationmay be received by Securian Finan
	Employees who become an eligible employee at age 70 or laterare not eligible for the Basic or Supplemental Plans. They are eligibleto apply for the Additional Plan but are required to provide evidenceof insurability. 
	The Evidence of Insurability Application form is available from your employer and on ETF’s internet site at . You and your employer will receive written notice when the coverage becomes effective or if it is denied. Securian Financial may contest payment of any benefit for up to two years after coverage begins. 
	http://etf.wi.gov

	F. Effective Date of Insurance 
	Your insurance becomes effective, if you are an eligible employee and have filed an application in accordance with the enrollment provisions described above, on the first day of the month following 30 days from the date of hire, the first day of the month following 30 days from return from an approved leave of absence, or the first day of the month following 30 days from the date of the qualifying family status change event, whichever is applicable. 
	For claims purposes, an employee’s election date will be the point of reference for providing coverage and paying claims. Election date is the date of online enrollment or the date the paper application is received by the employer, but not earlier than the date of hire, the date of the qualifying family status change event, or the return to work date, whichever is applicable. 
	Insurance shall not become effective if the applicant is no longer anemployee of a participating employer on the insurance effective date. 
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	AMOUNT OF LIFE INSURANCE DURING ACTIVE EMPLOYMENT 
	When you first become insured through your current employer,your amount of insurance is an estimate determined by youremployer. The estimate is based on the employer’s projectionof your earnings for the next twelve months rounded to the nexthigher $1,000 if not already an even $1,000. On the January 1 thatimmediately follows the date you became insured, the amount of 
	insurance is based on the higher of the estimated earnings or theactual earnings in the previous calendar year. On each January 1thereafter your insurance amount will be based on your highest priorcalendar year’s actual earnings with your current employer. 
	“Earnings” means the total salary or wages paid to you by your employer during the previous calendar year. This includes deferred compensation, tax shelter arrangements and allowances provided for you in lieu of money. For employers that provide employees a private pension plan, “earnings” has the same meaning as above and are reported by your employer to Securian Financial. 
	Each local government employer is a separate employerand the State of Wisconsin is considered one employer for lifeinsurance purposes. 
	If your earnings increase above the current level of coverage, your insurance coverage will increase January 1 of the following year. If your earnings decrease, your insurance coverage will not decrease unless you request a reduction of insurance in writing or unless your calendar year earnings after one full year of employment are less than the coverage amount that was based on the prior year’s estimate. 
	Basic Plan 
	Except as provided above, under the Basic Plan you will have insurance equal to the earnings paid to you by your employer during the previous calendar year rounded to the next higher $1,000. 
	If you are employed when you reach age 70, your premiums will be discontinued and the amount of your Basic insurance will be adjusted as shown in the Continuing Coverage Table in Section 14. The adjustments shown in the Continuing Coverage Table do not apply to employees under age 70. 
	When the governing body of an employer adopts a resolution to participate in the Program and makes insurance available for the first time to its employees, eligible employees who are age 70 and older on the effective date of the Basic Plan, will receive an amount of insurance equal to the final reduced amount provided in the Continuing Coverage Table in Section 14. 
	Supplemental Plan 
	You must have Basic coverage and your employer must participate in the Supplemental Plan to be eligible for the Supplemental Plan. This plan provides life insurance coverage in addition to the Basic Plan at one times your previous year’s earnings, rounded to the next higher $1,000. If you are employed when you reach age 70, your premiums will stop and your Supplemental insurance coverage will terminate. 
	If you have continued the Supplemental Plan following termination of employment or retirement, coverage will end at age 65. 
	Additional Plan 
	You must have Basic coverage and your employer must participate in the Additional Plan to be eligible for the Additional Plan. This plan provides life insurance in addition to the Basic Plan at up to three times your prior year’s earnings. If you are employed when you reach age 70, your coverage will continue until you terminate employment, cancel coverage or stop paying premiums, whichever is earliest. If you have continued the Additional Plan following termination of employment or retirement, coverage wil
	When the governing body of an employer adopts a resolution to participate in the Additional Plan and makes it available for the first time to all its employees, eligible employees who are age 70 and older on the effective date of the Additional Plan are required to provide evidence of insurability satisfactory to Securian Financial, if they wish to enroll in the Additional Plan. 
	The Additional Plan does not include waiver of premium or accidental death and dismemberment benefits for insureds who are age 70 and older. 
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	COST OF INSURANCE 
	Cost To You 
	Your monthly premiums are determined as of April 1 of each year if you are a state employee and as of July 1 of each year if you are a local government employee, based on your age on that date and your amount of insurance. The monthly rates for Basic, Supplemental and Additional insurance are available from your employer, ETF or Securian Financial. Rates could change annually. premium rates (ET-2164) on ETF’s Internet site at 
	You can also find current 
	http://etf.wi.gov. 

	Premiums are due for each month during which your group coverage is in force beginning on the first day of the month following 30 days from the date of hire. When an insured retiree turns age 65 no premiums will be deducted from the insured’s annuity. If you are between age 65 and age 69 when you retire, your last premium is due for the month in which you retire. 
	Cost To Your Employer 
	Basic Plan 
	If you are a state employee, your employer pays an additional 
	65.25 percent of the employee Basic premium. If you are a local government employee whose employer has chosen to provide continued post- retirement coverage at the 50 percent-of-Basic level, your employer pays an additional 40 percent of the employee Basic 
	premium. All other employers pay an additional 20 percent of the employee Basic premium. This provides post-retirement coverage at the 25 percent-of-Basic level. The employer’s cost is authorized by the Group Insurance Board and is subject to change. 
	Supplemental Plan 
	If you are a state employee, your employer pays an additional 37.25 percent of the employee Supplemental rate. No employer contribution is required of local government employers. 
	Additional and Spouse and Dependent Plans 
	No employer contribution is required. Employees pay the full cost of coverage. 
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	ACCIDENTAL DEATH, DISMEMBERMENT AND LOSS OF USE INSURANCE 
	A. Benefits 
	The amount of Accidental Death, Dismemberment, and Loss of Use (AD&D) coverage is equal to the total amount of your insurance under the Basic, Supplemental and Additional coverages. This amount of coverage is also referred to as the “Principal Sum.” Payment of benefits under the Accidental Death, Dismemberment and Loss of Use coverage is in addition to any payment under the Basic, Supplemental and Additional coverages. If you suffer more than one of the losses listed below in Coverages A and B because of an
	This coverage continues while your insurance is in force and you are: 
	•. 
	•. 
	•. 
	employed and under age 70, or 

