

Termination Checklist For State Employees

Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds PO Box 7931 Madison WI 53707-7931 1-877-533-5020 (toll free) Fax 608-267-4549 etf.wi.gov

Use this checklist for terminating employees who are under minimum retirement age (50 for protective category or 55 for all other employment categories). **Please provide a copy of this checklist to the employee along with any forms** *before their termination date.* ETF does not need a copy.

NOTE: If the employee has met the minimum retirement age, please use the <u>*Termination Checklist For*</u> <u>*Retiring State Employees* (ET-2500)</u>.

Employers may either print or provide links to forms online or order hard copies here.

Termination date (MM/DD/YYYY)

Step 1: Wisconsin Retirement System Benefits

See Chapter 9 – Periodic Employee Transaction Reporting and Chapter 14 – Termination Rule and Reporting of the WRS Administration Manual for details.

WRS Termination Reporting	Date Completed
STAR Agencies: Enter the termination in PeopleSoft/Star. Make sure the employee's current address is correct.	or N/A □
Non-STAR Agencies: Submit a <i>P001 Termination – Employment or Retirement</i> transaction using the <i>WRS Account Update</i> application on the <u>ETF Web</u> <u>Applications for Employers</u> page. Make sure the employee's current address is included.	or N/A □
Employee Forms and Notices	Date Employee Notified
 WRS Notices: See the <u>Leaving WRS Employment</u> webpage to learn about account options after you terminate. Contact ETF directly if your address or phone number changes. 	or N/A 🗆

Step 2: Wisconsin Deferred Compensation (WDC) Benefits

See the <u>WDC Employer Guide</u> for details.

WDC Termination Reporting Check here if the employee is not a WDC participant 	Date Completed
Report termination in the Empower Retirement Plan Service Center (PSC) system.	or N/A □
Employee Forms and Notices	Date Employee Notified
Refer the employee to the Distribution Options brochure, the WDC website	
(<u>www.wdc457.org</u>), and provide the customer service number (1-877-457-9327) for information about their account	or N/A □



Step 3: Health Insurance and Sick Leave Benefits

See <u>State Agency Health Insurance Employer Manual (ET-1118)</u>, Chapter 8: Cancellation and Termination of Coverage and Chapter 10: Retirement or Disability. Also see the <u>Sick Leave Conversion</u> <u>Program Employer Manual (ET-1170)</u>, Chapter 2: ASLCC and Chapter 4: AcSL System.

Health Insurance Termination Reporting	Date Completed
Enter a Termination of Coverage transaction.	or N/A □
Active Employee Coverage End Date:Health Plan Name:	le 🗌 Family
 Sick Leave Check here if the employee does not qualify for sick leave preservation Employers must certify sick leave through the AcSL system within 30 days of the ter the following employees: Any employee with at least 20 years of WRS creditable service Any employee applying for a disability benefit State constitutional officer A member or an officer of the legislature The head of a state department or agency who was appointed by the governor confirmation 	mination date for with senate
Employee Forms and Notices	Date Employee Notified
 Provide a <u>Continuation-Conversion Notice (ET-2311)</u> form with the employer sections completed along with a <u>Health Insurance Application/Change (ET-2301)</u>. Health Insurance and Sick Leave Notices: Health insurance coverage ends at the end of the month in which your employment ends. You and your qualified beneficiaries have the right to continue group coverage or convert to individual coverage for up to 18 months under COBRA. You must complete the Continuation-Conversion Notice (ET-2311) and the Health Insurance Application/Change (ET-2301) forms and send to ETF within 60 days of the date your active coverage ends. If you have 20 years of WRS creditable service, see options D and E in the Qualified Beneficiary section of the ET-2311. Note: If you select option E, you must submit your paperwork to ETF by the date your active coverage ends. If you elect coverage under COBRA, the health plan will bill you directly. Contact ETF if your address or phone number changes. Contact ETF with questions at 1-877-533-5020 	or N/A 🗆
Provide eligible employees with sick leave credit estimate from AcSL See Chapter 12, Subchapter 1209 in the employer manual for instructions.	or N/A □
Refer <i>eligible employees</i> to the <u>Sick Leave Credit Conversion Program (ET-4132)</u> brochure.	or N/A □

Step 4: Life Insurance Benefits

See Chapter 15 – Maintaining Coverage After Termination of Employment in the <u>WPE Group Life</u> Insurance Program Administration Manual (ET-1117) for details.

