A board that advises the ETF Board on matters relating to retirement; approves or rejects administrative rules; authorizes or terminates disability benefits for non-teachers; and hears appeals of disability rulings. Eight of the nine members are appointed by the Governor. The remaining ex officio member is occupied by the Commissioner of Insurance or their designee. The WR Board appoints four members to the ETF Board and one non-teaching participant to the separate State of Wisconsin Investment Board (SWIB).

See the Wisconsin Retirement Board page for more information.