	•. 
	•. 
	retired and under age 65, or 

	•. 
	•. 
	on a disability waiver of premium. 


	Coverage A – Loss Of Life, Limb Or Sight 
	Loss Benefit Payment 
	Life Principal sum 
	Two or more members Principal sum 
	One member One-half of principal sum 
	Thumb and index finger on same hand One-fourth of principal sum 
	“Member” means hand, foot or eye. Loss of hand or foot means actual severance through or above the wrist or ankle joint. Loss of sight means the entire and irrecoverable loss of sight. Loss of thumb and index finger means actual severance through or above the metacarpophalangeal (close to the palm of the hand) joint. Above the wrist and metacarpophalangeal joints means towards the elbow; above the ankle joint means towards the knee. 
	Benefits for loss of life will be paid to your beneficiary. Benefits for any other loss will be paid to you. 
	Coverage B – Permanent And Total Loss Of Use 
	Loss Benefit Payment 
	Each hand or foot from wrist or ankle One-fourth of principal sum 
	Each arm or leg from shoulder or hip. One-half of principal sum 
	Permanent and total loss of use means the permanent and total loss of the ability to function because of incurable paralysis or stiffening. The requirements of your occupation or profession are not considered when determining your right to this benefit. Permanent and total loss of use of arm or leg means the permanent and total loss of use to the entire arm or leg, including loss of use of the attached hand or foot. 
	B. Requirements 
	For payment of AD&D benefits under Coverages A and B, your injury and loss must: 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	Result from a bodily injury which was unintended, unexpected and unforeseen, as shown by a visible contusion or wound on the exterior of the body (except in the case of drowning). 

	2. 
	2. 
	Be suffered through external, violent and accidental means. 

	3. 
	3. 
	Be the direct result of that injury. 

	4. 
	4. 
	Be independent of all other causes. 

	5. 
	5. 
	Occur within one year of the date of the accident. 

	6. 
	6. 
	Occur while your coverage is in force. 


	C. Limitations 
	In no event will the AD&D benefit be paid where the loss is caused directly or indirectly by, results from, or there is contribution from, any of the following: 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	Self-inflicted injury or self-destruction, whether sane or insane. 

	2. 
	2. 
	Suicide or attempted suicide, whether sane or insane. 

	3. 
	3. 
	Participation in or attempt to commit a crime, assault, or felony. 

	4. 
	4. 
	Bodily or mental infirmity, illness or disease. 

	5. 
	5. 
	The use of alcohol, drugs, medications, poisons, gases, fumes or other substances taken, absorbed, inhaled, ingested or injected, unless taken upon the advice of a licensed physician in the verifiable prescribed manner and dosage. 

	6. 
	6. 
	Motor vehicle collision or accident where the employee is the operator of the motor vehicle and the employee’s blood alcohol level meets or exceeds the level at which intoxication is defined in the state where the collision or accident occurred, regardless of the outcome of any legal proceedings connected thereto. 

	7. 
	7. 
	Infection, other than infection occurring simultaneously with, and as a direct result of, the accidental injury. 

	8. 
	8. 
	Medical or surgical treatment or diagnostic procedures or any resulting complications. 

	9. 
	9. 
	Travel in or descent from any aircraft, except as a fare-paying passenger on a regularly scheduled commercial flight on a licensed passenger aircraft carrier, or except for an employee who is a pilot, crew member or passenger on an aircraft owned, operated or leased by a state or local government employer and being used for business of that employer. 

	10. 
	10. 
	War or any act of war, whether declared or undeclared. 


	D. Notice And Proof Of Injury 
	A claim form for Accidental Dismemberment Total and Permanent Loss of Use or Loss of Sight should be requested directly fromSecurian Financial. 
	This form or written notice of an injury on which a claim may be based, must be given to Securian Financial within 30 days after the accident causing the loss unless it is shown not to have been reasonably possible to give such notice prior to the date it is presented. Instructions for filing a proof of loss will accompany the claim form. Securian Financial may require a claimant to be examined at Securian Financial’s expense while a claim is pending. 
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	SPOUSE AND DEPENDENT COVERAGE 
	Definitions 
	“Spouse” means your lawful husband or wife. 
	“Dependent” means your children, including natural children, stepchildren, adopted children, legal wards and children in adoptive placement under Wis. Stats. §48.837(1). Children are eligible from live birth (stillborn and unborn children are not eligible) to the attainment of age 26. A child who is age 26 or older is also eligible if he or she is incapable of self-support because of a physical or mental disability which is expected to be of a long-continued and indefinite duration. 
	Eligibility 
	You must have the Basic Plan or file an application for Basic coverage at the same time you apply for the Spouse and Dependent coverage. Also, you must be an eligible employee under age 70 and your employer must offer this plan as part of its benefits program. 
	Enrollment for Spouse and Dependent Coverage 
	An eligible employee may enroll without evidence of insurability for Spouse and Dependent insurance by filing an application provided by ETF which must be received by the employer within 30 days after: 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	The date the employee first qualifies with that employer as an eligible employee under Wisconsin Statutes 40.02(25)(a) or (c) provided the employee enrolls in the Basic Plan; or 

	2. 
	2. 
	2. 
	One of the following changes: 

	a. 
	a. 
	a. 
	The date of the employee’s marriage, 

	b. 
	b. 
	The date of birth, adoption, placement for adoption, or award of legal guardianship of a dependent child; or 



	3. 
	3. 
	The date an employee returns to work as an eligible employeeof a participating employer if within 30 days of terminatingemployment or after a leave of absence without earnings, duringwhich time coverage lapsed. The employee may enroll only forthe plans of coverage that were in effective prior to termination orleave of absence, unless coverage was previously cancelled bythe employee. 