Life Insurance Termination Reporting □ Check here if the employee is not a state life insurance subscriber □ Check here if the employee qualifies for continuation of coverage	Date Completed
Identify when last premium payment is due and refund overpayments.	or N/A □
Coverage Paid Thru: Basic 100% Supplemental Spouse & Dependent Unit I	Additional 3
Employee Forms and Notices	Date Employee Notified
 Life Insurance Notices: Your coverage ends on the last calendar day of the month in which your employment ends. If you qualify for continuation of coverage, you must submit a <u>Group Life</u> <u>Insurance Continuation Application (ET-2154)</u> form to ETF within 31 days of coverage ending. You will be billed directly by Securian. 	or N/A □
Provide qualified employees with the <u>Group Life Insurance Continuation Application</u> (ET-2154) form and refer them to the <u>WPE Group Life Insurance Program (ET-2101)</u> brochure.	or N/A □

Step 5: Income Continuation Insurance (ICI) Benefits

See Chapter 6 – Termination of Coverage in the <u>Income Continuation Insurance Administration Manual</u> (<u>ET-1119</u>) for details.

ICI Termination Reporting Check here if the employee is not a State ICI subscriber 	
Coverage Paid Thru:	
Employee Forms and Notices	Date Employee Notified
ICI coverage ends when you terminate your employment.	or N/A □

Step 6: Supplemental Benefits See *Chapter X – Cancellation/Termination* in the <u>Supplemental Benefit Plans Administration Manual</u> (ET-1158) for details.

Supplemental Benefit Termination Reporting		Coverage End Date
Commuter Fringe Benefit Accounts (Optum)	Parking Account	or N/A □
Coverage ends on the date of termination.	Transit Account	or N/A □
Employee Reimbursement Accounts (Optum) Coverage ends the last day of the month following final contribution. Dependent Day Care Account	Health Care Flexible Spending Account (HCFSA)	or N/A □
	Limited Purpose Flexible Spending Account (LPFSA)	or N/A □
coverage ends December 31 of the plan year.	Dependent Day Care Account	or N/A □
Securian Accident Plan	·	
Employee Employee + spouse Employee + child(ren) Employee + family		or N/A □
Delta Dental of Wisconsin		
 PPO - Select Plan PPO Plus Premier - Select Plus Plan Employee Employee + spouse Employee + child(ren) Employee + family PPO Plus Premier-Preventive Plan Single Family 		or N/A □
DeltaVision Vision Care Coverage Paid Thru: Date		
🗌 Employee 🗌 Employee + spouse 🗌 Employee +	child(ren) Employee + family	
Employee Forms and Notices		Date Employee Notified
 If you have a FSA, you are eligible for COBRA through the end of the plan year by completing the <u>FSA Continuation Election Form (ET-1518)</u> If you choose not to continue coverage, medical expenses incurred after the coverage end date listed above will not be eligible for reimbursement. Any funds remaining after all valid claims have been paid will be forfeited. 		or N/A □
 Commuter Fringe Benefit Notices (Optum): Payment card will be deactivated upon termination. Reimbursement requests must be submitted online through your portal account or mobile app. You have until March 31, the last day of the run-out period, to submit reimbursement request(s) or resolve any outstanding claims for expenses incurred during the coverage period. 		or N/A 🗆
 Health Savings Account (HSA) Notices (Optum): Your HSA contributions from both payroll deductive will end upon termination. You will continue to have access to your HSA aft There is a \$1.32/month administrative fee that wird following termination. This fee will be deducted from the second secon	on and employer contribution er termination. Il begin the first of the month rom your HSA account balance.	or N/A 🗆

For questions about benefits administered by Optum, please see the <u>Optum</u> landing page or call their customer service number at 1-833-881-8158.	or N/A □
 Delta Dental of Wisconsin Supplemental Coverage Notices: You may continue existing supplemental coverage up to 18 months if: You choose "continuant" on the <u>Delta Dental Retiree/Continuation</u> form, and You send the form to Delta Dental within 30 days of your termination date. If you choose to continue coverage, you will be billed directly by Delta Dental. Contact Delta Dental at 1-844-337-8383 with questions. 	or N/A □
 DeltaVision Vision Care Coverage Notices: You may continue existing supplemental coverage up to 18 months if: You choose "continuant" on the <u>Supplemental Vision Retiree/Continuant</u> <u>Change Form</u> You send the form to Delta Vision within 30 days of your termination date. If you choose to continue coverage, you will be billed directly by Delta Vision. For information regarding DeltaVision Vision Care benefits, visit their <u>website</u> or call 1-844-337-8383 	or N/A □
The Securian Accident benefit is portable and can be maintained up to age 70. You must contact Securian at 1-866-295-8690 or <u>madisonbranch@securian.com</u> within 30 days of your termination date to maintain coverage.	or N/A □

Employers and employees should contact ETF with any questions. Visit <u>etf.wi.gov</u> for ETFadministered benefits information, forms, brochures, benefit calculators, educational offerings and other resources.

Signature	
This signature acknowledges that both parties have reviewed this checklist before the employee's last day due to termination of employment, and that everything applicable to this employee has been completed as noted above.	
Employee Signature	Date (MM/DD/YYYY)
Employer Signature	Date (MM/DD/YYYY)