	You may only enroll in coverage levels offered by your employer;if you already have all the coverage offered, you do not have anenrollment opportunity. 
	Evidence of Insurability for Spouse and Dependent 
	Evidence of insurability is required if you enroll or increase coverage after the enrollment period ends. 
	If you cancel your coverage because you no longer have an eligible spouse or dependent, you may re-enroll without evidence of insurability within 30 days of a qualifying family status change event. 
	Effective Date of Insurance 
	If an eligible employee enrolls for Spouse and Dependent coverage on an application in accordance with the enrollment provisions in this section, the effective date of insurance shall be the first day of the month following 30 days from the date of hire, the first day of the month following 30 days from return from an approved leave of absence, or the first day of the month following 30 days from the date of the qualifying family status change event, whichever is applicable. 
	For a spouse who is required to submit evidence of insurability the effective date of insurance is the first of the month following the date the application is approved by Securian Financial. For claims purposes, the approval date will be the point of reference for providing coverage and paying claims. 
	Insurance shall not become effective if the applicant is no longer an employee of a participating employer or if the applicant is no longer a spouse or dependent of an employee on the insurance effective date. 
	Amount of Coverage 
	If you meet eligibility requirements, you may apply for one or two units of Spouse and Dependent term life insurance. You may not elect more than two units of coverage even if you are employed by more than one participating employer. However, you and your spouse may both elect Spouse and Dependent coverage if both employers offer it. There is no Accidental Death, Dismemberment or Loss of Use coverage in the Spouse and Dependent Plan. The amounts of coverage under each unit may be subject to changes made by 
	1 Unit Spouse $10,000 Each Dependent Child 5,000 
	2 Units Spouse $20,000 Each Dependent Child 10,000 
	Cost of Insurance 
	The monthly cost for each unit of Spouse and Dependent lifeinsurance is a set dollar amount. The cost is the same for each unit of coverage regardless of the age or number of family members you haveto insure. Contact ETF, your employer, or Securian Financial for currentpremium information. You can also find current premium information onthe Life Insurance Rates form (ET-2164) on ETF’s Internet site at wi.gov. 
	http://etf. 

	Coverage During Disability 
	If you become disabled as explained in Section 9, “Disability Waiver of Premium Benefit,” you can continue Spouse and Dependent life insurance coverage until age 65 without premium payments, as long as your disability continues and you continue to be covered under the Basic Plan. 
	Coverage During An Approved Leave Of Absence, Layoff, Or While Appealing A Discharge 
	Spouse and Dependent coverage may be continued during any approved leave of absence or layoff subject to the conditions specified in Section 10, “Coverage During Leave of Absence”, or while employee is appealing a dismissal, subject to the conditions specified in Section 11, “While Appealing A Dismissal”. 
	Conversion To An Individual Policy 
	When coverage on your insured spouse or dependent child terminates, he or she may convert to an individual policy. The application for conversion and first premium payment must be received by Securian Financial within 31 days after the insured is no longer eligible for coverage under the group policy. Failure to obtain an application for conversion does not extend the conversion period.In the event of your death, your spouse and dependent(s) will have 90 days from the date of your death to convert. Spouse a
	http://etf.wi.gov. Completed applications for 

	Termination Of Coverage 
	Insurance on any spouse or dependent shall terminate automatically on the earliest of the following dates: 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	The last day of the calendar month in which the employee terminates employment; or 

	2. 
	2. 
	The date the employee meets any of the conditions specified in Section 13, “Termination of Employee’s Insurance,” or reaches age 70; or 

	3. 
	3. 
	For an individual whose premiums are waived under the section entitled Section 9, “Disability Waiver of Premium Benefit,” the date the individual reaches age 65; or 

	4. 
	4. 
	The last day of the calendar month in which the employer receives a written notice of cancellation of this insurance from the employee. The notice must be on a form provided by ETF. A notice of cancellation may be withdrawn only by a written request to the employer or ETF which is received prior to the termination of coverage; or 

	5. 
	5. 
	For a dependent, the date of qualification for insurance as an eligible employee under Wisconsin Statutes 40.02(25); or 

	6. 
	6. 
	For a spouse, the date a divorce decree is entered; or 

	7. 
	7. 
	Ninety days after the death of the employee; or 

	8. 
	8. 
	For a dependent other than one described in (10) below, upon reaching age 26; or

	9. 
	9. 
	For a dependent incapable of self-support due to a physical or mental disability which can be expected to be of long-continued or indefinite duration who would not otherwise be eligible, the date disability ceases; or 

	10. 
	10. 
	The date this coverage is terminated. 


	Insurance coverage shall be considered lapsed if an employee who is receiving earnings fails to make required premium payments during a consecutive 60-day period, commencing with the first day for which premiums have not been paid, except where the employer has elected to pay the entire premium for all its employees. Cancellation under this provision shall not preclude the employee from obtaining life insurance coverage after the 60 days have elapsed, if premiums were omitted as a result of employer payroll
	Cancellation Of Coverage 
	You should cancel your Spouse and Dependent coverage as soon as you no longer have a spouse or eligible dependent to insure by filing a Life Insurance Application/Cancellation/Refusal form (ET-2304) with your employer. If you delay filing a cancellation, a refund of your premiums is limited to the current year and the immediately preceding calendar year. 
	Beneficiary 
	You (the employee) are the beneficiary in the event of the deathof your spouse or dependent. In the case of simultaneous deaths ofyou and your spouse or dependent child, payment will be made to your estate. 
	Payment Of Benefits At Death 
	Upon the death of an insured spouse or dependent, contact your employer’s payroll and benefits office to report the death. They will assist you in completing the proper form for reporting the death of the insured and will submit it to Securian Financial. 
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	BENEFITS PAYABLE DURING YOUR LIFETIME 
	Living Benefits 
	If you are an insured person, employee, annuitant, spouse, or dependent, you may apply to receive all or part of the value of your life insurance coverage while still living, provided you are diagnosed with a terminal condition caused by illness or injury and have a life expectancy of 12 months or less. 
	The benefit amount must be equal to an amount provided under a plan of insurance or a multiple of plans. You may request a Living Benefit more than once, provided you have not exhausted all your coverage. In no event are you allowed to claim more benefits than the amount for which you are insured. Any value remaining at death will be paid to your beneficiary(ies), or to you if the coverage is the Spouse and Dependent Plan. Living Benefits may be taxable to the recipient as regular income in the year of paym
	The amount of life insurance eligible for a living benefit payment shall be the total amount of insurance in force on the life of the insured on the date Securian Financial receives the application for a living benefit payment. 
	An eligible insured may request the payment of a living benefitby completing the Application for Living Benefits form (ET-2322). Theinsured’s life insurance must be in force and all required premiums musthave been fully paid. Medical evidence will be requested by SecurianFinancial after you file the application. Securian Financial’s determinationregarding the applicant’s eligibility for the living benefit is final. 
	The request for a living benefit must be voluntary. A living benefit is not intended to cause the insured to involuntarily reduce the death proceeds ultimately payable to the named beneficiary. Therefore: 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	If the insured is required by law to use this option to meet the claims of creditors, whether in bankruptcy or otherwise, the insured is not eligible for this benefit. 

	2. 
	2. 
	If the insured is required by a government agency to use this option in order to apply for, obtain or keep a government benefit or entitlement, the insured is not eligible for this benefit. 


	Upon receipt of satisfactory evidence of the insured’s qualifying condition as defined in this section, Securian Financial will pay the living benefit to the insured subject to Wisconsin Statutes 40.08 (9) and (9m) and applicable ETF Wisconsin Administrative Code. If the insured dies, any remaining life insurance that remains in force will be paid to the insured’s beneficiary. 
	For more information about Living Benefits, contact ETF for a Living Benefits brochure (ET-2327) or contact Securian Financial for an Application for Living Benefits form (ET-2323). Information can also be found on ETF’s website at 
	http://etf.wi.gov. 

	Conversion To Pay Health or Long-Term Care Insurance Premiums 
	If you have health or long-term care insurance through ETF and your life insurance has been reduced to its final amount, you may elect to use the present value of your life insurance to pay premiums for your health or long-term care insurance. Note: Long term care coverage through ETF is available to state employees only. To be eligible, you must be at your final insurance reduction age as shown in the Continuing Coverage Table in Section 14. If you are a state employee you must also exhaust your accumulate
	In exchange for payment of health or long-term care insurance premiums, you give up the death benefit that would otherwise be payable to your beneficiaries. You also give up the difference between the face value and present value of your life insurance coverage. The election is permanent and cannot be withdrawn. 
	Contact ETF to receive a brochure (ET-2325) about the program. You may also obtain one on ETF’s Internet site at you are eligible for conversion now, or will be eligible within the next 12 months, you may request an application (ET-2324). You will receive an estimate of the amount available to you under the conversion program along with your application form. 
	http://etf.wi.gov. If 
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	DISABILITY WAIVER OF PREMIUM BENEFIT 
	This benefit provides for continued coverage without further payment of premiums for an employee who becomes totally disabled while insured under this policy and prior to attaining age 70. 
	Definition of Disability 
	An insured employee must be totally disabled if, as a result of bodily injury or disease, he or she is wholly prevented from performing any work or engaging in any occupation for remuneration or profit and is likely to remain so disabled for an indefinite period of time. The employee is required to submit medical evidence acceptable to Securian Financial showing the date that total disability began or was diagnosed and that the employee is totally disabled from any gainful occupation and is likely to remain
	An employee shall also be deemed to be disabled for the purposes of this policy if the employee has qualified for a disability annuity under Wis. Stats. §40.63 for as long as the insured qualifies for a disability annuity. Further proof of disability shall not be required while the insured qualifies for disability annuity benefits. 
	An employee is ineligible for a waiver of premium if employment was terminated for reasons other than disability. 
	Filing a Disability Waiver of Premium Claim 
	A claim for waiver of premium must be submitted to SecurianFinancial on a form provided by ETF within 36 calendar months after thelast day for which earnings are paid. Insured employees who are on aleave of absence are eligible to submit a claim if they become disabledas defined in this section during the leave of absence and insurance isin force. 
	If the claim is approved, the effective date of the premium waiver will be the first of the month following the date the disability began, or the date the employee is no longer receiving earnings or other earned income from any gainful occupation, whichever is later. 
	An insured employee will be granted a waiver of premium only if he or she becomes totally disabled as defined above while coverage is in force at the time the disability commences and prior to age 70. Coverage must have been in force continuously from the date of onset of the disability to the date the waiver of premium is approved. 
	The employer must continue to remit premiums for employer-paid coverage and the employee must continue to remit premium payments for all amounts of employee-paid coverage until Securian Financial approves the claim. Premiums that were paid after the effective date of the premium waiver will be refunded. The insurance shall remain in force while the premiums are waived. Insurance shall continue during the continuance of disability even if the person insured ceases to be an employee of a participating employe
	Except for those who qualified for a disability annuity benefit as described above, the employee shall submit proof of disability to Securian Financial at Securian Financial’s request. Securian Financial shall also have the right and opportunity to have medical examiners 
	Except for those who qualified for a disability annuity benefit as described above, the employee shall submit proof of disability to Securian Financial at Securian Financial’s request. Securian Financial shall also have the right and opportunity to have medical examiners 
	designated by Securian Financial examine the employee when and as often as it may reasonably require during the employee’s disability, but not more than once each year after insurance has been extended under this section. 

	Amount of Insurance 
	During the period of disability in which premiums are waived, the amount of insurance shall be the same as the amount of insurance at the date of onset of the disability. If an employee’s insurance is continued in force under this section, any Spouse and Dependent life insurance shall also continue in force without payment of premium. 
	For purposes of determining the amount of post-retirement coverage, it shall be assumed that a person insured under a waiver or premium retires upon attainment of age 65. The amount of Basic Insurance shall then be reduced according to the “Continuing Coverage Table” in section 14 entitled “Maintaining Coverage After You Terminate Employment” and in accordance with Wis. Stats. §40.72(2) and (3). All other insurance will terminate upon the date the insured reaches age 65 if it has not already terminated or b
	If the insured dies while waiver of premium is In effect and whileremaining continuously disabled, then upon due proof of death, SecurianFinancial will pay the amount of insurance in force to the beneficiary. 
	Termination of a Disability Waiver of Premium Benefit 
	If the insured employee is receiving a disability annuity benefit as provided under Wis. Stats. §40.63, premiums shall be waived for all insurance under this section until the date the insured’s disability annuity is terminated, unless the insured submits proof of disability to Securian Financial. 
	However, if the insured employee attains age 65 while receiving a disability annuity benefit, the waiver of premium ends and the insured may qualify to be covered as provided in Section 14, “Maintaining Coverage After You Terminate Employment”. 
	If the insured is not receiving a disability annuity benefit, then premiums shall be waived for all insurance under this section until the earliest of: 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	The date the insured is able to return to gainful occupation; or 

	2. 
	2. 
	60 days after a request by Securian Financial for an examination or proof of disability if the insured refuses to be examined as required above or fails to furnish proof of continued total disability, unless it can be shown conclusively not to have been reasonably possible to undergo such examination or to provide such proof and Securian Financial’s request for an examination or proof is complied with as soon as reasonably possible; or 

	3. 
	3. 
	The end of the month in which the employee’s insurance reduces in accordance with the Program. If eligible, the insured may then be covered under the Basic insurance as provided under the Continuing Coverage Table in Section 14, “Maintaining Coverage After You Terminate Employment.” 


	If the extension of insurance without payment of premiums under this section is terminated because disability ceases, the employee shall be entitled to the rights and benefits under the section entitled “Conversion Privilege,” together with insurance protection duringthe 31-day period allowed for conversion as if employment had then terminated, unless during that period the insured returns to work, continues to be on an approved leave of absence or qualifies for continuation of insurance as provided in Wis.
	10 
	COVERAGE DURING LEAVE OF ABSENCE 
	An insured employee may continue insurance coverage duringany approved unpaid leave of absence for up to 36 months. Insurancecoverage may be continued beyond 36 months if the approved leave is aunion service leave as provided under Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 40. 
	In order to continue the insurance in force during an approvedunpaid leave of absence, the employee must contact the employerto make premium payments during the leave of absence. Premiumcontributions must be paid in advance and each payment must bereceived by the employer at least 31 days prior to the end of the periodfor which premiums had previously been paid. 
	The amount of insurance for an employee on an approved unpaidleave of absence shall be the same as that in effect immediatelypreceding the approved unpaid leave of absence. Initial coverage orincreased coverage will not be available during the unpaid leave ofabsence. Premium may increase due to changes in the employee’s ageor premium rates during the unpaid leave of absence. 
	Insurance will lapse for employees who do not wish to continueinsurance in force or who do not make arrangements to pay premiumsduring an unpaid leave of absence. 
	An employee who returns from a leave of absence, during whichtime coverage lapsed, as an eligible employee will have 30 days to applyfor the plans and amounts in effect prior to the leave of absence exceptthose plans that were cancelled. 
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	WHILE APPEALING A DISMISSAL 
	You may continue your coverage after being involuntarily discharged from your employment if you: 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	Exercise a right of appeal of your removal or discharge within 30 days after it occurs; and 

	2. 
	2. 
	Pay premiums to your employer during the appeal process. The first premium payment must be made within 31 days of the date of the removal or discharge, and must include both the employee’s and employer’s share of the premium for a three-month period. You must continue to pay both parts of the premium in quarterly payments, which are due within 31 days of the last date for which premiums have been paid. 


	If your appeal is successful, your employer will refund the payments you made for the employer’s share of the premium. If the appeal determination is adverse to you, coverage will terminate on the last day of the month in which the determination becomes final. Any premiums you paid for coverage after that date will be refunded to you. 
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	CANCELLATION 
	You may cancel your coverage at any time by submitting a Life Insurance Application/Cancellation/Refusal form (ET-2304) to youremployer. Coverage will cease at the end of the month in which youremployer receives your application to cancel. You may cancel one planand keep the others, but if you cancel your Basic coverage, all other coverages are automatically canceled. 
	Annuitants who wish to cancel coverage should contact ETF to obtain a Life Insurance Application/Cancellation/Refusal form (ET-2304). The form is also available on ETF’s Internet site
	at http://etf.wi.gov. 

	If you cancel your coverage you will not be able to reinstate your coverage. To reenroll you will need to provide evidence of insurability. 
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	TERMINATION OF YOUR INSURANCE 
	Your insurance will terminate on the earliest of the following dates: 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	The last day of the calendar month in which you terminate employment with the state or a participating local government employer if this occurs before you become entitled to a disability waiver of premium benefit as provided under Section 9 or before you qualify for continuation of insurance as a retiree as provided in Section 14. 

	2. 
	2. 
	Thirty days after the date of expiration of an authorized leave of absence for the period permitted in Section 10 of this booklet. 

	3. 
	3. 
	The last day of the calendar month in which you file a cancellation of insurance with your employer, or ETF, if you are an annuitant. 

	4. 
	4. 
	The date to which your premiums are paid if you fail to pay the required premiums within 30 days of such date while you are on unpaid leave as provided in Section 10, or while your coverage has continued as provided in Section 14. 

	5. 
	5. 
	The date to which premiums are paid for continuing coverage provided in Section 14 after you have again become employed by a participating employer and enroll for coverage as an eligible employee. 

	6. 
	6. 
	Your 70th birthday for the Supplemental and Spouse and Dependent Plans. 

	7. 
	7. 
	The effective date of termination of the group policy by your employer. 


	Insurance coverage shall be considered lapsed if you fail to make the required premium payments during a 60-day period which begins on the day following the last day for which premiums were paid. 
	Unless cancelled or terminated as provided above, Supplemental and Additional Plans shall automatically terminate on the date the retired employee attains age 65. 
	Accidental Death, Dismemberment and Loss of Use coverage will automatically terminate when an insured employee terminates employment or attains age 70, whichever is earlier. For insureds who retiree prior to age 65, coverage will automatically terminate at age 65. 
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	MAINTAINING COVERAGE AFTER YOU TERMINATE EMPLOYMENT 
	A. Continuation Of Group Coverage 
	You may continue your group life insurance after terminating employment, provided you meet the following requirements: 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	Your WRS coverage began before January 1, 1990, or you have been covered by the group life insurance plan in five calendar years beginning January 1, 1990; and 

	2. 
	2. 
	2. 
	You qualify under one of the following situations: 

	a. 
	a. 
	a. 
	You are receiving an immediate WRS annuity or meet all of the requirements for receiving an immediate WRS annuity except the filing of an application; or 

	b. 
	b. 
	The sum of the years of your creditable service in the WRS on January 1, 1990 plus your years of group life insurance coverage after 1989 equals 20 years; or 

	c. 
	c. 
	You have 20 years of service on payroll with your last employer. 




	If you begin a WRS annuity within 31 days after your coverage terminates, your insurance will be continued for you automatically. Premiums will be deducted from your annuity. If you do not begin an annuity, you must file a Continuation Application (ET-2154) with ETF within 31 days of the date coverage terminates. Securian Financial will bill you directly for your premiums. 
	If you participate in your employer’s private pension plan, you may continue your group insurance after terminating employment provided you have 20 years of service with your last employer. 
	If You Terminate Before Age 65 
	The amount of your insurance will be the same as prior to termination or retirement. Premiums are calculated in the same manner as before and will automatically be deducted from your retirement annuity check, or you will be billed directly by Securian Financial. 
	The Basic insurance will continue after age 65 without cost to you, subject to the Continuing Coverage Table below. However, the Accidental Death, Dismemberment and Loss of Use coverage as well as any Supplemental and Additional insurance coverage will terminateat age 65. Spouse & Dependent coverage will terminate at the end ofthe month that your employment ends. 
	If You Terminate At Age 65 Or Later 
	Your Basic insurance coverage will continue in a reduced amount for life, without cost to you, if you retire at age 65 or later. 
	The amount of Basic insurance is shown on the Continuing Coverage Table below. Your Supplemental, Spouse & Dependent, and Accidental Death, Dismemberment and Loss of Use coverages will 
	The amount of Basic insurance is shown on the Continuing Coverage Table below. Your Supplemental, Spouse & Dependent, and Accidental Death, Dismemberment and Loss of Use coverages will 
	terminate at the end of the month in which you retire, or attain age 70, whichever is earlier. Your Additional insurance will terminate when you terminate employment, cancel coverage, or stop paying premiums, whichever is earliest. 

	Continuing Coverage Table 
	Age Percent of Basic Coverage Continuing 
	Before age 65 100% 
	While age 65 75% 
	While age 66 50% 
	While age 67 and after 25%* 
	* Applies only to employees of local government employers. Local government employers may, however, elect a continuation of 50 percent of the Basic coverage if they agree to make the increased employer contributions. State employee coverage continues at the 50 percent rate from age 66 and after. 
	B. Conversion To An Individual Policy 
	If your insurance is terminated under (1) or (2) of Section 13, “Termination Of Your Insurance,” and you are not eligible to continue group coverage, you may apply for an individual policy with Securian Financial. However, you must have been insured for the entire six months preceding termination of coverage. 
	No evidence of insurability is required if the following terms are met: 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	You apply for individual coverage that is less than or equal to the amount of group insurance coverage you had. 

	2. 
	2. 
	You apply for the individual policy on a form provided by Securian Financial and pay the first premium within 31 days after your group insurance coverage terminates. 


	Any spouse or dependent who is insured continuously for the entire six months preceding termination of coverage may apply to convert coverage to an individual policy with Securian Financial. The individual policy will be issued without evidence of insurability subject to the terms of this section. When termination of coverage is due to the death of the insured employee, written application and payment of the first premium must be received by Securian Financial within 90 days of the employee’s death. 
	Insurance under the individual policy shall become effective at the end of the 31-day period during which application for the individual insurance may be made, provided the above terms are met. If the insured dies during that 31-day period, Securian Financial will pay your beneficiary the maximum amount of insurance for which the individual policy could have been issued, regardless of whether or not you 
	Insurance under the individual policy shall become effective at the end of the 31-day period during which application for the individual insurance may be made, provided the above terms are met. If the insured dies during that 31-day period, Securian Financial will pay your beneficiary the maximum amount of insurance for which the individual policy could have been issued, regardless of whether or not you 
	actually applied for conversion or paid the first premium. 

	The individual policy is a type currently issued by Securian Financial but cannot be term insurance. This policy will not include a Waiver of Premium or Accidental Death and Dismemberment benefit. Application forms for this conversion (ET-2306) are available from your employer, on ETF’s internet site at Financial. Failure to obtain an application for conversion does not extend the conversion period. 
	http://etf.wi.gov, or Securian 
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	BENEFICIARY 
	Beneficiaries shall be determined in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes §40.02(8) and §40.74. You may designate a beneficiary or change your beneficiary at any time by completing a form provided by ETF. Separate Beneficiary Designation forms (ET-2320) may be filed for WRS retirement and life insurance benefits. Benefits will be paid according to the last Beneficiary Designation on file with ETF at the time of your death. It is important to keep a copy of your Beneficiary Designation form and review it perio
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	Surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner. (“Domestic Partner”means a person who meets the definition of domestic partner inWis. Stats. §40.02(21d) and for whom the employee has submittedan Affidavit for Domestic Partnership form (ET-2371) with theDepartment of Employee Trust Funds before September 23, 2017.)

	2. 
	2. 
	Children of the deceased participant, employee, or annuitant, in equal shares, with the share of any deceased child payable to the issue of the child or, if there is no surviving issue of a deceased child, to the other eligible children in this group or, if deceased, their issue. 

	3. 
	3. 
	Parent, in equal shares if both survive. 

	4. 
	4. 
	Brother and sister in equal shares, and the issue of any deceased brother or sister. No payment may be made to a person included in any group if there is a living person in a preceding group. 

	5. 
	5. 
	Estate. 


	Contact ETF to obtain a Beneficiary Designation form (ET-2320). A Beneficiary Designation form can also be found on ETF’s Internet site, 
	at http://etf.wi.gov. 

	See Section 7 for beneficiary information for Spouse and Dependent coverage. 
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	PAYMENT OF THE BENEFIT AT DEATH 
	Notify ETF at the time of an insured member’s death. That information will be forwarded to Securian Financial so that the appropriate claim forms can be sent. Securian Financial will send claim forms to the beneficiary(ies) and will request a death certificate and other documents Securian Financial deems necessary to consider a claim for payment. Benefits will be paid as shown under Section 15. 
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	HOW YOUR BENEFITS ARE TAXED 
	Group Term Life Insurance 
	Under section 79 of the Internal Revenue Code, if the total value of your group life insurance provided through your employer(s) exceeds $50,000, you may be liable for income tax on “imputed income.” The imputed income should be reported by your employer on your W-2 and is equal to: 
	the total “uniform premium” set by the IRS for all group term 
	life insurance in excess of $50,000, which is provided through 
	your employer(s), 
	minus 
	the total premiums for all group life insurance coverage that 
	you paid with after-tax dollars (i.e., not through a tax-sheltered 
	or cafeteria plan). 
	Death Benefits 
	Death benefits paid by your life insurance are not taxable by the State of Wisconsin. For federal tax purposes, you should consult with a tax advisor. 
	Life insurance proceeds that you receive as a result of the death of your spouse or dependent are not taxable to you and are not included in the deceased person’s estate. 
	For more information about tax treatment of group term life insurance and death benefits, please consult with a tax professional. 
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	FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR GROUP LIFE INSURANCE 
	How much coverage is available? 
	State employees may apply for insurance coverage on their ownlives from the plans below. The maximum amount of insurance is 5times their prior year earnings. For local government employees, the insurance coverage available depends on which plans the employer offers. 
	•. 
	•. 
	•. 
	The Basic Plan = 1 times earnings. 

	•. 
	•. 
	The Supplemental Plan = 1 times earnings. 

	•. 
	•. 
	The Additional Plan = 1, 2, or 3 times earnings. 


	Employees may also apply for 1 or 2 units of coverage for their spouse and dependents, if your employer offers Spouse and Dependent coverage. Each unit provides $10,000 of coverage for a spouse and $5,000 for each dependent child. 
	All employees (both state and local government) must elect Basic coverage in order to elect Supplemental, Additional, or Spouse and Dependent coverage. Coverage on the life of an employee includes Accidental Death, Dismemberment and Loss of Use benefit. 
	How are earnings determined? 
	Earnings are your wages and salary paid to you by your employer who participates in this life insurance program as provided in Wis. Stats. §40.02(22). For employees covered by a private pension plan, earnings means taxable compensation as reported to the Internal Revenue Service. 
	What are the requirements for coverage to be in effect? 
	There are two requirements for coverage to be in effect: 1) a valid application must be on file with the Department of Employee Trust Funds; and 2) premiums must be paid when due. 
	What coverage do I have? 
	If you are an eligible insured employee, your employer can tell you what coverage you have. You are responsible for checking your payroll deductions and statements of benefits to be sure that appropriate premiums are being deducted, because coverage lapses after 60 days if premiums are not paid. Inactive or retired employees may contact the Department of Employee Trust Funds (ETF) with questions regarding coverage or premiums. 
	How can I add more coverage? 
	If you do not enroll for all available coverage when you were eligible, you can apply for any of the remaining coverage offered by your employer by submitting an evidence of insurability form. You must be an eligible employee in order to apply for insurance and for insurance to take effect. 
	Does the policy build cash value? 
	This is term insurance that does not accumulate cash value. Persons with terminal medical conditions may qualify for Living Benefits. Retired employees who have an ETF-sponsored healthinsurance plan may convert the value of their life insurance coverage to pay premiums for health insurance. Retired state employees may also convert the value of their life insurance coverage to pay for ETF-sponsored long-term care insurance. See Section 8. 
	Can I increase coverage if I have a family status change? 
	You may enroll for Basic coverage, increase your coverage by onelevel, or enroll in one or two units of Spouse & Dependent coverage(subject to the plans that are made available by your employer) ifyou have a qualifying family status change due to marriage, or birth,adoption, placement for adoption, or award of legal guardianship of adependent child. See the Enrollment Section of this booklet for moreinformation. 
	What if I take a leave of absence without pay from my job? 
	You may continue your coverage during an approved leave of absence by paying premiums to your employer in advance. Otherwise, coverage will lapse and you will only be eligible to reapply for coverage if and when you return to work. Upon return to work, you may enroll without evidence of insurability for the plans you had prior to your leave, if you apply within 30 days of your return to work. 
	Leave of absence means the same as “leave of absence” as prescribed in Wis. Stats. §40.02(40) but excluding the group health insurance portion of the definition. This also includes temporary layoffs as defined under the applicable collective bargaining agreement or Wisconsin Administrative Code. 
	What are my options for reinstating coverage or reenrolling in coverage that I cancelled? 
	If you cancel your coverage, you will not be able to reinstate or reenroll without evidence of insurability. There are no exceptions. 
	What if I become disabled? 
	If you go on unpaid medical leave or terminate employment due to a disability which is total and permanent or of unknown duration, you may file a claim to continue your coverage without making premium payments. Contact your employer to obtain more information about submitting a Request for Disability Premium Waiver form (ET-5306). 
	Can I keep this insurance if I change jobs or retire? 
	If you move to a different participating Wisconsin publicemployer, you will be eligible to enroll for coverage at your new job.If you meet certain service requirements, you may keep your groupcoverage after you retire or terminate employment. For purposesof this life insurance program, termination of employment meansthe same as prescribed under ETF 10.08 (2) and (3). Most coverageterminates when you reach age 65 (or age 70 if you are still working),but a reduced amount of Basic coverage will continue for yo
	Even if you do not meet the requirements to continue group coverage, you will be eligible to convert your coverage to an individual policy with Securian Financial, if you are insured for the six full months before group coverage ends. Coverage for your spouse or dependent child can also be converted. 
	What is an example of the insurance coverage? 
	Previous calendar year earnings = $53,200 
	Coverage Doubles 
	Coverage 
	Coverage 
	Coverage 
	In Case of Accidental Death 

	Basic Plan coveragefor the current year 
	Basic Plan coveragefor the current year 
	$54,000 
	$108,000 

	Supplemental Plan 
	Supplemental Plan 
	$54,000 
	$108,000 

	Additional Plan - Unit 1 
	Additional Plan - Unit 1 
	$54,000 
	$108,000 

	Additional Plan - Unit 2 
	Additional Plan - Unit 2 
	$54,000 
	$108,000 

	Additional Plan - Unit 3 
	Additional Plan - Unit 3 
	$54,000 
	$108,000 


	TOTAL COVERAGE $270,000 $540,000 
	How is the insurance premium calculated? 
	Premiums for coverage are set annually by the Group Insurance Board and are based on your age. Contact ETF, your employer or Securian Financial for current premium rates. Rates (ET-2164) may also be found on ETF’s Internet site at 
	http://etf.wi.gov. 

	Note: 
	•. The cost of Spouse and Dependent coverage is a dollar amount for 
	each unit of coverage, regardless of the age or number of family members you have to insure. 
	•. Your employer contributes premium for the Basic Plan, and in 
	some cases, the Supplemental Plan. 
	• No premiums are required for retired employees over age 65. 
	Example: A state employee is age 36 and earned $53,200 last year. She is enrolled for Basic, Supplemental and 3 units of Additional coverage, plus two units of Spouseand Dependent coverage. Her coverage is $54,000 x 5 
	= $270,000. 
	Her monthly premium is: 
	Basic 54 x $0.04* = $2.16 Supplemental 54 x 0.04 = 2.16 Additional – Unit 1 54 x 0.06 = 3.24 Additional – Unit 2 54 x 0.06 = 3.24 Additional – Unit 3 54 x 0.06 = 3.24 Spouse and Dependent 5.00 Total Employee Premium $19.04 
	Her employer pays: 
	Basic 65.25%** x $2.16 = $1.41 Supplemental 37.25% x 2.16 = 0.80 Total Employer Premium $2.21 
	*Premium rates used in the example are for illustrative purposes only and may not be actual. 
	**The percentage of the employer contribution used in the example is for illustrative purposes only and may not be actual. See section 5 for more information about the employer’s cost. 
	When will the policy pay benefits? 
	Death benefits for Basic, Supplemental and Additional Plans are payable to your beneficiary upon your death if coverage is in force on the date of death. 
	Death benefits from the Spouse and Dependent Plan are payable to you upon the death of the person insured under the Spouse and Dependent Plan. 
	Accidental Death, Dismemberment and Loss of Use benefits apply to the Basic, Supplemental and Additional Plans during employment They are payable upon your death or covered accident. Some exclusions may apply. See Section 6 for more information. 
	For benefits payable during your lifetime, including Living Benefits, see Section 8 for more information. 
	You or your beneficiary must file a claim with Securian Financial to claim any benefits under the Program and the claim must be approved by Securian Financial before payment is made. 
	Figure
	CONTACTING SECURIAN FINANCIAL 
	WRITE TO: 
	Securian Financial P.O. Box 259708 Madison, WI 53725-9708 
	VISIT: 
	2920 Marketplace Dr., Suite 201Fitchburg, WI 53719-5306 
	CALL: 
	866-295-8690 (toll-free) 
	FAX: 
	608-277-8665 
	OFFICE HOURS: 
	7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Mon. - Fri.
	(except holidays) 
	EMAIL: 
	MadisonBranch@securian.com 
	MadisonBranch@securian.com 
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